Air Quality

Access PDF (1.99 MB)

Air quality can deteriorate due to the presence in the air of one or more air pollutants such as solid and liquid particles called fine particulate matter (PM2.5), ground-level ozone (O3), sulphur oxides (SOx), nitrogen oxides (NOx) and volatile organic compounds (VOCs). Ground-level ozone and PM2.5 are the main components of summertime smog. The levels of these pollutants in outdoor air are influenced by many factors, including the proximity to local emissions sources, weather conditions, chemical reactions in the air and the transport of air pollutants over long distances by winds.

The seven Air Quality indicators provide information on the outdoor concentrations of five air pollutants: PM2.5, O3, sulphur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen dioxide (NO2) and VOCs. These air pollutants were selected because they are among the pollutants that most Canadians are exposed to and can have adverse health and environmental effects. They also contribute to the formation of smog and acid deposition.

These indicators are calculated using data obtained from the National Air Pollution Surveillance (NAPS) program, a cooperative partnership involving the federal, provincial, territorial and two regional governments, and from the Canadian Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network (CAPMoN) operated by Environment and Climate Change Canada.

The PM2.5 and one of the O3 indicators are aligned and compared with the Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards (CAAQS) for PM2.5 and O3.Footnote [1] The CAAQS were established as objectives under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) in May 2013 by the federal government. They are key elements of the new Air Quality Management System (AQMS),Footnote [2] which the Ministers of the Environment, with the exception of Quebec, agreed to begin implementing in October 2012. The AQMS provides a comprehensive, cross-Canada framework for collaborative action by jurisdictions to further protect human health and the environment through continuous improvement of air quality.

Summary

Between 2000 and 2013, the two national indicators of PM2.5, annual average and peak (98th percentile) 24-hour, were below the 2015 CAAQS for PM2.5. In 2013 the PM2.5 annual average and peak (98th percentile) indicators were 27% and 29% below their respective 2015 CAAQS. Between 1999 and 2007 the national O3 peak (4th-highest) 8-hour indicator was very close to the CAAQS and from 2008 to 2013 it was below the standard. In 2013, the O3 peak indicator was 11% below the 2015 CAAQS.

Fine particulate matter (PM2.5) and ground-level ozone (O3) air quality indicators relative to Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards set for 2015, Canada, 1999 to 2013

Line chart

Long description

The indexed line chart shows ambient concentrations relative to the 2015 Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards, in percentage, for fine particulate matter for the years 2000 to 2013 and for ground-level ozone for the years 1999 to 2013.

Data for this chart
Fine particulate matter (PM2.5) and ground-level ozone (O3) air quality indicators relative to Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards set for 2015, Canada, 1999 to 2013
YearGround-level ozone peak (4th-highest) 8-hour
(relative to the 2015 CAAQS in percent)
Fine particulate matter annual average
(relative to the 2015 CAAQS in percent)
Fine particulate matter peak (98th percentile) 24-hour
(relative to the 2015 CAAQS in percent)
19997.9no datano data
2000-6.2-34.0-28.3
20017.5-35.3-15.3
20028.1-29.3-5.1
20037.9-28.0-7.1
2004-5.1-35.7-14.0
20050.4-29.4-7.5
2006-2.3-37.5-27.7
20072.4-38.5-21.1
2008-4.8-37.7-27.5
2009-9.3-39.2-35.6
2010-5.1-29.1-7.6
2011-10.0-31.9-22.2
2012-3.9-36.5-32.5
2013-10.5-26.6-28.6

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.59 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The horizontal dashed line at 0% represents the 2015 CAAQS for each indicator and is shown for indicative purposes only. New monitoring equipment were progressively introduced across Canada to replace older monitoring equipment from the mid-2000's to 2013. These new instruments measure a portion (semi-volatile) of the PM2.5 mass not captured by the older instruments. Because of the differences between the new and the old monitoring equipment, concentrations measured with the new monitors may not be directly comparable with measurements from years in which older instruments were used.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2015) National Air Pollution Surveillance (NAPS) program and the Canadian Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network (CAPMoN).

Details on air quality

Ambient levels of fine particulate matter

Ambient levels of ozone

Ambient levels of sulphur dioxide

Ambient levels of nitrogen dioxide

Ambient levels of volatile organic compounds

Theme I: Addressing Climate Change and Air Quality of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.
These indicators are used to measure progress toward Goal 2: Air Pollution – Minimize the threats to air quality so that the air Canadians breathe is clean and supports healthy ecosystems of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy 2013–2016.

Access PDF (1.99 MB)

Date modified:

Qualité de l'air

Accéder au PDF (2,07 Mo)

La présence d'un ou de plusieurs polluants atmosphériques, tels que les particules solides ou liquides appelées particules fines (P2,5), l'ozone troposphérique (O3), les oxydes de soufre (SOx), les oxydes d'azote (NOx) et les composés organiques volatils (COV), peut détériorer la qualité de l'air. Les principaux composants du smog en été sont l'O3 et les P2,5. Les niveaux de ces polluants dans l'air extérieur sont influencés par de nombreux facteurs, notamment la proximité de sources d'émissions locales, les conditions météorologiques, les réactions chimiques dans l'atmosphère et le transport des polluants atmosphériques par le vent sur de longues distances.

