Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDEs) in Fish and Sediment

Polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs), a group of chemicalsFootnote [1] used as additive flame retardants, are of concern for wildlife. PBDEs build up in living organisms, and remain in the environment for long periods after their release. The PBDEs in Fish and Sediment indicators report on the occurrence of PBDE concentrations above or below Federal Environmental Quality Guidelines (FEQGs) in fish tissue and sediment. FEQGs are numerical limits established under the Chemicals Management Plan (CMP) to protect aquatic life, and therefore concentrations below the guidelines are not of concern; concentrations above guidelines indicate that further evaluation may be required.

PBDEs are persistent organic pollutants (POPs), and are considered high-priority chemicals under the CMP. Currently, the use of PBDEs is declining because most commercial mixtures containing these chemicals have either been voluntarily phased out by manufacturers or are subject to restrictions in Canada. The Government of Canada has developed a Risk Management Strategy for PBDEs with the objective of minimizing their release into the Canadian environment. This includes prohibition of the manufacture of tetraBDE, pentaBDE, hexaBDE, heptaBDE, octaBDE, nonaBDE and decaBDE; in addition, the use, sale, offer for sale, and import of tetraBDE, pentaBDE and hexaBDE is prohibited.

Canada is a party to two international agreements that restrict and ultimately target the elimination of the production, use, trade, release and storage of PBDEs: the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants and the Protocol on Persistent Organic Pollutants of the United Nations Convention on Long-range Transboundary Air Pollution. Canada is also a party to the Rotterdam Convention, an international agreement that obligates parties to apply the prior informed consent procedure for international trade of certain PBDEs. The objective of these international agreements is to protect human health and the environment.

Long-range transport of PBDEs to Canada, potential presence in imported products, widespread use in the past and slow breakdown following release means that PBDEs still remain in the Canadian environment. Current human exposure to PBDEs is well below levels that are considered to be of concern.

PBDEs in fish tissue

Between 2011 and 2012, Environment Canada conducted fish sampling in 10 drainage regions and analyzed PBDE concentrations in fish tissue of four subgroups for which guidelines have been set: triBDE, tetraBDE, pentaBDE and hexaBDE.

The following table indicates, for each PBDE subgroup (triBDE, tetraBDE, pentaBDE and hexaBDE), drainage regions where no fish samples returned a concentration reading above the guideline and drainage regions where at least one fish sample returned a concentration reading above the guideline, for the period 2011 to 2012.

The guideline was exceeded in seven of the ten drainage regions for pentaBDE, whereas the guideline for triBDE, tetraBDE and hexaBDE were not exceeded for any of the drainage regions. In two cases, for the drainages regions of Lower Mackenzie and Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson, where the pentaBDE guideline was not exceeded, the situation seems to have improved compared to the 2008–2010 samplings. It also seems to have improved for the Great Lakes drainage region for tetraBDE compared to the 2008–2010 samplings.

Table 1: Comparison between PBDE subgroup concentrations in fish against the guidelines, 2011 to 2012
Sampled drainage regiontriBDEtetraBDEpentaBDEhexaBDE
Columbia (4)NoNoYesNo
Yukon (5)NoNoYesNo
Peace–Athabasca (6)NoNoYesNo
Lower Mackenzie (7)NoNoNoFootnote [A]No
Assiniboine–Red (12)NoNoYesNo
Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)NoNoNoFootnote [A]No
Churchill (15)NoNoYesNo
Great Lakes (19)NoNoFootnote [A]YesNo
St. Lawrence (21)NoNoYesNo
Maritime Coastal (24)NoNoNoNo
Data for this table
Detailed data for Table 1: Comparison between PBDE subgroup concentrations in fish against the guidelines, 2011 to 2012
Sampling periodSampled drainage regionSample sizeNumber of samples where triBDE concentration exceeded guidelineNumber of samples where tetraBDE concentration exceeded guidelineNumber of samples where pentaBDE concentration exceeded guidelineNumber of samples where hexaBDE concentration exceeded guideline
2011–2012Columbia (4)1900190
2011–2012Yukon (5)1900110
2011–2012Peace–Athabasca (6)2000130
2011–2012Lower Mackenzie (7)100000
2011–2012Assiniboine-Red (12)100060
2011–2012Lower-Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)220000
2011–2012Churchill (15)3000280
2011–2012Great Lakes (19)8900890
2011–2012St. Lawrence (21)1800180
2011–2012Maritime Coastal (24)100000
2008–2010Pacific Coastal (1)190010
2008–2010Columbia (4)2600260
2008–2010Yukon (5)4000160
2008–2010Peace–Athabasca (6)4400360
2008–2010Lower Mackenzie (7)290040
2008–2010Assiniboine–Red (12)2400160
2008–2010Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)5300200
2008–2010Churchill (15)8000580
2008–2010Great Lakes (19)149061490
2008–2010St. Lawrence (21)3000300
2008–2010Maritime Coastal (24)280000

