Releases of Lead to the Environment

Access PDF (1.04 MB)

In 2014, national lead (Pb) emissions to air from human-related activities totalled 136 tonnes (t), which represents an increase of 5% (about 7 t) from the 2013 level, and is 89% (1153 t) lower than in 1990.   

In 2014, national Pb releases to water were 146 t of Pb, more than 10 times the total releases reported in 2013 and about 500% higher than the releases reported in 2003, the baseline year of the time series.

In central British Columbia, a dam securing a tailings pond from the Mount Polley mine breached  on August 4, 2014, spilling mining waste into Polley Lake and surrounding waters. That breach alone released 134 t of Pb to water, or 92% of the total reported for Canada in 2014.

Releases of lead to air and water, Canada, 1990 to 2014 (air) and 2003 to 2014 (water)

line chart - see long description below

Long description

The line chart shows the amount of lead emitted to air in Canada between 1990 and 2014 from human-related activities. An insert column chart shows the amount of lead released to water in Canada between 2003 and 2014. Lead emissions to air had a 89% decrease since 1990 while for water an increase of almost 500% was observed between 2003 and 2014. The increase in releases is explained by the 2014 Mount Polley mine incident in British Columbia.

Data for this chart
Releases of lead to air and water, Canada, 1990 to 2014 (air) and 2003 to 2014 (water)
YearLead
(annual national emissions to air in tonnes)
Lead
(annual national releases to water in tonnes)
19901289.1no data
19911240.5no data
19921282.3no data
1993840.4no data
1994854.9no data
1995921.4no data
19961008.9no data
1997785.7no data
1998684.5no data
1999590.4no data
2000570.7no data
2001526.1no data
2002470.9no data
2003395.624.3
2004330.120.8
2005278.321.3
2006311.019.1
2007306.514.3
2008282.821.0
2009257.716.5
2010219.018.9
2011166.017.2
2012156.214.0
2013129.512.9
2014136.4145.8

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.45 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The indicator only reports Pb releases from human-related sources. The releases in water indicator includes the amount of elemental Pb in any compound, alloy or mixture reported in the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) based on the NPRI reporting criteria. As a result, the reported Pb releases to water represent only a portion of the releases of this toxic pollutant to water in Canada.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Air Pollutant Emission Inventory. Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Overview of Reviewed Facility-Reported Data of the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) 2014.

Lead is a metal that occurs naturally in the earth's crust. Lead is emitted mainly as a result of industrial activities such as metal smelting and refining and various combustion processes. It is also released from natural processes such as rock and soil erosion. Lead can be deposited on terrestrial or water surfaces and subsequently builds up in soils or sediments. It can be released directly to water from human activities such as pulp and paper production, processing of metal, and from wastewater treatment.Footnote [1] Exposure to lead, even in small amounts, can be hazardous to both humans and wildlife. Lead is listed as toxicFootnote [2] under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999).

Lead emissions to air by source

In 2014, the highest proportion of Pb emissions to air in Canada came from non-ferrous smelting and refining, representing 63% (86 t) of national emissions. Transportation (road, rail, air and marine), mostly air transportation, accounted for the second-highest proportion of Pb emissions, with 20% (28 t) of national emissions. The largest reduction in emissions between the years 1990 and 2014 was from non-ferrous smelting and refining with an emission reduction of 801 t or 90%. In 2014, other industries (mainly mining) emitted 8% (12 t) of national Pb emissions, making them the third-largest source while having the second largest reduction in emissions between 1990 and 2014 (240 t).

Lead emissions to air by source, Canada, 1990 to 2014

stacked column chart - see long description below

Long description

The stacked column chart shows the amount of lead emitted to air in Canada by source for the years 1990 to 2014. The sources presented are, from bottom to top of each column, non-ferrous smelting and refining, transportation (road, rail, air, marine), other industries, iron and steel industry, and other sources. The non-ferrous smelting and refining industry emitted 63% of the total emissions for the year 2014. It is followed by transportation (road, rail, air, marine) with 20% and other industries with 8% of the total emissions. The largest reduction in emissions between the years 1990 and 2014 was from non-ferrous smelting and refining with an emission reduction of 801 tonnes.