Les sept indicateurs sur la Qualité de l'air fournissent des renseignements sur les concentrations extérieures de cinq polluants atmosphériques : les P2,5, l'O3, le dioxyde de soufre (SO2), le dioxyde d'azote (NO2) et les COV. Ces polluants ont été choisis parce qu'ils comptent parmi ceux auxquels la plupart des Canadiens sont exposés et qu'ils peuvent avoir des effets néfastes sur la santé et l'environnement. De plus, ils contribuent à la formation de smog et aux dépôts acides.

Ces indicateurs sont calculés à l'aide de données obtenues dans le cadre du programme mis sur pied par le Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique (RNSPA), un partenariat concerté entre le gouvernement fédéral et les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et de deux administrations régionales, et de données recueillies par le Réseau canadien d'échantillonnage des précipitations et de l'air (RCEPA) exploité par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Les indicateurs sur les P2,5 et un des indicateurs sur l'O3 sont conformes aux Normes canadiennes de qualité de l'air ambiant (NCQAA) relatives aux P2,5 et à l'O3 qui servent de point de comparaison.Note de bas de page [1] Les NCQAA ont été établies sous forme d'objectifs en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE 1999) en mai 2013 par le gouvernement fédéral. Ces normes sont les éléments fondamentaux du nouveau Système de gestion de la qualité de l'air (SGQA),Note de bas de page [2] que les ministres de l'Environnement, à l'exception de celui du Québec, ont décidé de mettre en œuvre en octobre 2012. Le SGQA offre un cadre pancanadien global qui favorise le travail de collaboration entre les gouvernements afin de mieux protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement par l'amélioration continue de la qualité de l'air.

Résumé

Entre 2000 et 2013, les valeurs des deux indicateurs nationaux pour les P2,5, concentration annuelle moyenne et concentration de pointe (98e centile) sur 24 heures, étaient inférieures aux NCQAA de 2015 pour les particules fines. En 2013, l'indicateur sur la concentration annuelle moyenne de P2,5 et celui sur la concentration de pointe (98e centile) étaient en deçà des NCQAA de 27 % et 29 % respectivement. Entre 1999 et 2007, l'indicateur national sur la concentration maximale (4e plus élevée) sur 8 heures d'O3 était très près des NCQAA, et il était inférieur aux normes entre 2008 et 2013. En 2013, norme, l'indicateur sur  l'O3 était de 11 % inférieur aux NCQAA de 2015.

Indicateurs sur la qualité de l'air pour les particules fines (P2,5) et l'ozone troposphérique (O3) relativement aux Normes canadiennes de la qualité de l'air ambiant définies pour 2015, Canada, 1999 à 2013

Graphique linéaire

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire montre les concentrations (exprimées en pourcentage) dans l'air ambiant de particules fines, de 2000 à 2013, et d'ozone troposphérique, de 1999 à 2013, par rapport aux Normes canadiennes de la qualité de l'air définies pour 2015.

Données du graphique
Indicateurs sur la qualité de l'air pour les particules fines (P2,5) et l'ozone troposphérique (O3) relativement aux Normes canadiennes de la qualité de l'air ambiant définies pour 2015, Canada, 1999 à 2013
AnnéeConcentration de pointe d'ozone (4e plus élevée) sur 8 heures
(relative aux NCQAA 2015 en pourcentage)
Concentration annuelle moyenne de particules fines
(relative aux NCQAA 2015 en pourcentage)
Concentration de pointe de particules fines (98e centile) sur 24 heures
(relative aux NCQAA 2015 en pourcentage)
19997,9Pas de donnéesPas de données
2000-6,2-34,0-28,3
20017,5-35,3-15,3
20028,1-29,3-5,1
20037,9-28,0-7,1
2004-5,1-35,7-14,0
20050,4-29,4-7,5
2006-2,3-37,5-27,7
20072,4-38,5-21,1
2008-4,8-37,7-27,5
2009-9,3-39,2-35,6
2010-5,1-29,1-7,6
2011-10,0-31,9-22,2
2012-3,9-36,5-32,5
2013-10,5-26,6-28,6

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,86 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : La ligne horizontale pointillée à 0 % représente les NCQAA de 2015 de chaque indicateur, elle a été ajoutée à titre d'information. Entre le milieu des années 2000 et 2013, on a progressivement installé de nouveaux instruments de suivi partout au Canada pour remplacer le vieil équipement. Ces nouveaux instruments permettent de mesurer une portion de la masse (semi-volatile) de P2,5 qui ne l'était pas auparavant. En raison des différences entre les vieux et les nouveaux instruments de suivi, les concentrations mesurées avec les nouveaux instruments pourraient ne pas être directement comparables aux mesures relevées au cours d'années où l'on a utilisé d'anciens instruments.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2015) programme du Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique (RNSPA) et Réseau canadien d'échantillonnage des précipitations et de l'air (RCEPA).

Détails sur la qualité de l'air

Concentrations ambiantes de particules fines

Concentrations ambiantes d'ozone

Concentrations ambiantes de dioxyde de soufre

Concentrations ambiantes de dioxyde d'azote)

Concentrations ambiantes de composés organiques volatils

Thème I : Relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l’air, tel que formulé dans la stratégie fédérale de développement durable.
Ces indicateurs sont utilisés dans la mesure du progrès vers l'atteinte de Objectif 2 : Pollution atmosphérique Réduire au minimum les menaces à la qualité de l'air afin que les Canadiens puissent respirer de l'air pur, qui appuiera également des écosystèmes sains de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013–2016.

Accéder au PDF (2,07 Mo)

Date de modification :