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.46 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: Measurements were made in 247 representative predatory fish (Lake Trout, Walleye, Cutthroat Trout, Rainbow Trout or Brook Trout) collected from 10 drainage regions from 2011 to 2012. "No" means no sample collected in the drainage region returned a concentration reading above the guideline. "Yes" means at least one sample collected in the drainage region returned a concentration reading above the guideline. Data from previous reporting measurements (2008–2010) for this indicator are also reported in the data table for this indicator.
Source: Environment Canada (2014) National Fish Contaminants Monitoring and Surveillance Program.

PBDE trends in fish in Lake Ontario

To provide context on changes through time, additional data showing pentaBDE concentrations in Lake Ontario fish are presented for the period 1997 to 2012. Since 1997, the concentrations of pentaBDE in Lake Trout collected from Lake Ontario have declined at an annual rate of 4.5%. Despite this decline, levels of pentaBDE in fish were still above the guideline in the most recent years of monitoring. Currently, there is insufficient data to determine the trends of PBDE concentrations in fish from other Canadian drainage regions.

PentaBDE concentrations in Lake Trout from Lake Ontario, 1997 to 2012

chart

Long description

The chart shows the annual geometric average concentration, expressed as nanograms of pentabromodiphenyl ether per gram of wet weight in Lake Trout from Lake Ontario from 1997 to 2012. Since 1997, the concentrations of pentabromodiphenyl ether have declined in Lake Trout collected from Lake Ontario at an average annual rate of 4.5%. Despite this decline, levels of pentaBDE in fish were still above the Federal Environmental Quality Guideline (one nanogram of pentabromodiphenyl ether per gram of fish wet weight) in the most recent years of monitoring.

Data for this chart
Data for PentaBDE concentrations in Lake Trout from Lake Ontario, 1997 to 2012
YearNumber of samplesAverage concentration
(nanograms per gram wet weight)
1997438
1998430
1999832
2000739
2001423
2002431
2003828
2004823
20051226
20061424
20071126
20082428
20092421
20101028
20111016
20121017

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 515 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: PentaBDEs are expressed in annual geometric average in this chart. A trend line is reported only when a statistical trend is detected at the 95% confidence level. Other PBDEs sampled are triBDE, tetraBDE, hexaBDE, heptaBDE, octaBDE, nonaBDE and decaBDE. In 2010, Environment Canada developed Federal Environmental Quality Guidelines (FEQGs) for PBDEs to assess the ecological significance of levels of PBDEs in the environment.
Source: Environment Canada (2014) National Fish Contaminants Monitoring and Surveillance Program.

PBDEs in sediment

Between 2009–2010 and 2013–2014, Environment Canada conducted sediment sampling in nine drainage regions, and analyzed sediment concentrations for six subgroups of PBDEs having guidelines (see Table 2). The analysis found that sediment samples from the Pacific Coastal, Okanagan–Similkameen, Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson, Great Lakes, St. Lawrence and Maritime Coastal drainage regions had pentaBDE concentrations above the FEQG. Only the Newfoundland–Labrador, Columbia and the Assiniboine–Red drainage regions were below the FEQG for pentaBDE. Sediment from the St. Lawrence and Pacific Coastal drainage regions had concentrations above the guideline level for decaBDE. All other subgroups of PBDEs were below the guidelines for the regions where sampling occurred. In one case, for the Great Lakes drainage region, where the decaBDE guideline was not exceeded the situation seems to have improved compared to the samples of 2007 to 2011. In two drainage regions, Okanagan-Similkameen and the Maritime Coastal, where the pentaBDE guideline was exceeded the situation seems to have worsened compared to the samples of 2007 to 2011.

