International Comparison of Urban Air Quality

Access PDF (599 KB)

These indicators present and compare the air quality in selected Canadian urban areas with a population greater than one million to the air quality in selected international urban areas having comparable data.Footnote [1]

Fine particulate matter

The fine particulate matter (PM2.5) indicator is based on the annual average of daily 24-hour average concentrations. In 2014, among the selected Canadian and international urban areas, Vancouver had the lowest annual average PM2.5 concentration. Edmonton was the Canadian urban area with the highest annual average concentration of PM2.5 in 2014, a level comparable to Washington. The PM2.5 concentrations measured in 2013 and 2014 in the Canadian urban areas were generally higher than those measured in 2009, with the exception of Montreal where they decreased.Footnote [2] Between 2013 and 2014, annual average PM2.5 concentrations declined or stayed constant in most of the selected urban areas, except Stockholm, Edmonton, Toronto and Calgary, where they rose.

The World Health Organization's guideline for annual average concentration of PM2.5 is 10.0 micrograms per cubic metre and is presented within the chart for comparison. This value also corresponds to the 2015 Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standard for PM2.5. All selected Canadian urban areas had PM2.5 concentrations under the World Health Organization's guideline in 2013 and 2014.

Annual average concentrations of fine particulate matter for selected Canadian and international urban areas, selected years

Bar chart - See long description below

Long description

The bar chart shows the annual average ambient concentrations for fine particulate matter in micrograms per cubic metre for selected urban areas for the years 2009, 2013 and 2014. The World Health Organization's guideline for fine particulate matter is represented by the vertical line at 10 micrograms per cubic metre.

Data for this chart
Annual average concentrations of fine particulate matter for selected Canadian and international urban areas, 2009 to 2014
Urban area2009 (micrograms per cubic metre)2010 (micrograms per cubic metre)2011 (micrograms per cubic metre)2012 (micrograms per cubic metre)2013 (micrograms per cubic metre)2014 (micrograms per cubic metre)
Hong Kong, China32.831.835.029.532.729.8
Paris, France18.818.519.918.120.216.2
Rome, Italy20.018.220.918.717.015.7
Barcelona, Spain18.217.019.418.515.315.3
Amsterdam, Netherlands15.917.216.915.115.415.0
London, United Kingdom14.115.017.014.815.114.5
Washington, United States10.311.711.511.39.89.8
Edmonton, Canada8.613.69.17.67.99.8
Toronto, Canada5.86.26.56.58.38.9
Sydney, Australia7.45.95.76.78.68.5
Montreal, Canada11.010.410.111.49.98.4
Calgary, Canada8.111.410.98.48.18.2
Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada4.55.35.86.47.57.0
Seattle, United Statesn/an/a7.56.98.06.7
Stockholm, Sweden6.27.06.85.95.06.2
Vancouver, Canada4.84.04.14.06.36.0

Note: n/a = not available.

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 2.04 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: No data was available for Seattle in 2009.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program. Environmental Protection Department of Hong Kong (2016) Air Quality Data. European Environment Agency (2016) AirBase – The European Air Quality Database and Air Quality e-Reporting. Office of Environment and Heritage of New South Wales (2016) Air Quality Data Search. United States Environmental Protection Agency (2016) AirData Download Data Files.

Top of Page

Ozone

The ground-level ozone (O3) indicator is based on the annual average of the daily maximum 8-hour average concentrations. In 2014, Vancouver had the lowest annual average O3 concentration among the selected urban areas. Of the selected Canadian urban areas, Toronto had the highest levels, comparable to Boston. Montreal, Ottawa/Gatineau and Toronto had small increases in O3 concentrations from 2009 to 2014, while Edmonton and Calgary experienced small decreases. When compared to 2013, the 2014 O3 concentrations declined in eight urban areas (including Calgary, Edmonton and Montreal in Canada) while they increased in seven (including Toronto, Ottawa/Gatineau and Vancouver in Canada). These variations may be in part due to changes in meteorology and ozone precursor emission levels.

Annual average concentrations of ozone for selected Canadian and international urban areas, selected years

Bar chart - See long description below

Long description

The bar chart shows the annual average of ozone concentrations in parts per billion for selected urban areas for the years 2009, 2013 and 2014.

