What's new

This page lists the indicators released by the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators program.
Subscribe to our e-updates to receive the latest indicators in your inbox or follow us on Facebook or Twitter #CdnEnv #Indicators

February 2017

Air emissions

Carbon Dioxide Emissions from a Consumption Perspective

This indicator provides a view of the carbon dioxide emissions tied to the goods and services Canadians consume compared with emissions from good and services produced in Canada. It also provides a view of these emissions in an international context.

Key results

In 2011, Canada's consumption-based carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions were 579 megatonnes, or 8% above its production-based emissions. Since 2005, Canada has consistently been a net importer of CO2 emissions.

Read more…

Biodiversity

Newly Established Invasive Alien Species in Canada

The indicator reports the number of invasive alien species found to have established in Canada since 2012, reported by year of establishment and regulatory status. Invasive alien species are a significant threat to biodiversity. In their new ecosystems, they become predators, competitors, parasites, hybridizers, and diseases of our native and domesticated plants and animals.

Key results

Between 2012 and 2015, no new invasive alien species were found to have become established in Canada. Currently, 254 species are being federally regulated to prevent their establishment in Canada, including 23 that have been regulated for the first time since January 2012.

Read more…

Performance and Results

Progress Towards Canada's Greenhouse Gas Emissions Reduction Target

The indicator provides an overview of the projected greenhouse gas emissions in Canada until the year 2030. The indicator reflects the findings of the recently published Canada's 2016 Greenhouse Gas Emissions Reference Case by Environment and Climate Change Canada.

Key results

Canada's annual greenhouse gas emissions are expected to be between 697 and 790 megatonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent in 2030. The Canadian target for 2030 is 523 megatonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent. These projections are based on historical information up to 2014, as well as the future impacts of policies and measures put in place as of November 1, 2016.

Read more…

December 2016

Air quality

Air Quality

Air quality can deteriorate due to the presence of air pollutants. These pollutants can have adverse health and environmental effects, and contribute to the formation of smog and acid deposition. The indicators track concentrations of five pollutants in the air in Canada: fine particulate matter (PM2.5), ozone (O3), sulphur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), and volatile organic compounds (VOCs).

Key results

Compared to the previous year reported, national concentrations of peak ground-level O3, SO2, NO2 and VOCs in the air were lower. In the last 15 years, a decreasing trend of 0.82 parts per billion (ppb) per year was observed for the peak O3, 0.13 ppb per year for SO2 and 0.5 ppb per year for NO2 and 3.7 ppb carbon per year for VOC. No trend was detected for PM2.5 and annual average O3 concentration but the concentrations of both pollutants were below the 2015 Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards (CAAQS).

Read more…

International Comparison of Urban Air Quality

Concentrations of four air pollutants in major Canadian urban areas are compared with those of select urban areas in the United States, Europe, Australia and China. The indicators are intended to provide information about the progress made towards improving air quality and to see how Canadian cities fare compared to others internationally.

Key results

Concentrations of ground-level ozone (O3), fine particulate matter (PM2.5), sulphur dioxide (SO2) and nitrogen dioxide (NO2) in the air in Canada's major urban areas were comparable to those of other international urban areas. For PM2.5 and NO2, for which international guidelines are available from the World Health Organization, concentrations of those pollutants in Canada's urban areas were below the guidelines.

Read more…

Biodiversity

Changes in Wildlife Species Disappearance Risks

Identifying wildlife species at risk is the first step towards protecting these species. The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada assesses wildlife species that are suspected of being at risk of extinction or extirpation. The indicator measures conservation effectiveness by tracking changes in the level of risk for species assessed by the Committee.

Key results

There are 447 wildlife species that have been assessed more than once by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Of these, 16% are in a lower risk category, 19% are in a higher risk category and 65% show no change in status between the two most recent assessments.

Read more…

Species at Risk Population Trends

A recovery strategy or management plan must be prepared for species listed as Endangered, Threatened, Extirpated or of Special Concern under the Species at Risk Act. The indicator measures if population trends in species at risk are consistent with recovery goals from recovery strategies or management plans.