Data for this chart
Lead emissions to air by source, Canada, 1990 to 2014
YearNon-ferrous smelting and refining
(tonnes)
Transportation (road, rail, air, marine)
(tonnes)
Other industries
(tonnes)
Iron and steel industry
(tonnes)
Other sources
(tonnes)
1990886.279.0252.253.917.8
1991847.560.1261.153.918.0
1992899.254.2256.553.918.5
1993476.154.0238.453.918.0
1994508.253.4220.853.918.5
1995630.759.6164.348.518.3
1996704.058.0173.353.919.8
1997593.754.771.546.819.0
1998527.456.435.445.519.8
1999464.751.847.57.618.7
2000464.552.131.63.519.0
2001397.751.260.78.87.7
2002371.350.532.68.58.0
2003285.645.637.018.78.7
2004230.841.733.516.67.5
2005185.648.232.15.76.7
2006224.443.228.95.98.7
2007216.344.929.26.69.6
2008193.643.529.26.010.6
2009181.141.424.34.56.5
2010140.837.427.46.37.2
201196.230.725.86.17.3
201288.437.516.56.67.2
201374.931.812.35.15.3
201485.527.512.26.15.2

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.62 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The indicator only reports releases from human-related sources. The category Other sources includes fuel for electricity and heating, home firewood burning, waste, and incineration and miscellaneous. For more details on the sources, consult the Data Source and Methods.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Air Pollutant Emission Inventory.

Releases of lead to water by source

In 2014, the source category other industries contributed 136.9 t of the total Pb released to water of 145.8 t. This included 134.1 t released from the Mount Polley mine dam failure. The next categories contributing the most to releases of Pb to water were waste, accounting for approximately 5.1 t followed by the pulp, paper and paperboard industry, representing 1.9 t of the national total. Between 2003 and 2014 the source category waste showed the largest reduction in releases (10.4 t or 67%).

Releases of lead to water by source, Canada, 2003 to 2014

stacked column chart - see long description below

Long description

The stacked column chart shows the amount of lead released to water in Canada by source for the years 2003 to 2014. The sources presented are, from bottom to top of each column, other industries, waste, pulp, paper and paperboard industry, non-ferrous smelting and refining, other sources. In 2014, the other industries source contributed 93% (136.9 tonnes) of the total lead released to water (145.8 tonnes). Second was the waste source, which includes wastewater treatment plants, accounting for 5.1 tonnes of total lead. Between 2003 and 2014, waste experienced the largest reduction (10.4 tonnes). The important increase in 2014 under the other industries source is explained by the Mount Polley mine incident in British Columbia.

Data for this chart
Releases of lead to water by source, Canada, 2003 to 2014
YearOther industries
(tonnes)
Waste
(tonnes)
Pulp, paper and paperboard industry
(tonnes)
Non-ferrous smelting and refining
(tonnes)
Other sources
(tonnes)
20034.3815.492.551.740.18
20043.9711.532.842.260.26
20056.119.473.291.820.58
20065.009.902.351.650.24
20073.636.422.371.640.19
20084.7611.582.422.040.16
20093.398.492.252.130.19
20103.2111.972.121.450.14
20113.658.972.911.500.16
20124.664.692.801.750.12
20134.174.662.421.480.13
2014136.925.111.851.770.13

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.68 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The indicator only reports releases from human-related sources. The indicator includes the amount of elemental Pb in any compound, alloy or mixture reported in the NPRI based on the NPRI reporting criteria. As a result, the reported Pb releases to water represent only a portion of the releases of this toxic pollutant to water in Canada. Other sources include, transportation (road, rail, air, marine), and fuel for electricity and heating. Other industries include iron and steel industry, oil and gas industry and cement and concrete industry. For more details on the sources, consult the Data Source and Methods.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Overview of Reviewed Facility-Reported Data of the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) 2014.

