Air pollutant emissions from transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment

Access PDF (875 KB)

Transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment are one of the largest sources of air pollutants in Canada. Burning fossil fuels to power vehicles and engines causes emissions of many air pollutants. Air pollutants are responsible for the formation of fine particulate matter, ozone, smog and acid rain. They also adversely affect human heath, the environment and the economy.

Key results

  • In 2015, transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment accounted for more than half of total national emissions of carbon monoxide (CO) and nitrogen oxides (NOX). It also accounted for 17% of total emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs).
  • While also a source of emissions of other pollutants, the sectors represent less than 5% of total national emissions of these other pollutants.

Contribution of transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment to national air pollutant emissions by transportation mode, Canada, 2015

Stacked column chart showing the contribution of transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment to national air pollutant emissions by transportation mode. Long description below.

Long description

The stacked column chart shows the contribution in percent of transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment to total national emissions of carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, volatile organic compounds, fine particulate matter, sulphur oxides and ammonia in 2015 in Canada by transportation mode: passenger cars and motorcycles; passenger light trucks; large trucks and buses; air, marine and rail travel; and off-road vehicles and equipment, tire wear and brake lining.

Data for this chart
Contribution of transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment to national air pollutant emissions by transportation mode, Canada, 2015
Transportation modeCarbon monoxide (percentage of national emissions)Nitrogen oxides (percentage of national emissions)Volatile organic compounds (percentage of national emissions)Fine particulate matter (percentage of national emissions)Sulphur oxides (percentage of national emissions)Ammonia (percentage of national emissions)
Passenger cars and motorcycles8.72.32.50.1< 0.10.6
Passenger light trucks11.13.22.70.10.10.5
Large trucks and buses8.415.11.60.6< 0.10.2
Air, marine and rail travel1.523.01.20.51.60.1
Off-road vehicles and equipment, tire wear and brake lining23.610.68.81.2< 0.10.1
Emissions of air pollutants from transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment by transportation mode, Canada, 2015
Transportation modeCarbon monoxide (kilotonnes)Nitrogen oxides (kilotonnes)Volatile organic compounds (kilotonnes)Fine particulate matter (kilotonnes)Sulphur oxides (kilotonnes)Ammonia (kilotonnes)
Passenger cars and motorcycles48643461< 13
Passenger light trucks6196149113
Large trucks and buses4682853010< 11
Air, marine and rail travel8643622817< 1
Off-road vehicles and equipment, tire wear and brake lining132320116320< 1< 1

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.87 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: "Passenger cars and motorcycles" include light-duty vehicles powered by motor gasoline, diesel, liquefied petroleum gas and compressed natural gas engines as well as all types of motorcycles. "Passenger light trucks" include light-duty trucks powered by motor gasoline, diesel, liquefied petroleum gas and compressed natural gas engines. "Large trucks and buses" include heavy-duty trucks powered by motor gasoline, diesel, liquefied petroleum gas and compressed natural gas engines.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2017) Air Pollutant Emission Inventory.

More information

The mix of fuels used explains in large part the contribution of each transportation mode to emissions of different air pollutants.

Large trucks and buses, and rail and marine mostly rely on diesel fuel. Aviation relies on aviation turbo fuel. These sources are the largest source of NOX transportation-related emissions accounting for 70% (721 kilotonnes [kt]) of transportation NOX emissions.

Passenger cars and trucks mostly use gasoline and are a main source of pollutants, especially in urban centres. In 2015, emissions from passenger cars and trucks amounted to 1105 kt of CO, 96 kt of VOCs, and 5 kt of NH3. This represented 37%, 31% and 75% of all emissions of these pollutants, respectively, from transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment.

Other sources (mainly composed of off-road vehicles and equipment)Footnote [1] are also a significant source of pollution. Their combined emissions make up 20%, 44% and 52% of the sector's total emissions of NOX, CO and VOCs, respectively. Emissions mostly come from household use of gasoline- or diesel-powered recreational and lawn and garden equipment and from the operation of agricultural, construction and mining equipment.

The largest source of sulphur oxide (SOX) emissions in the transportation sector is marine vessels. Emissions of SOX from marine vessels decreased by almost 90% between 2014 and 2015 due to the introduction of more stringent regulations.

Changes in emissions from transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment

Key results

  • Between 1990 and 2015, emissions of NOX, CO and VOCs from transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment decreased by 28%, 62% and 71%, respectively.
  • Since 2000, all pollutants demonstrated the same downward trend in their emissions level.

