Phosphorus levels in the offshore waters of the Great Lakes

Access PDF (500 KB)

Phosphorus is an essential plant nutrient. When phosphorus levels are too high or too low, they can have harmful impacts on a lake's food web. It is one feature of the health of the offshore waters of the Great Lakes. Conditions may be very different in nearshore areas.

Key results

  • Phosphorus levels are too high in the offshore waters of Lake Erie. While there has been an overall decrease in phosphorus levels over the past 40 years, recent levels vary greatly from year to year. They are no longer showing a declining trend.
  • Phosphorus levels are too low in the offshore waters of Lake Ontario, Lake Huron and Georgian Bay. Since 1972, levels have decreased to a point where preyfish populations are declining.
  • Offshore phosphorus levels in Lake Superior are at the level they should be and not changing.

Status and trends of phosphorus levels in the offshore waters of the Canadian Great Lakes, 1972 to 2013

Map of  Canadian Great Lakes showing the status of phosphorus levels in the offshore waters - long description below.

Long description

The graphic shows the status of phosphorus levels in the offshore waters of the Canadian Great Lakes (Lake Superior, Lake Huron, Georgian Bay, Lake Ontario and the western, central and eastern basins of Lake Erie). Phosphorus levels in offshore areas of Lake Superior are classified as good. In Lake Huron, Lake Ontario and Georgian Bay, phosphorus levels have gotten too low in offshore waters and the lakes are given a classification of fair. Levels are above water quality objectives in the eastern, western and central basins of Lake Erie and are classified as poor. Since 1972, phosphorus levels have decreased in all the lakes, except Lake Superior where there has been no change.

Data for this map
Status and trends of phosphorus levels in the offshore waters of the Canadian Great Lakes, 1972 to 2013
LakePhosphorus water quality objective (micrograms of phosphorus per litre)Spring phosphorus level (micrograms of phosphorus per litre)Year of most recent measurementStatus for offshore watersLong-term trend (1972 to 2013)
Superior52.12013GoodNo trend
Huron54.22012FairDecreasing
Georgian Bay52.02012FairDecreasing
Erie – western basin12Footnote [A]25.42013PoorDecreasingFootnote [B]
Erie – central basin6Footnote [A]15.82013PoorDecreasingFootnote [B]
Erie – eastern basin6Footnote [A]13.42013PoorDecreasingFootnote [B]
Ontario106.02013FairDecreasing

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.70 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: Water quality in the offshore regions of a lake is considered good when it can support a healthy food web. Lakes where phosphorus levels are below objectives and negative impacts to the offshore food web have been observed are given a classification of fair. Where phosphorus levels are above a lake's phosphorus objectives, lakes are classified as poor. Long-term trends to explore how phosphorus levels in the offshore areas of the lakes have changed since 1972 were assessed using linear regression.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Great Lakes Surveillance Program.

More information

Phosphorus levels remain an issue in the offshore areas of 3 of the 4 Canadian Great Lakes. Only in Lake Superior are plankton and preyfish populations healthy, resulting in a good phosphorus status in of the lake's offshore waters.Footnote [1],Footnote [2]

For Lake Superior, spring average phosphorus levels in offshore waters have declined very slowly since 1972. Over the 40-year period, phosphorus levels have remained consistently below the lake's water quality objective of 5 micrograms of phosphorus per litre.

In the offshore waters of Lake Huron and Georgian Bay, phosphorus levels were close to their phosphorus objective of 5 micrograms of phosphorus per litre from 1972 until the late 1990s when they started to decline. For Lake Ontario's offshore waters, levels have declined from very high levels in 1972, dropped below the phosphorus objective of 10 micrograms of phosphorus per litre in the late 1980s, and continue to decline to historic lows. Open-water plankton, algae and preyfish populations in Lake Huron, Georgian Bay and Lake Ontario are showing signs of the impacts of these declines and low phosphorus levels are contributing to this stress.Footnote [1],Footnote [2] These 3 systems are given the fair designation.

