Eligibility and permit process

Obtain and submit movement documents

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Who must apply

The Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR) require anyone proposing to export or import a hazardous waste (HW) or hazardous recyclable material (HRM) to submit a notice which serves as an application for a permit from the Minister of Environment and Climate Change Canada. No shipment can proceed without a valid permit. Those proposing to use Canada as a country of transit for HW and HRM, or to ship Canadian HW and HRM between Canadian facilities via a foreign country are also subject to this requirement. The objectives of the Regulations are to:

  • ensure that HW and HRM are managed appropriately to protect the environment and human health, and
  • fulfill Canada’s international obligations regarding the international movement of HW and HRM

Import, export, and transit permits are issued when the countries involved are party to the Basel Convention, or the Canada-USA Agreement, or are subject to OECD Decision C(2001)107/Final, and there is no restriction under Canadian law or the laws of the countries of import, export, or transit, and authorities of all countries involved formally agree with the movement.

To provide notice and apply for a permit, the exporter or importer must be a resident of Canada or, in the case of a corporation, have a place of business in Canada, AND

  • own or operate the facility from or to which the HW or HRM will be shipped, OR
  • buy or sell HRM for the purposes of recycling in Canada or another country that is party to the OECD Decision

These restrictions do not apply to applicants for Transit permits unless the origin and destination are both within Canada.

Application process

The e-Notification and Permitting system is the preferred method of providing notice and applying for a permit. The secure online system is accessible through Environment and Climate Change Canada’s Single Window web site, and enables you to submit applications, track the status of your submissions, and obtain permits online. Once you have set up your account, you are able to reuse information in future notices. e-Notification is not available for transits, re-routings, returns, and requests for amendments, which must be submitted via email, mail, registered mail, fax, or courier.

Permit applications must contain complete, accurate, and consistent information regarding the following:

  • the description and quantity of the hazardous waste (HW) or hazardous recyclable material (HRM);
  • the exporter, importer, and carriers involved;
  • the facilities that will handle the HW or HRM;
  • the type of disposal or recycling operations to be used; and
  • insurance coverage

Applications must include any documents required by foreign countries (where applicable), and signed contracts between exporter(s) and importers(s) and authorized facilities. All documents must match the information provided in the application.

Once all notification requirements of the Regulations are met, Environment and Climate Change Canada notifies the competent authority in the foreign country(ies) or the provincial/territorial authority. If all authorities consent, Environment and Climate Change Canada will issue a permit. If any authorities object to the application, the application cannot proceed.

Between 2010 and 2016, the Waste Reduction and Management Division received an average of 2,167 permit applications per year, and tracked 37,250 shipments annually. The service standard commitment for processing applications is 60 days from date of receiving a complete and accurate application.

Other applications under these Regulations include:

  • Request to amend permit
  • Request to reroute shipment
  • Request to return shipment
  • Request for advanced approval of a facility
  • Request for a permit of equivalent level of environmental safety (PELES)

Once a permit is issued, every shipment of hazardous waste or hazardous recyclable material must be accompanied by a copy of the permit, a completed movement document, and any other documents where required; and must be shipped according to the terms of the permit and Regulations. The Canada Border Services Agency will check for compliance before allowing hazardous waste or recyclables to pass through customs. Permit requirements are fulfilled only once confirmation of disposal or recycling is received from the importer.

The Department of National Defence (DND) is exempt from some requirements for importing hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material.

What is “hazardous”

Before applying, confirm that your waste or recyclables are considered hazardous in Canada, and whether they are considered hazardous in the country of import, export, and transit. State on your application whether the country of import, export, or transit considers the waste or recyclables to be hazardous.

Step 1:

  • Is your waste to be disposed using an operation listed on Schedule 1?
  • Are your recyclables to be processed using an operation on Schedule 2?

