Titanic 100th Anniversary

The RMS TITANIC sank on April 15, 1912, after striking an iceberg near the Grand Banks of Newfoundland in the North Atlantic Ocean. The tremendous loss of life in this preventable tragedy led to the establishment, in 1914, of the first International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS),  the most important of all international treaties concerning the safety of merchant ships.

International Ice Patrol

The tragic sinking also prompted the maritime nations owning the majority of shipping transiting the North Atlantic to establish an iceberg patrol in the area. Since 1913, the United States Coast Guard has been tasked with the management and operation of the International Ice Patrol (IIP).

 

Photo of an iceberg.  Credit: Lucie Theriault.

Canadian Ice Service

The Government of Canada first initiated a sea ice information service in the 1940's. In 1983, Environment Canada began providing iceberg information along the Newfoundland and Labrador Coast, including the Strait of Belle Isle. This complemented the iceberg information provided by the United States’ based IIP over the Grand Banks. Canada's iceberg program included the development and operation of a specially equipped DeHavilland Dash-7 aircraft, used for dedicated flights to observe and report the positions, sizes and types of icebergs.

Photo of an iceberg.  Credit: Lucie Theriault.

The icebergs are sited visually whenever possible, but Side-Looking Airborne Radar (SLAR) is used when the visibility is reduced to accurately position the bergs. The iceberg information is then entered into the Iceberg Analysis and Prediction System (BAPS) that keeps track of their position.

Current and future improvements to the service include: using satellite imagery to detect icebergs and adding calving to the next iceberg model in the near future.

Icebergs on the East Coast

The number of icebergs over the Grand Banks varies considerably from year to year. The range can vary from 0 to 2000. About 800 icebergs drift south of 48 degrees latitude (30 year average). Some of the factors influencing the numbers and location of icebergs include – water currents, winds, and the amount of sea ice.

Some icebergs in recent years have been massive - the Petermann Glacier located along the northwestern coast of Greenland calved a 28 km2 ice island fragment (flat tabular iceberg) in July 2008 and a 280 km2 fragment in August 2010.

North American Ice Service

The IIP and the Canadian Ice Service (CIS) issue one daily iceberg analysis under the North American Ice Service (NAIS), a collaborative agreement to unify North American ice information and improve service to mariners. The iceberg analysis is published in a text bulletin and a graphical chart.

Iceberg analysis charts and bulletins

NAIS Daily Iceberg Analysis Chart

Daily Iceberg Analysis Chart

The daily iceberg analysis chart provides a snapshot of iceberg conditions in waters off Eastern North America south of 60° N. The charts are based on observations from dedicated aerial reconnaissance, ships, oil rigs and shore reports. The charts are continuously updated by numerical model predictions of iceberg drift and deterioration. This chart provides essential information for route planning for transatlantic shipping as well as for local shipping, fishing and the offshore hydrocarbon industry. Iceberg charts from 2004 to present, are kept in online archives, and are accessible to the general public.

The iceberg bulletin describes the known iceberg limit in Canada's East Coast waters as latitude and longitude coordinates of points, as well as general information on the number of icebergs within each marine area. Iceberg bulletins are used by mariners and shipping agencies requiring information on conditions that could affect marine safety. To view the latest iceberg bulletin, go to our Ice Conditions page, under the East Coast region.

Titanic : Le 100anniversaire

Le RMS TITANIC a coulé le 15 avril 1912, après avoir heurté un iceberg près des Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve, dans l’Atlantique Nord. Les pertes de vie considérables lors de cette tragédie évitable ont mené à l’adoption, en 1914, de la première Convention internationale pour la sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer (SOLAS), le plus important de tous les traités internationaux relatifs à la sécurité des navires marchands.

Patrouille internationale de glace

Ce tragique naufrage a aussi incité les pays maritimes possédant la majorité du transport maritime qui naviguent dans l'Atlantique Nord, à créer des patrouilles d'iceberg dans cette zone. En 1913, la Garde côtière des États-Unis a été chargé de la gestion et du fonctionnement de la Patrouille internationale de glace (IIP).  