Key results

As of May 2016, 123 species at risk have been reassessed and have population-oriented objectives, with 43 (35%) of those species have current population trends that are consistent with objectives laid out in their recovery documents. Forty-six species (37%) show trends that are inconsistent with objectives, and 11 (9%) have both some indication of improvement and some indication of decline. For a remaining 23 species (19%), data are not sufficient to determine trends.

Read more…

Climate change

Sea Ice in Canada

Sea ice is a critical component of our planet because it influences the Arctic and global climate, ecosystems and people who live in polar regions. Human-induced warming from greenhouse gas emissions and climate variability has resulted in an unprecedented loss of Arctic sea ice within the last 50 years in comparison to the last 1450 years. These indicators measure changes in the sea ice area in Northern Canadian Waters during the summer season from 1968 to 2015.

Key results

Between 1968 and 2015, the area covered by sea ice in the Northern Canadian Waters has been decreasing at a rate of 6.8% per decade. In the Canadian Arctic domain, the multi-year sea ice (ice that remains present all-year round) has been decreasing at a rate of 6.9% per decade while total sea ice has declined by 6.1% per decade.

Read more...

November 2016

Water quality

Perfluorooctane Sulfonate (PFOS) in Fish and Water

The Perfluorooctane Sulfonate (PFOS) in Fish and Water indicators identify the drainage regions where concentrations of PFOS in fish and water have exceeded the Federal Environmental Quality Guidelines. Perfluorooctane sulfonate and its precursors were used primarily as water, oil, soil and grease repellents for paper and packaging, and carpets and fabrics, as well as in aqueous film-forming foam for fighting fuel fires.

Key results

Between 2011 and 2014, Environment and Climate Change Canada collected fish from 11 drainage regions and analyzed PFOS concentrations in their tissue. The analysis found that the concentration of PFOS was below the guidelines for fish health in all fish from all sampled drainage regions. Water was collected from eight drainage regions and samples were analyzed for PFOS concentrations. The analysis found that all water samples had PFOS concentrations at least 50-fold lower than the guideline for water between 2011 and March 2016. 

Read more…

Regional ecosystems

Reducing Phosphorus Loads to Lake Winnipeg

The Reducing Phosphorus Loads to Lake Winnipeg indicator was created to measure the contribution that the Lake Winnipeg Basin Stewardship Fund projects were making toward reducing the amount of phosphorus reaching Lake Winnipeg from their watersheds. 

Key results

As of March 2016, stewardship projects supported by the Lake Winnipeg Basin Stewardship Fund were preventing an estimated 22 200 kilograms of phosphorus per year from entering Lake Winnipeg and its tributary rivers. In addition, the bio-remediation of a decommissioned municipal wastewater lagoon in 2015 prevented 21 300 kilograms of phosphorus from ever reaching Lake Winnipeg.

Read more…

Performance and results

Managing Metal Mining Effluent Quality in Canada

The Managing Metal Mining Effluent Quality in Canada indicator presents the percentage of reported monthly average monitoring results for deleterious substances, pH levels and acute lethality tests that did not exceed authorized limits from 2003 to 2014. The indicator helps Environment and Climate Change Canada evaluate the effectiveness of pollution prevention and control technologies, practices and programs within the metal mining sector.  

Key results

Overall, in 2014, the metal mining sector achieved over 99% compliance with the authorized limits for metals, cyanide and pH, and over 97% for total suspended solids as set out in the Metal Mining Effluent Regulations. These results have been mostly stable since 2003.

Read more…

Managing Pulp and Paper Effluent Quality in Canada

The Managing Pulp and Paper Effluent Quality in Canada indicator reports the percentage of acute lethality, biochemical oxygen demand and total suspended solid tests that met their regulatory limits from 1985 to 2014. The indicator provides information about whether Canada's Pulp and Paper Effluent Regulations are able to sustainably manage the impact of Canada's pulp and paper industry on the environment.  