Step 2:

If you answer YES to either question, use the following tests to determine whether your wastes and recyclables are defined or considered hazardous under Canadian law. If your item is found on Schedule 1 or 2, AND it meets any one of these criteria, you must apply for an export, import or transit permit.

Exceptions

  1. Mercury wastes and recyclables are considered hazardous unless shipped in quantities less than 50 mL per shipment, unless they are identified as Class 6.2 under the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations.
  2. Hazardous waste and hazardous recyclables exclude:
    • goods exported, imported or shipped in transit in a quantity of less than 5 kg or 5 L per shipment
    • goods collected from households in the normal course of regular municipal waste collection, and
    • personal or household effects not resulting from commercial use
  3. Hazardous recyclables also exclude recyclables transported from, to, or through a country that is subject to OECD Decision C (2001)107/Final that:

Or that:

  • is set out in Schedule 8, and
  • produces a leachate containing a constituent set out in column 2 of Schedule 6 in a concentration at or greater than shown in column 3, and
  • is to be recycled at an authorized facility in the country of import using an operation listed in Schedule 2

Despite the above, a waste or recyclable is considered hazardous for export if it will be disposed of or processed using an operation listed in Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 and will be exported to or transit a country where:

  • it is defined or considered to be hazardous
  • its importation is prohibited by the country of import, or
  • it is listed in Article 1, subparagraphs 1(a) or 2 of the Basel Convention
Other requirements

Information provided on this web site is in plain language and does not contain or supersede the detailed requirements of the regulations. It is important that you review and comply with the Export Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR) and related regulations before initiating a shipment. Other legislation and regulations that may apply include:

Contact the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission if your waste or recyclable is radioactive.

Contact Natural Resources Canada if your wastes or recyclable is explosive.

Biomedical waste can be imported and exported only the for purpose of disposal.

Periodically, notices and advisories are issued by Canada and its international partners. It is the responsibility of those making or receiving shipments of HW and HRM to monitor and be aware of any notices and advisories that apply.

Contact us

By mail

Waste Reduction and Management Division
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 9th Floor
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H3

By FAX

Notice 819-938-4553
Movements 819-938-4554

By phone

Notice 1-844-524-5295
Movements 1-844-524-5295

Guides and help

Contact us

Related services and information

Service standard

Related programs

Date modified:

Admissibilité et processus de délivrance de permis

Renseignements concernant l’importation, l’exportation et le transport de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Qui doit soumettre une demande

Le Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD) exige de tous ceux qui projettent d’exporter, d’importer ou de transporter des déchets dangereux (DD) ou des matières recyclables dangereuses (MRD) qui transitent par le Canada de soumettre une notification servant de demande de permis au ministre d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. . Aucune expédition ne peut être effectuée sans permis valide. Les objectifs du Règlement sont les suivants :

  • veiller à ce que les DD et les MRD soient gérés d’une manière convenable qui protège l’environnement et la santé humaine;
  • s’acquitter des obligations internationales du Canada concernant les mouvements internationaux de marchandises dangereuses.

Des permis d’importation, d’exportation et de transit sont délivrés lorsque les pays sont signataires de la Convention de Bâle ou de l’Entente entre le Canada et les États-Unis ou sont assujettis à la décision C (2001) 107/Finale de l’OCDE, et qu’il n’y a aucune restriction en vertu de la législation canadienne ou des lois des pays d’importation, d’exportation ou de transit.

Pour donner une notification et pour demander un permis, l’exportateur ou l’importateur doit être un résident canadien ou, dans le cas d’une société, avoir un établissement au Canada, ET

  • détenir ou exploiter une installation où les DD ou HRM seront envoyés, OU
  • acheter ou vendre des MRD pour des fins de recyclage dans un pays partie aux décisions de l’OCDE

Ces restrictions ne s’appliquent pas aux demandeurs de permis de transit sauf si les lieux d’origine et de destination sont tous deux au Canada.

