Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development Decision C(2001)107/Final

Decision of the Council Concerning the Transboundary Movements of Wastes Destined for Recovery Operations

Background

In the early 1980s, the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) began work on exports and imports of waste, following the identification of indiscriminate and uncontrolled international traffic in hazardous wastes which resulted in adverse effects on human health and the environment. The OECD countries decided, in 1984, that exports and imports of hazardous waste should be controlled.

Between 1984 and 1992, eight Council Acts were adopted covering waste identification, definition and control of transboundary movements of waste. These Acts formed the basis of the Basel Convention and several European Economic Community directives.

Canada has been an active participant in the OECD decision-making process since 1961 and continues today to work with other member countries, most recently on the sustainable materials management program of the Working Group on Waste Prevention and Recycling (WGWPR).

Council Decision C(2001)107/FINAL-Decision of the Council Concerning the Transboundary Movements of Wastes Destined for Recovery Operations is a revision of Council Decision C(92)39/FINAL which seeks to harmonize more effectively with the Basel Convention. As such, this Decision applies when transboundary movements of wastes destined for recovery operations take place from one OECD Member country to another. The terms of this Decision are implemented in Canada through the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR). The ultimate goal of the Council Decision is to achieve a globally harmonized control system for movements of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials in cooperation with other international organisations, such as the Basel Convention and the European Union.

It should be noted that, although the definition of waste covers those wastes destined for both disposal and recovery, the OECD Decision only applies to wastes destined for recovery. Wastes destined for disposal are subject to different legal control, in particular those established by the Basel Convention and any applicable national law.

Risk Assessment

Because of the volume and value of waste crossing OECD borders annually for recovery, the OECD has developed a control system, based on risk assessment that provides for a simplified means to control the transboundary movements of wastes destined for recovery/recycling operations which are environmentally sound.

Risk assessment is carried out on the basis of complete information provided on a given shipment of waste, the conditions under which it is handled and transported, and the value of the material to be recycled. The more valuable the material, the less likely it will be lost or dumped during transit. Decisions about the degree of risk that a given shipment poses are based on a thorough consideration of all the various factors involved. For instance, a certain waste stream may pose significant environmental and health risks, however this stream can be controlled under stringent conditions of safety as to render the probability of an environmental accident almost negligible. In contrast, a less dangerous waste may be shipped in quantities, or under such conditions, that the potential for an accident would potentially increase. Hence, risk assessment is made on the basis of hazard and probability of a spill or other accidents.

In the revised OECD Control System, the lists of wastes subject to control have been harmonized with the lists of wastes of the Basel Convention. The earlier green, amber and red lists have been abolished and replaced by two categories of wastes requiring different levels of control when destined for recovery in another OECD country.

The OECD Control System is now based on two types of control procedures: Green Control Procedure for wastes that present low risk for human health and the environment and, therefore, are not subject to any other controls than those normally applied in commercial transactions; and Amber Control Procedure for wastes presenting sufficient risk to justify their control.

Although wastes subject to the Green Control Procedure are not controlled under the OECD Decision, the Decision imposes a general requirement that all wastes, including those on the Green waste list, shall be destined for recovery operations at a recovery facility which will recover them in an environmentally sound manner according to national laws, regulations and practices.

For more details on the conditions, procedures and requirements OECD Decision C(2001)107/FINAL, you may consult the document entitled “Guidance Manual for the Implementation of the OECD Decision C(2001)107/FINAL” (ENV/EPOC/WGWPR(2001)6/FINAL).

The controls of waste shipments are carried out by national competent authorities and Customs Offices as appropriate, through the use of notification and movement documents. These forms and the instructions to complete them have also been revised according to the recent modifications of the OECD Control System. They have been designed in such a way that they are also applicable to the Basel and EU control systems for transboundary movements of waste.

Compatibility with Basel Convention

OECD Decision C(2001)107/FINAL continues to be compatible with the goal of environmentally sound management of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials pursuant to Article 11, paragraph 2 of the Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal.

Recycling and recovery of wastes are environmentally sound practices and more appropriate than disposal. A practical control system such as the OECD Control System will ensure environmental protection and economic viability of the transboundary movement of recyclable hazardous materials.

Obtaining Copies of Relevant Publications

A copy of the Council Decision C(2001)107/FINAL-Decision of the Council Concerning the Transboundary Movements of Wastes Destined for Recovery Operations can be obtained from the OECD website at : http://appli1.oecd.org/olis/2001doc.nsf/linkto/c(2001)107-final

L’organisation de coopération et de développement économique – Décision C(2001)107/Final

Décision du Conseil sur les mouvements transfrontières de déchets destinés à des opérations de valorisation

Contexte

Au début des années 1980, l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) a commencé à se pencher sur l’exportation et l’importation des déchets, après avoir eu vent d’un trafic international abusif et non contrôlé de déchets dangereux et de ses effets négatifs sur la santé humaine et l’environnement. En 1984, les pays de l’OCDE ont décidé que l’exportation et l’importation de ces déchets devaient être contrôlées.

