Make a shipment of hazardous waste or recyclables

Obtain and submit movement documents

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Roles and responsibilities

Permit holders are responsible for ensuring fulfilment of all terms of the permit from the time the hazardous waste (HW) and hazardous recyclable material (HRM) leave their place of origin to the time they are recycled or disposed or returned.

If the HW or HRM cannot be disposed or recycled in accordance with the permit, the permit holder must inform the Minister of Environment and Climate Change Canada and ensure return to the facility from which it was shipped or rerouting of the shipment to an authorized facility for disposal or recycling in the country where it was refused. Permit requirements are fulfilled only once confirmation of disposal or recycling is received from the importer or the return has been completed.

Refer to the Regulations for detailed requirements:

Before transport

After obtaining your permit and before you make a shipment you must obtain a movement document form that will have a reference number in top right corner. The movement document allows Canada and other jurisdictions to track international shipments of hazardous wastes (HW) and hazardous recyclable materials (HRM), and is made up of three parts:

  • Part A must be completed by the consignor: Canadian exporter or foreign exporter.
  • Part B must be completed by all carriers involved in transporting the HW and HRM.
  • Part C must be completed by the consignee: Canadian importer or foreign receiver.

Canadian importers and exporters are responsible for ensuring that copies of the movement document are properly completed and sent to the foreign importer/exporter, to the appropriate authorities (Environment and Climate Change Canada and the province or territory) and to the authorized carrier(s).

Some jurisdictions may have similar documents or require copies of this movement document. It is the responsibility of the Canadian importer/exporter to ensure that documentation requirements of provincial, territorial, and other jurisdictions are met.

Obtain a pre-numbered movement document from the appropriate provincial or territorial authority or by contacting the Waste Reduction and Management Division of ECCC at one of the addresses below. Foreign nationals/companies may obtain movement documents for transits through Canada, but not for Canadian imports or exports. Canadian importers of HW and HRM from the USA must obtain and provide the movement document to the American exporter to track its shipment to the Canadian facility.

Ensure that details contained in Part A of the movement document match those contained in the permit and use a Multiple Carrier Form when more than one carrier will be used. Any differences in information between the permit and the movement document or multiple carrier form could lead to delays or refusal at the border.

A maximum of four types of hazardous wastes/recyclables may be listed on a movement document for a single shipment between two authorized facilities. If more than four waste/recyclable types are to be transported during the same shipment, use additional movement documents and note the reference number on all additional documents.

Shipments by rail

A rail consist may be used during transport if it has the same information contained in the movement document, and uses the same units of measurement shown on the permit.

During transport

To ease border crossings, ensure that the movement document and all attachments are legible and are completed at the time of transfer between shipper, carrier(s) and receivers.

Consignor/Shipper

  • Complete Part A and compare against the accompanying permit to ensure accuracy of the movement document.
  • Ensure that Box 8 contains a sound estimate of the quantity being shipped in litres or kilograms.
  • Ensure that Box 11 matches permit details.
  • Sign in Box 20, and date in Box 21.
  • Ensure information is legible on all 6 copies of the movement document.
  • Ensure that all attached documents and any copies are legible.
  • Send Copy 1 to the Minister within three working days (and a copy of it to other jurisdictions, if required.)
  • Retain Copy 2 for your records.

Carrier(s)

  • Ensure that Copies 3, 4, 5, and 6 accompany the shipment throughout the transport.
  • Complete Part B at the time of transfer to the consignee or the next carrier. Use the multiple carriers form if needed.
  • Sign and date Box 26.
  • Provide all four copies to the Consignee, or to the next Carrier.
  • Provide a duplicate of the movement document and the permit to border officials, if requested.
  • Retain the final version of Copy 4 for your records when it is received from the Consignee (see below).

Consignee/Receiver

  • Complete Part C.
  • Ensure that Box 31 contains an accurate quantity of material received in litres or kilograms.
  • Sign in Box 37.
  • Send Copy 3 to the Minister (and a copy of it to other jurisdictions, if required.)
  • Distribute Copies 4 and 6 to the authorized carrier(s).
  • Retain Copy 5 for your records.

