This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Why Are Invasive Alien Species a Problem?


Common reed (Phragmites australis) © Ken Allison, Canadian Food Inspection AgencyIntroduction

According to the World Conservation Union, invasive alien species are the second most significant threat to biodiversity, after habitat loss. In their new ecosystems, invasive alien species become predators, competitors, parasites, hybridizers, and diseases of our native and domesticated plants and animals.

It takes the right conditions for an alien species to become established and grow. In fact, most introduced species do not become permanently established in their newly found environment. They either find the wrong type of conditions for survival, or there they are unable to produce enough offspring to maintain a viable population. For those species that are able to reproduce and survive, most never cause significant problems. They survive, spread and reproduce but generally do not pose a risk to Canada’s economy, environment or society.

Some introduced species however, are able to thrive and even flourish at their new location. They have the right biological properties that allow then to grow in numbers quickly. In addition, they are usually able to reproduce and spread quickly, often out-competing native plant and animal species for food water and space.

Invasive alien species generally share common characteristics which can make them difficult to control and contain, including:

  • Higher rates of reproduction – it has been estimated that one Purple Loosestrife plant can produce 3 million seeds.
  • Fewer natural predators – newly introduced species are often free of predation and disease, two major factors that keep native plant and animal populations in balance.
  • Ability to thrive in different environments – most invasive alien species are generalists, meaning they can survive in a variety of different habitat types and climate regions.

The impact of invasive alien species on native ecosystems, habitats and species is severe and often irreversible, and can cost billions of dollars each year.


Invasive Alien Species Impacts

Environmental ImpactsPacific tree frog found in plants shipment © Diana Mooij, Canadian

  • Can negatively impact biodiversity
  • Can cause species extirpation and even extinction
  • Can cause soil degradation, and erosion
  • Can alter fire cycles

Societal Impacts

  • Can cause disease
  • Can cause human or animal suffering
  • Can reduce land and water recreational opportunities

Economic Impacts

  • Control and management costs can be significant
  • Can reduce productivity in forestry, agricultural, and fishing sectors
  • Can cause export and import trade restrictions
  • Can reduce property values

The following are just some examples of invasive alien species impacts in Canada and abroad. Check regularly as this list will be continuously updated.

Canadian Impacts

Table 1: Types of Species and their Impacts to Canada
SpeciesType of impact (economic, environmental, societal)Description of impact

Zebra Mussel

Dreissena polymorpha

EnvironmentalZebra muscles will infest almost every hard surface including rocks, boat hulls, and water intake pipes. They can even grow on the shells of our native clam species, reducing their ability to feed and as such increase mortality.

Japanese Knotweeds

Fallopia japonica & Polygonum cuspidatum

EnvironmentalJapanese Knotweed is a perennial shrub from Asia, often considered one of the most persistent of all weeds. Once established in disturbed areas or along stream banks, this highly invasive species can displace virtually all other types of vegetation. 

West Nile Virus

Family: Flaviviridae

SocialThe West Nile Virus originated in Africa and Europe. Since its discovery in North America, public health agencies have been waging an aggressive campaign to inform the public about the risks associated with contracting this disease.

Emerald Ash Borer

Agrilus planipennis

EconomicThe cost of eradication and control efforts associated with this invasive insect have totalled in the millions per year.

Global Impacts

Table 2: Types of Species and their Impacts Globally
SpeciesType of impact (economic, environmental, societal)Description of impact

Comb Jellyfish

Mnemiopsis leidyi

EconomicThis small jellyfish, native to estuaries of eastern North and South America, was almost certainly exported to the Black Sea in ship ballast water. Since it was first discovered in 1992, it has  single-handedly caused the collapse of the entire anchovy fishery, an industry once worth millions of dollars per year.

Brown Tree Snake

Boiga irregularis

EnvironmentalThis invasive alien species first introduced to Guam shortly after World War II, has caused immeasurable damage to the Island's ecosystem. The Brown Tree Snake has been directly linked to the extirpation of several native species of birds (8), lizards (3), and mammals (2 bats).

Water Hyacinth

Agrilus planipennis

SocialOriginally from the Amazon basin, this water plant has spread to many aquatic ecosystems around the world. Whole communities around Lake Victoria, Africa’s largest lake, have had to move to gain better access to open water and fish stocks. 
Date modified:

Pourquoi les espèces exotiques envahissantes représentent-elles une source de problèmes ?


Introduction

Selon l’Union mondiale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN), les espèces exotiques sont la deuxième menace en importance sur le plan de la biodiversité après les habitats. Dans leur nouvel écosystème, les espèces exotiques envahissantes deviennent des prédateurs, des compétiteurs, des parasites, des hybrideurs et des transmetteurs de maladies pour les espèces indigènes, les plantes et les animaux domestiques.

