Ambient Levels of Volatile Organic CompoundsFootnote [1]

Access PDF (1.63 MB)

Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) are carbon-containing gases and vapours such as gasoline fumes and solvents.Footnote [2] Volatile organic compounds are emitted to air by natural sources (e.g., vegetation, forest fires), as well as from human activity (e.g., emissions from the oil and gas industry, solvent usage and transportation). Although VOC emissions from natural sources are higher during the vegetation-growing season, human activities are the main contributors of VOCs in urban areas. A number of VOCs are classified as toxic air pollutants under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 because they can cause cancer and other serious health problems. While there are hundreds of VOC species in the outdoor air, only those that are considered important contributors to ozone formation and/or potentially toxic are routinely measured by the National Air Pollution Surveillance program.Footnote [3]

The annual average VOC concentration indicators are based on the annual average of daily VOC concentrations.

National ambient levels of volatile organic compounds

In 2013, the national annual average concentration of VOCs in the air was 59.3 parts per billion carbon (ppbC), or 4% lower than in 2012.

From 1999 to 2013, a decreasing trend of 3.7 ppbC per year was detected in VOC concentrations. This is consistent with the reduction of VOC emissions from cars and trucks, resulting from the introduction of more stringent emissions standards and reduction measures related to the production and use of solvents and paints.

Volatile organic compound concentrations, Canada, 1999 to 2013

Line chart of the national annual average concentrations of volatile organic compounds - Long description below

Long description

The line chart shows the national annual average concentrations of volatile organic compounds in the air in Canada from 1999 to 2013. A decreasing trend was detected for this time period.

Data for this chart
Volatile organic compound concentrations, Canada, 1999 to 2013
YearAnnual average concentration (parts per billion carbon)
1999120.5
2000122.2
200199.0
200291.6
2003101.6
200485.9
200587.0
200683.2
200773.1
200875.9
200973.8
201062.8
201166.6
201261.7
201359.3

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 780 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The national annual average volatile organic compound concentration indicator is based on the annual average of the daily concentrations recorded at 34 monitoring stations across Canada.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program.

Regional ambient levels of volatile organic compounds

In 2013, annual average concentrations of VOCs in the air vary from 36.8 ppbC in southern Quebec to 116.6 ppbC in the Prairies and northern Ontario region. Concentrations of VOCs in 2013 were lower than in 2012 in Atlantic Canada, southern Quebec and southern Ontario and higher in the other two regions.

Decreasing trends were observed for all regions in Canada, except for Atlantic Canada where no trend was detected. From 1999 to 2013, decreasing trends of 4.1 ppbC, 3.8 ppbC, 5.4 ppbC and 4.6 ppbC per year were detected for southern Quebec, southern Ontario, the Prairies and northern Ontario region and British Columbia (Metro Vancouver), respectively.

Regional volatile organic compound concentrations, Canada, 1999 to 2013

Line chart of the annual Regional average concentrations of volatile organic compounds - Long description below

Long description

The line chart shows the annual average concentrations of volatile organic compounds from 1999 to 2013 for five regions of Canada: Atlantic Canada, southern Quebec, southern Ontario, Prairies and northern Ontario, and British Columbia. Decreasing trends were observed for all regions, except for Atlantic Canada where no trend was detected.

Data for this chart
Regional volatile organic compound concentrations, Canada, 1999 to 2013
YearAtlantic Canada annual average concentration (parts per billion carbon)Southern Quebec annual average concentration (parts per billion carbon)Southern Ontario annual average concentration (parts per billion carbon)Prairies and northern Ontario annual average concentration (parts per billion carbon)British Columbia annual average concentration (parts per billion carbon)
1999n/a91.5100.6213.9n/a
2000n/a96.096.6218.9n/a
2001132.677.771.7158.8n/a
2002103.674.466.3150.6n/a
2003148.177.872.8156.7109.5
2004110.063.461.1141.5120.1
2005117.360.661.6137.1126.0
2006123.160.859.1136.1105.5
200758.060.855.3119.9123.8
2008111.547.643.6148.088.6
2009135.042.742.4121.4111.3
201088.744.840.3109.187.0
201174.539.3n/a108.993.6
2012100.737.641.8109.269.6
201385.836.841.4116.677.7
Annual trendNo trend-4.1-3.8-5.4-4.6

Note: n/a = not available.

