Wildlife Habitat Capacity on Agricultural Land

Access PDF (553 KB)

About 7% of Canada's terrestrial area is used for agriculture. Farming is concentrated in the regions of the country with suitable climate and soils. Agriculture necessarily involves significant manipulation of the vegetation of production areas, so it can have a marked impact on wildlife habitat capacity. The conservation of biodiversity in agricultural regions depends on careful management and protection of species' habitats while maintaining the food production we need.

The habitat capacity of agricultural land is higher in less intensively farmed areas. Habitat capacity is measured as the ability of the landscape to support wildlife breeding and feeding, based on the kind of vegetation present.

Index of wildlife habitat capacity on agricultural land, Canada, 2013

Map of Canada - see long description

Long description

The map of Canada's agricultural areas shows that wildlife habitat capacity is generally low in the largest agricultural regions (Prairies and St. Lawrence). Areas of higher habitat capacity occur at the edges of these regions and near the southern Alberta–Saskatchewan border. Habitat capacity in other agricultural areas, including Atlantic Canada and British Columbia, is generally higher but highly variable.

View western Canada in greater detail
View eastern Canada in greater detail

How this indicator was calculated

Note: Habitat capacity refers to the ability of the landscape to support breeding and feeding by terrestrial wild vertebrate species. Relative habitat capacity is shown as a gradient from very high (green), for areas of high habitat capacity, to very low (red), for areas of lower habitat capacity.
Source: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (2014).

Trends

While agricultural production has been increasing in recent decades, wildlife habitat in most agricultural areas is stable, with some areas decreasing and a few increasing. Results for previous years use a less precise data source and cannot be directly compared to 2013 results. However, the loss of natural and semi-natural land cover and the intensification of agricultural operations resulted in a small but measurable decline in average national habitat capacity on farmland from 1986 to 2011. Most of these declines occurred in southern Ontario and Quebec following a reduction in pasture and hay land, and dramatic increases in soybean production. The Prairies, which account for the majority of Canada's agricultural lands, have had pockets of decline, but have remained stable in terms of their ability to provide wildlife habitat.

Trends in wildlife habitat on agricultural land, Canada, 1986 to 2011

Column chart - see long description

Long description

The stacked column chart above shows that the proportion of agricultural land with low or very low habitat capacity has increased slightly since 1986. The line chart below shows the Wildlife habitat capacity index across Canada has declined slightly between 1986 and 2011.

Data for this chart
Trends in wildlife habitat on agricultural land, Canada, 1986 to 2011
YearLand with very high habitat capacity
(percentage)
Land with high habitat capacity
(percentage)
Land with moderate habitat capacity
(percentage)
Land with low habitat capacity
(percentage)
Land with very low habitat capacity
(percentage)
Wildlife habitat capacity index
19860.11.57.953.736.940
19910.01.27.152.938.739
19960.11.87.653.237.340
20010.11.66.850.441.038
20060.11.05.850.942.237
20110.21.34.546.147.936

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1016 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The stacked columns show the proportion of agricultural land in each of five habitat capacity categories ranging from very low to very high. The line chart shows the Wildlife habitat capacity index across all agricultural land in Canada.For more information, refer to Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada's Wildlife Habitat Capacity on Farmland Indicator.
Source: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (2014).

Related indicators

Other information


Icon
This indicator is used to measure progress towards Target 5.4: Sustainable Agriculture – By 2020, agricultural working landscapes provide a stable or improved level of biodiversity and habitat capacity of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy 2013–2016.

Access PDF (553 KB)

Date modified:

Capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles

Accéder au PDF (563 Ko)

Environ 7 % de la superficie terrestre du Canada est utilisée pour l'agriculture. L'agriculture est concentrée dans les régions du pays offrant un climat et un sol propices à cette activité. L'agriculture exige nécessairement une manipulation importante de la végétation des aires de production, alors elle peut avoir un effet marqué sur la capacité d'habitat faunique. La conservation de la biodiversité dans les régions agricoles dépend d'une gestion et d'une protection rigoureuses de l'habitat des espèces tout en maintenant la production alimentaire dont nous avons besoin.