Processus de demande

L’utilisation du système en ligne de notification et de permis est la méthode de prédilection pour la présentation d’une notification et d’une demande de permis. Le système sécurisé en ligne est accessible par le site Web du Guichet unique d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, et vous permet de soumettre des demandes, de faire le suivi de l’état d’avancement de vos demandes et d’obtenir des permis en ligne. Après la création de votre compte, vous pourrez utiliser de nouveau des renseignements déjà fournis pour la transmission d’autres notifications dans le futur. Le système de notification n’est pas accessible pour les transits, les réacheminements, les renvois et les demandes de modifications qui doivent être transmis par courriel, par la poste, par courrier recommandé, par télécopieur ou par messagerie.

Les demandes de permis doivent contenir des renseignements complets, exacts et uniformes concernant les éléments suivants :

  • la description et la quantité de déchets dangereux (DD) et de matières recyclables dangereuses (MRD)
  • l’exportateur, l’importateur et les transporteurs concernés
  • les installations qui manipuleront les DD ou MRD
  • le type d’opération d’élimination ou de recyclage qui sera utilisé
  • la police d’assurance

Les demandes doivent comporter tous les documents exigés par les administrations étrangères (le cas échéant), ainsi que les contrats signés entre les exportateurs et les importateurs et les installations agréées. Tous les documents doivent correspondre aux renseignements fournis dans la demande.

Lorsque toutes les exigences du Règlement concernant la notification sont satisfaites, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada avise l’autorité compétente dans le(s) territoire(s) étranger(s) ou dans les administrations provinciales/territoriales. Si toutes les autorités donnent leur aval, le Ministère délivre un permis. Si l’une de ces autorités s’y oppose, l’envoi ne peut avoir lieu.

Entre 2010 et 2016, la Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets a reçu en moyenne 2 167 demandes de permis et a suivi 37 250 expéditions par année. Selon la norme de service établie, les permis sont délivrés dans les 60 jours suivant la date de réception des soumissions complètes et exactes.

Les autres demandes assujetties à ce Règlement comprennent les suivantes :

  • Demande de modification de permis
  • Demande de réacheminement d’expédition
  • Demande de renvoi d’expédition
  • Demande d’approbation préalable d’une installation
  • Demande de permis de niveau équivalent de sécurité environnementale

Lorsqu’un permis est émis, tous les envois de déchets dangereux ou de matières recyclables dangereuses doivent être accompagnés d’une copie du permis, d’un document de mouvement dûment rempli et de tous les autres documents pertinents; et doivent être expédiés conformément aux conditions du permis et du Règlement. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada vérifiera la conformité avant d’autoriser le passage des déchets dangereux ou des matières recyclables dangereuses par la douane. Les exigences de permis sont remplies seulement lorsque l’importateur a donné une confirmation de l’élimination ou du recyclage.

Le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) est soustrait à l’application des conditions relatives à l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses.

Que signifie "dangereux"?

Avant de présenter une demande, confirmez que vos déchets ou matières recyclables sont considérés comme dangereux au Canada et qu’ils sont considérés comme dangereux dans le pays d’importation, d’exportation et de transit. Indiquez dans votre demande si le pays d’importation, d’exportation ou de transit considère les déchets ou les matières recyclables comme dangereux.

Étape 1 :

  • Est-ce que vos déchets doivent être éliminés en utilisant une opération énumérée à l’Annexe 1?
  • Est-ce que vos matières recyclables doivent être traitées en utilisant une opération figurant à l’Annexe 2?

