Perfluorooctane Sulfonate (PFOS) in Fish and Water

Access PDF (626 KB)

Perfluorooctane sulfonate (PFOS) is exceptionally persistent, ubiquitous in the environment and subject to long-range transport. It is of ecological concern, given its widespread occurrence and its bioaccumulation, persistence, developmental toxicity, immunotoxicity and hepatotoxicity in animals. The Perfluorooctane Sulfonate (PFOS) in Fish and Water indicators report whether PFOS concentrations in fish tissue and water exceed the Federal Environmental Quality Guidelines (the Guidelines).

Perfluorooctane sulfonate in fish tissue

Between 2011 and 2014, Environment and Climate Change Canada collected fish from 11 drainage regions and analyzed PFOS concentrations in their tissue. The analysis found that the concentration of PFOS was below the Guidelines for fish health in all fish from all sampled drainage regions.

In some instances, PFOS concentrations in fish exceeded the Guidelines for the protection of mammals and birds that eat the fish, suggesting that this compound could threaten predators higher in the food chain. Seven (7) out of the 11 sampled drainage regions had concentrations of PFOS that exceeded the wildlife diet guidelines. These results are similar to those collected during a previous sampling campaign conducted over the 2006 to 2010 period.

Comparison between perfluorooctane sulfonate concentrations in fish tissue and the Federal Environmental Quality Guidelines, 2011 to 2014
Sampled drainage regionSample size
(number of fish)
Are concentrations above the Guidelines with respect to fish health?Are concentrations above the Guidelines with respect to fish as diet for wildlife predators?Number of exceedances –
mammalian diet
Number of exceedances –
bird diet
Columbia (4)20NoYes11
Yukon (5)29NoYes10
Peace–Athabasca (6)30NoNo00
Lower Mackenzie (7)20NoNo00
Assiniboine–Red (12)23NoYes2217
Winnipeg (13)50NoYes4313
Churchill (15)50NoNo00
Great Lakes (19)231NoYes208180
St. Lawrence (21)37NoYes3736
Saint John–St. Croix (23)9NoNo00
Maritime Coastal (24)24NoYes10

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.23 KB)
How this indicator was calculated

Note: Measurements were made on a sample of 523 fishes of representative species (lake trout, walleye, brook trout and chain pickerel) collected from 11 drainage regions from 2011 to 2014.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Freshwater Quality Monitoring and Surveillance Division.

Perfluorooctane sulfonate trend in fish in Lake Ontario

To provide context on changes through time, additional data showing PFOS concentrations in Lake Ontario fish are presented for the period 1979 to 2014. PFOS concentrations in Lake Ontario lake trout showed an overall increase between 1979 and 2000. However, after 2000, the concentration stabilized for a few yearsFootnote [1] and then began to decrease. These results suggest that, although PFOS in Lake Ontario lake trout may have stopped increasing in response to the voluntary and regulatory actions, corresponding concentration declines in fish have just begun to be observed. Levels of PFOS in Lake Ontario lake trout were well below the Guideline for fish tissue in all collection years. This suggests a low probability of adverse effects to fish related to PFOS exposure. In contrast, PFOS levels were all above the Guidelines for wildlife diet and could represent a risk to wildlife that feed on fish.

Perfluorooctane sulfonate concentrations in lake trout from Lake Ontario, 1979 to 2014

Chart - See long description below

Long description

The chart shows the annual geometric average concentration, expressed in nanograms per gram wet weight, of perfluorooctane sulfonate in lake trout from Lake Ontario from 1979 to 2014. The concentration can be compared with the Federal Environmental Quality Guidelines for perfluorooctane sulfonate in fish tissue (8300 nanograms per gram wet weight) and wildlife diet (4.6 nanograms per gram wet weight for mammals and 8.2 nanograms per gram wet weight for birds). Data is provided from four different datasets. Perfluorooctane sulfonate concentrations in Lake Ontario lake trout showed an overall increase between 1979 and 2000 followed by a decrease. For all collection years, levels of perfluorooctane sulfonate in Lake Ontario lake trout were well below the Guideline for fish tissue but above the Guidelines for wildlife diet.