Entre 1984 et 1992, le Conseil de l’OCDE a adopté huit actes qui portaient sur l’identification, la définition et le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières des déchets et qui ont jeté les bases de la Convention de Bâle et de plusieurs directives de la Communauté économique européenne.

Le Canada participe activement au processus de prise de décisions de l’OCDE depuis 1961 et continue encore aujourd’hui de travailler avec les autres pays membres, entre autre en ayant collaboré récemment au programme de gestion durable des matières du Sous-groupe sur la prévention de la production de déchets et le recyclage (SGPDR).

La Décision du Conseil C(2001)107/FINAL sur les mouvements transfrontières de déchets destinés à des opérations de valorisation est une révision de la décision C(92)39/FINAL qui vise à assurer une meilleure harmonisation avec la Convention de Bâle. Ainsi, elle s’applique lorsque les mouvements transfrontières de déchets destinés à des opérations de valorisation s’effectuent entre pays membres de l’OCDE. Au Canada, elle s’applique par le truchement du Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD).

En bout de ligne, le but visé est d’en arriver à un système mondial harmonisé pour contrôler le mouvement des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses en travaillant de près avec d’autres organisations internationales, telles la Convention de Bâle et l’Union européenne.

Il est convenu de noter que même si les déchets, de par leur définition, englobent les substances destinées tant à l’élimination qu’à la valorisation, la décision de l’OCDE ne s’applique qu’au dernier type. Les déchets destinés à l’élimination sont assujettis à des contrôles juridiques différents, surtout ceux qui découlent de la Convention de Bâle et des lois nationales pertinentes.

Évaluation des risques

Compte tenu du volume et de la valeur des déchets destinés à des opérations de valorisation qui traversent chaque année les frontières de ses pays membres, l’OCDE s’est dotée d’un système de contrôle basé sur l’évaluation des risques qui simplifie le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets destinés à des opérations de valorisation/recyclage écologiquement rationnelles.

L’évaluation des risques se fait en fonction de toute l’information fournie sur une expédition donnée de déchets, les conditions de leur manutention et de leur transport ainsi que la valeur des matières à recycler. Plus cette valeur est grande, moins il y a de risque que les déchets se perdent ou soient déchargés en transit. Les décisions sur le niveau de risque des expéditions sont basées sur l’étude approfondie de tous les facteurs en cause. Ainsi, un certain flux de déchets pouvant poser des risques importants à l'environnement et la santé, peut toutefois être contrôlé par des mesures de sécurité rigoureuses où les risques d’un accident écologique deviennent négligeables. En revanche, un déchet moins dangereux pourrait être expédié dans certaines quantités ou conditions qui font augmenter les possibilités d’accidents. Par conséquent, l’évaluation des risques se fait en fonction des dangers et de la probabilité d’un déversement ou de tout autre type d’accident.

Pour le nouveau système de contrôle de l’OCDE, les listes de déchets contrôlés ont été harmonisées avec celles de la Convention de Bâle. Les anciennes listes de déchets vertes, oranges ou rouges ont été abolies et remplacées par deux catégories de déchets exigeant des degrés de contrôle différents lorsqu’ils sont destinés à des opérations de valorisation dans d’autres pays de l’OCDE.

Le système actuel est basé sur deux types de procédures de contrôle, la procédure de contrôle verte pour les déchets présentant peu de risques pour la santé humaine et l’environnement et qui ne sont donc pas assujettis à des contrôles autres que ceux qui sont normalement exigés lors des transactions commerciales, et la procédure de contrôle orange s’appliquant aux déchets suffisamment risqués pour justifier leur contrôle.

Même si les déchets assujettis à la procédure verte ne sont pas contrôlés en vertu de la décision de l’OCDE, celle-ci impose l’exigence générale selon laquelle tous les déchets, y compris ceux de la liste verte, doivent être envoyés dans des installations de valorisation qui les récupéreront de façon écologiquement rationnelle conformément aux lois, aux règlements et aux pratiques en vigueur dans le pays.

Plus de détails sur les conditions, les procédures et les exigences de la décision C(2001)107/FINAL de l’OCDE, vous pouvez consulter le document intitulé « Manuel d'application pour le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets recyclables » de la Decision C(2001)107/FINAL de l'OCDE.

Les expéditions de déchets sont contrôlées par les autorités compétentes nationales et les bureaux de douanes, au besoin, à l’aide des documents de notification et de mouvement. Ces formulaires et les instructions pour les remplir ont également été revus en fonction des récentes modifications apportées aux contrôles de l’OCDE. De plus, ils ont été conçus pour s’appliquer aux contrôles des mouvements transfrontières de déchets prévus par la Convention de Bâle et l’Union européenne.

Compatibilité avec la Convention de Bâle

La décision C(2001)107/FINAL de l’OCDE demeure compatible avec l’objectif de gestion écologique des déchets (GED) dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses énoncé au paragraphe 2 de l’article 11 de la Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination.

Le recyclage et la valorisation des déchets sont des pratiques écologiquement rationnelles plus convenables que l’élimination. Un système de contrôle pratique en deux volets garantira la protection de l’environnement et la viabilité économique des mouvements transfrontières de matières recyclables dangereuses.

Date de modification :