Reducing Phosphorus Loads to Lake Simcoe and South-eastern Georgian Bay

Access PDF (383 KB)

As of March 2016, stewardship projects supported by the Lake Simcoe and South-eastern Georgian Bay Clean-Up Fund since 2008 were preventing an estimated 5365 kilograms of phosphorus from reaching Lake Simcoe and its tributary rivers.

Similarly, stewardship projects were preventing an estimated 658 kilograms of phosphorus from reaching South-eastern Georgian Bay and its tributary rivers.

Both Lake Simcoe and South-eastern Georgian Bay have targets for a reduction of 2000 kilograms of phosphorus per year by 2017.

Cumulative, estimated reduction in the amount of phosphorus reaching Lake Simcoe, 2008 to 2015 and South-eastern Georgian Bay, 2013 to 2015 due to stewardship projects

Column charts - See long description below

Long description

The column charts present estimates of the annual amount of phosphorus prevented from entering Lake Simcoe's and South-eastern Georgian Bay's watersheds from 2008 to 2015. For Lake Simcoe, an estimated 5365 kilograms of phosphorus has been diverted from the lake between 2008 and 2015. For South-eastern Georgian Bay, an estimated 658 kilograms of phosphorus has been prevented from reaching the bay since 2013.

Data for this chart
Cumulative, estimated reduction in the amount of phosphorus reaching Lake Simcoe, 2008 to 2015 and South-eastern Georgian Bay, 2013 to 2015 due to stewardship projects
LakeYearNon-point source phosphorus removal / habitat restoration
(kilograms of phosphorus)
Point-source reduction
(kilograms of phosphorus)
Estimated phosphorus removal over all years
(kilograms of phosphorus)
Lake Simcoe2008–2011-1105-1162-2267
Lake Simcoe2012-550>0-2817
Lake Simcoe2013-230-2840
Lake Simcoe2014-12010-4041
Lake Simcoe2015-13240-5365
South-eastern Georgian Bay2013-210-21
South-eastern Georgian Bay2014-99-5-125
South-eastern Georgian Bay2015-5340-658

Note: Numbers may not sum due to rounding.

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.21 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The estimate of reduced phosphorus load represents projects with final reports submitted by March 2016. Figures for each project type are rounded and then summed to give the total.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Lake Simcoe / South-eastern Georgian Bay Clean-Up Fund Office.

Lake Simcoe is the largest lake in southern Ontario outside of the Great Lakes. Located north of Toronto, the lake is a major recreational and agricultural area, and supplies drinking water to eight municipalities. Rapidly increasing population growth, urban development, and fewer, but larger, farms with more crops and livestock has resulted in elevated phosphorus levels in the lake. Phosphorus is a key nutrient for plant growth in lakes, and an oversupply of phosphorus can cause nuisance aquatic plants and algae to grow to levels resulting in changes to the types of fish living in the lake. Excess phosphorus in Lake Simcoe is causing oxygen levels in the lake to drop to levels that are affecting fish and wildlife populations and overall water quality. Scientists estimate the annual phosphorus load going into the lake has more than doubled to 77 tonnes of phosphorus per yearFootnote [1] since the major settlement and land clearing that took place around Lake Simcoe in the 1800s.

Similar to Lake Simcoe, water quality and ecosystem health in sections of South-eastern Georgian Bay are under threat from shoreline development introducing excessive inputs of phosphorus into the bay. These stresses range from agriculture in the Nottawasaga Valley watershed to inputs from the coastal communities of Collingwood and Wasaga Beach to the Severn Sound watershed, which encompasses a combination of small urban and rural areas with a permanent population of approximately 110 000 people and a summer population of 300 000 people. South-eastern Georgian Bay encompasses the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)-designated Georgian Bay Biosphere Reserve.

The Lake Simcoe / South-eastern Georgian Bay Clean-Up Fund was created to provide financial and technical support to help accomplish projects designed to reduce phosphorus inputs into the lakes. Phosphorus-reduction projects funded include stream bank erosion control measures, stewardship programs, stopping livestock from directly accessing water courses, manure storage, planting trees and plants along river corridors, containing milk-house washwater, stormwater pond retrofits, and creating/restoring wetlands.

The work to reduce phosphorus loads to Lake Simcoe is being led by the Province of Ontario, working with partners such as the Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority, local stakeholders, municipalities and other partners. Environment and Climate Change Canada's Lake Simcoe / South-eastern Georgian Bay Clean-Up Fund contributes to Ontario's overall goals for the lake by providing funding for priority clean-up projects at the community, lake-wide or watershed-wide level.

Related indicators

Other information

FSDS Icon - Pristine lakes and rivers Pristine lakes and rivers

This indicator supports the measurement of progress towards the long-term goal of the 2016–2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy: Clean and healthy lakes and rivers support economic prosperity and the well-being of Canadians.

Access PDF (383 KB)

Date modified:

Réduction des rejets de phosphore dans le lac Simcoe et le sud-est de la baie Georgienne

Accéder au PDF (397 Ko)

On estime que, de 2008 à mars 2016, les projets d'intendance soutenus par le Fonds pour l'assainissement du lac Simcoe et du sud-est de la baie Georgienne ont empêché 5 365 kilogrammes de phosphore d'atteindre le lac et ses affluents.

On estime également que les projets d'intendance ont empêché 658 kilogrammes de phosphore d'atteindre le sud-est de la baie Georgienne et ses affluents.