Lead emissions to air by province and territory

Quebec had the highest Pb emissions level in 2014, representing 42% (56.8 t) of national emissions (136.4 t). Ontario, had the second-highest emission level, with 31% (42.7 t) of national emissions, followed by New Brunswick with 7% (9.8 t). Lead emissions in these three provinces mainly came from the non-ferrous smelting and refining industry in 2014.

Lead emissions to air by province and territory, Canada, 2014[A]

stacked by chart  - see long description below

Long description

The bar chart shows the amount of lead emitted to air for provinces and territories that emitted at least one tonne of lead in 2014. Quebec, with 42% of total emissions, was the highest emitting province. Ontario and New Brunswick followed with 31% and 7% respectively.

Data for this chart
Lead emissions to air by province and territory, Canada, 2014
Province or territoryLead emissions
(tonnes)
Percentage of national emissions
Quebec56.8441.7
Ontario42.6531.3
New Brunswick9.837.2
British Columbia9.156.7
Alberta6.104.5
Manitoba3.752.8
Saskatchewan3.232.4
Newfoundland and Labrador2.782.0
Northwest Territories1.000.7
Nova Scotia0.580.4
Yukon0.250.2
Nunavut0.130.1
Prince Edward Island0.120.1
Canada136.42100

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 830 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The indicator only reports releases from human-related sources.
[A] Nova Scotia, Yukon, Nunavut and Prince Edward Island are not shown in the chart due to their low emissions (< 1 t).
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Air Pollutant Emission Inventory.

Releases of lead to water by province and territory

Because of the Mount Polley mine incident, British Columbia facilities accounted for more than 94% of the total Pb releases to water in Canada in 2014. Ontario and Quebec released 3.8 t and 2.7 t respectively of the total lead released to water in Canada. The releases from these two provinces came mostly from wastewater treatment plants.Footnote [3] In 2013, facilities in Ontario and Quebec contributed more than 50% of total releases of Pb to water.

Releases of lead to water by province and territory, Canada, 2013 and 2014[A]

bar chart - see long description below

Long description

The bar chart shows the amount of lead released to water for provinces and territories that released more than 0.3 tonnes of lead in 2014, with 2013 releases provided for comparison. In 2014, British Columbia released 138 tonnes of lead to water (94% of the total) followed by Ontario with 3.8 tonnes (3%) and Quebec with 2.7 tonnes (2%).

Data for this chart
Releases of lead to water by province and territory, Canada, 2013 and 2014
Province or territory2013
lead releases
(tonnes)
2013
percentage of national releases
2014
lead releases
(tonnes)
2014 percentage of national releases
British Columbia2.9222.7137.5494.3
Ontario3.5627.73.762.6
Quebec3.2325.12.701.9
Alberta1.279.90.530.4
New Brunswick1.038.00.400.3
Newfoundland and Labrador0.463.50.330.2
Manitoba0.272.10.310.2
Saskatchewan0.100.80.130.1
Nova Scotia0.010.10.07< 0.1
Prince Edward Island<0.01<0.10.02<0.1
Nunavut0.010.1<0.01<0.1
Northwest Territories<0.01<0.1<0.01<0.1
Canada12.87100145.78100

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.44 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The indicator only reports releases from human-related sources. The indicator includes the amount of elemental Pb in any compound, alloy or mixture reported in the NPRI based on the NPRI reporting criteria. As a result, the Pb releases represent only a portion of the releases of this toxic pollutant to water in Canada.
[A] Yukon did not report releases of Pb to the NPRI in 2013 and 2014. Nova Scotia, Nunavut, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories are not shown in the chart due to their low releases (< 0.3 t).
Source:  Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Overview of Reviewed Facility-Reported Data of the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) 2014.

Releases of lead from facilities

Environment and Climate Change Canada's NPRI provides detailed information on emissions and releases from industrial and commercial facilities that meet NPRI reporting criteria. The Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI) program provides access to this information through an online interactive map.

With the CESI interactive map, you can zoom in to local areas and obtain details on releases of lead to water from individual facilities.

Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Pollutant Release Inventory Online Data Search – Facility Reported Data

Related indicators

Other information

Access PDF (1.04 MB)

Date modified:

Rejets de plomb dans l'environnement

Accéder au PDF (1,08 Mo)

En 2014, les émissions nationales de plomb (Pb) dans l'air provenant des activités d'origine humaine totalisaient 136 tonnes (t), soit une augmentation de 5 % (environ 7 t) par rapport aux niveaux de 2013, et une diminution de 89 % (1 153 t) par rapport à 1990.

En 2014, les rejets de plomb dans l'eau au pays se chiffraient à 146 t, plus de 10 fois les rejets totaux signalés en 2013 et environ 500 % de plus que les rejets rapportés en 2003, l'année de référence de cette série chronologique.

Dans le centre de la Colombie-Britannique, un barrage protégeant un bassin de résidus de la mine Mount Polley a cédé le 4 août 2014, et des déchets miniers se sont répandus dans le lac Polley et les eaux avoisinantes. À lui seul, ce bris a entraîné le rejet de 134 t de Pb dans l'eau, soit 92 % de la quantité totale d'émissions signalées au Canada en 2014.

Émissions de plomb dans l'air et dans l'eau, Canada, 1990 à 2014 (air) et 2003 à 2014 (eau)

graphic linéaire - Voir la description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire présente la quantité de plomb émise dans l'atmosphère au Canada de 1990 à 2014, et provenant d'activités humaines. Un graphique à colonnes est imbriqué au premier graphique et présente la quantité de plomb rejetée dans l'eau au Canada, de 2003 à 2014. Les émissions de plomb dans l'air ont diminué de 89 % depuis 1990, tandis que les rejets dans l'eau ont augmenté de presque 500 %, entre 2003 et 2014. La hausse des rejets s'explique par l'incident survenu en 2014 à la mine Mount Polley, en Colombie-Britannique.

Données du graphique
Émissions de plomb dans l'air et dans l'eau, au Canada, 1990 à 2014 (air) et 2003 à 2014 (eau)
AnnéePlomb
(émissions atmosphériques nationales annuelles en tonnes)
Plomb
(quantité nationale annuelle de rejets dans l'eau en tonnes)
19901 289,1Aucune données
19911 240,5Aucune données
19921 282,3Aucune données
1993840,4Aucune données
1994854,9Aucune données
1995921,4Aucune données
19961 008,9Aucune données
1997785,7Aucune données
1998684,5Aucune données
1999590,4Aucune données
2000570,7Aucune données
2001526,1Aucune données
2002470,9Aucune données
2003395,624,3
2004330,120,8
2005278,321,3
2006311,019,1
2007306,514,3
2008282,821,0
2009257,716,5
2010219,018,9
2011166,017,2
2012156,214,0
2013129,512,9
2014136,4145,8

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,56 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur n'inclut que les rejets de Pb provenant d'activités humaines. L'indicateur des rejets dans l'eau comprend la quantité de Pb élémentaire de chacun des composés, alliages ou mélanges déclarés dans l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) en fonction des critères de déclaration à l'INRP. Ainsi, les rejets déclarés de Pb ne représentent qu'une portion des rejets dans l'eau de ce polluant toxique au Canada.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Aperçu des données déclarées et révisées de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) 2014.

Le Pb est un métal présent à l'état naturel dans l'écorce terrestre. Les émissions de plomb proviennent essentiellement des activités industrielles telles que la fonte et l'affinage de métaux et de différents procédés de combustion. Ses rejets sont aussi le fruit de processus naturels comme l'érosion du roc et du sol. Le plomb peut se déposer sur les surfaces terrestres ou les plans d'eau et, par la suite, s'accumuler dans les sols ou les sédiments. Il peut être rejeté directement dans l'eau par l'entremise d'activités humaines comme la production de pâtes et de papiers, la transformation des métaux et le traitement des eaux usées.Note de bas de page [1] L'exposition au plomb, même en petite quantité, peut être dangereuse pour les humains et la faune. Le plomb est inscrit à la liste des substances toxiques,Note de bas de page [2] en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE 1999).