Data for this chart
Perfluorooctane sulfonate concentrations in lake trout from Lake Ontario, 1979 to 2014
YearSample size
(number of fish)
Geometric mean concentration
(nanograms/gram wet weight)
Data source
1979416.2Furdui et al.
1983538.5Furdui et al.
1988556.0Furdui et al.
1993562.4Furdui et al.
1998527.6Furdui et al.
2001543.8Furdui et al.
2004540.5Furdui et al.
1997763.5Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
1998869.5Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
1999676.4Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
2000864.2Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
2001343.7Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
20029109.0Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
2003744.7Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
2004676.0Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
2005642.7Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
20061269.7Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
2007586.5Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
20081051.3Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis
20091087.4Environment and Climate Change Canada – AXYS Analytical study
20101052.8Environment and Climate Change Canada – AXYS Analytical study
20111052.0Environment and Climate Change Canada – AXYS Analytical study
20121031.1Environment and Climate Change Canada – National Laboratory for Environmental Testing
20131034.1Environment and Climate Change Canada – National Laboratory for Environmental Testing
20142057.1Environment and Climate Change Canada – National Laboratory for Environmental Testing

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 3.00 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The concentration of perfluorooctane sulfonate in fish is expressed as an annual average (geometric mean). Four datasets are represented in this chart. The first dataset comes from a study done by Furdui from the Ontario's Ministry of the Environment in collaboration with Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Environment and Climate Change Canada. The three other datasets come from Environment and Climate Change Canada's Freshwater Quality Monitoring and Surveillance program. The second dataset, Environment and Climate Change Canada – Retrospective analysis, comes from a retrospective analysis conducted using specimens from the National Aquatic Biological Specimen Bank. The third dataset, Environment and Climate Change Canada – AXYS Analytical study, is analyses conducted by AXYS Analytical Services Ltd. and the fourth, Environment and Climate Change Canada – National Laboratory for Environmental Testing, is from analyses conducted by the National Laboratory for Environmental Testing. The top dotted line represents the Federal Environmental Quality Guideline for fish tissue. The lower two dotted lines represent the Federal Environmental Quality Guidelines for wildlife diet (mammals and birds).
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Freshwater Quality Monitoring and Surveillance Division.

Perfluorooctane sulfonate in water

Between 2011 and March 2016, Environment and Climate Change Canada collected water from eight drainage regions and analyzed the samples for PFOS concentrations. The analysis found that all water samples had PFOS concentrations at least 50-fold lower than the Guideline for water.

Comparison between perfluorooctane sulfonate concentrations in water and the Federal Environmental Quality Guideline, 2011 to 2016
Sampled drainage regionSample size
(number of water samples)
Did any water sample collected in the drainage region return a concentration reading above the guideline for perfluorooctane sulfonate in water?
Pacific Coastal (1)6No
Okanagan–Similkameen (3)35No
Assiniboine–Red (12)93No
Great Lakes (19)184No
St. Lawrence (21)50No
St. John–St. Croix (23)28No
Maritime Coastal (24)19No
Newfoundland–Labrador (25)11No

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 953 B)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: From 2011 to March 2016, 432 surface water samples including 6 duplicate samples were collected in 8 drainage regions.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Freshwater Quality Monitoring and Surveillance Division.

Related indicators

Other information

FSDS Icon - Safe and healthy communities Safe and healthy communities

These indicators support the measurement of progress towards the long-term goal of the 2016–2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy: All Canadians live in clean, sustainable communities that contribute to their health and well-being.

Access PDF (626 KB)

Date modified:

Sulfonate de perfluorooctane (SPFO) dans les poissons et l'eau

Accéder au PDF (630 Ko)

Le sulfonate de perfluorooctane (SPFO) est exceptionnellement persistant, omniprésent dans l'environnement et susceptible d'être transporté sur de grandes distances. Il est préoccupant sur le plan écologique en raison de sa présence générale, de sa bioaccumulation, de sa persistance et de sa toxicité pour le développement, de son immunotoxicité et de son hépatotoxicité chez les animaux. Les indicateurs sur le Sulfonate de perfluorooctane (SPFO) dans les poissons et l'eau déterminent si les concentrations de SPFO dans le tissu des poissons et dans l'eau dépassent celles définies dans les Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement (les Recommandations).

