Skip booklet index and go to page content

Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations - Guide to Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Classification

Introduction

The Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (hereafter referred to as the Regulations) adopted under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA), regulate hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials transported across international borders (as exports from , imports into, or transits through, Canada). The Regulations are the mechanism by which Canada implements its international obligations under the Basel Convention, the Canada-US Agreement on the Transboundary Movement of Hazardous Waste and relevant decisions of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

The Regulations specify what is considered to be "hazardous waste" and "hazardous recyclable material", for the purpose of CEPA and the Regulations, and establish a permitting regime to control and track their transboundary movements between Canada and other countries. It is through this permitting process that Canada obtains consent from foreign importing and transit countries and provides consent for imports into Canada.

1.1 Purpose of this Guide to Classification

The Guide to Classification is a companion document to the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations User Guide (also referred to as EIHWHRMR User Guide). Readers should have familiarized themselves with the Regulations by first reading the EIHWHRMR User Guide. Familiarity with the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TDGR) administered by Transport Canada is also needed to fully understand some of the information provided in this guide. The Classification Guide is intended to provide practical advice to help determine if waste or recyclable material is subject to the Regulations, and to classify hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material by selecting the codes that describe the waste or recyclable material for the purposes of notification (using the electronic system or administrative form) and movement tracking. However, should there be any discrepancy between this guide and the Regulations, the Regulations take precedence.

1.2 Approach to Classification

The basic approach relies on lists and hazard criteria. The lists are not intended to be comprehensive and therefore the list and hazard criteria are complementary. The hazard criteria, that include tests such as the Toxicity Characteristic Leaching Procedure, are needed to characterize the hazards of wastes and recyclable materials that are not specifically listed.

1.3 Use of this Guide

This guide contains the following seven sections:

  1. Introduction
  2. What is Hazardous Waste under the Regulations?
  3. What is Hazardous Recyclable Material under the Regulations?
  4. Classifying Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material using Codes Required under the Regulations
  5. Classification Examples
  6. Sources of Additional Information
  7. Appendices

The appendices in this guide contain tables used in the classification of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials that are not directly found in the Regulations but are referenced in it (e.g., relevant lists and schedules from the OECD decisions and annexes to the Basel Convention). In some cases where it was not practical to provide a table (for example, the listing of all HS Codes would result in a large table), the appropriate reference is provided.

The Guide is intended for use by individuals who have some familiarity with the TDGR; however, it does not provide guidance on complying with the classification, placarding, or labeling requirements of the TDGR.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses - Guide de classification des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses

Introduction

Le Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières dangereuses (ci-après appelé Règlement) adopté en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE), réglemente les déchets dangereux et les matières recyclables dangereuses qui franchissent les frontières internationales (c.-à-d. exportés du Canada, importés au Canada ou en transit au Canada). Le Règlement est le mécanisme par lequel le Canada met en œuvre ses obligations internationales aux termes de la Convention de Bâle , de l'Accord entre le Canada et les États Unis concernant les mouvements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et certaines décisions de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE).

Le Règlement précise ce qui est considéré comme des « déchets dangereux » et des « matières recyclables dangereuses », aux fins de la LCPE et du Règlement, et il établit un régime de permis pour assurer le contrôle et le suivi de leurs mouvements transfrontaliers entre le Canada et d'autres pays. C'est par le biais de ce processus de délivrance de permis que le Canada obtient le consentement des pays importateurs et de transit et donne son consentement pour les importations au Canada.

1.1 Objet du Guide de classification

Le Guide de classification est un document d'accompagnement du Guide de l'application du Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (aussi appelé Guide d'application du REIDDMRD) . Les lecteurs doivent d'abord lire le Guide d'application du REIDDMRD pour se familiariser avec le Règlement. Ils doivent aussi prendre connaissance du Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (RTMD) administré par Transports Canada pour bien comprendre certains des renseignements contenus dans le présent guide. Le Guide de classification a pour but de fournir des conseils pratiques pour aider à déterminer si un déchet ou une matière recyclable est visé par le Règlement, ainsi qu'à classifier les déchets dangereux et les matières recyclables dangereuses en sélectionnant les codes qui décrivent un déchet ou une matière recyclable aux fins de notification (à l'aide du système électronique ou du formulaire d'administration) et de suivi des déplacements. Toutefois, en cas de divergence entre ce guide et le Règlement, le Règlement a préséance.

1.2 Approche de classification

L’approche fondamentale s’appuie sur des listes et des critères de danger. Les listes n’ont pas comme objectif d’être exhaustives et, par conséquent, les listes et les critères de danger sont complémentaires. Les critères de danger, qui incluent des tests tels que la procédure de lixiviation pour essais de caractéristiques de toxicité (Toxicity Characteristic Leaching Procedure - TCLP), sont nécessaires pour caractériser les dangers des déchets et des matières recyclables qui ne sont pas spécifiquement dénommés dans la liste.

1.3 Utilisation du guide

Ce guide est composé des sept sections suivantes :

  1. Introduction
  2. Qu’est-ce qu’un déchet dangereux en vertu du Règlement?
  3. Qu’est-ce qu’une matière recyclable dangereuse en vertu du Règlement?
  4. Classification des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses à l’aide des codes requis en vertu du Règlement
  5. Exemples de classification
  6. Sources de renseignements supplémentaires
  7. Annexes

Les annexes du présent guide contiennent des tableaux utilisés dans la classification des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses qui n’apparaissent pas directement dans le Règlement, mais dans lequel on y fait référence (p. ex., listes et appendices pertinents des décisions de l’OCDE et annexes de la Convention de Bâle). Dans les cas particuliers où il n’était pas possible de fournir un tableau (p. ex., fournir la liste des codes HS aurait donné lieu à un trop grand tableau), la référence appropriée est fournie. Une liste des annexes est fournie à la page 2 de ce guide.

Le guide est destiné aux personnes qui connaissent assez bien le RTMD; toutefois, il ne donne pas d’indication sur le respect des exigences du RTMD relatives à la classification, à la pose de plaque ou à l’étiquetage.

Date de modification :