In recent years, there has been an increase in toxic and nuisance algae in Lake Erie that may be linked to phosphorus levels. The offshore waters of Lake Erie's eastern, central and western basins continue to have levels exceeding each basin's expected level, giving it a poor status. Phosphorus levels decreased from 1972 to 2013. Recent changes are difficult to identify because of the highly variable nature of the data. For example in 2012, a majority of samples taken from the western basin of the lake met the expected level. In contrast, in 2011 and 2013, samples from the same stations were above the expected level.Footnote [3]

While offshore phosphorus levels are reaching unprecedented lows in some lakes, many nearshore regions of the Great Lakes are experiencing nuisance algae problems due to excessive concentrations of nutrients in these areas.Footnote [3]

About the indicator

What does the indicator measure

This indicator reports total phosphorus levels in the offshore waters of the 4 Canadian Great Lakes.

The indicator assumes water in the Great Lakes would never be above phosphorus water quality objectives in the absence of human development. It provides information on how human activity contributes to phosphorus levels in lakes.

A lake's phosphorus status is determined by comparing spring total phosphorus levels to its water quality objectives and the health of the lake's food web. Failure to meet a water quality objective for phosphorus suggests a greater risk to the health of the lake ecosystems.

Why is this indicator important

Clean freshwater is an essential resource. It protects the biodiversity of aquatic plants and animals. We use it for drinking, manufacturing, energy production, irrigation, swimming, boating and fishing. Degraded water quality damages the health of freshwater ecosystems and can disrupt economic activities, such as fisheries, tourism and agriculture. When phosphorus levels in water become too high, aquatic plant growth can become excessive and harmful. The decay of excess plant material can reduce the amount of oxygen available for fish and other aquatic animals. High nutrient levels can also lead to harmful algal blooms, which can kill animals that use the water, and affect human health. Conversely, too little phosphorus can result in not enough plant growth to support a lake's food web, which can result in a collapse of the fishery.

This indicator is used to provide information about the state of the Great Lakes and Canadian environment. It is also used to assess progress towards implementing the 2016–2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.

What are the related indicators

The Restoring the Great Lakes areas of concern indicator assesses progress towards the restoration of Canada's 17 Great Lakes areas of concern.

The Nutrients in Lake Winnipeg and the Nutrients in the St. Lawrence River indicators report the status of total phosphorus and total nitrogen levels in those two ecosystems.

The Freshwater quality in Canadian rivers indicators rank water quality at monitoring sites across Canada where human activity is likely to impair water quality in its ability to support aquatic life.

FSDS Icon - G7 Pristine lakes and rivers

This indicator supports the measurement of progress towards the following 2016–2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy long-term goal: Clean and healthy lakes and rivers support economic prosperity and the well-being of Canadians.

Access PDF (500 KB)

Date modified:

Concentrations de phosphore dans les eaux au large des côtes des Grands Lacs

Accéder au PDF (462 Ko)

Le phosphore est un élément nutritif essentiel pour les plantes. Des concentrations trop élevées ou trop faibles peuvent avoir des effets néfastes sur le réseau trophique des lacs. La teneur en phosphore fournit un indice sur la qualité des eaux du large des Grands Lacs. Les conditions pourraient être très différentes dans les zones littorales.

Aperçu des résultats

  • Les concentrations de phosphore sont trop élevées dans les eaux au large des côtes du lac Érié. Bien qu'il y ait eu une diminution globale des concentrations de phosphore au cours des 40 dernières années, les concentrations récentes varient fortement d'une année à l'autre. Elles ne semblent plus présenter une tendance à la baisse.
  • Les concentrations de phosphore sont trop faibles dans les eaux au large des côtes du lac Ontario, du lac Huron et de la baie Georgienne. Depuis 1972, elles ont diminué à tel point que les populations de poissons-proies sont en déclin.
  • Les concentrations de phosphore au large des côtes du lac Supérieur sont au niveau où elles devraient être et elles ne changent pas.

État et tendances des concentrations de phosphore dans les eaux au large des Grands Lacs canadiens, 1972 à 2013

Carte des Grands Lacs canadiens montre l'état actuel des concentrations de phosphore dans les eaux au large - description longue ci-dessous.