Changes in emissions of key air pollutants from transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment, Canada, 1990 to 2015

Indexed line chart showing emissions changes for three air pollutants from transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment. Long description below.

Long description

The indexed line chart shows emissions changes from 1990 to 2015, as a percent of 1990 emissions, for three air pollutants from transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment in Canada: nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide and volatile organic compounds.

Data for this chart
Changes in emissions of key air pollutants from transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment, Canada, 1990 to 2015
YearNitrogen oxides (emissions changes as a percentage of 1990 levels)Carbon monoxide (emissions changes as a percentage of 1990 levels)Volatile organic compounds (emissions changes as a percentage of 1990 levels)
1990000
1991-6-59
1992-2-39
19930-38
19946-77
19958-117
199611-115
199718-100
199820-9-4
199923-9-11
200024-10-17
200116-18-32
200211-21-32
20037-23-35
20044-26-35
20051-37-43
2006-4-40-46
2007-6-43-48
2008-10-46-49
2009-18-49-54
2010-16-52-55
2011-19-57-63
2012-22-59-66
2013-24-60-68
2014-27-61-69
2015-28-62-71
Emissions of key air pollutants from transportation, off-road vehicles and mobile equipment, Canada, 1990 to 2015
YearNitrogen oxides (kilotonnes)Carbon monoxide (kilotonnes)Volatile organic compounds (kilotonnes)
1990142478641057
1991134475031147
1992139676401149
1993142576121141
1994150473321132
1995153870241126
1996158070311108
1997167870961056
1998171271911018
199917567121937
200017607066873
200116566446722
200215786249723
200315216034688
200414885828684
200514354993599
200613674717571
200713354463551
200812864250541
200911643975490
201011913812475
201111563420387
201211063192356
201310803118334
201410463066323
201510262982312

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.67 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: Fine particulate matter, sulphur oxides and ammonia are not shown in the chart due to their low share (≤ 5%) of total emissions in 2015.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2017) Air Pollutant Emission Inventory.

More information

Between 1990 and 2015, NOX emissions reductions were lower than those observed for VOCs and CO.

NOX emissions increased between 1990 and 2000 (24%) due to an increase in air, marine and rail travel and road freight transportation. Emissions from air marine and rail travel represented 42% of transportation-related emissions of NOX in 2015. Changes in air, marine and rail travel thus have a large impact on changes in emissions of NOX. After 2000, new regulations contributed to a decrease in emissions from road freight, while emissions from air travel continued to increase.

Passenger and freight travel emissions are influenced by a variety of factors. These include population and economic growth, volume of passenger and freight travel, vehicle type, emission control technologies, fuel efficiency and fuel type.

The gradual introduction of cleaner technology and fuels for vehicles as a result of regulations was the leading cause of reductions in transportation emissions, despite the economic growth and increase in population and transportation activity that also occurred during that time.

Access PDF (875 KB)

Date modified:

Émissions de polluants atmosphériques dues au transport, aux véhicules hors route et à l'équipement mobile

Accéder au PDF (947 Ko)

Le transport, les véhicules hors route et l'équipement mobile constituent l'une des principales sources de pollution atmosphérique au Canada. Les combustibles fossiles utilisés pour alimenter les véhicules et les moteurs causent l'émission de nombreux polluants atmosphériques. Les polluants atmosphériques sont responsables de la formation de particules fines, d'ozone, de smog et de pluies acides. Ils ont également un effet nuisible sur la santé, l'environnement et l'économie.

Aperçu des résultats

  • En 2015, le transport, les véhicules hors route et l'équipement mobile étaient responsables de plus de la moitié des émissions nationales totales de monoxyde de carbone (CO) et d'oxydes d'azote (NOX). Ils représentaient également 17 % du total des émissions de composés organiques volatils (COV).
  • Bien qu'ils soient une source d'autres émissions de polluants, ces secteurs représentaient moins de 5 % du total des émissions de ces autres polluants à l'échelle nationale.

Contribution du transport, des véhicules hors route et de l'équipement mobile aux émissions de polluants atmosphériques à l'échelle nationale, par moyen de transport, Canada, 2015

Le graphique à colonnes empilées montre la contribution du transport, des véhicules hors route et de l'équipement mobile aux émissions de polluants atmosphériques par moyen de transport. Description longue ci-dessous.