Key results

In 2014, 97.5%, 99.9% and 99.8% of effluent samples met regulatory requirements for toxicity tests on fish, biochemical oxygen demand, and total suspended solids, respectively.

Read more…

Reducing Phosphorus Loads to Lake Simcoe and South-eastern Georgian Bay

The Reducing Phosphorus Loads to Lake Simcoe and South-eastern Georgian Bay indicator was created to measure the contribution that the Lake Simcoe / South-eastern Georgian Bay Clean-Up Fund projects were making toward reducing the amount of phosphorus reaching Lake Simcoe and South-eastern Georgian Bay from their watersheds.  

Key results

As of March 2016, stewardship projects supported by the Lake Simcoe and South-eastern Georgian Bay Clean-Up Fund since 2008 were preventing an estimated 5365 kilograms of phosphorus per year from reaching Lake Simcoe and its tributary rivers. Similarly, stewardship projects were preventing an estimated 658 kilograms of phosphorus per year from reaching South-eastern Georgian Bay and its tributary rivers. 

Read more…

Restoring the Great Lakes Areas of Concern

An Area of Concern is a region that has experienced environmental degradation. The Restoring the Great Lakes Areas of Concern indicator assesses progress towards the restoration of the 17 Canadian Areas of Concern (AOCs) by reporting the number of beneficial uses listed as Impaired or Requires further assessment. All Canadian AOCs, except for one, have a Remedial Action Plan to guide restoration and protection efforts targeting specific beneficial uses.

Key results

Environmental quality in Canada's 17 Great Lakes Areas of Concern has improved since the restoration program began in 1987. To date, considerable progress has been made toward with the restoration of the Areas of Concern with 61 impaired beneficial uses having been restored to Not impaired status since 1987, an increase of eight since 2014.

Read more…

September 2016

Regional ecosystems

Nutrients in the St. Lawrence River

Phosphorus and nitrogen are essential plant nutrients, but when concentrations in the environment are too high, or too low, they can cause harmful impacts on food webs in the St. Lawrence River. The Nutrients in the St. Lawrence River indicator reports on the status of total phosphorus and total nitrogen concentrations along the St. Lawrence River. It provides information about how human activity contributes to phosphorus and nitrogen concentrations in the river.

Key results

Nutrients in the St. Lawrence River were above water quality guidelines more than 50% of the time during the 2012–2014 period. Higher phosphorus and nitrogen levels were found at stations next to agricultural areas along the south shore of the river between Richelieu and Bécancour.

Read more…

Performance and results

Weather Warning Index

Environment and Climate Change Canada issues weather warning alerts when severe weather threatens so that those in affected areas can take steps to protect themselves and their property from harm. A weather warning is an urgent message that severe weather is either occurring or will occur. The index was created to track the performance of Environment and Climate Change Canada's severe weather warning system in providing Canadians with warnings in sufficient lead time.

Key results

The overall score of the index increased from 7.6 to 8.3 between 2009–2011 and 2013–2015. This suggests that the system improved in providing Canadians with severe weather warnings in sufficient lead time. With the exception of marine gale, the scores of each individual warning type (wind, freezing rain, rain, snow and severe thunderstorm) also increased during this period.

Read more…

Previous releases

The Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators program develops and regularly reports on a wide range of environmental indicators. These indicators are used to keep Canadians informed and up-to-date on the state and trends of environmental issues of concern. The indicators also track and report on the progress of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy. Indicators from past releases are listed below.

August 2016

July 2016

May 2016

April 2016

Date modified:

Quoi de neuf?

Cette page liste les indicateurs publiés par le programme d'Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement.Abonnez-vous à notre mise à jour électronique pour recevoir les derniers indicateurs dans votre boîte de réception ou suivez-nous sur Facebook ou Twitter. #EnvCan #Indicateurs

Février 2017

Émissions atmosphériques

Émissions de dioxyde de carbone du point de vue de la consommation

L'indicateur offre un aperçu des émissions de dioxyde de carbone liées aux biens et aux services consommés par les Canadiens par rapport aux émissions provenant de la production canadienne de biens et services. Il fournit également un point de vue de ces émissions dans un contexte international.