Les émissions atmosphériques ont diminué entre 1990 et 2014, en raison d'une réduction des émissions provenant de nombreux secteurs industriels, en particulier celui de la fonte et de l'affinage de métaux non ferreux et des mines, de la diminution de l'utilisation du carburant d'aviation au plomb, de la fermeture de certaines installations et de la conformité aux mesures législatives et lignes directrices fédérales et provinciales instaurées pendant cette période.

Émissions atmosphériques de plomb par source

En 2014, la fonte et l'affinage de métaux non ferreux ont généré la proportion la plus élevée des émissions atmosphériques de Pb au Canada, soit 63 % (86 t) des émissions nationales. Les transports (routier, ferroviaire, aérien et maritime), surtout aérien, vient au deuxième rang, avec 20 % (28 t) des émissions nationales. La fonte et l'affinage de métaux non ferreux ont enregistré la plus importante réduction d'émissions entre 1990 et 2014, avec une réduction de 801 t, ou 90 %. En 2014, les autres industries (principalement l'exploitation de mines) ont émis 8 % (12 t) des émissions nationales de Pb, ce qui en a fait la troisième source en importance, malgré qu'elle arrive au deuxième rang de la réduction des émissions entre 1990 et 2014 (240 t).

Émissions atmosphériques de plomb par source, Canada, 1990 à 2014

graphique à colonnes empilées - Voir la description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique à colonnes empilées présente la quantité de plomb émise dans l'atmosphère au Canada, par source, de 1990 à 2014. Les sources présentées dans chaque colonne sont, à partir du bas, fonte et affinage de métaux non ferreux, transports (routier, ferroviaire, aérien et maritime), autres industries, sidérurgie, et autres sources. L'industrie de la fonte et de l'affinage de métaux non ferreux a produit 63 % des émissions totales en 2014. Elle est suivie par les transports (routier, ferroviaire, aérien et maritime), qui enregistre 20 %, et par les autres industries, qui génèrent 8 % des émissions totales. La plus forte réduction enregistrée entre 1990 et 2014 provient de l'industrie de la fonte et de l'affinage de métaux non ferreux, qui a réduit ses émissions de 801 tonnes.

Données du graphique
Émissions atmosphériques de plomb par source, Canada, 1990 à 2014
AnnéeFonte et affinage de métaux non ferreux
(tonnes)
Transports (routier, ferroviaire, aérien, maritime)
(tonnes)
Autres industries
(tonnes)
Sidérurgie
(tonnes)
Autres sources
(tonnes)
1990886,279,0252,253,917,8
1991847,560,1261,153,918,0
1992899,254,2256,553,918,5
1993476,154,0238,453,918,0
1994508,253,4220,853,918,5
1995630,759,6164,348,518,3
1996704,058,0173,353,919,8
1997593,754,771,546,819,0
1998527,456,435,445,519,8
1999464,751,847,57,618,7
2000464,552,131,63,519,0
2001397,751,260,78,87,7
2002371,350,532,68,58,0
2003285,645,637,018,78,7
2004230,841,733,516,67,5
2005185,648,232,15,76,7
2006224,443,228,95,98,7
2007216,344,929,26,69,6
2008193,643,529,26,010,6
2009181,141,424,34,56,5
2010140,837,427,46,37,2
201196,230,725,86,17,3
201288,437,516,56,67,2
201374,931,812,35,15,3
201485,527,512,26,15,2

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,78 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur n'inclut que les rejets provenant d'activités humaines. Les autres sources comprennent les combustibles servant à la production d'électricité et au chauffage, la combustion de bois de chauffage, la source déchets, l'incinération et divers. Pour de plus amples renseignements à propos des sources, veuillez consulter le document Sources de données et méthodes.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques.

Rejets de plomb dans l'eau par source

En 2014, la source autres industries a contribué 136,9 t à la quantité totale de plomb (145,8 t) rejetée dans l'eau. Ce chiffre tient compte des 134,1 t rejetées lorsque le barrage de la mine Mount Polley a cédé. Venaient ensuite les sources déchets et l'industrie des pâtes à papier, du papier et du carton, dont la contribution aux rejets nationaux se chiffre à environ 5,1 t et 1,9 t, respectivement. La plus importante diminution (10,4 t ou 67 %) dans les rejets entre 2003 et 2014 provient de la source déchets.