Data for this chart
Annual average concentrations of ozone for selected Canadian and international urban areas, 2009 to 2014
Urban area2009 (parts per billion)2010 (parts per billion)2011 (parts per billion)2012 (parts per billion)2013 (parts per billion)2014 (parts per billion)
Phoenix, United States47.047.748.548.648.147.1
Denver, United States42.945.648.048.847.346.0
Washington, United States36.843.139.541.438.739.1
Boston, United States33.937.036.636.738.337.0
Toronto, Canada33.134.633.436.033.934.1
Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada31.334.032.734.733.333.7
Stockholm, Sweden34.932.034.531.133.332.6
Berlin, Germany31.934.934.633.233.932.6
Calgary, Canada33.730.033.531.034.032.5
Paris, France31.131.330.229.831.431.9
Montreal, Canada29.030.930.431.632.131.4
Edmonton, Canada31.728.033.330.732.330.7
Amsterdam, Netherlands23.022.725.027.229.930.2
Hong Kong, China31.428.826.325.627.230.1
Vancouver, Canada26.526.426.527.524.826.6

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.79 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program. Environmental Protection Department of Hong Kong (2016) Air Quality Data. European Environment Agency (2016) AirBase – The European Air Quality Database and Air Quality e-Reporting. United States Environmental Protection Agency (2016) AirData Download Data Files.

Top of Page

Sulphur dioxide

The sulphur dioxide (SO2) indicator is based on the annual average of the daily 24-hour average concentrations. In 2014, Ottawa/Gatineau had the lowest annual average SO2 concentration of all urban areas. Montreal and Edmonton had the highest SO2 concentrations among the selected Canadian urban areas, with levels comparable to Phoenix. Sulphur dioxide concentrations for Canadian urban areas were lower in 2014 than in 2009. When compared to 2013, the 2014 annual average SO2 concentrations declined or stayed constant in half of the selected urban areas (including Montreal, Edmonton and Vancouver in Canada), while they increased in the other half (including Toronto and Ottawa/Gatineau in Canada).

Annual average concentrations of sulphur dioxide for selected Canadian and international urban areas, selected years

Bar Chart - See long description below

Long description

The bar chart shows the annual average concentrations of sulphur dioxide in parts per billion for selected urban areas for the years 2009, 2013 and 2014.

Data for this chart
Annual average concentrations of sulphur dioxide for selected Canadian and international urban areas, 2009 to 2014
Urban area2009 (parts per billion)2010 (parts per billion)2011 (parts per billion)2012 (parts per billion)2013 (parts per billion)2014 (parts per billion)
Hong Kong, China5.44.55.04.24.74.1
London, United Kingdom1.41.31.31.31.31.5
Perth, Australia1.01.01.01.01.01.3
Boston, United States2.32.31.71.41.11.2
Denver, United States1.31.31.71.51.61.2
Montreal, Canada1.81.51.11.71.11.1
Edmonton, Canada1.41.11.10.91.11.1
Phoenix, United States1.41.31.21.41.11.1
Toronto, Canada1.10.91.40.60.71.0
Milwaukee, United Statesn/an/a1.21.00.71.0
Washington, United States2.62.22.51.20.80.9
Berlin, Germany1.01.31.00.90.90.9
Vancouver, Canada1.41.11.11.20.90.8
Barcelona, Spain1.00.81.61.11.00.8
Amsterdam, Netherlandsn/an/an/a0.80.60.7
Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada0.60.20.30.30.30.4

Note: n/a = not available.

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 2.81 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: No data was available for Milwaukee and Amsterdam in 2009.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program. Environmental Protection Department of Hong Kong (2016) Air Quality Data. European Environment Agency (2016) AirBase – The European Air Quality Database and Air Quality e-Reporting. United States Environmental Protection Agency (2016) AirData Download Data Files. Department of Environment and Conservation of Western Australia (2010) Western Australia Air Monitoring Report 2009 (PDF; 2.3 MB). Department of Environment and Conservation of Western Australia (2011) Western Australia Air Monitoring Report 2010 (PDF; 2.3 MB). Department of Environment and Conservation of Western Australia (2012) Western Australia Air Monitoring Report 2011 (PDF; 1.8 MB). Department of Environment Regulation of Western Australia (2016) Air monitoring reports - Western Australia.