Comme pour le lac Simcoe, la cible de réduction de la quantité estimative de charges en polluants phosphorés dans les bassins versants du sud-est de la baie Georgienne est de 2 000 kilogrammes d'ici 2017.

Estimation de la réduction cumulative des apports de phosphore au lac Simcoe, 2008 à 2015 et au sud-est de la baie Georgienne, 2013 à 2015 en raison de projets d'intendance

Graphiques à colonnes - voir description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Les graphiques à colonnes présentes les apports annuels estimatifs de phosphore qui ont été évités dans les bassins versants du lac Simcoe et du sud-est de la baie Georgienne de 2008 à 2015. Dans le cas du lac Simcoe, on estime à 5 365 kilogrammes la quantité de phosphore qui a été détournée du lac entre 2008 et 2015. Dans le cas du sud-est de la baie Georgienne, depuis 2013, ce serait 658 kilogrammes de phosphore dont l'entrée dans la baie aurait été évitée.

Données du graphique
Estimation de la réduction cumulative des apports de phosphore au lac Simcoe, 2008 à 2015 et au sud-est de la baie Georgienne, 2013 à 2015 en raison de projets d'intendance
LacAnnéeSuppression du phosphore de source diffuse et restauration de l'habitat
(kilogrammes de phosphore)
Réduction ponctuelle
(kilogrammes de phosphore)
Réduction de phosphore estimée pour toutes les années
(kilogrammes de phosphore)
Lac Simcoe2008–2011-1 105-1 162-2 267
Lac Simcoe2012-550>0-2 817
Lac Simcoe2013-230-2 840
Lac Simcoe2014-1 2010-4 041
Lac Simcoe2015-1 3240-5 365
Sud-est de la baie Georgienne2013-210-21
Sud-est de la baie Georgienne2014-99-5-125
Sud-est de la baie Georgienne2015-5340-658

Note : Les nombres peuvent ne pas correspondre aux totaux en raison de l'arrondissement.

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,40 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'estimation de la réduction des charges de phosphore tient compte des projets dont les rapports finaux ont été soumis jusqu'en mars 2016. Les totaux pour chaque type de projet ont été arrondis, et ces chiffres arrondis ont été additionnés pour obtenir le total.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Bureau du Fonds d'assainissement du lac Simcoe et du sud-est de la baie Georgienne.

Le lac Simcoe est le plus grand lac du sud de l'Ontario en dehors des Grands Lacs. Situé au nord de Toronto, il constitue une zone récréative et agricole importante et sert de source d'eau potable à huit municipalités. La croissance rapide de la population, le développement urbain et les exploitations agricoles, qui diminuent en nombre mais augmentent en taille avec intensification des cultures et des élevages, ont fait grimper les concentrations de phosphore dans le lac. Le phosphore est un élément nutritif essentiel à la croissance des végétaux, mais un trop grand apport peut entraîner une prolifération nuisible des plantes et des algues et un changement des types de poissons vivant dans le lac. L'excès de phosphore dans le lac Simcoe est à l'origine d'un appauvrissement en oxygène qui nuit aux populations de poissons et de la faune, ainsi qu'à la qualité générale de l'eau. Les scientifiques estiment que les rejets annuels de phosphore dans le lac Simcoe ont plus que doublé, passant à 77 tonnes par an,Note de bas de page [1] depuis le grand mouvement de colonisation et de défrichement des années 1800.

Comme pour le lac Simcoe, l'aménagement des rives qui entraîne des apports excessifs de phosphore menace la qualité de l'eau et la santé de l'écosystème dans certaines parties du sud-est de la baie Georgienne. Les facteurs de stress vont de l'agriculture dans le bassin versant de la vallée de la Nottawasaga aux apports provenant des agglomérations riveraines de Collingwood et de Wasaga Beach, en passant par le bassin du bras Severn, qui comprend des petites agglomérations urbaines et des milieux ruraux et dont la population d'environ 110 000 personnes grossit à 300 000 personnes l'été. Le sud-est de la baie Georgienne englobe réserve de la biosphère de la baie Georgienne désignée par l'Organisation des Nations Unies  pour l'éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO).

Le Fonds d'assainissement du lac Simcoe et du sud-est de la baie Georgienne a été créé pour offrir un soutien financier et technique à la réalisation de projets visant à réduire les apports de phosphore dans les lacs. Les projets financés comprennent des mesures pour limiter l'érosion des berges, des programmes d'intendance, des mesures pour empêcher l'accès direct du bétail aux cours d'eau, des dispositifs d'entreposage du fumier, la plantation d'arbres et de plantes le long des couloirs fluviaux, la rétention de l'eau de lavage des laiteries, la modernisation des bassins de retenue des eaux pluviales et la création et la restauration de milieux humides.

Les travaux visant à réduire les rejets de phosphore dans le lac Simcoe sont dirigés par la province de l'Ontario, en collaboration avec des partenaires, tels que l'Office de protection de la nature de la région du lac Simcoe, des intervenants locaux, des municipalités et d'autres. Le Fonds d'assainissement du lac Simcoe et du sud-est de la baie Georgienne d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada contribue aux objectifs généraux de l'Ontario concernant le lac par le financement de projets d'assainissement prioritaires à l'échelle de la communauté, du lac ou du bassin versant.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Icône SFDD - Lacs et cours d'eau vierges Lacs et cours d'eau vierges

Cet indicateur appuie la mesure vers l'atteinte de l'objectif à long terme de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2016–2019 : Des lacs et des cours d'eau propres soutiennent la prospérité économique et le bien-être des Canadiens.

Accéder au PDF (397 Ko)

Date de modification :