Rejets de plomb dans l'eau par source, Canada, 2003 à 2014

graphique à colonnes empilées - Voir la description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique à colonnes empilées présente la quantité de plomb rejetée dans l'eau au Canada, par source, de 2003 à 2014. Les sources présentées dans chaque colonne sont, à partir du bas, autres industries, déchets, usines de pâte à papier, de papier et de carton, fonte et affinage de métaux non ferreux, et autres sources. En 2014, la source autres industries a produit 93 % (136,9 tonnes) des rejets totaux de plomb dans l'eau (145,8 tonnes). Venait ensuite la source déchets, laquelle comprend les usines de traitement des eaux usées, à raison de 5,1 t de la quantité totale des rejets de plomb. Entre 2003 et 2014, la source déchets a connu la plus importante diminution (10,4 tonnes). La hausse marquée en 2014, pour la source autres industries, s'explique par l'incident survenu à la mine Mount Polley, en Colombie-Britannique.

Données du graphique
Rejets de plomb dans l'eau par source, Canada, 2003 à 2014
AnnéeAutres industries
(tonnes)
Déchets
(tonnes)
Usines de pâte à papier, de papier et de carton
(tonnes)
Fonte et affinage de métaux non ferreux
(tonnes)
Autres sources
(tonnes)
20034,3815,492,551,740,18
20043,9711,532,842,260,26
20056,119,473,291,820,58
20065,009,902,351,650,24
20073,636,422,371,640,19
20084,7611,582,422,040,16
20093,398,492,252,130,19
20103,2111,972,121,450,14
20113,658,972,911,500,16
20124,664,692,801,750,12
20134,174,662,421,480,13
2014136,925,111,851,770,13

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,86 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur n'inclut que les rejets provenant d'activités humaines. Il tient compte de la quantité de Pb élémentaire de chacun des composés, alliages ou mélanges déclarés dans l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) en fonction des critères de déclaration à l'INRP. Ainsi, les rejets déclarés de Pb dans l'eau ne représentent qu'une portion des rejets de ce polluant toxique au Canada. Les autres sources incluent les transports (routier, ferroviaire, aérien et maritime) et le combustible utilisé pour la production d'électricité et le chauffage. Parmi les autres industries, notons celles de la sidérurgie, du pétrole et du gaz naturel, et du ciment et des produits de béton. Pour plus d'information sur les sources, veuillez consulter le document Sources de données et méthodes.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Aperçu des données déclarées et révisées de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) 2014.

Émissions atmosphériques de plomb par province et territoire

Les émissions atmosphériques de Pb en 2014 ont été les plus élevées au Québec, représentant 42 % (56,8 t) des émissions nationales (136,4 t). Au deuxième rang, l'Ontario a contribué 31 % (42,7 t) des émissions nationales, suivie par le Nouveau‑Brunswick, qui en a généré 7 % (8 t). Les émissions de plomb de ces trois provinces en 2014 provenaient avant tout de l'industrie de la fonte et de l'affinage de métaux non ferreux.

Émissions atmosphériques de plomb par province et territoire, Canada, 2014[A]

graphique à barres - Voir la description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique à barres présente la quantité de plomb émise dans l'atmosphère pour les provinces et les territoires ayant émis au moins une tonne de plomb en 2014. Enregistrant 42 % des émissions totales, le Québec était la province produisant le plus d'émissions atmosphériques. L'Ontario et le Nouveau-Brunswick le suivaient, avec 31 % et 7 % des émissions, respectivement.