Top of Page

Nitrogen dioxide

The nitrogen dioxide (NO2) indicator is based on the annual average of the daily 24-hour average concentrations. The World Health Organization's guideline for the annual average concentration of NO2 is 21.2 parts per billion and is presented within the chart for comparison only.

In 2014, Ottawa/Gatineau had the lowest annual average NO2 concentration for all selected urban areas. Calgary had the highest NO2 concentration among the selected Canadian urban areas. Between 2009 and 2014, average NO2 concentrations decreased in all selected Canadian urban areas. Canadian urban areas were well below the World Health Organization's guideline for all years. When compared to 2013, the 2014 annual average NO2 concentrations declined or stayed constant in nine of the urban areas covered (including Edmonton, Vancouver, Montreal and Ottawa/Gatineau in Canada), while they increased in six (including Calgary and Toronto in Canada).

Annual average concentrations of nitrogen dioxide for selected Canadian and international urban areas, selected years

Bar Chart - See long description below

Long description

The bar chart shows the annual average concentrations of nitrogen dioxide in parts per billion for selected urban areas for the years 2009, 2013 and 2014. The World Health Organization's guideline for nitrogen dioxide of 21.2 parts per billion is represented by the vertical line.

Data for this chart
Annual average concentrations of nitrogen dioxide for selected Canadian and international urban areas, 2009 to 2014
Urban area2009 (parts per billion)2010 (parts per billion)2011 (parts per billion)2012 (parts per billion)2013 (parts per billion)2014 (parts per billion)
Hong Kong, China35.237.038.336.938.434.1
Denver, United States14.321.921.421.720.622.2
London, United Kingdom23.423.921.722.621.521.7
Paris, France22.923.123.122.422.521.5
Barcelona, Spain25.724.925.623.621.320.7
Phoenix, United States17.316.517.718.817.517.9
Amsterdam, Netherlands19.919.618.917.716.416.6
Calgary, Canada18.817.613.712.113.715.0
Toronto, Canada15.315.115.013.413.113.6
Edmonton, Canada16.115.114.114.014.713.1
Boston, United States13.612.614.311.911.811.0
Vancouver, Canada12.89.610.711.311.210.9
Montreal, Canada12.410.711.510.610.29.7
Sydney, Australia10.110.510.29.810.39.6
Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada7.76.77.16.86.96.3

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.94 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program. Environmental Protection Department of Hong Kong (2016) Air Quality Data. European Environment Agency (2016) AirBase – The European Air Quality Database and Air Quality e-Reporting. United States Environmental Protection Agency (2016) AirData Download Data Files. Office of Environment and Heritage of New South Wales (2016) Air Quality Data Search.

Related indicators

Other information

Access PDF (599 KB)

Date modified:

Comparaison à l'échelle internationale de la qualité de l'air en milieu urbain

Accéder au PDF (636 Ko)

Ces indicateurs présentent et comparent la qualité de l'air de zones urbaines canadiennes sélectionnées, dont la population est supérieure à un million d'habitants, à la qualité de l'air de zones urbaines internationales sélectionnées ayant des données comparables.Note de bas de page [1]

Particules fines

L'indicateur sur les particules fines (P2,5) est basé sur la moyenne annuelle des concentrations quotidiennes moyennes sur une période de 24 heures. En 2014, parmi les zones urbaines canadiennes et internationales sélectionnées, Vancouver présentait la concentration moyenne annuelle de P2,5 la plus faible. La même année, Edmonton était la zone urbaine canadienne qui enregistrait la concentration moyenne annuelle de P2,5 la plus élevée, soit une concentration comparable à celle de Washington. Les concentrations de P2,5mesurées en 2013 et 2014 dans les zones urbaines canadiennes étaient généralement plus élevées que celles mesurées en 2009, à l'exception de Montréal où elles ont diminué.Note de bas de page [2] Entre 2013 et 2014, la concentration moyenne annuelle de P2,5 a diminué ou est demeurée constante dans la plupart des zones urbaines sélectionnées, à l'exception de Stockholm, Edmonton, Toronto et Calgary, où elle a augmenté.

La ligne directrice de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé pour la concentration moyenne annuelle de P2,5 est de 10.0 microgrammes par mètre cube et est présentée dans le graphique aux fins de comparaison. Cette valeur correspond également à celle qui figure dans les Normes canadiennes de la qualité de l'air ambiant de 2015 pour les P2,5. Toutes les zones urbaines canadiennes sélectionnées ont des concentrations ambiantes de P2,5inférieures à la ligne directrice de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé en 2013 et en 2014.

