Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Important Notice regarding amendments to Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations

Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H3

July 28, 2008

To: Canadian Hazardous Waste Export / Import /Transit Permit Holders

Re: Advisory Note Regarding Impacts on Waste Permits Issued under the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR) Resulting from Transport Canada’s Amendment 6 of the Transportation of Dangerous Goods (TDG) Regulations

This is to inform you that Amendment 6 to the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations, which came into force on February 7th, 2008 removed the Class 9 hazardous class criteria for leachate toxicity and environmentally hazardous substances. These Class 9 criteria were specific to substances intended for disposal, ie. wastes. As a result, Environment Canada (EC) assumes responsibility for the control of these hazardous wastes as they no longer meet the definition of dangerous goods under the TDG Regulations.  

Under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) and the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations (EIHWHRMR) export, import and transit permits are normally issued with a validity period for up to one year. In the case of hazardous waste that was classified as leachate toxic or environmentally hazardous at the time of notification, the TDG Regulations product identification number (PIN) UN3082 for liquids and UN3077 for solids will appear in the permit issued by the Minister of the Environment.

Movements under existing permits issued for environmentally hazardous and leachate toxic waste still require the use of the movement document in the usual fashion. Under the EIHWHRMR, the description of the hazardous waste in the permit is required to match the information that is set out in the movement document which has meant using the PIN UN3082 and UN3077.

All existing valid permits will remain in effect until they expire, no new export, import or transit permits will be issued under CEPA 1999 to account for these changes. Therefore, in order to remain compliant with the Amendment to the TDG Regulations, you are advised to no longer use the PIN UN3082 and UN3077 on the movement document for environmentally hazardous and leachate toxic waste until further notice. When completing the boxes on the movement document for the hazard class, PIN number and the packing group number, it is suggested that N/A (not applicable) be entered instead.

With respect to the appropriate shipping name to be entered on the movement document, a description such as “environmentally hazardous waste” or “environmentally hazardous waste subject to EIHWHRMR” would be appropriate.

In order to remain compliant with EIHWHRMR and CEPA 1999 when crossing the border, it is also recommended that a copy of this advisory note accompany the movement document and permit to be deposited at the Customs Office at which the hazardous waste is to be reported under section 12 of the Customs Act.

Please be advised that EC has informed Transport Canada and the Customs offices of this action. Should you require any further information concerning this issue, please contact Mr. Joe Wittwer at (819) 953-2171 or by fax at (819) 997-3068.

Carolyne Blain
Director
Waste Reduction & Management
Public and Resources Sectors
Environment Canada

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis important concernant les amendements au Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses

Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H3

28 Juillet, 2008

Destinataires : Détenteurs canadiens de permis d’exportation/importation/transit de déchets dangereux

Objet : Avis sur l’effet de la Modification no 6 au Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (TMD) sur les permis de déchets délivrés en application du Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD)

La présente vise à vous informer que la Modification no 6 au Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses, entrée en vigueur le 7 février 2008, a supprimé les critères de danger de la classe 9 visant le lixiviat toxique et les matières dangereuses du point vue de l’environnement. Ces critères de la classe 9 visaient spécifiquement les matières destinées à l’élimination, c’est-à-dire les déchets. Conséquemment, Environnement Canada (EC) est maintenant chargé du contrôle de ces déchets dangereux car ils ne sont plus visés par la définition de marchandise dangereuse du Règlement TMD.

En application de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999 (LCPE 1999) et du Règlement sur l’exportation et l’importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD), l’émission des permis d’exportation, d’importation et de transit est normalement assortie d’une période de validité maximale d’un an. Dans le cas de déchets dangereux classés à lixiviat toxique ou dangereux pour l’environnement au moment de la notification, le numéro d’identification de produit (PIN) du Règlement TMD, UN3082 pour les liquides et UN3077 pour les solides, apparaîtra sur les permis délivrés par le ministre de l’Environnement.

Les mouvements ayant lieu en vertu de permis existants émis pour des déchets dangereux pour l’environnement ou à lixiviat toxique nécessitent toujours le document de mouvement habituel. En vertu du REIDDMRD, la description des déchets dangereux figurant sur le permis doit correspondre aux renseignements apparaissant sur le document de mouvement, ce qui menait l’utilisation des PIN UN3082 et UN3077.

Tous les permis valides existants demeureront en vigueur jusqu'à leur expiration; nul permis d'exportation, d'importation ou de transit ne sera émis en vertu de la LCPE 1999 en raison des changements susmentionnés. Par conséquent, vous êtes avisé de ne plus utiliser les PIN UN3082 et UN3077 sur un document de mouvement de déchets dangereux pour l'environnement ou à lixiviat toxique jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Il est recommandé d'inscrire « N/A » (non applicable) lorsque vous remplissez les cases du document de mouvement relatives à la classe de danger, au PIN et au numéro de groupe d'emballage.

À l’égard de l’appellation réglementaire devant être inscrite sur le document de mouvement, une description telle que « déchets dangereux pour l’environnement » ou « déchets dangereux pour l’environnement assujettis au REIDDMRD » serait adéquate.

Il est également recommandé de joindre une copie du présent avis au document de mouvement et au permis devant être déposés au bureau de douane auquel les déchets dangereux doivent être déclarés en vertu de l’article 12 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Veuillez prendre acte qu’EC a informé Transports Canada et les bureaux de douane de cette mesure. Si vous désirez plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec M. Joe Wittwer par téléphone au (819) 953-2171 ou par télécopie au (819) 997-3068.

Carolyne Blain
Directrice
Réduction et gestion des déchets
Secteurs publics et des ressources
Environnement Canada

Date de modification :