Habitat Secured for Waterfowl

Access PDF (582 KB)

As of 2015, approximately 80 700 square kilometres (km2) of habitat for waterfowl had been secured in Canada through the North American Waterfowl Management Plan (NAWMP). The large increase in 2008 is the result of the securement of habitat in the Western Boreal Forest region through Crown designation.

Cumulative waterfowl habitat secured in Canada by NAWMP partners, 1990 to March 2015

Line chart

Long description

The line chart shows cumulative waterfowl habitat secured in Canada through the North American Waterfowl Management Plan from 1990 to March 2015. The graph shows that in 2007 there were 34.0 thousands of square kilometres of habitat secured for waterfowl in Canada, which rose to 70.4 thousands of square kilometres in 2008, and eventually to 80.7 thousands of square kilometres in March 2015.

Data for this chart
Cumulative waterfowl habitat secured in Canada by NAWMP partners, 1990 to March 2015
YearHabitat secured
(thousands of km2)
19900.9
19913.9
19925.0
19935.8
19946.1
19957.0
19968.6
19979.0
19989.6
199911.3
200012.3
200113.0
200218.0
200320.6
200422.6
200524.0
200632.7
200734.0
200870.4
200978.1
201079.0
201179.5
201279.9
201380.3
201480.5
2015Footnote [A]80.7

Note: For each year, the cumulative habitat secured is calculated by adding newly secured area to the existing securement base and subtracting the area of expired agreements. Entries are the cumulative total from the inception of the NAWMP program in 1986.

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.01 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The line tracks the cumulative habitat secured under the NAWMP in Canada between the inception of the program in 1986 until 2015. For each year, the cumulative habitat secured is calculated by adding the area of newly secured habitat to the existing securement base and subtracting the area for which agreements have expired. The 2015 total includes only habitat secured by March of that year.
Source: Environment and Climate ChangeCanada (2015) Canadian Wildlife Service, Habitat Conservation Unit.

In Canada, 45 species of waterfowl rely on healthy wetlands for living and for raising their young.Footnote [1] In the mid-1980s, North American waterfowl populations had plummeted to record lows, largely because of human activities that resulted in the loss and/or degradation of wetlands. Recognizing this problem, and the fact that migratory waterfowl habitat needs are international in scope, the NAWMP was launched. The NAWMP is a tri-national (Canada, United States of America, and Mexico) partnership, composed of federal, state, provincial and municipal governments, non-governmental organizations, industry, and private individuals. Its aim is to return waterfowl populations to their 1970s levels by securing and restoring, and sustainably managing wetland and associated upland habitat. Actions under the NAWMP are conducted by government and non-governmental partners in Canada, the United States of America and Mexico.

The NAWMP aims to conserve important wetlands and related habitat for the benefit of waterfowl and other wetland-dependent wildlife. The highest priority landscapes are identified through the use of long-term monitoring datasets and scientific models. Then these priority landscapes are secured through a variety of tools, such as agreements, easements, and purchases. The NAWMP considers habitat to be "secured" when it has been protected, either through purchase or with legally binding agreements of at least 10 years duration.

While the accomplishments under the NAWMP are significant, waterfowl habitat is under increasing pressure from urban sprawl, agriculture, invasive species and climate change.

Regional habitat secured for waterfowl

The NAWMP operates through a series of joint ventures, some of which plan and implement regional habitat conservation programs and projects. A joint venture is a multi–stakeholder partnership, including governments at all levels, industry, Aboriginal groups, non-government organizations, universities and landowners. The NAWMP habitat joint venture activities in Canada are coordinated by the North American Wetlands Conservation Council (Canada). Four habitat joint ventures actively secure habitat for waterfowl in Canada according to regional implementation plans.

Scope of habitat joint ventures in Canada, 2015

Map

Long description

The map of Canada shows the areas associated with the four Canadian habitat joint ventures. The Pacific Birds Habitat Joint Venture includes British Columbia's coastal areas. The Canadian Intermountain Joint venture includes the remaining areas within the province of British Columbia, excluding the north-eastern part of the region. The Eastern Habitat Joint Venture includes the provinces of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador; and finally, the Prairie Habitat Joint Venture, which includes the Western Boreal Forest region (diagonal stripes), focuses on areas within the provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, the north-eastern part of British Columbia, the Yukon and Northwest Territories.

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The regions outlined on the map represent the areas associated with each Canadian habitat joint venture. For the Pacific Birds Habitat Joint Venture,Footnote [2] only the Canadian portion of this international joint venture is shown.
Source: North American Wetlands Conservation Council (Canada) (2010) Strategic Plan 2010–2020.