Sulfonate de perfluorooctane dans les tissus des poissons

Entre 2011 et 2014, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a capturé des poissons dans 11 régions de drainage et a analysé les concentrations de SPFO dans leurs tissus. L'analyse a permis de conclure que la concentration de SPFO était inférieure à celle définie dans les Recommandations relatives à la santé des poissons pour tous les poissons dans toutes les régions de drainage ayant fait l'objet d'un échantillonnage.

Dans certains cas, les concentrations de SPFO dans les poissons dépassaient celles définies dans les Recommandations pour la protection des mammifères et des oiseaux qui se nourrissent de poissons, laissant ainsi entendre que ce composé peut menacer les prédateurs qui sont plus élevés dans la chaîne alimentaire. Parmi les 11 régions de drainage ayant fait l'objet d'un échantillonnage, 7 avaient des concentrations de SPFO supérieures aux Recommandations relatives au régime alimentaire de la faune. Ces résultats sont similaires à ceux recueillis au cours d'une campagne d'échantillonnage précédente menée au cours de la période de 2006 à 2010.

Comparaison entre les concentrations de sulfonate de perfluorooctane dans les poissons et les Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement pour la santé des poissons, 2011 à 2014
Région de drainage échantillonnéeTaille de l'échantillon
(nombre de poissons)
Les concentrations sont-elles supérieures aux Recommandations en ce qui concerne la santé des poissons?Les concentrations sont-elles supérieures aux Recommandations en ce qui concerne les poissons en tant que nourriture pour les prédateurs fauniques?Nombre de dépassements –
régime alimentaire des mammifères
Nombre de dépassements –
régime alimentaire des oiseaux
Columbia (4)20NonOui11
Yukon (5)29NonOui10
Paix–Athabasca (6)30NonNon00
Bas Mackenzie (7)20NonNon00
Assiniboine–Rouge (12)23NonOui2217
Winnipeg (13)50NonOui4313
Churchill (15)50NonNon00
Grands Lacs (19)231NonOui208180
Saint-Laurent (21)37NonOui3736
Saint-Jean–St-Croix (23)9NonNon00
Côte des provinces maritimes (24)24NonOui10

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,52 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Les mesures ont été effectuées sur un échantillon de 523 poissons d'espèces représentatives (touladi, doré jaune, omble de fontaine et brochet maillé) recueillis dans 11 régions de drainage de 2011 à 2014.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Division du Monitoring et de la surveillance de la qualité des eaux douces.

Tendance du sulfonate de perfluorooctane dans les poissons du lac Ontario

Pour fournir un contexte sur les changements dans le temps, des données supplémentaires sur les concentrations de SPFO dans les poissons du lac Ontario sont présentées pour la période allant de 1979 à 2014. Les concentrations de SPFO chez le touladi du lac Ontario ont généralement augmenté entre 1979 et 2000. Cependant, après 2000, les concentrations se sont stabilisées pendant quelques années,Note de bas de page [1] puis ont commencé à diminuer. Ces résultats suggèrent que, malgré le fait que la concentration de SPFO chez le touladi du lac Ontario semble avoir cessé d'augmenter à la suite des mesures volontaires et réglementaires, on commence tout juste à observer des baisses de concentrations chez les poissons. Les niveaux de SPFO chez le touladi du lac Ontario étaient bien inférieurs aux Recommandations pour les tissus des poissons dans toutes les années de collecte. Cela suggère une faible probabilité d'effets nocifs sur les poissons liés à l'exposition au SPFO. En revanche, les niveaux de SPFO sont tous supérieurs aux Recommandations en ce qui concerne le régime alimentaire de la faune et peuvent représenter un risque pour les espèces qui se nourrissent de poissons.

Concentrations de sulfonate de perfluorooctane chez le touladi du lac Ontario, 1979 à 2014

Graphique - voir description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique indique la concentration moyenne annuelle géométrique, exprimée en nanogrammes par gramme poids humide, de sulfonate de perfluorooctane chez le touladi du lac Ontario, pour la période de 1979 à 2014. La concentration peut être comparée avec les Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement pour le sulfonate de perfluorooctane dans les tissus des poissons (8 300 nanogrammes par gramme poids humide) et le régime alimentaire de la faune (4,6 nanogrammes par gramme poids humide pour les mammifères et 8,2 nanogrammes par gramme poids humide pour les oiseaux).Quatre ensembles de données sont représentés dans ce graphique.  Les concentrations de sulfonate de perfluorooctane chez le touladi du lac Ontario ont généralement augmenté entre 1979 et 2000, puis ont diminué. Pour toutes les années de collecte, les niveaux de sulfonate de perfluorooctane chez le touladi du lac Ontario étaient bien inférieurs aux recommandations pour les tissus des poissons, mais au-dessus des recommandations relatives au régime alimentaire de la faune.