Incidents

If the shipment cannot be completed as planned due to a refusal at the border, or by the authorized facility, or due to other circumstances, you must immediately inform the Minister and arrange for either return or rerouting of the waste in accordance with the Regulation; in the case of a return, the shipment must be returned to the facility from which it came.

Document retention

Canadian exporters, importers and authorized carriers must keep a copy of the movement document at their principal place of business in Canada for a period of three years after the day on which the HW or HRM enters or leaves Canada.

Contact us

By mail

Waste Reduction and Management Division
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 9th Floor
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H3

By FAX

Notice 819-938-4553
Movements 819-938-4554

By phone

Notice 1-844-524-5295
Movements 1-844-524-5295

Guides and help

Contact us

Related services and information

Service standard

Related programs

Date modified:

Envoi de déchets dangereux ou de matières recyclables dangereuses

Obtenir et transmettre des documents de mouvement

Par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Rôles et responsabilités

Les détenteurs de permis sont responsables de veiller à ce que toutes les conditions du permis soient satisfaites à partir du moment où les déchets dangereux (DD) ou les matières recyclables dangereuses (MRD) quittent leur lieu d'origine jusqu’au moment où ils (elles) sont éliminé(e)s ou recyclé(e)s ou retourné(e)s.

Si les DD ou les MRD ne peuvent être éliminés ou recyclées conformément au permis, le détenteur de permis doit en informer le ministre d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et assurer le renvoi ou le réacheminement à une installation agréée pour élimination ou recyclage. Les exigences de permis sont remplies seulement lorsque l'importateur a donné une confirmation de l’élimination ou du recyclage ou que le renvoi a été complété.

Se référer au Règlement pour les exigences détaillées :

Avant le transport

Après avoir obtenu votre permis et avant de faire un envoi, vous devez obtenir un document de mouvement sur lequel figurera un numéro de référence dans le coin supérieur droit. Le document de mouvement permet au Canada et à d'autres administrations de faire le suivi des mouvements internationaux de déchets dangereux (DD) et de matières recyclables dangereuses (MRD) et comporte trois parties distinctes selon ce qui suit :

  • la partie A doit être remplie par l’expéditeur : l’exportateur canadien ou l’expéditeur étranger;
  • la partie B doit être remplie par tous les transporteurs qui participent au transport de DD ou de MRD;
  • la partie C doit être remplie par le destinataire : l’importateur canadien ou le destinataire étranger.

Les importateurs et exportateurs canadiens sont tenus de s’assurer que les copies du document de mouvement sont remplies en bonne et due forme et transmises à l’importateur/exportateur étranger, aux autorités appropriées (Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et la province ou le territoire) et au transporteur agréé.

Certaines administrations peuvent avoir des documents semblables ou exiger des copies de ce document de mouvement. Il incombe aux importateurs et aux exportateurs canadiens de veiller à ce que les exigences provinciales, territoriales et d’autres administrations relatives à la documentation soient respectées.

Obtenir un document de mouvement prénuméroté auprès de l’autorité provinciale ou territoriale compétente ou communiquer avec la Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets d’ECCC à l’une des adresses indiquées ci après. Les ressortissants et les entreprises d’autres pays peuvent obtenir des documents de mouvement pour le transit par le Canada, mais pas pour les importations ou les exportations canadiennes. Les importateurs canadiens de DD et de MRD provenant des États-Unis doivent obtenir le document de mouvement et le fournir à l’exportateur américain pour effectuer le suivi de l’envoi à une installation canadienne.

S'assurer que les détails contenus dans la partie A du document de mouvement correspondent à ceux contenus dans le permis et utiliser un Formulaire transporteurs agréés multiples lorsque plus d’un transporteur sera utilisé. Toute différence de renseignements entre le permis et le document de mouvement ou le Formulaire transporteurs agréés multiples pourrait entraîner des retards ou des refus à la frontière.