Table 2: Comparison between PBDE subgroup concentrations in sediment against the guidelines, 2009 to 2014
Sampled drainage regiontriBDEtetraBDEpentaBDEhexaBDEoctaBDEdecaBDE
Pacific Coastal (1)NoNoYesNoNoYes
Okanagan–Similkameen (3)NoNoYesFootnote [A]NoNoNo
Columbia (4)NoNoNoNoNoNo
Assiniboine–Red (12)NoNoNoNoNoNo
Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)NoNoYesNoNoNo
Great Lakes (19)NoNoYesNoNoNoFootnote [A]
St. Lawrence (21)NoNoYesNoNoYes
Maritime Coastal (24)NoNoYesFootnote [A]NoNoNo
Newfoundland–Labrador (25)NoNoNoNoNoNo
Data for this table
Detailed data for Table 2: Comparison between PBDE subgroup concentrations in sediment against the guidelines, 2009 to 2014
Sampling periodSampled drainage regionSample sizetriBDEFootnote [A]tetraBDEFootnote [A]pentaBDEFootnote [A]hexaBDEFootnote [A]octaBDEFootnote [A]decaBDEFootnote [A]
2009–2014Pacific Coastal (1)5003001
2009–2014Okanagan–Similkameen (3)2001000
2009–2014Columbia (4)1000000
2009–2014Assiniboine–Red (12)1000000
2009–2014Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)3002000
2009–2014Great Lakes (19)7003000
2009–2014St. Lawrence (21)6700230014
2009–2014Maritime Coastal (24)10004000
2009–2014Newfoundland–Labrador (25)3000000
2007–2011Pacific Coastal (1)5002001
2007–2011Okanagan–Similkameen (3)2000000
2007–2011Columbia (4)2000000
2007–2011Yukon (5)1000000
2007–2011Assiniboine–Red (12)2000000
2007–2011Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)3002000
2007–2011Great Lakes (19)3400140011
2007–2011St. Lawrence (21)7800130014
2007–2011Maritime Coastal (24)6000000
2007–2011Newfoundland–Labrador (25)2000000

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.54 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: Ninety-nine surface sediment samples were collected in nine drainage regions between the years 2009–2010 and 2013–2014. "No" means no sample collected in the drainage region returned a concentration reading above the guideline. "Yes" means at least one sample collected in the drainage region returned a concentration reading above the guideline. Data from previous reporting measurements (2007–2011) for this indicator are also reported in the data table.
Source: Environment Canada (2014) Chemicals Management Plan Environmental Monitoring and Surveillance Program.

Related indicators

Other information

icon
This indicator is used to measure progress toward Target 4.8: Chemicals Management – Reduce risks to Canadians and impacts on the environment and human health posed by releases of harmful substances of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy 2013-2016.

Date modified:

Polybromodiphényléthers (PBDE) dans les poissons et les sédiments

Les polybromodiphényléthers (PBDE), un groupe de produits chimiquesNote de bas de page [1] utilisés en tant qu'additifs ignifugeants, sont préoccupants pour la faune. Les PBDE s'accumulent dans les organismes vivants et demeurent dans l'environnement pendant de longues périodes après leur rejet. Les indicateurs de PBDE dans les poissons et les sédiments signalent des concentrations de PBDE supérieures ou inférieures aux Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement (RFQE) dans les tissus des poissons et les sédiments. Ces recommandations sont des limites numériques établies dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques (PGPC) afin de protéger la vie aquatique et, par conséquent, les concentrations inférieures aux recommandations ne sont pas une source de préoccupation. Les concentrations supérieures aux recommandations indiquent, quant à elles, qu'une évaluation plus approfondie peut être nécessaire.

Les PBDE sont des polluants organiques persistants (POP) et sont considérés comme des produits chimiques hautement prioritaires dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques. À l'heure actuelle, l'utilisation des PBDE diminue, car la plupart des mélanges commerciaux contenant ces produits chimiques ont été soit volontairement abandonnés par les fabricants, soit soumis à des restrictions au Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada a élaboré une stratégie de gestion des risques pour les PBDE dont l'objectif est de réduire au minimum leur rejet dans l'environnement canadien. Cela comprend l'interdiction de la fabrication des tétraBDE, pentaBDE, hexaBDE, heptaBDE, octaBDE, nonaBDE et décaBDE. Par ailleurs, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente et l'importation des tétraBDE, pentaBDE et hexaBDE sont interdites.