Aperçu des résultats

En 2011, les émissions de dioxyde de carbone  liées à la consommation pour le Canada se sont élevées à 579 mégatonnes, soit 8 % de plus que les émissions liées à la production. Le Canada est un importateur net d'émissions de CO2 depuis 2005.

Pour en savoir plus...

Biodiversité

Espèces exotiques envahissantes nouvellement établies au Canada

L'indicateur indique le nombre d'espèces exotiques envahissantes trouvées être établies au Canada depuis 2012 et est présenté par année d'établissement et par statut de réglementation. Les espèces exotiques envahissantes menacent grandement la biodiversité. Dans leurs nouveaux écosystèmes, elles deviennent des prédateurs, des compétiteurs, des parasites, des porteurs de maladies d'espèces indigènes et domestiquées de végétaux et d'animaux et elles peuvent s'hybrider à ces espèces.

Aperçu des résultats

Entre les années 2012 à 2015, aucune nouvelle espèce exotique envahissante n'a été trouvée établie au Canada. Actuellement, 254 espèces sont réglementées par le gouvernement fédéral pour empêcher leur établissement au Canada, dont 23 qui ont été réglementées pour la première fois depuis janvier 2012.

Pour en savoir plus...

Performance et résultats

Progrès vers la cible de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre du Canada

L'indicateur donne un aperçu de la projection des émissions de gaz à effet de serre au Canada jusqu'en 2030. L'indicateur reflète les conclusions de la publication récente du Scénario de référence des émissions de gaz à effet de serre 2016 du Canada par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Aperçu des résultats

En 2030, les émissions annuelles de gaz à effet de serre du Canada devraient se situer entre 697 et 790 mégatonnes d'équivalent en dioxyde de carbone. La cible de 2030 du Canada est 523 mégatonnes d'équivalent en dioxyde de carbone. Ces projections sont basées sur l'information historique jusqu'en 2014, ainsi que sur les impacts futurs des politiques et des mesures mises en place en date du 1er novembre 2016.

Pour en savoir plus...

Décembre 2016

Qualité de l'air

Indicateurs sur la qualité de l'air

La qualité de l'air peut se détériorer à cause de la présence de polluants atmosphériques. Ceux-ci peuvent avoir des effets néfastes sur la santé et l'environnement et contribuent à la formation de smog et de dépôts acides. Les indicateurs fournissent des renseignements sur les concentrations de cinq polluants atmosphériques au Canada : les particules fines (P2,5), l'ozone troposphérique (O3), le dioxyde de soufre (SO2), le dioxyde d'azote (NO2) et les composés organiques volatils (COV).

Aperçu des résultats

Les concentrations nationales d'O3 de pointe, de SO2, de NO2 et des COV dans l'air sont inférieures à ce qu'elles étaient l'année précédente. Au cours des 15 dernières années, des tendances à la baisse ont été constatées et ont été de l'ordre de 0,82 parties par milliard (ppm) par année pour l'O3 de pointe, de 0,13 ppm par année pour le SO2, de 0,5 ppm par année pour le NO2 et de 3,7 ppm de carbone par année pour les COV. Aucune tendance n'a été décelée pour les P2,5 et la concentration annuelle moyenne d'O3, mais les concentrations de ces polluants étaient sous les valeurs des Normes canadiennes de qualité de l'air ambiant (NCQAA) de 2015.

Pour en savoir plus...

Comparaison à l'échelle internationale de la qualité de l'air en milieu urbain

Les concentrations de quatre polluants atmosphériques dans les principaux milieux urbains canadiens sont comparées à celles de certains milieux urbains des États‑Unis, d'Europe, d'Australie et de Chine. Les indicateurs visent à fournir des renseignements sur les progrès réalisés en vue d'améliorer la qualité de l'air, ainsi qu'à déterminer où se situent les villes canadiennes par rapport à d'autres dans le monde.