Cumulative habitat secured by habitat joint venture in Canada, March 2015
Habitat joint ventureArea of habitat secured
(square kilometres)
Pacific Birds Habitat (Canada portion)522
Canadian Intermountain1425
Prairie Habitat (including Western Boreal Forest region)72 953
 Western Boreal Forest region (included in the Prairie Habitat total above)45 482
Eastern Habitat5791

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.01 KB)
How this indicator was calculated

Note: See habitat joint ventures websites and implementations plans, along with the annual Habitat Matters Canadian NAWMP Report for further details on each region. Adjustments have been made as the NAWMP tracking system improves; habitat secured for each region may differ from other published reports.
Source: Environment and Climate ChangeCanada (2015) Canadian Wildlife Service, Habitat Conservation Unit.

Related information


icon
This indicator is used to measure progress toward Target 4.3: Terrestrial Ecosystems and Habitat Stewardship; Contribute to the proposed national target that by 2020, at least 17% of terrestrial areas and inland water are conserved through networks of protected areas and other effective area-based conservation measures of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy 2013–2016.

Access PDF (582 KB)

Date modified:

Habitat protégé pour la sauvagine

Accéder au PDF (518 Ko)

En 2015, on comptait environ 80 700 kilomètres carrés (km2) d'habitat protégé pour la sauvagine au Canada dans le cadre du Plan nord-américain de gestion de la sauvagine (PNAGS). La forte hausse de 2008 est liée à la protection d'habitats dans la région des forêts boréales de l'Ouest canadien par désignation de la Couronne.

Superficie cumulative de l'habitat protégé pour la sauvagine au Canada par les partenaires du PNAGS, 1990 à mars 2015

Graphique linéaire

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire présente la superficie cumulative de l'habitat protégé pour la sauvagine au Canada dans le cadre du Plan nord-américain de gestion de la sauvagine, de 1990 à mars 2015. Le graphique indique qu'en 2007, il y avait 34,0 milliers de kilomètres carrés d'habitat protégé pour la sauvagine au Canada. Ce chiffre est passé à 70,4 milliers de kilomètres en 2008, et, finalement à 80,7 milliers de kilomètres carrés en mars 2015.

Données du graphique
Superficie cumulative de l'habitat protégé pour la sauvagine au Canada par les partenaires du PNAGS, 1990 à mars 2015
AnnéeHabitat protégé
(milliers de kilomètres carrés)
19900,9
19913,9
19925,0
19935,8
19946,1
19957,0
19968,6
19979,0
19989,6
199911,3
200012,3
200113,0
200218,0
200320,6
200422,6
200524,0
200632,7
200734,0
200870,4
200978,1
201079,0
201179,5
201279,9
201380,3
201480,5
2015Note de bas de page [A]80,7

Note : Pour chaque année, la superficie cumulative des habitats protégés est calculée en ajoutant la superficie des nouveaux habitats protégés à la superficie protégée existante et en soustrayant la superficie des habitats pour lesquels les accords de protection sont expirés. Les entrées sont le total cumulatif depuis la mise en place du programme PNAGS en 1986.

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,20 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : La ligne indique la superficie cumulative des habitats protégés en vertu du PNAGS au Canada de la mise en place du programme en 1986 jusqu'en 2015. Pour chaque année, la superficie cumulative des habitats protégés est calculée en ajoutant la superficie des nouveaux habitats protégés à la superficie protégée existante et en soustrayant la superficie des habitats pour lesquels les accords de protection sont expirés. Le total de 2015 inclus seulement les habitats protégés en date de mars de cette année.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2015) Service canadien de la faune, Conservation des habitats.

Au Canada, 45 espèces de sauvagine dépendent de milieux humides sains pour vivre et élever leurs petits.Note de bas de page [1] Au milieu des années 1980, les populations de sauvagine en Amérique du Nord avaient atteint des records minimums, principalement en raison des activités humaines qui ont entraîné la perte ou la dégradation de terres humides. Le PNAGS a été mis en place pour contrer ce problème tout en tenant compte du fait que les besoins en matière d'habitat de la sauvagine migratrice sont de portée internationale. Le PNAGS est un partenariat tri-national (Canada, États-Unis et Mexique), composé de gouvernements fédéraux, étatiques, provinciaux et municipaux, d'organisations non-gouvernementales, d'industries et de particuliers. Son objectif est de ramener les populations de sauvagines à leurs niveaux des années 1970 par la protection et la restauration, ainsi que la gestion durable des terres humides et des terres hautes adjacentes. Les activités en vertu du PNAGS sont menées par des partenaires gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique.