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.83 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The annual average volatile organic compound concentration indicator is based on the annual average of the daily concentrations recorded at 5 monitoring stations in Atlantic Canada, 9 in southern Quebec, 12 in southern Ontario, 5 in the Prairies and northern Ontario and 3 in British Columbia. At least three stations are required to report a concentration value for a given year. There were no values for 1999 and 2000 in Atlantic Canada and for 1999 to 2002 in British Columbia because there were only two stations with reported concentrations. For southern Ontario, no data were available for 2011.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program.

Ambient levels of volatile organic compounds at monitoring stations

The National Air Pollution Surveillance program measures air pollutant concentrations at monitoring stations across Canada. The Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators provide this information through an interactive indicator map. With the interactive map, you can drill down to VOC concentrations at specific monitoring stations.

Related indicators

Other information

Access PDF (1.63 MB)

Date modified:

Concentrations ambiantes de composés organiques volatilsNote de bas de page [1]

Accéder au PDF (1,69 Mo)

Les composés organiques volatils (COV) sont des gaz et des vapeurs contenant du carbone, comme les vapeurs d'essence et les solvants.Note de bas de page [2] Les COV sont émis dans l'air par des sources naturelles (p. ex., la végétation, les incendies de forêt) et des sources anthropiques (p. ex., les émissions issues de l'industrie pétrolière et gazière, l'utilisation de solvants et les transports). Bien que les émissions de sources naturelles de COV soit généralement plus grandes durant la saison de croissance de la végétation, les sources anthropiques sont les principales causes des COV dans les zones urbaines. Un certain nombre de COV sont classés comme des polluants atmosphériques toxiques en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), puisqu'ils peuvent causer le cancer et d'autres problèmes de santé graves. Bien que l'on compte des centaines d'espèces de COV dans l'air extérieur, seuls ceux qui sont considérés comme d'importants contributeurs à la formation d'ozone ou qui sont potentiellement toxiques sont régulièrement mesurés dans le cadre du programme du Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique.Note de bas de page [3]

Les indicateurs sur la concentration annuelle moyenne des COV sont basés sur la moyenne annuelle des concentrations quotidiennes des COV.

Concentrations ambiantes de composés organiques volatils à l'échelle nationale

En 2013, la concentration annuelle moyenne de COV dans l'air à l'échelle nationale était de 59,3 parties par milliard de carbone (ppbC), ce qui représente une baisse de 4 % par rapport à la valeur de 2012.

Une tendance à la baisse de 3,7 ppbC par année dans la concentration de COV a été détectée de 1999 à 2013. Cette tendance concorde avec la réduction des émissions de COV par les automobiles et camions qui découle de la mise en place de normes plus strictes en matière d'émissions ainsi que de la prise de mesures de réduction dans les secteurs liés à la production et à l'utilisation de solvants et de peintures.

Concentrations de composés organiques volatils, Canada, 1999 à 2013

Graphique linéaire de la concentration annuelle moyenne des composés organiques volatils - description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire montre la concentration annuelle moyenne des composés organiques volatils dans l'air au Canada de 1999 à 2013. Une tendance à la baisse a été détectée pour cette période.

Données du graphique
Concentrations de composés organiques volatils, Canada, 1999 à 2013
AnnéeConcentration annuelle moyenne (parties par milliard de carbone)
1999120,5
2000122,2
200199,0
200291,6
2003101,6
200485,9
200587,0
200683,2
200773,1
200875,9
200973,8
201062,8
201166,6
201261,7
201359,3

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 852 O)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur national sur la concentration annuelle moyenne de composés organiques volatils est basé sur la moyenne annuelle des concentrations quotidiennes relevées à 34 stations de suivi partout au Canada.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique.