Aperçu des résultats

Les concentrations d'ozone troposphérique (O3), de particules fines (P2,5), de dioxyde de soufre (SO2) et de dioxyde d'azote (NO2) dans l'air des principales zones urbaines du Canada étaient comparables à celles d'autres milieux urbains dans le monde. Pour P2,5 et NO2, pour lesquels des lignes directrices internationales sont disponibles, les concentrations des polluants dans les zones urbaines canadiennes étaient inférieures aux seuils établis.

Pour en savoir plus...

Biodiversité

Changement du niveau de risque de disparition des espèces sauvages

L'identification des espèces sauvages en péril constitue la première étape vers la protection de ces espèces. Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada évalue les espèces sauvages soupçonnées d'être en péril qui risquent de disparaître de la planète ou du Canada. L'indicateur mesure l'efficacité de la conservation en suivant des changements du niveau de risque associé à une espèce évaluée par le Comité.

Aperçu des résultats

On compte 447 espèces sauvages qui ont été évaluées plus d'une fois par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. De celles‑ci, 16 % se situent dans une catégorie de risque moins élevée, 19 % se situent dans une catégorie de risque plus élevée et 65 % n'affichent aucun changement de leur statut entre les deux évaluations les plus récentes.

Pour en savoir plus...

Tendances des populations d'espèces en péril

Un programme de rétablissement ou un plan de gestion doit être préparé pour les espèces désignées comme étant en voie de disparition, menacées, disparues ou préoccupantes aux termes de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. L'indicateur mesure si les tendances en matière de population des espèces en péril s'accordent avec les objectifs des programmes de rétablissement ou des plans de gestion.

Aperçu des résultats

En date de mai 2016, 123 espèces en péril ont été réévaluées et ont des objectifs axés sur la population. De ces espèces, 43 (35 %) affichent actuellement des tendances en matière de population qui s'accordent avec les objectifs définis dans leurs programmes de rétablissement. Quarante-six espèces (37 %) affichent des tendances qui ne s'accordent pas avec les objectifs et 11 (9 %) présentent à la fois des signes d'amélioration et des signes de détérioration. En ce qui concerne les 23 espèces restantes, on dispose de trop peu de données pour établir des tendances.

Pour en savoir plus...

Changements climatiques

Glace de mer au Canada

La glace de mer est un élément essentiel de notre planète car elle influence le climat arctique et mondial, les écosystèmes et les gens qui vivent dans les régions polaires. Le réchauffement causé par l'homme en raison des émissions de gaz à effet de serre et la variabilité climatique se sont traduit par une perte sans précédent de glace de mer arctique au cours des 50 dernières années comparativement aux 1450 dernières années. Ces indicateurs mesurent le changement dans les zones de glace de mer des eaux du Nord canadien pendant la saison estivale entre 1968 et 2015.

Aperçu des résultats

Entre 1968 et 2015, la superficie de la glace de mer dans les eaux du Nord canadien a baissé à un taux de 6,8 % par décennie. Dans le domaine de l'Arctique canadien, on a observé une baisse de la glace de mer pluriannuelle (glace qui reste présente à longueur d'année) de 6,9 % par décennie, alors que la glace de mer totale a diminué de 6,1 % par décennie.

Pour en savoir plus...

Novembre 2016

Qualité de l'eau

Sulfonate de perfluorooctane (SPFO) dans les poissons et l'eau

Les indicateurs sur le Sulfonate de perfluorooctane (SPFO) dans les poissons et l'eau identifient les régions de drainage où les concentrations de SPFO dans les poissons et l'eau ont dépassé les Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement. Le SPFO et ses précurseurs étaient principalement utilisés comme produits hydrofuges, oléofuges, antisalissants et imperméables aux graisses pour traiter le papier et les emballages, les tapis et les tissus, ainsi que dans les mousses à formation de pellicule aqueuse pour l'extinction d'incendies de carburant.