Le Canada est signataire de deux accords internationaux ayant pour but la limitation et, à terme, l'élimination de la production, de l'utilisation, du commerce, du rejet et du stockage des PBDE : la Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants et le Protocole sur les polluants organiques persistants de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la pollution atmosphérique transfrontalière à longue distance. Le Canada est également signataire de la Convention de Rotterdam, un accord international qui oblige les parties à appliquer la procédure de consentement préalable en connaissance de cause pour le commerce international de certains PBDE. L'objectif de ces accords internationaux est de protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement.

Le transport à grande distance de PBDE vers le Canada, la présence potentielle de la substance dans les produits importés, l'utilisation répandue de ces substances par le passé et leur lente dégradation après un rejet sont autant de raisons expliquant que les PBDE demeurent encore dans l'environnement canadien. L'exposition humaine actuelle aux PBDE est bien inférieure aux niveaux qui sont considérés comme préoccupants.

PBDE dans les tissus des poissons

Entre 2011 et 2012, Environnement Canada a effectué des échantillonnages de poissons dans 10 régions de drainage et analysé les concentrations dans les tissus des poissons de quatre sous-groupes de PBDE (triBDE, tétraBDE, pentaBDE et hexaBDE) pour lesquels des recommandations ont été établies.

Le tableau suivant indique, pour chaque sous-groupe de PBDE (triBDE, tétraBDE, pentaBDE et hexaBDE), les régions de drainage où aucun des échantillons de poissons n'a montré une concentration supérieure à la recommandation et les régions de drainage où au moins un échantillon de poisson est supérieur à la recommandation pour la période allant de 2011 à 2012.

La recommandation a été dépassée dans sept des dix régions de drainage pour le pentaBDE, tandis que la recommandation pour le triBDE, le tétraBDE et l'hexaBDE n'a été dépassée dans aucune des régions de drainage. Dans deux cas, pour les régions de drainage du Bas Mackenzie et du Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson, où la recommandation pour le pentaBDE n'a pas été dépassée, la situation semble s'être améliorée par rapport aux échantillons de 2008–2010. Elle semble également s'être améliorée pour la région de drainage des Grands Lacs pour le tétraBDE par rapport aux échantillons de 2008–2010.

Tableau 1 : Comparaison entre les concentrations des sous-groupes de PBDE dans les poissons et les recommandations, 2011 à 2012
Région de drainage échantillonnéetriBDEtétraBDEpentaBDEhexaBDE
Columbia (4)NonNonOuiNon
Yukon (5)NonNonOuiNon
Paix–Athabasca (6)NonNonOuiNon
Bas Mackenzie (7)NonNonNonNote de bas de page [A]Non
Assiniboine–Rouge (12)NonNonOuiNon
Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)NonNonNonNote de bas de page [A]Non
Churchill (15)NonNonOuiNon
Grands Lacs (19)NonNonNote de bas de page [A]OuiNon
Saint-Laurent (21)NonNonOuiNon
Côte des provinces maritimes (24)NonNonNonNon
Données du tableau
Données détaillées du tableau 1 : Comparaison entre les concentrations des sous-groupes de PBDE dans les poissons et les recommandations, 2011 à 2012
Période d'échantillonnageRégion de drainage échantillonnéeTaille de l'échantillonNombre d'échantillons où la concentration de triBDE excédait la recommandationNombre d'échantillons où la concentration de tétraBDE excédait la recommandationNombre d'échantillons où la concentration de pentaBDE excédait la recommandationNombre d'échantillons où la concentration de hexaBDE excédait la recommandation
2011–2012Columbia (4)1900190
2011–2012Yukon (5)1900110
2011–2012Paix–Athabasca (6)2000130
2011–2012Bas Mackenzie (7)100000
2011–2012Assiniboine–Rouge (12)100060
2011–2012Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)220000
2011–2012Churchill (15)3000280
2011–2012Grands Lacs (19)8900890
2011–2012Saint-Laurent (21)1800180
2011–2012Côte des provinces maritimes (24)100000
2008–2010Côte du Pacifique (1)190010
2008–2010Columbia (4)2600260
2008–2010Yukon (5)4000160
2008–2010Paix–Athabasca (6)4400360
2008–2010Bas Mackenzie (7)290040
2008–2010Assiniboine–Rouge (12)2400160
2008–2010Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)5300200
2008–2010Churchill (15)8000580
2008–2010Grands Lacs (19)149061490
2008–2010Saint-Laurent (21)3000300
2008–2010Côte des provinces maritimes (24)280000

