This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Review of Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) Tools for Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) Management

The 2007 report "Review of Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) Tools for Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) Management" analyses a number of Life Cycle Assessment tools with a view to their potential application in Canada.

The models reviewed in this report are life cycle inventory models that were developed in Canada and other countries. Life cycle inventory analysis is like an accounting framework, or model, for tracking the environmental burdens – such as energy and raw material requirements, air emissions, waterborne effluents, solid waste – that occur during the life cycle of a product or process. The models reviewed in this report looked at the environmental burdens associated with extracting raw materials, primary and secondary manufacturing stages, transportation, use and final disposal (as waste, energy or recycled product).

The various life cycle assessment tools were reviewed by a technical group in order to obtain user's perspectives on the models. Potential users of a Life Cycle Assessment-based tool include municipal solid waste managers, funding agencies, consultants, the waste management industry, policy analysts, as well as academic researchers and teachers.

Funding for the preparation of this report was provided by the Program of Energy Research and Development (PERD).

This report is being made available by request. To receive PDF copies (3 megabytes) of the report via email, please send an email to with the subject "LCA Report".

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Examen des outils d'analyse du cycle de vie (ACV) pour la gestion des déchets solides municipaux (DSM)

Le rapport de 2007 intitulé "Examen des outils d'analyse du cycle de vie (ACV) pour la gestion des déchets solides municipaux (DSM)" examine un nombre d'outils d'analyse de cycle de vie en vue de leur application au Canada.

Les modèles examinés dans ce rapport sont des modèles d'inventaire du cycle de vie qui ont été développé au Canada et dans d'autres pays. L'analyse de l'inventaire du cycle de vie est essentiellement un cadre de comptabilisation pour suivre les fardeaux environnementaux - les besoins en énergie et en matières premières, les émissions atmosphériques, les effluents dans les cours d'eau, les déchets solides - qui se produisent pendant le cycle de vie du projet ou du processus analysé. Les modèles examinés dans ce rapport ont examiné les fardeaux environnmentaux qui découlent de l'extraction de matières premières, la fabrication, la transportation, l'utilisation et l'élimination final (comme déchets, énergie ou produit recyclé).

Les outils ont été examiné par un groupe technique afin d'obtenir les points de vue des utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs potentiels d'un outil d'analyse de cycle de vie inclut les gestionnaires de déchets municipaux solides, les organismes de financement, les consultants, l'industrie de la gestion des déchets, les analystes de politique, ainsi que les chercheurs universitaires et les professeurs.

De l'aide financière a été fourni par le Programme de recherche et de développement énergétiques (PRDE) pour la préparation de ce rapport.

Ce rapport est disponible sur demande. Pour recevoir une copie de ce rapport en version PDF (3 mégaoctets) par courriel, veuillez envoyer un courriel à wrmd-drgd@ec.gc.ca ayant pour objet « Rapport ACV ».

Date de modification :