Aperçu des résultats

Entre 2011 et 2014, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a capturé des poissons dans 11 régions de drainage et a analysé les concentrations de SPFO dans leurs tissus. L'analyse a permis de conclure que la concentration de SPFO était inférieure à celle définie dans les recommandations relatives à la santé des poissons pour tous les poissons dans toutes les régions de drainage ayant fait l'objet d'un échantillonnage. L'eau a été collectée dans huit régions de drainage et les échantillons ont été analysés pour mesurer les concentrations de SPFO. L'analyse a permis de conclure que tous les échantillons d'eau avaient des concentrations de SPFO au moins 50 fois inférieures aux recommandations pour l'eau entre 2011 et mars 2016.

Pour en savoir plus...

Écosystèmes régionaux

Réduction des rejets de phosphore dans le lac Winnipeg

L'indicateur sur la Réduction des rejets de phosphore dans le lac Winnipeg fait la synthèse des estimations des apports annuels de phosphore qui n'atteignent plus le lac Winnipeg grâce aux projets d'intendance qui ont été réalisés avec le financement des Fonds d'intendance du bassin du lac Winnipeg d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Aperçu des résultats

En mars 2016, les travaux d'intendance soutenus par le Fonds d'intendance du bassin du lac Winnipeg empêchaient, selon les estimations, 22 200 kilogrammes de phosphore par an d'entrer dans le lac et ses affluents. De plus, la biorestauration d'une lagune d'eaux usées municipale déclassée en 2015 a empêché 21 300 kilogrammes de phosphore d'atteindre le lac Winnipeg.

Pour en savoir plus...

Performance et résultats

Gestion de la qualité des effluents des mines de métaux au Canada

L'indicateur sur la Gestion de la qualité des effluents des mines de métaux au Canada présente le pourcentage de moyennes mensuelles, présentées dans les rapports sur les résultats de suivi, pour les substances nocives, le pH et les tests de létalité aiguë qui ne dépassaient pas les limites autorisées de 2003 à 2014. L'indicateur aide Environnement et Changement climatique Canada à évaluer l'efficacité des pratiques, des programmes et des technologies de contrôle et de prévention de la pollution pour le secteur des mines de métaux.

Aperçu des résultats

Globalement, en 2014, le secteur des mines de métaux a atteint un taux de conformité de plus de 99 % aux limites permises pour les métaux, le cyanure et le pH, et de plus de 97 % pour le total des solides en suspension énoncés dans le Règlement sur les effluents des mines de métaux. Ces résultats se sont généralement maintenus depuis 2003.

Pour en savoir plus...

Gestion de la qualité des effluents des usines de pâtes et papiers au Canada

L'indicateur sur la Gestion de la qualité des effluents des usines de pâtes et papiers au Canada présente le pourcentage des tests relatifs à la létalité aigüe, à la demande biochimique en oxygène et au total des matières en suspension qui respecte les seuils prévus dans la règlementation de 1985 à 2014. L'indicateur fournit des renseignements sur la question à savoir si le Règlement sur les effluents des fabriques de pâtes et papiers du Canada est en mesure de gérer de façon durable les répercussions de l'industrie des pâtes et papiers sur l'environnement.

Aperçu des résultats

En 2014, 97,5 %, 99,9 % et 99,8 % des échantillons d'effluents ont satisfait aux exigences réglementaires en matière de tests de toxicité sur les poissons, de demande biochimique en oxygène et du total des matières en suspension, respectivement.

Pour en savoir plus...

Réduction des rejets de phosphore dans le lac Simcoe et le sud-est de la baie Georgienne

L'indicateur sur la Réduction des rejets de phosphore dans le lac Simcoe et le sud-est de la baie Georgienne a été créé pour évaluer la contribution des projets financés par le Fonds pour l'assainissement du lac Simcoe et du sud-est de la baie Georgienne relativement à la réduction de la quantité de phosphore parvenant au lac et à la baie à partir de leurs bassins versants.