Le PNAGS vise la conservation des milieux humides importants et des habitats connexes au bénéfice de la sauvagine et d'autres espèces sauvages qui dépendent des milieux humides. Les paysages prioritaires sont identifiés par l'utilisation de bases de données de suivi à long terme et de modèles scientifiques. Ensuite, ces paysages prioritaires sont protégés grâce à une variété d'outils, tels que les accords, les servitudes et les achats. Le PNAGS considère qu'un habitat est « protégé » lorsqu'il fait l'objet d'une protection soit par son acquisition, soit par la voie d'accords juridiquement contraignants d'une durée d'au moins 10 ans.

En dépit des réalisations importantes du PNAGS, l'habitat de la sauvagine subit les pressions croissantes de l'étalement urbain, de l'agriculture, des espèces envahissantes et des changements climatiques.

Habitat régional protégé pour la sauvagine

Le PNAGS mène ses activités par l'intermédiaire d'une série de plans conjoints, dont certains servent à planifier et à mettre en œuvre des programmes et des projets régionaux de conservation de l'habitat. Un plan conjoint est un partenariat multilatéral regroupant différents niveaux de gouvernements, l'industrie, des groupes autochtones, des organisations non gouvernementales, des universités et des propriétaires fonciers. Les activités des plans conjoints des habitats du PNAGS sont coordonnées au Canada par le Conseil nord-américain de conservation des terres humides (Canada). Quatre plans conjoints des habitats visent activement à protéger l'habitat de la sauvagine au Canada conformément aux plans de mise en œuvre régionaux.

Territoire couvert par les plans conjoints des habitats au Canada, 2015

Carte

Description longue

La carte du Canada montre les zones associées aux quatre plans conjoints des habitats. Le Plan conjoint des habitats des oiseaux du Pacifique comprend les zones côtières de la Colombie-Britannique. Le Plan conjoint intramontagnard canadien comprend les autres zones de la province de la Colombie-Britannique, à l'exclusion de la partie nord-est de la région. Le Plan conjoint des habitats de l'Est comprend les provinces suivantes : Ontario, Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador; et enfin, le Plan conjoint des habitats des Prairies, qui comprend la région des forêts boréales de l'Ouest canadien (rayures diagonales), se concentre sur des zones des provinces de l'Alberta, de la Saskatchewan, du Manitoba, de la partie nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique, du Yukon et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Les régions présentées sur la carte représentent les secteurs associés à chaque plan conjoint des habitats canadiens. Pour le Plan conjoint des habitats des oiseaux du Pacifique,Note de bas de page [2] seule la partie canadienne de ce plan conjoint international est présentée.
Source : Conseil nord-américain de conservation des terres humides (Canada) (2010) Plan stratégique 2010–2020.

Superficie cumulative des habitats protégés par plan conjoint des habitats, Canada, mars 2015
Plan conjoint des habitatsSuperficie des habitats protégés
(kilomètres carrés)
Habitats des oiseaux du Pacifique (partie canadienne)522
Intermontagnard canadien1 425
Habitats des Prairies (y compris la région des forêts boréales de l'Ouest)72 953
Région des forêts boréales de l'Ouest (incluse dans le total des habitats des Prairies ci-dessus)45 482
Habitats de l'Est5 791

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,31 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Consulter les sites Web et les plans de mise en œuvre des plans conjoints des habitats ainsi que la publication annuelle du PNAGS À propos des habitats canadiens pour obtenir de plus amples détails sur chaque région. Une révision du système de suivi du PNAGS a mené à des ajustements des superficies annuelles totales des habitats protégés en vertu de chaque plan conjoint. Par conséquent, la superficie cumulative annuelle des habitats protégés pour chaque région peut différer de celle d'autres rapports publiés.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2015) Service canadien de la faune, Conservation des habitats.

Renseignements connexes


icône
Cet indicateur est utilisé dans la mesure du progrès vers l'atteinte de cible 4.3 : Écosystèmes terrestres et intendance de l'habitat - Contribuer à la cible nationale proposée voulant que d'ici 2020, au moins 17 % des zones terrestres et d'eaux intérieures soient conservées par l'entremise de réseaux d'aires protégées, et d'autres mesures efficaces de conservation dans des superficies clairement définies de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013–2016.

Accéder au PDF (518 Ko)

Date de modification :