Quatre types de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses au maximum peuvent être énumérés dans un document de mouvement pour un envoi unique entre deux installations agréées. Si plus de quatre types de DD et de MRD doivent être transportés dans le même envoi, il faut utiliser des documents de mouvement supplémentaires et noter le numéro de référence sur tous les documents supplémentaires.

Envois par voie ferroviaire

Une feuille de train peut être utilisée pendant le transport pourvu qu’elle contienne les mêmes renseignements que ceux contenus dans le document de mouvement et qu’elle utilise les mêmes unités de mesure que celles indiquées dans le permis.

Pendant le transport

Pour faciliter les passages frontaliers, assurez-vous que le document de mouvement et toutes les pièces jointes sont lisibles et remplis au moment du transfert entre l'expéditeur, le(s) transporteur(s) et les destinataires.

Exportateur/expéditeur

  • Remplir la partie A et comparer avec le permis d’accompagnement pour confirmer l’exactitude du document de mouvement.
  • S’assurer que la case 8 contient une estimation fiable de la quantité expédiée en litres ou en kilogrammes.
  • S’assurer que la case 11 correspond aux détails figurant au permis.
  • Signer dans la case 20 et indiquer la date à la case 21.
  • S’assurer que les renseignements sont lisibles sur les 6 copies du document de mouvement.
  • S’assurer que tous les documents joints et toutes les copies sont lisibles.
  • Envoyer la copie 1 au ministre dans les trois jours ouvrables (et une copie de celle-ci à d'autres administrations, au besoin).
  • Conserver la copie 2 pour vos dossiers.

Transporteur(s)

  • S’assurer que les copies 3, 4, 5 et 6 accompagnent l’envoi tout au long du transport.
  • Remplir la partie B au moment du transfert vers le destinataire ou le prochain transporteur. Utiliser le Formulaire transporteurs agréés multiples, au besoin.
  • Signer et indiquer la date à la case 26.
  • Fournir les quatre copies au destinataire ou au prochain transporteur.
  • Fournir un duplicata du document de mouvement et le permis aux fonctionnaires frontaliers, s’ils en font la demande.
  • Conserver la version définitive de la copie 4 pour vos dossiers lorsqu'elle a été reçue du destinataire (voir ci-dessous).

Destinataire/réceptionnaire

  • Remplir la partie C.
  • S’assurer que la case 31 contient une quantité précise des matières expédiées en litres ou en kilogrammes.
  • Signer à la case 37.
  • Envoyer la copie 3 au ministre (et une copie de celle-ci à d'autres administrations, au besoin).
  • Envoyer les copies 4 et 6 au(x) transporteur(s) agréé(s).
  • Conserver la copie 5 pour vos dossiers.

Incidents

Si l’envoi ne peut pas être complété comme prévu en raison d'un refus à la frontière, ou par l'installation agréée, ou en raison d'autres circonstances, vous devez en informer immédiatement le/la ministre et organiser le retour ou le réacheminement des déchets conformément au Règlement; ou, dans le cas d’un refus à la frontière, retourner l’envoi à l’installation d’où il provient.

Conservation des documents

Les exportateurs, les importateurs et les transporteurs agréés du Canada doivent conserver une copie du document de mouvement à leur principal établissement au Canada pendant une période de trois ans suivant la date d’entrée au Canada des DD ou des MRD, la date de leur sortie du Canada.

Contactez-nous

Par la poste

Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets
351, boul. St-Joseph, 9e étage
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H3

Par télécopieur

Notifications 819-938-4553
Mouvement 819-938-4554

Par téléphone

Notifications 1-844-524-5295
Mouvement 1-844-524-5295

Par courriel

Notifications
ec.notification.ec@canada.ca
Mouvement
ec.dm-md.ec@canada.ca

Guides et aide

Contactez-nous

Services et renseignements connexes

Norme de service

Programmes connexes

Date de modification :