Water Withdrawal and Consumption by Sector

Access PDF (227 KB)

In 2013, approximately 38 300 million cubic metres of water were withdrawn from Canada's rivers, lakes, groundwater and oceans. The thermal power generation industry withdrew the most water, which was used for cooling and to produce steam to drive the turbines that generate electricity. Thermal power generation is followed by the manufacturing, households, commercial and institutional, agriculture, mining and oil and gas sectors. The majority of the water withdrawn is circulated back into the water body from which it was taken. 

Total water withdrawal declined from 42 200 million cubic metres of water in 2005 to 38 300 million cubic metres in 2013. The substantial drop in water withdrawal is related, in part, to a decrease in manufacturing production between 2005 and 2013,Footnote [1] which resulted in the manufacturing sector withdrawing 31% and consuming 37% less water in 2013 than in 2005.

In 2013, approximately 3600 million cubic metres of water were consumed or were not returned to the original source. Agriculture consumed 1600 million cubic metres, or 80%, of the water withdrawn from water sources.

Between 2005 and 2013, water consumption decreased slightly from 3700 million cubic metres to 3600 million cubic metres. Households and thermal power generation experienced reductions in consumption of 16% and 45%, respectively, over the same period.

Water withdrawal by sector, Canada, 2005 to 2013

Line and Stacked Bar Chart

Long description

The graph displays two charts side by side. The line chart shows the estimated volume (in million cubic metres) of water withdrawn by the thermal power generation, manufacturing, households, commercial and institutional, agriculture, mining, and oil and gas sectors every two years from 2005 to 2013. The stacked bar chart shows the volume of water withdrawn (in million cubic metres) by each of those seven sectors in Canada in 2013. Of the water withdrawn by each sector, the volume of water returned to the environment is displayed, along with the volume consumed, or not returned to the original source.

Data for this chart
Water withdrawal by sector, Canada, 2005 to 2013
SectorYearVolume of water withdrawn
(million cubic metres)
Volume of water consumed
(million cubic metres)
Volume of water returned
(million cubic metres)
Thermal power generation200527 82571627 109
Thermal power generation200727 83452227 313
Thermal power generation200926 21448425 729
Thermal power generation201123 71641223 304
Thermal power generation201325 63539725 239
Manufacturing200557196505069
Manufacturing200745734524122
Manufacturing200939273673561
Manufacturing201137904483342
Manufacturing201339544113543
Households200538753883488
Households200738273833445
Households200935893593230
Households201135063513156
Households201332393242915
Commercial and institutional200520532051847
Commercial and institutional200720362041832
Commercial and institutional200919571961762
Commercial and institutional201119301931737
Commercial and institutional201320742071867
Agriculture200518291536293
Agriculture200723221950371
Agriculture200923661988379
Agriculture201118091519289
Agriculture201320071600407
Mining200566944624
Mining2007906151755
Mining200967598578
Mining2011776144632
Mining2013976300675
Oil and gas200519818810
Oil and gas200719018110
Oil and gas200929327815
Oil and gas201134933217
Oil and gas201340238220

Note: Totals may not add up due to rounding.

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.61 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The indicator reports estimates of water withdrawal and consumption by each sector. Refer to the Data Sources and Methods document for more details.
Source: Statistics Canada (2012) CANSIM Table 153-0101 - Water use in Canada, by sector, every 2 years, CANSIM database. Statistics Canada (2015) CANSIM Table 153-0116 - Physical flow account for water use, every 2 years, CANSIM database. Statistics Canada (2015) Industrial Water Survey 2013.

Water consumption refers to water withdrawn but not returned to its original source. In producing food for Canadians, the agriculture sector in British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan consume the most water overall. In the British Columbia interior and the Prairies, irrigation systems are widely used to improve crop yields because the amount of water in this region is naturally low. Very little of the water used for irrigation is returned directly to its source. The oil and gas sector is also a large consumer of water. Approximately 95% of the water withdrawn is consumed; however, water is recycled and reused wherever possible, avoiding additional withdrawals from surface water and groundwater sources.Footnote [2]

Related indicators

Other information

Access PDF (227 KB)

Date modified:

Prélèvement et consommation d'eau par secteur

Accéder au PDF (245 Ko)

En 2013, environ 38 300 millions de mètres cubes d'eau ont été prélevés des rivières, des lacs, des sources d'eau souterraine et des océans du Canada. Les centrales thermiques d'énergie électrique ont prélevé la plus grande quantité d'eau; l'eau est utilisée pour le refroidissement ainsi que pour la production de vapeur visant à faire fonctionner les turbines qui produisent l'électricité. Les centrales thermiques d'énergie électrique sont suivies du secteur de l'industrie manufacturière, des ménages, du secteur commercial et institutionnel, de l'agriculture, de l'exploitation minière et de l'industrie gazière et pétrolière. La majorité de l'eau prélevée est remise en circulation dans le plan d'eau où elle a été puisée.