Données du graphique
Émissions atmosphériques de plomb par province et territoire, Canada, 2014
Province ou territoireÉmissions de plomb
(tonnes)
Pourcentage des émissions nationales
Québec56,8441,7
Ontario42,6531,3
Nouveau-Brunswick9,837,2
Colombie-Britannique9,156,7
Alberta6,104,5
Manitoba3,752,8
Saskatchewan3,232,4
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador2,782,0
Territoires du Nord-Ouest1,000,7
Nouvelle-Écosse0,580,4
Yukon0,250,2
Nunavut0,130,1
Île-du-Prince-Édouard0,120,1
Canada136,42100

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 910 o)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur n'inclut que les rejets provenant d'activités humaines.
[A] La Nouvelle-Écosse, le Yukon, le Nunavut et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard ne sont pas représentés dans le graphique en raison de leurs faibles émissions (< 1 t).
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques.

Rejets de plomb dans l'eau par province et territoire

En raison de l'incident survenu à la mine Mount Polley, les installations de la Colombie-Britannique représentaient plus de 94 % des rejets totaux de Pb dans l'eau au Canada en 2014. Le Québec et l'Ontario ont produit 3,8 t et 2,7 t respectivement de la quantité totale des rejets de plomb dans l'eau au Canada. Les rejets de ces deux provinces provenaient principalement d'usines de traitement des eaux usées.Note de bas de page [3] En 2013, les installations de l'Ontario et du Québec ont généré plus de 50 % de la quantité totale de rejets de plomb dans l'eau.

Rejets de plomb dans l'eau par province et territoire, Canada, 2013 et 2014[A]

graphique à barres - Voir la description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique à barres présente la quantité de plomb rejetée dans l'eau pour les provinces et les territoires ayant rejeté plus de 0,3 tonnes de plomb en 2014, et il fournit les niveaux de 2013 à titre comparatif. En 2014, la Colombie‑Britannique a rejeté 138 tonnes de plomb dans l'eau (94 % de la quantité totale de rejets), suivie de l'Ontario, avec 3,8 tonnes (3 %), et du Québec, avec 2,7 tonnes (2 %).

Données du graphique
Rejets de plomb dans l'eau par province et territoire, Canada, 2013 et 2014
Province ou territoireRejets de plomb en 2013
(tonnes)
Pourcentage des rejets nationaux en 2013Rejets de plomb en 2014
(tonnes)
Pourcentage des rejets nationaux en 2014
Colombie-Britannique2,9222,7137,5494,3
Ontario3,5627,73,762,6
Québec3,2325,12,701,9
Alberta1,279,90,530,4
Nouveau-Brunswick1,038,00,400,3
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador0,463,50,330,2
Manitoba0,272,10,310,2
Saskatchewan0,100,80,130,1
Nouvelle-Écosse0,010,10,07< 0,1
Île-du-Prince-Édouard<0,01<0,10,02<0,1
Nunavut0,010,1<0,01<0,1
Territoires du Nord-Ouest<0,01<0,1<0,01<0,1
Canada12,87100145,78100

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,53 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur n'inclut que les rejets provenant d'activités humaines. Il tient compte de la quantité de Pb élémentaire de chacun des composés, alliages ou mélanges déclarés dans l'INRP en fonction des critères de déclaration à l'INRP. Ainsi, les rejets de Pb ne représentent qu'une portion des rejets dans l'eau de ce polluant toxique au Canada.
[A] Le Yukon n'a pas déclaré de rejets de Pb à l'INRP en 2013 et en 2014. La Nouvelle-Écosse, le Nunavut, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la Saskatchewan et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest ne sont pas représentés dans le graphique en raison de leurs faibles émissions (< 0,3 t).
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Aperçu des données déclarées et révisées de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) 2014.

Rejets de plomb dans l'eau provenant des installations

L'INRP d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada fournit des renseignements détaillés sur les émissions et les rejets provenant d'installations industrielles et commerciales qui répondent aux critères de déclaration à l'INRP. Le programme des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement (ICDE) donne accès à cette information par l'entremise d'une carte interactive en ligne.

À l'aide de la carte interactive des ICDE, il est possible d'agrandir des zones locales et d'obtenir des détails sur les rejets de plomb dans l'eau provenant de chacune des installations déclarantes.

Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Recherche en ligne des données de l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants – Données déclarées par les installations.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Accéder au PDF (1,08 Mo)

Date de modification :