Concentrations ambiantes de composés organiques volatils à l'échelle régionale

En 2013, les concentrations annuelles moyennes de COV dans l'air variaient de 36,8 ppbC dans le sud du Québec à 116,6 ppbC dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario. Les concentrations de COV de 2013 étaient inférieures à celles de 2012 dans le Canada atlantique, le sud du Québec et le sud de l'Ontario, et elles étaient supérieures à celles de 2013 dans les deux autres régions.

Des tendances à la baisse ont été détectées dans toutes les régions du Canada, sauf au Canada atlantique où aucune tendance n'a été détectée. De 1999 à 2013, des tendances à la baisse de 4,1 ppbC, 3,8 ppbC, 5,4 ppbC et 4,6 ppbC par année ont été détectées dans le sud du Québec, dans le sud de l'Ontario, dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, et en Colombie-Britannique (région métropolitaine de Vancouver), respectivement.

Concentrations de composés organiques volatils à l'échelle régionale, Canada, 1999 à 2013

Graphique linéaire des concentrations annuelles moyennes de composés organiques volatils à l'échelle régionale - description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire montre les concentrations annuelles moyennes de composés organiques volatils de 1999 à 2013 dans cinq régions du Canada : Canada atlantique, sud du Québec, sud de l'Ontario, Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, et Colombie-Britannique. Des tendances à la baisse ont été détectées dans toutes les régions, sauf au Canada atlantique, où aucune tendance n'a été détectée.

Données du graphique
Concentrations de composés organiques volatils à l'échelle régionale, Canada, 1999 à 2013
AnnéeConcentration annuelle moyenne du Canada atlantique (parties par milliard de carbone)Concentration annuelle moyenne du sud du Québec (parties par milliard de carbone)Concentration annuelle moyenne du sud de l'Ontario (parties par milliard de carbone)Concentration annuelle moyenne des Prairies et nord de l'Ontario (parties par milliard de carbone)Concentration annuelle moyenne de la Colombie-Britannique (parties par milliard de carbone)
1999n.d.91,5100,6213,9n.d.
2000n.d.96,096,6218,9n.d.
2001132,677,771,7158,8n.d.
2002103,674,466,3150,6n.d.
2003148,177,872,8156,7109,5
2004110,063,461,1141,5120,1
2005117,360,661,6137,1126,0
2006123,160,859,1136,1105,5
200758,060,855,3119,9123,8
2008111,547,643,6148,088,6
2009135,042,742,4121,4111,3
201088,744,840,3109,187,0
201174,539,3n.d.108,993,6
2012100,737,641,8109,269,6
201385,836,841,4116,677,7
Tendance annuelleAucune tendance-4,1-3,8-5,4-4,6

Note : n.d. = non disponible.

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 2,15 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur de la concentration annuelle moyenne de composés organiques volatils est basé sur la moyenne annuelle des concentrations quotidiennes relevées à 5 stations de suivi dans le Canada atlantique, 9 stations de suivi dans le sud du Québec, 12 stations de suivi dans le sud de l'Ontario, 5 stations de suivi dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, et 3 stations de suivi en Colombie-Britannique. Au moins trois stations sont nécessaires pour établir une valeur de concentration valide pour une année. Aucune valeur n'est indiquée pour le Canada atlantique en 1999 et en 2000, ni pour la Colombie-Britannique de 1999 à 2002, puisqu'il n'y avait que deux stations qui avaient rapporté des concentrations. En ce qui concerne le sud de l'Ontario, aucune donnée n'était disponible pour 2011.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique.

Concentrations ambiantes de composés organiques volatils aux stations de suivi

Le programme du Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique mesure les concentrations de polluants atmosphériques à des stations de suivi partout au Canada. Les Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement fournissent ces renseignements par l'entremise d'une carte interactive en ligne. Avec la carte interactive, il est possible d'obtenir des détails sur les concentrations de COV propre à chaque station de suivi.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Accéder au PDF (1,69 Mo)

Date de modification :