Description longue

Le graphique montre l'état actuel des concentrations de phosphore dans les eaux au large des Grands Lacs canadiens (lac Supérieur, lac Huron, baie Georgienne, lac Ontario et bassins ouest, central et est du lac Érié). Les concentrations de phosphore dans les zones au large des côtes du lac Supérieur sont classées comme étant bonnes. Dans le lac Huron, le lac Ontario et la baie Georgienne, les concentrations de phosphore sont devenues trop faibles dans les eaux au large des côtes, et les lacs ont été classés passables. Les concentrations sont au-dessus des objectifs de qualité de l'eau dans les bassins est, ouest et central du lac Érié; elles sont considérées comme mauvaises. Depuis 1972, les concentrations de phosphore ont diminué dans tous les lacs, sauf le lac Supérieur, où aucun changement n'a été observé.

Données de la carte
État et tendances des concentrations de phosphore dans les eaux au large des Grands Lacs canadiens, 1972 à 2013
LacObjectif de qualité de l'eau –phosphore (microgrammes de phosphore par litre)Concentration de phosphore au printemps (microgrammes de phosphore par litre)Année de la plus récente mesureÉtat des eaux au large des côtesTendance à long terme (1972 à 2013)
Supérieur52,12013BonAucune tendance
Huron54,22012PassableÀ la baisse
Baie Georgienne52,02012PassableÀ la baisse
Érié – bassin ouest12Note de bas de page [A]25,42013MauvaisÀ la baisseNote de bas de page [B]
Érié – bassin central6Note de bas de page [A]15,82013MauvaisÀ la baisseNote de bas de page [B]
Érié – bassin est6Note de bas de page [A]13,42013MauvaisÀ la baisseNote de bas de page [B]
Ontario106,02013PassableÀ la baisse

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,99 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Remarque : La qualité de l'eau dans les régions au large des côtes d'un lac est considérée bonne lorsque l'eau offre un milieu trophique sain. Les lacs dans lesquels les concentrations de phosphore se situent sous les objectifs et des effets négatifs sur la chaîne alimentaire au large ont été observés sont classés passables. Lorsque les concentrations de phosphore dépassent les objectifs, l'état du lac est classé mauvais. Les tendances à long terme ont été évaluées par régression linéaire afin de montrer l'évolution des concentrations de phosphore dans les zones du large des lacs depuis 1972.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Programme de surveillance des Grands Lacs.

Complément d'information

Les concentrations de phosphore demeurent problématiques au large des côtes de 3 des 4 Grands Lacs canadiens. Seul le lac Supérieur héberge des populations de plancton et de poissons-proies en bonne santé, de sorte que l'état du lac est classé bon en ce qui a trait au phosphore dans les eaux au large de ce lac.Footnote [1],Footnote [2]

Dans le lac Supérieur, les concentrations de phosphore moyennes au printemps dans les eaux au large des côtes ont diminué très lentement depuis 1972. Sur une période de 40 ans, les concentrations de phosphore sont demeurées constamment sous l'objectif de qualité de l'eau du lac, soit 5 microgrammes de phosphore par litre.

Dans les eaux au large des côtes du lac Huron et de la baie Georgienne, les concentrations de phosphore étaient proches de l'objectif de 5 microgrammes de phosphore par litre de 1972 jusqu'à la fin des années 1990, lorsqu'elles ont commencé à diminuer. Dans les eaux au large des côtes du lac Ontario, les concentrations ont diminué par rapport aux niveaux très élevés mesurés en 1972, pour tomber sous l'objectif de 10 microgrammes de phosphore par litre à la fin des années 1980, puis continuer à baisser jusqu'à des niveaux historiquement bas. Dans les eaux libres du lac Huron, de la baie Georgienne et du lac Ontario, le plancton et les populations d'algues et de poissons-proies fournissent des indices des répercussions négatives imputables à cette diminution et les faibles concentrations de phosphore contribuent à ce stress.Footnote [1],Footnote [2] Ces 3 masses d'eau ont été classées comme ayant un état passable.