Données du graphique
Concentrations de sulfonate de perfluorooctane chez le touladi du lac Ontario, 1979 à 2014
AnnéeTaille de l'échantillon
(nombre de poissons)
Concentration géométrique moyenne
(nanogrammes/gramme poids humide)
Source de données
1979416,2Furdui et al.
1983538,5Furdui et al.
1988556,0Furdui et al.
1993562,4Furdui et al.
1998527,6Furdui et al.
2001543,8Furdui et al.
2004540,5Furdui et al.
1997763,5Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
1998869,5Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
1999676,4Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
2000864,2Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
2001343,7Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
20029109,0Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
2003744,7Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
2004676,0Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
2005642,7Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
20061269,7Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
2007586,5Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
20081051,3Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Analyse rétrospective
20091087,4Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Étude AXYS Analytical
20101052,8Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Étude AXYS Analytical
20111052,0Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Étude AXYS Analytical
20121031,1Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Laboratoire national des essais environnementaux
20131034,1Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Laboratoire national des essais environnementaux
20142057,1Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Laboratoire national des essais environnementaux

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 3,38 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : La concentration du sulfonate de perfluorooctane dans le poisson est exprimée en moyenne annuelle (moyenne géométrique). Quatre ensembles de données sont représentés dans ce graphique. Le premier ensemble de données provient d'une étude réalisée par Furdui et al. du ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario en collaboration avec Pêches et Océans Canada et Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Les trois autres ensembles de données proviennent du programme du Monitoring et de la surveillance d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Le deuxième ensemble de données, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – analyse rétrospective, provient d'une analyse rétrospective réalisée en utilisant des échantillons de la Banque nationale de spécimens biologiques aquatiques du Canada. Le troisième ensemble de données, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Étude AXYS Analytical, provient d'analyses menées par AXYS Analytical Services Ltd. Le quatrième, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Laboratoire national des essais environnementaux, provient d'analyses effectuées par le Laboratoire national des essais environnementaux. La ligne pointillée supérieure représente les Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement pour les tissus des poissons. Les deux lignes pointillées inférieures représentent les Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement relatives au régime alimentaire de la faune (mammifères et oiseaux).
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Division du Monitoring et de la surveillance de la qualité des eaux douces.

Sulfonate de perfluorooctane dans l'eau

Entre 2011 et mars 2016, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a collecté de l'eau dans huit régions de drainage et a analysé les échantillons pour mesurer les concentrations de SPFO. L'analyse a permis de conclure que tous les échantillons d'eau avaient des concentrations de SPFO au moins 50 fois inférieures aux Recommandations pour l'eau.

Comparaison entre les concentrations de sulfonate de perfluorooctane dans l'eau et les Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement, 2011 à 2016
Région de drainage échantillonnéeTaille de l'échantillon
(nombre d'échantillons d'eau)
Parmi les échantillons d'eau recueillis dans la région de drainage, certains avaient-ils une concentration supérieure aux Recommandations pour le sulfonate de perfluorooctane dans l'eau?
Côte du Pacifique (1)6Non
Okanagan–Similkameen (3)35Non
Assiniboine–Rouge (12)93Non
Grands Lacs (19)184Non
Saint-Laurent (21)50Non
Saint-Jean–St-Croix (23)28Non
Côte des provinces maritimes (24)19Non
Terre-Neuve–Labrador (25)11Non

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,11 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : De 2011 à mars 2016, 432 échantillons d'eau de surface, incluant 6 échantillons qui ont été recueillis en double dans 8 régions de drainage.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Division du Monitoring et de la surveillance de la qualité des eaux douces.

Indicateurs connexes

Autres renseignements

Icône d'SFDD - Collectivités sûres et saines Collectivités sûres et saines

Ces indicateurs appuient la mesure vers l'atteinte de l'objectif à long terme de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2016–2019 : Tous les Canadiens vivent dans des collectivités propres, durables qui contribuent à leur santé et bien-être.

Accéder au PDF (630 Ko)

Date de modification :