La capacité d'habitat des terres agricoles est plus grande dans les régions où l'agriculture est moins intensive. La capacité d'habitat est mesurée comme étant la capacité des terres à soutenir la reproduction et l'alimentation de la faune, selon le type de végétation présent.

Index de capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles, Canada, 2013

Carte du Canada - Voir la description longue

Description longue

La carte des zones agricoles du Canada montre que la capacité d'habitat faunique est généralement faible dans les plus importantes régions agricoles (régions des Prairies et du St-Laurent). Les zones situées en périphérie de ces régions et près de la limite sud qui sépare l'Alberta et la Saskatchewan offrent une plus grande capacité d'habitat. Dans d'autres régions agricoles, notamment la région de l'Atlantique et la Colombie-Britannique, la capacité d'habitat est généralement plus élevée, mais très variable.

Voir la carte de l'Ouest du Canada en détail
Voir la carte de l'Est du Canada en détail

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : La capacité d'habitat désigne la capacité des terres à répondre aux besoins de reproduction et d'alimentation des espèces de vertébrés terrestres sauvages. La capacité d'habitat relative est illustrée par un dégradé passant de très élevée (en vert), pour les zones offrant une grande capacité d'habitat, à très faible (en rouge), pour les zones offrant une faible capacité d'habitat.
Source : Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (2014).

Tendances

Bien que la production agricole ait enregistré une croissance au cours des dernières décennies, l'habitat faunique dans la plupart des régions agricoles est stable, certaines régions ayant affiché une baisse et quelques-unes ayant affiché une hausse. Les résultats des années précédentes sont fondés sur une source de données moins précise et ne peuvent être comparés directement aux résultats de 2013. Cependant, la perte de la couverture terrestre naturelle et semi-naturelle et l'intensification des activités agricoles ont entraîné un déclin léger, mais mesurable, de la capacité d'habitat moyenne nationale sur les terres agricoles de 1986 à 2011. La plupart de ces déclins se sont produits dans le Sud de l'Ontario et du Québec, après une réduction de la superficie des pâturages et des terres à foin et une augmentation remarquable de la production de soya. Les Prairies, qui regroupent la majorité des terres agricoles du Canada, ont connu quelques déclins, mais sont demeurées stables sur le plan de leur capacité à offrir un habitat faunique.

Tendances relatives à l'habitat faunique sur les terres agricoles, Canada, 1986 à 2011

Graphique à colonnes empilées - Voir la description longue

Description longue

Le graphique à colonnes empilées ci-dessus montre que la proportion de terres agricoles offrant une faible ou très faible capacité d'habitat a légèrement augmenté depuis 1986. Le graphique linéaire ci-dessous montre que l'indicateur sur la capacité d'habitat faunique au Canada a légèrement diminué de 1986 à 2011.

Données de la carte
Tendances relatives à l'habitat faunique sur les terres agricoles, Canada, 1986 à 2011
AnnéeTerres offrant une capacité d'habitat très élevée
(pourcentage)
Terres offrant une capacité d'habitat élevée
(pourcentage)
Terres offrant une capacité d'habitat modérée
(pourcentage)
Terres offrant une capacité d'habitat faible
(pourcentage)
Terres offrant une capacité d'habitat très faible
(pourcentage)
Indicateur sur la capacité d'habitat faunique
19860,11,57,953,736,940
19910,01,27,152,938,739
19960,11,87,653,237,340
20010,11,66,850,441,038
20060,11,05,850,942,237
20110,21,34,546,147,936

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CVS; 1,14 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Le graphique à colonnes empilées montre la proportion de terres agricoles dans chacune des cinq catégories de capacité d'habitat allant de très faible à très élevée. Le graphique linéaire présente l'indicateur sur la capacité d'habitat faunique pour l'ensemble des terres agricoles au Canada. Pour en savoir plus, reportez-vous à l'Indicateur sur la capacité d'habitat faunique des terres agricoles d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada.
Source : Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (2014).

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires


Icône
Cet indicateur est utilisé pour mesurer les progrès réalisés dans l'atteinte de la cible 5.4 : Agriculture durable – D'ici 2020, les paysages exploités agricoles fournissent un niveau stable ou amélioré de biodiversité et de capacité d'habitat de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013–2016.

Accéder au PDF (563 Ko)

Date de modification :