Étape 2 :

Si vous répondez OUI à n’importe laquelle des deux questions, utilisez les critères suivants pour déterminer si vos déchets et matières recyclables sont définis ou considérés comme dangereux en vertu de la législation canadienne. Si vos marchandises figurent à l’Annexe 1 ou 2, ET rencontre l’un des critères qui suivent, vous devez demander un permis d’exportation, d’importation ou de transit :

  • elles sont énumérées à la colonne 2 de l’Annexe 3
  • elles font partie des classes 2, 4, 5, 6, 8 ou 9 en vertu du Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses, ou
  • elles sont énumérées à la colonne 2 de l’Annexe 4 et à l’une des classes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 ou 9 du Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses, ou
  • elles sont énumérées à la colonne 1 de l’Annexe 5 dans une concentration égale ou supérieure à la limite indiquée dans la colonne 2, ou
  • elles produisent un lixiviat qui contient un constituant figurant à la colonne 2 de l’Annexe 6 en une concentration égale ou supérieure à la limite indiquée à la colonne 3, ou
  • elles sont énumérées à la colonne 2 de l’Annexe 7, elles sont pures ou sont les seuls ingrédients actifs, et elles sont inutilisées

Exceptions

  1. Les déchets de mercure et les matières recyclables sont considérés comme dangereux sauf s’ils sont expédiés en quantité inférieure à 50 ml par envoi, à moins qu’ils ne figurent à la classe 6.2 en vertu du Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses.
  2. Les déchets dangereux et matières recyclables dangereuses excluent :
    • les marchandises qui sont exportées ou importées ou qui transitent en une quantité inférieure à 5 kg ou 5 l par envoi
    • les marchandises qui sont collectées dans le cours normal de la collecte régulière des services municipaux de collecte des ordures ménagères
    • les effets personnels ou des articles ménagers qui ne résultent pas d’un usage commercial
  3. Les matières recyclables dangereuses excluent également les matières recyclables qui sont transportées vers un pays, à partir d’un pays ou qui transitent par un pays qui est assujetti à la décision C (2001) 107/Finale de l’OCDE :

Ou qui :

  • figurent à l’Annexe 8, et
  • produisent un lixiviat qui contient un constituant figurant à la colonne 2 de l’Annexe 6 en une concentration égale ou supérieure à la concentration applicable prévue à la colonne 3, et
  • sont destinées à être recyclées dans une installation agréée dans le pays d’importation selon une opération prévue à l’Annexe 2

Malgré ce qui précède, un déchet ou une matière recyclable est considérée comme dangereux pour l’exportation s’il sera éliminé ou traité selon une opération énumérée à l’Annexe 1 ou à l’Annexe 2 et s’il sera exporté à un pays ou transitera à un pays où :

  • il est défini ou considéré comme dangereux
  • son importation est interdite par le pays importateur
  • il figure à l’alinéa a) du paragraphe 1 ou du paragraphe 2 de l’article premier de la Convention de Bâle
Exigences détaillées

Les renseignements fournis sur ce site Web sont en langage simple et ne contiennent ni ne remplacent les exigences détaillées de la réglementation. Il est important d’examiner et de respecter le Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD) et les règlements connexes avant d’entreprendre un envoi. D’autres lois et règlements pouvant s’appliquer comprennent les suivants :

Communiquez avec la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire si vos déchets ou matières recyclables sont radioactifs.

Communiquez avec les Ressources naturelles Canada si vos déchets ou matières recyclables sont des explosifs.

Les déchets biomédicaux peuvent être importés et exportés seulement à des fins d’élimination.

Périodiquement, des avis et des mises en garde sont publiés par le Canada et ses partenaires internationaux. Il incombe à ceux qui effectuent ou reçoivent des envois de DD et de MRD de surveiller les avis et les mises en garde qui s’appliquent et d’en prendre connaissance.

Contactez-nous

Par la poste

Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets
351, boul. St-Joseph, 9e étage
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H3

Par télécopieur

Notifications 819-938-4553
Mouvement 819-938-4554

Par téléphone

Notifications 1-844-524-5295
Mouvement 1-844-524-5295

Par courriel

Notifications
ec.notification.ec@canada.ca
Mouvement
ec.dm-md.ec@canada.ca

Guides et aide

Contactez-nous

Services et renseignements connexes

Norme de service

Programmes connexes

Date de modification :