Concentrations moyennes annuelles de particules fines pour les zones urbaines canadiennes et internationales sélectionnées, années sélectionnées

Graphique à barres - voir description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique à barres montre les concentrations ambiantes moyennes annuelles de particules fines en microgrammes par mètre cube dans des zones urbaines sélectionnées pour les années 2009, 2013 et 2014. La ligne directrice de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé pour les particules fines, qui est de 10 microgrammes par mètre cube, est représentée par la ligne verticale.

Données du graphique
Concentrations moyennes annuelles de particules fines pour les zones urbaines canadiennes et internationales sélectionnées, 2009 à 2014
Zone urbaine2009 (microgrammes par mètre cube)2010 (microgrammes par mètre cube)2011 (microgrammes par mètre cube)2012 (microgrammes par mètre cube)2013 (microgrammes par mètre cube)2014 (microgrammes par mètre cube)
Hong Kong, Chine32,831,835,029,532,729,8
Paris, France18,818,519,918,120,216,2
Rome, Italie20,018,220,918,717,015,7
Barcelone, Espagne18,217,019,418,515,315,3
Amsterdam, Pays-Bas15,917,216,915,115,415,0
Londres, Royaume-Uni14,115,017,014,815,114,5
Washington, États-Unis10,311,711,511,39,89,8
Edmonton, Canada8,613,69,17,67,99,8
Toronto, Canada5,86,26,56,58,38,9
Sydney, Australie7,45,95,76,78,68,5
Montréal, Canada11,010,410,111,49,98,4
Calgary, Canada8,111,410,98,48,18,2
Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada4,55,35,86,47,57,0
Seattle, États-Unisn.d.n.d.7,56,98,06,7
Stockholm, Suède6,27,06,85,95,06,2
Vancouver, Canada4,84,04,14,06,36,0

Note : n.d. = non-disponible.

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 2,28 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Aucune donnée n'était disponible pour Seattle en 2009.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique. Environmental Protection Department de Hong Kong (2016) Air Quality Data (disponible en anglais seulement). Agence européenne pour l'environnement (2016) AirBase – The European Air Quality Database (disponible en anglais seulement) et Air Quality e-Reporting (disponible en anglais seulement). Office of Environment and Heritage de Nouvelles-Galles-du-Sud (2016) Air Quality Data Search (disponible en anglais seulement). Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis (2016) AirData Download Data Files (disponible en anglais seulement).

Haut de la page

Ozone

L'indicateur sur l'ozone troposphérique (O3) est basé sur la moyenne annuelle des concentrations quotidiennes maximales sur une période de huit heures. En 2014, parmi les zones urbaines sélectionnées, Vancouver présentait la concentration moyenne annuelle d'O3 la plus faible. Parmi les zones urbaines canadiennes sélectionnées, Toronto enregistrait la plus forte concentration d'O3, soit une concentration comparable à celle de Boston. Les concentrations ont connu une légère hausse à Montréal, Ottawa/Gatineau et Toronto entre 2009 et 2014, tandis qu'Edmonton et Calgary ont connu une diminution légère. Comparativement à 2013, la concentration d'O3 en 2014 a diminué dans huit zones urbaines (y compris Calgary, Edmonton et Montréal au Canada), tandis qu'elle a augmenté dans sept zones (y compris Toronto, Ottawa/Gatineau et Vancouver au Canada). Ces variations peuvent être en partie attribuables aux changements météorologiques et aux niveaux d'émissions de précurseurs d'ozone.

Concentrations moyennes annuelles d'ozone pour les zones urbaines canadiennes et internationales sélectionnées, années sélectionnées

Graphique à barres - voir description longue ci-dessous.

Description longue

Le graphique à barres montre la moyenne annuelle des concentrations d'ozone en parties par milliards dans des zones urbaines sélectionnées pour les années 2009, 2013 et 2014.