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,62 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Les mesures ont été effectuées sur 247 poissons prédateurs représentatifs (touladi, doré jaune, truite fardée, truite arc-en-ciel ou omble de fontaine) recueillis dans 10 régions de drainage de 2011 à 2012. « Non » signifie qu'aucun échantillon recueilli dans la région de drainage n'a présenté de concentration supérieure à la recommandation. « Oui » signifie qu'au moins un échantillon recueilli dans la région de drainage a présenté une concentration supérieure à la recommandation. Les données des déclaration précédentes (2008-2010) pour cet indicateur sont également présentées dans le tableau de données pour cet indicateur.
Source : Environnement Canada (2014) Programme national de suivi et de surveillance des contaminants dans le poisson.

Tendances des PBDE dans les poissons du lac Ontario

Pour fournir un contexte sur les changements dans le temps, des données supplémentaires donnant des concentrations de pentaBDE dans les poissons du lac Ontario sont présentées pour la période de 1997 à 2012. Depuis 1997, les concentrations de pentaBDE chez les touladis recueillis dans le lac Ontario ont diminué à un taux annuel de 4,5 %. Malgré cette baisse lors des dernières années de surveillance, les niveaux de pentaBDE dans les poissons restaient toujours supérieurs à la recommandation. Actuellement, il n'existe pas suffisamment de données pour déterminer les tendances de concentrations de PBDE pour les poissons des autres régions de drainage canadiennes.

Concentrations de pentaBDE chez le touladi du lac Ontario, 1997 à 2012

Graphique des concentrations de pentaBDE

Description longue

Le graphique montre l'évolution, exprimée en nanogramme de pentabromodiphényléther par gramme de poids humide, de la moyenne géométrique annuelle de la concentration de pentaBDE chez le touladi du lac Ontario de 1997 à 2012. Depuis 1997, les concentrations de pentabromodiphényléther ont diminué de 4,5 % par an pour les touladis recueillis dans le lac Ontario. Malgré cette baisse dans les dernières années de suivi, les niveaux de pentaBDE chez les poissons étaient toujours supérieurs à la Recommandation fédérale pour la qualité de l'environnement (un nanogramme de pentabromodiphényléther par gramme de poids humide de poissons).

Données du graphique
Données du graphique : Concentrations de pentaBDE chez le touladi du lac Ontario, 1997 à 2012
AnnéeNombre d'échantillonsConcentration moyenne
(nanogrammes par gramme poids humide)
1997438
1998430
1999832
2000739
2001423
2002431
2003828
2004823
20051226
20061424
20071126
20082428
20092421
20101028
20111016
20121017

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 570 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Dans ce graphique, les pentaBDE sont exprimés en moyenne géométrique annuelle. Une ligne de tendance est rapportée seulement s'il s'agit d'une tendance statistique décelée à un niveau de confiance de 95 %. Les autres PBDE échantillonnés sont : le triBDE, le tétraBDE, l'hexaBDE, l'heptaBDE, l'octaBDE, le nonaBDE et le décaBDE. En 2010, Environnement Canada a élaboré des Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement (RFQE) pour les PBDE afin d'évaluer l'importance écologique des niveaux de PBDE dans l'environnement. 
Source : Environnement Canada (2014) Programme national de suivi et de surveillance des contaminants dans le poisson.