Les espèces exotiques ont besoin de conditions favorables pour s'établir dans un environnement et se développer. En fait, la plupart des espèces qui sont introduites dans un nouvel environnement ne s’y établissent pas de façon permanente. Dans la plupart des cas, les conditions ne sont pas favorables à leur survie ou elles les empêchent de se reproduire et d’assurer la viabilité de leur espèce.Pour ce qui est des espèces qui parviennent à se reproduire et à survivre, la majorité d’entre elles ne posent jamais de problèmes majeurs. Elles survivent et se reproduisent, mais ne constituent en général aucune menace pour l’économie, l’environnement et la société au Canada.

Néanmoins, certaines des espèces introduites sont capables de se développer et même de prospérer dans leur nouveau milieu. Elles possèdent les propriétés biologiques appropriées pour se reproduire rapidement. De plus, elles sont en général capables de se propager rapidement et privent souvent les plantes et les espèces animales indigènes de leurs ressources en nourriture et en eau, ainsi que de leur espace.

Les espèces exotiques envahissantes partagent généralement des caractéristiques communes qui les rendent difficiles à contrôler et à contenir, notamment :

Les impacts de ces espèces exotiques envahissantes sur les écosystèmes, les habitats et les espèces indigènes sont graves et souvent irréversibles. On estime que les coûts occasionnés sont évalués à des milliards de dollars chaque année.


Les impacts de ces espèces exotiques envahissantes

Impacts sur l'environnement

Impacts sociaux

Impacts économiques

Voici quelques-uns des exemples d’espèces exotiques envahissantes et leurs impacts au Canada et à l’étranger. Cette liste est mise à jour régulièrement, vérifiez-la souvent pour connaître les nouveaux ajouts.

Impacts sur l’environnement au Canada

Tableau 1 : Types d'espèces et impact sur l'environnement au Canada
EspècesType d’impact (économique, environnemental social)Description de l’impact sur l’environnement
Moule zébrée
Dreissena polymorphe
EnvironnementalLes moules zébrées infestent à peu près toutes les surfaces dures comme la roche, la coque des navires et les conduites de prise d’eau. Elles peuvent même croître sur la coquille de nos palourdes indigènes, réduisant ainsi leur capacité à s’alimenter et faisant croître le taux de mortalité de cette espèce.
Renouée du Japon
Fallopia japonica et polygonum cuspidatum
EnvironnementalLa renouée du Japon est un arbuste vivace d’Asie, souvent considéré comme une des mauvaises herbes les plus tenaces. Une fois établie dans les zones perturbées ou le long des berges des cours d’eau, cette espèce végétale très envahissante peut pratiquement supplanter toutes les autres espèces végétales en les étouffant. 
Virus du Nil occidental
Famille : Flaviviridae (genre flavivirus)
SocialLe virus du Nil occidental est un virus originaire de l’Afrique et de l’Europe. Depuis sa découverte en Amérique du Nord, les agences de santé publique ont mené une campagne de lutte vigoureuse en vue d’informer le public au sujet des risques associés à cette maladie.
Agrile du frêne
Agrilus planipennis
ÉconomiqueLes coûts de l’élimination et des efforts pour contrôler cet insecte envahissant sont évalués à plusieurs millions de dollars par année.

Impacts globaux

Tableau 2 : Types d'espèces et les impacts globaux
EspècesType d’impact (économique, environnemental, social)Description de l’impact sur l’environnement
Groseille de mer
Mnemiopsis leidyi
ÉconomiqueCe petit cténophore, natif des estuaires du nord-est et du sud-est de l’Amérique, a fort probablement été exporté vers la mer Noire par de l’eau de ballast. Depuis qu’il a été découvert en 1992, il a, à lui seul, contribué à l’effondrement de la pêche aux anchois, une industrie qui était auparavant évaluée à plusieurs millions de dollars par année.
Couleuvre Boiga irregularisEnvironnementalCette espèce exotique envahissante a été introduite pour la première fois à l’île de Guam peu après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et elle a causé des dommages incommensurables à l’écosystème de cette île. La couleuvre est directement responsable de la disparition de nombreuses espèces indigènes d’oiseaux (8), de lézards (3) et de mammifères (2 espèces de chauve-souris).
Jacinthe d’eau
Agrilus planipennis
SocialOriginaire du bassin de l’Amazonie, cette plante aquatique s’est répandue dans les écosystèmes aquatiques du monde entier. Des collectivités entières vivant autour du lac Victoria, l’un des plus grands lacs de l’Afrique, ont dû déménager pour avoir un meilleur accès à l’eau et aux stocks de poissons.
Date de modification :