Aperçu des résultats

On estime que, de 2008 à mars 2016, les projets d'intendance soutenus par le Fonds pour l'assainissement du lac Simcoe et du sud-est de la baie Georgienne ont empêché 5 365 kilogrammes de phosphore par année d'atteindre le lac et ses affluents. On estime également que les projets d'intendance ont empêché 658 kilogrammes de phosphore par année d'atteindre le sud-est de la baie Georgienne et ses affluents.

Pour en savoir plus...

Le rétablissement des secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs

Un secteur préoccupant est une zone où l'environnement s'est dégradé. L'indicateur sur Le rétablissement des secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs compare les progrès réalisés vers le rétablissement des 17 secteurs préoccupants canadiens en indiquant le nombre d'utilisations bénéfiques catégorisées comme étant Altérée ou qui Nécessite une évaluation plus approfondie. Tous les secteurs préoccupants canadiens ont un plan d'assainissement pour orienter les activités de rétablissement et de protection ciblant des utilisations bénéfiques en particulier.

Aperçu des résultats

La qualité de l'environnement dans les 17 secteurs préoccupants canadiens des Grands Lacs s'est améliorée depuis le début du programme de restauration en 1987. À ce jour, des progrès considérables ont été réalisés en vue de la restauration des secteurs préoccupants : 61 utilisations bénéfiques Altérées ont été rétablies depuis 1987, soit une augmentation de huit utilisations bénéfiques depuis 2014.

Pour en savoir plus...

Septembre 2016

Écosystèmes régionaux

Éléments nutritifs dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent

Le phosphore et l'azote sont des éléments nutritifs essentiels pour les plantes. Cependant, si leurs concentrations dans l'eau sont trop élevées, ou trop faibles, elles peuvent causer des effets nocifs sur les réseaux alimentaires dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent. L'indicateur sur les Éléments nutritifs dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent fait état des concentrations de phosphore total et d'azote total le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent. L'indicateur indique à quel point l'activité humaine contribue aux concentrations de phosphore et d'azote dans le fleuve.

Aperçu des résultats

Les éléments nutritifs dans fleuve Saint-Laurent ont dépassé les valeurs recommandées pour la qualité de l'eau plus de 50 % du temps pour la période de 2012 à 2014. On a mesuré des concentrations particulièrement élevées de phosphore et d'azote aux stations à proximité des zones agricoles de la rive sud du fleuve entre Richelieu et Bécancour.

Pour en savoir plus...

Performance et résultats

Indice d'avertissement météorologique

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada publie des bulletins d'avertissements météorologiques lorsque le temps est menaçant pour informer les personnes se trouvant dans les zones touchées afin qu'elles puissent prendre des mesures pour se protéger et protéger leurs biens. Un avertissement météorologique est un message urgent visant à avertir qu'un phénomène météorologique violent est en cours ou va se produire. L'indice a été créé pour suivre la performance du système d'avertissement de temps violent d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, à savoir si ce système avertit les Canadiens en temps opportun.

Aperçu des résultats

La note globale de l'indice a augmenté de 7,6 à 8,3 entre 2009–2011 et 2013–2015. Ceci suggère que le système s'est amélioré dans son rôle de fournir aux Canadiens des avertissements de temps violent en temps opportun. À l'exception du coup de vent marin, les notes de chaque type d'avertissement (vent, pluie verglaçante, pluie, neige et orage violent) ont aussi augmenté durant cette période.

Pour en savoir plus...

Publication passés

Le programme des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement élabore une vaste gamme d'indicateurs environnementaux et produit régulièrement des rapports sur ces derniers. Ces indicateurs servent à faire en sorte que les Canadiens soient informés des plus récentes situations et tendances concernant les préoccupations environnementales et à suivre les progrès réalisés à l'égard de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. La liste des indicateurs publiés précédemment est présentée ci-dessous.

Août 2017

Juillet 2017

Mai 2017

Avril 2017

Date de modification :