Photo d'un iceberg.  Crédit: Lucie Theriault.

Service canadien des glaces

Le gouvernement du Canada a initié un service d'information au sujet de la glace de mer dans les années 1940.  En 1983, Environnement Canada a commencé à fournir des renseignements sur les icebergs le long de la côte de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, y compris dans le détroit de Belle-Isle. Ces renseignements complétaient ceux fournis par la Patrouille internationale de glace des États-Unis sur les Grands Bancs.

Photo d'un iceberg.  Crédit: Lucie Theriault.

Le programme canadien des icebergs prévoyait le développement et l'exploitation d'un avion de type Dash-7 DeHavilland qui serait utilisé lors de vols ciblés pour observer et signaler la position, la taille et le type d'icebergs. Les icebergs sont repérés visuellement le plus possible, mais le radar aéroporté à balayage latérale (RABL) est utilisé lors de visibilité réduite pour repérer avec précision la position des icebergs. Les renseignements sur les icebergs sont alors entrés dans le Système d'analyse et de prévisions des icebergs (BAPS) qui effectue le suivi de la position des icebergs.

Les améliorations présentes et futures apportées au service comprennent : l’utilisation de l'imagerie satellitaire pour détecter les icebergs et bientôt l’ajout du vêlage des icebergs dans le prochain modèle.

Icebergs sur la côte Est

Le nombre d'icebergs près des Grands Bancs varie considérablement d'année en année.  Le nombre d'icebergs peut varier de 0 à 2000. Environ 800 icebergs dérivent au sud de 48 degrés de latitude (moyenne de 30 ans). Certains facteurs qui influencent le nombre et l'emplacement des icebergs comprennent: les courants marins, les vents et la quantité de glace de mer.

Certains icebergs dans les dernières années ont été massifs - le glacier Petermann situé le long de la côte nord-ouest du Groenland a vêlé un fragment d'île de glace de 28 km2 (iceberg tabulaire plat) en juillet 2008 et un fragment de 280 km2 en août 2010.

Service nord-américain des glaces

La Patrouille internationale de glace (IIP) et le Service canadien des glaces (SCG) émettent une analyse quotidienne des icebergs dans le cadre du Service des glaces de l'Amérique de nord (SGAN), une entente de collaboration qui vise à uniformiser les renseignements au sujet des glaces en Amérique du Nord et à améliorer le service aux marins. L'analyse d'icebergs est publiée sous forme d'un bulletin et d'une carte graphique.

Cartes et analyses des icebergs et bulletins

Cartes quotidiennes d’analyse des icebergs du SGAN

Cartes quotidiennes d’analyse des icebergs

La carte d'analyse quotidienne des icebergs fournit une image instantanée des conditions des eaux de l'est de l'Amérique du Nord au sud du 60° N. Les cartes sont établies d'après les observations de vols dédiés de reconnaissances aériennes, navires, plateformes pétrolières et des rapports côtiers. Les cartes sont continuellement mises à jour par des modèles de prévisions numériques des dérives et des détériorations des icebergs. Ces cartes fournissent des renseignements essentiels pour la planification des trajets des navires transatlantiques ainsi que pour le transport maritime local, les pêcheurs et l'industrie des hydrocarbures en mer. Les cartes d'analyse des icebergs de 2004 à maintenant sont conservées dans des archives en ligne et sont accessibles au grand public.

Le bulletin sur les icebergs décrit la limite des icebergs dans les eaux de la Côte Est du Canada, comme points de coordonnées de latitude et longitude et servent aussi comme renseignements généraux sur le nombre d'icebergs dans la zone visée. Ces bulletins sont utilisés par les marins et les agences maritimes ayant besoin de renseignements sur les conditions susceptibles d'affecter la sécurité maritime. Pour accéder au bulletin récent, allez à la page État des glaces, sous la région « Côte Est ».