Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Lightning in Canada

Lightning flash across the Okanangan Lake in Kelowna.
Lightning flash across the
Okanagon Lake in Kelowna, BC
© Environment Canada, 2009
Photo: Dennis Dudley

Did you know that lightning flashes occur in Canada about 2.34 million times a year, including about once every three seconds during the summer months? Did you also know that each year in Canada, lightning strikes kill up to 10 people, seriously injure up to 164 others, and ignite some 4,000 forest fires?

Clearly this is a form of severe weather which affects Canadians often, and that is why Environment Canada is working hard not only to better predict when and where lightning will strike, but to keep you informed about lightning and its dangers.

In this section, you will find out where Environment Canada scientists have identified lightning strike hot spots across the country. You can find out where strikes are currently happening, in near real-time in your local area and across the country. You can also check out important lightning safety tips, learn about the Canadian Lightning Detection Network, and much more! 

Visit these helpful links to find out more about lightning in Canada!

Test your Lightning Knowledge

1) Where is the lightning capital of Canada?

1. Windsor, Ontario
2. Drumheller, Alberta
3. Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
4. Elie, Manitoba
5. Rimouski, Quebec

Take the quiz

See also, Fact or Fiction:  Myths and Facts about Lightning

La foudre au Canada

Un éclair illumine le lac Okanagan à Kelowna, CB
Un éclair illumine le lac Okanagan
à Kelowna, CB
© Environnment Canada, 2009
Photo: Dennis Dudley

Saviez-vous que l’on compte au Canada près de 2,34 millions d’éclairs par an, dont un à toutes les trois secondes environ pendant l’été? Et que, chaque année, jusqu’à dix personnes sont foudroyées, 164 autres sérieusement blessées et que la foudre cause quelque 4 000 incendies de forêt?

Il s’agit donc là de conditions météorologiques dangereuses qui affectent souvent les Canadiens. C’est pourquoi Environnement Canada consacre beaucoup d’efforts, non seulement pour mieux prévoir le moment et le lieu où la foudre va s’abattre, mais aussi pour vous renseigner sur ce phénomène et ses dangers.

Vous trouverez dans la présente section les « points chauds » de la foudre au pays qui ont été déterminés par les scientifiques d’Environnement Canada. Il est même possible de trouver, presqu’en temps réel, les lieux où la foudre s’abat tant dans votre région qu’ailleurs au pays. Vous pouvez aussi obtenir des conseils pratiques importants en cas d’orage, vous renseigner au sujet du réseau canadien de détection de la foudre, et beaucoup plus encore! 

Ces liens utiles vous permettront d’en apprendre plus sur la foudre au Canada!

Évaluez vos connaissance sur la foudre

1) Quelle est la capitale de la foudre au Canada?

1. Windsor (Ontario)
2. Drumheller (Alberta)
3. Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)
4. Elie (Manitoba)
5. Rimouski (Québec)

Questionnaire sur la foudre

Voir aussi, Foudre – Réalité et fiction