Description longue

Le graphique à colonnes empilées montre la contribution en pourcentage du secteur du transport, des véhicules hors route et de l'équipement mobile par rapport au total des émissions de monoxyde de carbone, d'oxydes d'azote, de composés organiques volatils, de particules fines, d'oxydes de soufre et d'ammoniac en 2015 au Canada par moyen de transport : voiture et motocyclette, camion léger, camion lourd et autobus, avion, navire, et train, véhicule hors route et équipement, abrasion des pneus et garniture de frein.

Données du graphique
Contribution du transport, des véhicules hors route et de l'équipement mobile aux émissions nationales totales de polluants atmosphérique par mode de transport, Canada, 2015
Mode de transportMonoxyde de carbone (pourcentage des émissions nationales)Oxydes d'azote (pourcentage des émissions nationales)Composés organiques volatils (pourcentage des émissions nationales)Particules fines (pourcentage des émissions nationales)Oxydes de soufre (pourcentage des émissions nationales)Ammoniac (pourcentage des émissions nationales)
Voitures et motocyclettes8,72,32,50,1< 0,10,6
Camions légers11,13,22,70,10,10,5
Camions lourds et autobus8,415,11,60,6< 0,10,2
Transport aérien, maritime et ferroviaire1,523,01,20,51,60,1
Véhicules hors route et équipement, abrasion des pneus et garniture de frein23,610,68,81,2< 0,10,1
Émissions des principaux polluants atmosphériques attribuables au transport, aux véhicules hors route et à l'équipement mobile, Canada, 1990 à 2015
Mode de transportMonoxyde de carbone (kilotonnes)Oxydes d'azote (kilotonnes)Composés organiques volatils (kilotonnes)Particules fines (kilotonnes)Oxydes de soufre (kilotonnes)Ammoniac (kilotonnes)
Voitures et motocyclettes48643461< 13
Camions légers6196149113
Camions lourds et autobus4682853010< 11
Transport aérien, maritime et ferroviaire8643622817< 1
Véhicules hors route et équipement, abrasion des pneus et garniture de frein1 32320116320< 1< 1

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 2,08 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Remarque : La catégorie « voitures et motocyclettes » comprend les véhicules légers équipés d'un moteur à essence, au diesel, au gaz de pétrole liquéfié et au gaz naturel compressé, ainsi que tous les types de motocyclettes. La catégorie « camions légers » comprend les camions légers équipés d'un moteur à essence, au diesel, au gaz de pétrole liquéfié et au gaz naturel compressé. La catégorie « camions et autobus » comprend les camions lourds équipés d'un moteur à essence, au diesel, au gaz de pétrole liquéfié et au gaz naturel compressé.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2017) Inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques.

Complément d'information

Le mélange de combustibles utilisés explique en grande partie la contribution de chaque moyen de transport aux émissions de différents polluants atmosphériques.

Les gros camions et autobus, ainsi que les trains et les navires fonctionnent principalement au diesel. Les avions fonctionnent au carburéacteur. Ces sources représentent la plus grande proportion d'émissions de NOX reliées au transport avec 70 % (721 kilotonnes [kt]).

Les voitures et les camions fonctionnent principalement à l'essence et sont la principale source de polluants, particulièrement dans les centres urbains. En 2015, les émissions dues aux voitures et aux camions légers se situaient à 1 105 kt de CO, 96 kt de COV et 5 kt de NH3. Cela représentait respectivement 37 %, 31 % et 75 % de toutes les émissions de ces polluants attribuables au transport, aux véhicules hors route et à l'équipement mobile.

D'autres sources (principalement composées de véhicules hors route et d'équipement mobileNote de bas de page [1]) sont également responsables d'une grande partie de la pollution. Ces émissions combinées représentent respectivement 20 %, 44 % et 52 % des émissions totales de NOX, de CO et de COV du secteur. Les émissions proviennent principalement de l'utilisation, par les ménages, d'équipement d'entretien de jardins et de pelouses et de véhicules récréatifs équipés d'un moteur à essence ou au diesel, ainsi que des activités agricoles, de la construction et de l'équipement minier.

Les navires représentent la plus grande source d'émissions d'oxyde de soufre (SOX) dans le secteur du transport. Les émissions de SOX des navires ont diminué de presque 90 % entre 2014 et 2015, en raison de l'adoption de règlements plus sévères.