La quantité totale d'eau prélevée est passée de 42 200 millions de mètres cubes d'eau en 2005 à 38 300 millions de mètres cubes en 2013. La réduction considérable des prélèvements d'eau est liée, en partie, à une baisse de la production manufacturière entre 2005 et 2013,Notes de bas de page [1] ce qui a amené le secteur de l'industrie manufacturière à prélever 31 % et à consommer 37 % moins d'eau en 2013 qu'en 2005.

En 2013, environ 3 600 millions de mètres cubes d'eau ont été consommés ou n'ont pas été retournés à leur source d'origine. L'agriculture a consommé 1 600 millions de mètres cubes, ou 80 %, de l'eau qu'elle a prélevé des sources d'eau.

Entre 2005 et 2013, la consommation d'eau a diminué légèrement, passant de 3 700 millions de mètres cubes d'eau en 2005 à 3 600 millions de mètres cubes d'eau en 2013. Sur la même période, la consommation d'eau des ménages et des centrales thermiques d'énergie électrique a diminué de 16 % et 45 %, respectivement.

Prélèvement d'eau par secteur, Canada, 2005 à 2013

Graphique linéaire et à barres empilées

Description longue

L'image présente deux graphiques côte-à-côte. Le graphique linéaire présente le volume d'eau estimé (en millions de mètres cubes) prélevé par les centrales thermiques d'énergie électrique,  l'industrie manufacturière, les ménages, les secteurs commercial et institutionnel, l'agriculture, l'exploitation minière et l'industrie pétrolière et gazière à tous les deux ans entre 2005 et 2013. Le graphique à barres empilées présente le volume d'eau prélevé (en millions de mètres cubes) par chacun des sept secteurs au Canada en 2013. Parmi l'eau prélevée par chaque secteur, le volume d'eau retourné dans l'environnement est indiqué, de même que le volume d'eau consommé ou non restitué à sa source d'origine.

Données du graphique
Prélèvement d'eau par secteur, Canada, 2005 à 2013
SecteurAnnéeVolume d'eau prélevé
(millions de mètres cubes)
Volume d'eau consommé
(millions de mètres cubes)
Volume d'eau retourné à la source
(millions de mètres cubes)
Centrales thermiques d'énergie électrique200527 82571627 109
Centrales thermiques d'énergie électrique200727 83452227 313
Centrales thermiques d'énergie électrique200926 21448425 729
Centrales thermiques d'énergie électrique201123 71641223 304
Centrales thermiques d'énergie électrique201325 63539725 239
Industrie manufacturière20055 7196505 069
Industrie manufacturière20074 5734524 122
Industrie manufacturière20093 9273673 561
Industrie manufacturière20113 7904483 342
Industrie manufacturière20133 9544113 543
Ménages20053 8753883 488
Ménages20073 8273833 445
Ménages20093 5893593 230
Ménages20113 5063513 156
Ménages20133 2393242 915
Commercial et institutionnel20052 0532051 847
Commercial et institutionnel20072 0362041 832
Commercial et institutionnel20091 9571961 762
Commercial et institutionnel20111 9301931 737
Commercial et institutionnel20132 0742071 867
Agriculture20051 8291 536293
Agriculture20072 3221 950371
Agriculture20092 3661 988379
Agriculture20111 8091 519289
Agriculture20132 0071 600407
Exploitation minière200566944624
Exploitation minière2007906151755
Exploitation minière200967598578
Exploitation minière2011776144632
Exploitation minière2013976300675
Industrie pétrolière et gazière200519818810
Industrie pétrolière et gazière200719018110
Industrie pétrolière et gazière200929327815
Industrie pétrolière et gazière201134933217
Industrie pétrolière et gazière201340238220

Note: Les chiffres étant arrondis, leur somme pourrait ne pas correspondre au total indiqué.

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 2.01 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur présente l'estimation des volumes d'eau prélevés et consommés pour chacun des secteurs. Veuillez vous référer au document sur les Sources de données et méthodes pour plus de détails.
Source : Statistique Canada (2012) Tableau CANSIM 153-0101 – Utilisation de l'eau au Canada, selon le secteur, aux 2 ans, Base de données CANSIM. Statistique Canada (2015) Tableau CANSIM 153-0116 – Compte physique de flux d'utilisation de l'eau, aux 2 ans, Base de données CANSIM. Statistique Canada (2015) Enquête sur l'eau dans les industries 2013.

La consommation d'eau fait référence à l'eau qui est prélevée sans être retournée à sa source originale. Les secteurs agricoles de Colombie-Britannique, d'Alberta et de Saskatchewan sont les plus grands consommateurs d'eau. Les systèmes d'irrigation sont grandement utilisés à l'intérieur des terres de la Colombie-Britannique et des Prairies afin d'améliorer le rendement des cultures car le volume d'eau disponible dans ces régions est naturellement faible. Une très faible proportion de l'eau utilisée pour l'irrigation est retournée directement à sa source. Le secteur de l'industrie pétrolière et gazière est aussi un grand consommateur d'eau. Approximativement 95 % de l'eau prélevée par ce secteur est consommée. Toutefois, l'eau est recyclée et réutilisée lorsque possible, ce qui évite d'autres prélèvements des sources d'eau de surface et souterraines.Notes de bas de page [2]

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Accéder au PDF (245 Ko)

Date de modification :