PBDE dans les sédiments

Entre 2009–2010 et 2013–2014, Environnement Canada a procédé à l'échantillonnage de sédiments dans neuf régions de drainage et analysé les concentrations dans les sédiments de six sous-groupes de PBDE pour lesquels des recommandations ont été fixées (voir le tableau 2). Les analyses ont révélé que les échantillons de sédiments provenant des régions de drainage de la Côte du Pacifique, de l'OkanaganSimilkameen, du Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson, des Grands Lacs, du Saint-Laurent et de la Côte des provinces maritimes, comportaient des concentrations en pentaBDE supérieures à la RFQE. Seules les régions de drainage de Terre-Neuve–Labrador, de la Colombia et de l'Assiniboine–Rouge étaient en dessous de la FEQG pour le pentaBDE. Les sédiments prélevés dans les régions de drainage du Saint-Laurent et de la Côte du Pacifique  comportaient des concentrations supérieures au niveau de la recommandation pour le décaBDE. Tous les autres sous-groupes de PBDE étaient inférieurs aux recommandations pour les régions où l'échantillonnage a été effectué. Dans un cas, pour la région de drainage des Grands Lacs, où la recommandation pour le décaBDE n'a pas été dépassée, la situation semble s'être améliorée par rapport aux échantillonages de 2007 à 2011. Dans deux régions de drainage, celles de l'Okanagan–Similkameen et de la Côte des provinces maritimes, où la recommandation pour le pentaBDE a été dépassée, la situation semble avoir empirée par rapport aux échantillonages de 2007 à 2011.

Tableau 2 : Comparaison entre les concentrations de PBDE dans les sédiments, par sous-groupe, et les recommandations, 2009 à 2014
Région de drainage échantillonnéetriBDEtétraBDEpentaBDEhexaBDEoctaBDEdécaBDE
Côte du Pacifique (1)NonNonOuiNonNonOui
Okanagan–Similkameen (3)NonNonOuiNote de bas de page [A]NonNonNon
Columbia (4)NonNonNonNonNonNon
Assiniboine–Rouge (12)NonNonNonNonNonNon
Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)NonNonOuiNonNonNon
Grands Lacs (19)NonNonOuiNonNonNonNote de bas de page [A]
Saint-Laurent (21)NonNonOuiNonNonOui
Côte des provinces maritimes (24)NonNonOuiNote de bas de page [A]NonNonNon
Terre-Neuve–Labrador (25)NonNonNonNonNonNon
Données du tableau
Données détaillées du tableau 2 : Comparaison entre les concentrations de PBDE dans les sédiments, par sous-groupe, et les recommandations, 2009 à 2014
Période d'échantillonnageRégion de drainage échantillonnéeTaille de l'échantillontriBDENote de bas de page [A]tétraBDENote de bas de page [A]pentaBDENote de bas de page [A]hexaBDENote de bas de page [A]octaBDENote de bas de page [A]décaBDENote de bas de page [A]
2009–2014Côte du Pacifique (1)5003001
2009–2014Okanagan–Similkameen (3)2001000
2009–2014Columbia (4)1000000
2009–2014Assiniboine–Rouge (12)1000000
2009–2014Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)3002000
2009–2014Grands Lacs (19)7003000
2009–2014Saint-Laurent (21)6700230014
2009–2014Côte des provinces maritimes (24)10004000
2009–2014Terre-Neuve–Labrador (25)3000000
2007–2011Côte du Pacifique (1)5002001
2007–2011Okanagan–Similkameen (3)2000000
2007–2011Columbia (4)2000000
2007–2011Yukon (5)1000000
2007–2011Assiniboine–Rouge (12)2000000
2007–2011Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson (14)3002000
2007–2011Grands Lacs (19)3400140011
2007–2011Saint-Laurent (21)7800130014
2007–2011Côte des provinces maritimes (24)6000000
2007–2011Terre-Neuve–Labrador (25)2000000

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,73 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Les 99 échantillons de sédiments de surface ont été recueillis, de 2009–2010 et de 2013–2014, dans neuf régions de drainage. « Non » signifie qu'aucun échantillon recueilli dans la région de drainage n'a présenté de concentration supérieure à la recommandation. « Oui » signifie qu'au moins un échantillon recueilli dans la région de drainage a présenté une concentration supérieure à la recommandation. Les données des déclaration précédentes (2007–2011) pour cet indicateur sont également présentées dans le tableau de données pour cet indicateur.
Source : Environnement Canada (2014) Programme de contrôle et de surveillance de l'environnement du plan de gestion des produits chimiques.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

icône
Cet indicateur est utilisé dans la mesure du progrès vers l'atteinte de Cible 4.8 : Gestion des produits chimiques - Réduire les risques pour les Canadiens et les incidences sur l'environnement et la santé humaine que posent les rejets de substances nocives de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013-2016.

Date de modification :