Changement des émissions issues du transport, des véhicules hors route et de l'équipement mobile

Aperçu des résultats

  • Entre 1990 et 2015, les émissions de NOX, de CO et de COV attribuables au secteur du transport, aux véhicules hors route et à l'équipement mobile ont diminué de 28 %, 62 % et 71 % respectivement.
  • Depuis 2000, on a remarqué une tendance à la baisse des niveaux d'émissions de tous les polluants.

Changements dans les émissions des principaux polluants atmosphériques attribuables au transport, aux véhicules hors route et à l'équipement mobile, Canada, 1990 à 2015

Le graphique linéaire montre les changements dans les émissions des principaux polluants atmosphériques attribuables au transport, aux véhicules hors route et à l'équipement mobile. Description longue ci-dessous.

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire montre les changements de 1990 à 2015 en pourcentage des émissions de 1990 de 3 polluants atmosphériques générés par le secteur du transport, les véhicules hors route et l'équipement mobile au Canada : les oxydes d'azote, le monoxyde de carbone et les composés organiques volatils.

Données du graphique
Changements dans les émissions des principaux polluants atmosphériques attribuables au transport, aux véhicules hors route et à l'équipement mobile, Canada, 1990 à 2015
AnnéeOxydes d'azote (changements dans les émissions en pourcentage des niveaux de 1990)Monoxyde de carbone (changements dans les émissions en pourcentage des niveaux de 1990)Composés organiques volatils (changements dans les émissions en pourcentage des niveaux de 1990)
1990000
1991-6-59
1992-2-39
19930-38
19946-77
19958-117
199611-115
199718-100
199820-9-4
199923-9-11
200024-10-17
200116-18-32
200211-21-32
20037-23-35
20044-26-35
20051-37-43
2006-4-40-46
2007-6-43-48
2008-10-46-49
2009-18-49-54
2010-16-52-55
2011-19-57-63
2012-22-59-66
2013-24-60-68
2014-27-61-69
2015-28-62-71
Changements dans les émissions des principaux polluants atmosphériques attribuables au transport, aux véhicules hors route et à l'équipement mobile, Canada, 1990 à 2015
AnnéeOxydes d'azote (kilotonnes)Monoxyde de carbone (kilotonnes)Composés organiques volatils (kilotonnes)
19901 4247 8641 057
19911 3447 5031 147
19921 3967 6401 149
19931 4257 6121 141
19941 5047 3321 132
19951 5387 0241 126
19961 5807 0311 108
19971 6787 0961 056
19981 7127 1911 018
19991 7567 121937
20001 7607 066873
20011 6566 446722
20021 5786 249723
20031 5216 034688
20041 4885 828684
20051 4354 993599
20061 3674 717571
20071 3354 463551
20081 2864 250541
20091 1643 975490
20101 1913 812475
20111 1563 420387
20121 1063 192356
20131 0803 118334
20141 0463 066323
20151 0262 982312

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,86 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Remarque : Les particules fines, les oxydes de soufre et l'ammoniac ne font pas partie de ce graphique en raison de la faible proportion de leurs émissions (≤ 5 %) par rapport au total des émissions en 2015.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2017) Inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques.

Complément d'information

Entre 1990 et 2015, la réduction des émissions de NOX était inférieure à celle des COV et du CO.

Les émissions de NOX ont augmenté de 24 % entre 1990 à 2000, dû à une hausse du transport routier, ferroviaire, aérien et maritime de marchandises. Les émissions générées par le transport aérien, maritime et ferroviaire représentent 42 % des émissions de NOX générées par ce secteur en 2015. Les changements apportés au transport aérien, maritime et ferroviaire ont également eu une grande incidence sur les changements en matière d'émissions de NOX.

Après 2000, de nouveaux règlements ont contribué à la baisse des émissions générées par le transport routier de marchandises, alors que les émissions dues au transport aérien ont continué d'augmenter.

Les émissions dues au transport de marchandises et de passagers sont affectées par une série de facteurs. Ces facteurs comprennent notamment la croissance de la population et de l'économie, le volume du transport de passagers et de marchandises, le type de véhicule, les technologies antipollution, l'efficacité énergétique et le type de carburant.

L'introduction progressive de technologies et de carburant propres pour les véhicules en raison des règlements a été la principale raison des réductions générées par le secteur du transport, malgré la croissance économique et l'augmentation de la population et des activités de transport durant cette période.

Accéder au PDF (947 Ko)

Date de modification :