Données du graphique
Concentrations moyennes annuelles d'ozone pour les zones urbaines canadiennes et internationales sélectionnées, 2009 à 2014
Zone urbaine2009 (parties par milliard)2010 (parties par milliard)2011 (parties par milliard)2012 (parties par milliard)2013 (parties par milliard)2014 (parties par milliard)
Phoenix, États-Unis47,047,748,548,648,147,1
Denver, États-Unis42,945,648,048,847,346,0
Washington, États-Unis36,843,139,541,438,739,1
Boston, États-Unis33,937,036,636,738,337,0
Toronto, Canada33,134,633,436,033,934,1
Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada31,334,032,734,733,333,7
Stockholm, Suède34,932,034,531,133,332,6
Berlin, Allemagne31,934,934,633,233,932,6
Calgary, Canada33,730,033,531,034,032,5
Paris, France31,131,330,229,831,431,9
Montréal, Canada29,030,930,431,632,131,4
Edmonton, Canada31,728,033,330,732,330,7
Amsterdam, Pays-Bas23,022,725,027,229,930,2
Hong Kong, Chine31,428,826,325,627,230,1
Vancouver, Canada26,526,426,527,524,826,6

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,99 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique. Environmental Protection Department de Hong Kong (2016) Air Quality Data (disponible en anglais seulement). Agence européenne pour l'environnement (2016) AirBase – The European Air Quality Database (disponible en anglais seulement) et Air Quality e-Reporting (disponible en anglais seulement). Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis (2016) AirData Download Data Files (disponible en anglais seulement).

Haut de la page

Dioxyde de soufre

L'indicateur sur le dioxyde de soufre (SO2) est basé sur la moyenne annuelle des concentrations quotidiennes moyennes sur une période de 24 heures. En 2014, Ottawa/Gatineau présentait la concentration moyenne annuelle de SO2 la plus faible parmi les zones urbaines sélectionnées. Montréal et Edmonton enregistraient les plus fortes concentrations de SO2 parmi les zones urbaines canadiennes sélectionnées, soit des niveaux comparables à ceux de Phoenix. Les concentrations de SO2 dans les zones urbaines canadiennes étaient plus faibles en 2014 qu'en 2009. Par rapport à 2013, la concentration moyenne annuelle de SO2 en 2014 a diminué ou est demeurée constante dans la moitié des zones urbaines sélectionnées (incluant Montréal, Edmonton et Vancouver au Canada), alors qu'elle a augmenté dans l'autre moitié (incluant Toronto et Ottawa/Gatineau au Canada).

Concentrations moyennes annuelles de dioxyde de soufre pour les zones urbaines canadiennes et internationales sélectionnées, années sélectionnées

Graphique à barres - voir description longue ci-dessous.

Description longue

Le graphique à barres montre les concentrations moyennes annuelles de dioxyde de soufre en parties par milliard dans les zones urbaines sélectionnées pour les années 2009, 2013 et 2014.

Données du graphique
Concentrations moyennes annuelles de dioxyde de soufre pour les zones urbaines canadiennes et internationales sélectionnées, 2009 à 2014
Zone urbaine2009 (parties par milliard)2010 (parties par milliard)2011 (parties par milliard)2012 (parties par milliard)2013 (parties par milliard)2014 (parties par milliard)
Hong Kong, Chine5,44,55,04,24,74,1
Londres, Royaume-Uni1,41,31,31,31,31,5
Perth, Australie1,01,01,01,01,01,3
Boston, États-Unis2,32,31,71,41,11,2
Denver, États-Unis1,31,31,71,51,61,2
Montréal, Canada1,81,51,11,71,11,1
Edmonton, Canada1,41,11,10,91,11,1
Phoenix, États-Unis1,41,31,21,41,11,1
Toronto, Canada1,10,91,40,60,71,0
Milwaukee, États-Unisn.d.n.d.1,21,00,71,0
Washington, États-Unis2,62,22,51,20,80,9
Berlin, Allemagne1,01,31,00,90,90,9
Vancouver, Canada1,41,11,11,20,90,8
Barcelone, Espagne1,00,81,61,11,00,8
Amsterdam, Pays-Basn.d.n.d.n.d.0,80,60,7
Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada0,60,20,30,30,30,4

Note : n.d. = non-disponible.