Dans les dernières années, il y a eu une augmentation des algues nuisibles et toxiques dans le lac Érié qui pourrait être liée aux concentrations de phosphore. Les eaux au large des bassins est, central et ouest du lac Érié continuent de présenter des concentrations dépassant les concentrations attendues, ce qui correspond à un état mauvais. Les concentrations de phosphore ont diminué de 1972 à 2013. Les variations plus récentes sont difficiles à cerner à cause de la grande variabilité des données. Par exemple, en 2012, la majorité des échantillons prélevés dans le bassin ouest du lac respectaient les concentrations attendues. Toutefois, en 2011 et 2013, les échantillons provenant des mêmes stations dépassaient les concentrations attendues.Footnote [3]

Bien que les concentrations de phosphore au large atteignent de bas niveaux sans précédent dans certains lacs, de nombreuses zones côtières des Grands Lacs présentent des proliférations d'algues nuisibles en raison de concentrations excessives d'éléments nutritifs dans ces zones.Footnote [3]

À propos de l'indicateur

Que mesure l'indicateur

L'indicateur rend compte de l'état des concentrations de phosphore total dans les eaux au large des côtes des 4 Grands Lacs canadiens.

Cet indicateur suppose que la concentration de phosphore dans l'eau des Grands Lacs ne serait jamais au-dessus des objectifs de qualité de l'eau en l'absence d'activité humaine. Il fournit des renseignements sur la façon dont l'activité humaine contribue à la teneur en phosphore des lacs.

L'état du phosphore d'un lac est évalué en comparant les concentrations de phosphore total au printemps avec les objectifs de qualité de l'eau et de santé de la chaîne alimentaire de ce lac. Toute concentration autre que celle visée suggère un risque accru de détérioration des écosystèmes lacustres.

Pourquoi cet indicateur est important

L'eau douce saine constitue une ressource essentielle. Elle protège la biodiversité de la flore et de la faune aquatiques. Elle nous sert pour la consommation, la fabrication, la production d'énergie, l'irrigation, la baignade, la navigation et la pêche. Une qualité d'eau dégradée peut nuire à la santé des écosystèmes d'eau douce et aux activités économiques telles que les pêcheries, le tourisme et l'agriculture. Lorsque les concentrations de phosphore dans l'eau est trop élevée, la croissance des plantes aquatiques peut devenir excessive et nuisible. En se décomposant, la matière végétale en excès peut réduire la quantité d'oxygène disponible pour les poissons et autres animaux aquatiques. De fortes concentrations d'éléments nutritifs peuvent aussi mener à la prolifération des algues nuisibles, ce qui peut tuer les animaux qui utilisent l'eau et nuire à la santé humaine. À l'inverse, une carence en phosphore peut freiner la croissance des plantes requises pour soutenir la chaîne alimentaire des lacs, ce qui peut mener à l'effondrement des pêches.

L'indicateur est utilisé pour fournir de l'information sur l'état des Grands Lacs et de l'environnement canadien. Il sert aussi à évaluer le progrès vers la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2016-2019.

Quels sont les indicateurs connexes

L'indicateur sur le Rétablissement des secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs évalue les progrès accomplis en vue de rétablir les 17 secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs au Canada.

Les indicateurs sur les Éléments nutritifs dans le lac Winnipeg et les Éléments nutritifs dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent présentent les concentrations de phosphore total et d'azote total dans ces deux écosystèmes.

L'indicateur sur la Qualité de l'eau douce des cours d'eau canadiens classe la qualité de l'eau à des sites de suivi répartis partout au Canada où l'activité humaine est susceptible de menacer la qualité de l'eau et sa capacité à soutenir la vie aquatique.

SFDD Icone - G7 Lacs et cours d'eau vierges

Cet indicateur soutient la mesure vers l'atteinte de l'objectif à long terme de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2016–2019 : Des lacs et des cours d'eau propres soutiennent la prospérité économique et le bien-être des Canadiens.

Accéder au PDF (462 Ko)

Date de modification :