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 3,18 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Aucune donnée n'était disponible pour Milwaukee et Amsterdam en 2009.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique. Environmental Protection Department de Hong Kong (2016) Air Quality Data (disponible en anglais seulement). Agence européenne pour l'environnement (2016) AirBase – The European Air Quality Database (disponible en anglais seulement) et Air Quality e-Reporting (disponible en anglais seulement). Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis (2016) AirData Download Data Files (disponible en anglais seulement). Department of Environment and Conservation de l'Australie-Occidentale (2010) Western Australia Air Monitoring Report 2009 (disponible en anglais seulement) (PDF; 2,3 Mo). Department of Environment and Conservation de l'Australie-Occidentale (2011) Western Australia Air Monitoring Report 2010 (disponible en anglais seulement) (PDF; 2,3 Mo). Department of Environment and Conservation de l'Australie-Occidentale (2012) Western Australia Air Monitoring Report 2011 (disponible en anglais seulement) (PDF; 1,8 Mo). Department of Environment Regulation de l'Australie-Occidentale (2016) Air monitoring reports – Western Australia (disponible en anglais seulement).

Haut de la page

Dioxyde d'azote

L'indicateur sur le dioxyde d'azote (NO2) est basé sur la moyenne annuelle des concentrations quotidiennes moyennes sur une période de 24 heures. La ligne directrice de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé relative à la concentration moyenne annuelle de NO2 est de 21,2 parties par milliard et est représentée dans le graphique à des fins de comparaison seulement.

En 2014, Ottawa/Gatineau présentait la concentration moyenne annuelle de NO2 la plus faible parmi les zones urbaines sélectionnées. Pour sa part, Calgary enregistrait la plus forte concentration de NO2 parmi les zones urbaines canadiennes sélectionnées. Entre 2009 et 2014, les concentrations moyennes de NO2 dans toutes les zones urbaines canadiennes sélectionnées ont connu une baisse. Les concentrations des zones urbaines canadiennes étaient bien en dessous de la ligne directrice de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé, toutes années confondues. Par rapport à 2013, la concentration moyenne annuelle de NO2 en 2014 a diminué ou est demeurée constante dans neuf des zones urbaines couvertes (y compris Edmonton, Vancouver, Montréal et Ottawa/Gatineau au Canada), alors qu'elle a augmenté dans six zones (y compris Calgary et Toronto au Canada).

Concentrations moyennes annuelles de dioxyde d'azote pour les zones urbaines canadiennes et internationales sélectionnées, années sélectionnées

Graphique à barres - voir description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique à barres montre les concentrations moyennes annuelles de dioxyde d'azote en parties par milliard dans les zones urbaines sélectionnées pour les années 2009, 2013 et 2014. La ligne directrice de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé pour le dioxyde d'azote, qui est de 21,2 parties par milliard, est représentée par la ligne verticale.

Données du graphique
Concentrations moyennes annuelles de dioxyde d'azote pour les zones urbaines canadiennes et internationales sélectionnées, 2009 à 2014
Zone urbaine2009 (parties par milliard)2010 (parties par milliard)2011 (parties par milliard)2012 (parties par milliard)2013 (parties par milliard)2014 (parties par milliard)
Hong Kong, Chine35,237,038,336,938,434,1
Denver, États-Unis14,321,921,421,720,622,2
Londres, Royaume-Uni23,423,921,722,621,521,7
Paris, France22,923,123,122,422,521,5
Barcelone, Espagne25,724,925,623,621,320,7
Phoenix, États-Unis17,316,517,718,817,517,9
Amsterdam, Pays-Bas19,919,618,917,716,416,6
Calgary, Canada18,817,613,712,113,715,0
Toronto, Canada15,315,115,013,413,113,6
Edmonton, Canada16,115,114,114,014,713,1
Boston, États-Unis13,612,614,311,911,811,0
Vancouver, Canada12,89,610,711,311,210,9
Montréal, Canada12,410,711,510,610,29,7
Sydney, Australie10,110,510,29,810,39,6
Ottawa/Gatineau, Canada7,76,77,16,86,96,3

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 2,18 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique. Environmental Protection Department de Hong Kong (2016) Air Quality Data (disponible en anglais seulement). Agence européenne pour l'environnement (2016) AirBase – The European Air Quality Database (disponible en anglais seulement) et Air Quality e-Reporting (disponible en anglais seulement). Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis (2016) AirData Download Data Files (disponible en anglais seulement). Office of Environment and Heritage de Nouvelles-Galles-du-Sud (2016) Air Quality Data Search (disponible en anglais seulement).

Indicateurs connexes

Autres renseignements

Accéder au PDF (636 Ko)

Date de modification :