Ambient Levels of Ozone

Access PDF (1.63 MB)

Ozone (O3) in the upper atmosphere (10 to 50 kilometres above the earth's surface) protects the earth from the sun's harmful ultraviolet radiation. In the lower atmosphere and at ground level, O3 is harmful to human health. It can cause breathing problems, reduce lung function and aggravate asthma and other lung diseases.Footnote [1] Ozone is not directly emitted, but is formed in the lower atmosphere when precursor gases such as nitrogen oxides (NOX) and volatile organic compounds (VOCs) react in sunlight. Ground-level O3 is one of two major components of summertime smog, the other being fine particulate matter. Ground-level O3 can damage vegetation, and materials such as rubber.

There are two national O3 indicators:

  1. An annual average concentration indicator that is based on the annual average concentrations (of the daily maximum 8-hour averages) is used to capture prolonged or repeated exposures over longer periods or chronic exposure.
  2. An annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour indicator that is based on the annual 4th-highest daily maximum 8-hour average concentrations is used to capture immediate or acute short-term exposure. The peak O3 indicator is calculated using an approach that is aligned with the 2015 Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards (the Standards).Footnote [2]

National ambient levels of ozone

In 2014, the national annual average concentration of ground-level O3 was 32.9 parts per billion (ppb), or 0.1% higher than in 2013. The annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour O3 concentration in 2014 was 53.4 ppb, or 3.5% lower than in 2013. Although the annual peak concentration of O3 was frequently above the 2015 Standard before 2008, it has consistently been below for the last seven years.

Since 2000, a decreasing trend of 0.82 ppb per year was detected in the peak O3 concentration. No trend was detected in the annual average O3 concentration. The reduction in emissions of ground-level O3 precursor gases (NOX and VOCs) from Canada and the United States is an important factor in this downward trend.

Ozone concentrations, Canada, 2000 to 2014

Line chart of the national annual average and peak 8-hour concentrations of ozone - Long description below

Long description

The line chart shows the national annual average and peak (4th-highest) 8-hour concentrations of ozone from 2000 to 2014. It also shows the 2015 Canadian Air Ambient Quality Standards for the 8-hour standard (peak) of 63 parts per billion. Although the annual peak concentration of ozone was frequently above the 2015 Standard before 2008, it has consistently been below the standard for the last seven years. A decreasing trend was detected in the peak concentration for ozone since 2000, but was not detected in the annual average concentration.

Data for this chart
Ozone concentrations, Canada, 2000 to 2014
YearAnnual average concentration (parts per billion)Annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour concentration (parts per billion)
200030.358.9
200132.867.6
200232.767.9
200333.467.8
200431.459.8
200532.763.3
200632.561.6
200732.964.5
200832.359.9
200931.757.2
201033.059.6
201132.856.7
201233.660.5
201332.856.3
201432.954.3
2015 standardNot applicable63
Annual trendNo trend-0.82

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.42 KB

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The national annual average ozone concentration indicator is based on the annual average of the daily maximum 8-hour average concentrations recorded at 142 monitoring stations across Canada. The national annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour ozone indicator is based on the average of the 4th-highest daily maximum 8-hour average concentrations recorded at 146 monitoring stations across Canada. The horizontal dashed line represents the value of the 8-hour standard of the 2015 Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards. The Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standard is shown for indicative purposes only and not for evaluation of the achievement status of the standard.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program and the Canadian Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network.

Regional ambient levels of ozone

Annual average concentration

In 2014, the annual average concentrations of O3 in the air varied by region from 27.7 ppb in British Columbia to 36.6 ppb in southern Ontario. Annual average concentrations were lower in 2014 than in 2013 for all regions except British Columbia, where it was 6% higher.

Since 2000, an increasing trend of 0.21 ppb per year was detected in the annual average concentration of O3 in the region of British Columbia. No trends were detected in the other regions.

Regional average ozone concentrations, Canada, 2000 to 2014

Line chart of the annual regional average concentrations of ozone - Long description below

Long description

The line chart shows the annual average concentrations of ozone from 2000 to 2014 for five regions in Canada: Atlantic Canada, southern Quebec, southern Ontario, Prairies and northern Ontario, and British Columbia. Since 2000, an increasing trend was detected for British Columbia. No trends were detected in all the other regions.

Data for this chart
Regional average ozone concentrations, Canada, 2000 to 2014
YearAtlantic Canada annual average concentration (parts per billion)Southern Quebec annual average concentration (parts per billion)Southern Ontario annual average concentration (parts per billion)Prairies and northern Ontario annual average concentration (parts per billion)British Columbia annual average concentration (parts per billion)
200030.230.934.231.724.0
200133.634.437.432.625.4
200233.633.637.831.925.5
200334.833.937.134.026.8
200432.831.934.831.625.8
200533.033.538.931.324.9
200634.430.936.233.428.4
200734.532.438.832.425.5
200832.231.537.432.926.6
200932.630.435.533.027.6
201032.833.137.832.727.4
201132.332.336.734.827.6
201232.633.638.233.228.7
201333.134.136.733.826.0
201432.533.236.632.727.7
Annual trendNo trendNo trendNo trendNo trend0.21

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.62 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The annual average ozone concentration indicator is based on the annual average of the daily maximum 8-hour average concentrations recorded at 17 monitoring stations in Atlantic Canada, 37 in southern Quebec, 34 in southern Ontario, 24 in the Prairies and northern Ontario and 29 in British Columbia.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program and the Canadian Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network.

Annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour concentration

In 2014, the highest annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour concentration of O3 was recorded in southern Ontario at 62.7 ppb. British Columbia recorded the lowest concentration level at 48.2 ppb, or 3% higher than in 2013. Annual peak concentrations of O3 were 3% to 7% lower in the four other regions compared to 2013.

Since 2000, the annual peak concentrations of O3 were below the 2015 Standard for the Prairies and northern Ontario region, British Columbia and Atlantic Canada, with the exception of Atlantic Canada in 2001. From 2008 to 2014, the annual peak concentrations of O3 were also below the 2015 Standard in southern Quebec. The annual peak concentrations for southern Ontario were above the standard for all years, except 2014. From 2000 to 2014, decreasing trends of 1.0 ppb, 1.2 ppb and 1.4 ppb per year were detected for Atlantic Canada, southern Quebec and southern Ontario, respectively. No trends were detected for British Columbia and the Prairies and northern Ontario region.

Regional peak ozone concentrations, Canada, 2000 to 2014

Line chart of the regional peak concentrations of ozone - Long description below

Long description

The line chart shows the peak (4th-highest) 8-hour concentrations of ozone from 2000 to 2014 for five regions in Canada: Atlantic Canada, southern Quebec, southern Ontario, Prairies and northern Ontario, and British Columbia. It also shows the 2015 Canadian Air Ambient Quality Standards 8-hour standard (peak) of 63 parts per billion. Since 2000, all the annual peak concentrations of ozone were below the 2015 standard for the Prairies and Northern Ontario region, British Columbia and Atlantic Canada, with the exception of Atlantic Canada in 2001. From 2008 to 2014, the annual peak concentrations of ozone were below the 2015 Standard in southern Quebec, while for southern Ontario, the annual peak concentrations were above for all years, except for 2014. Since 2000, decreasing trends were detected in Atlantic Canada, southern Quebec and southern Ontario. No trends were detected for British Columbia and the Prairies and northern Ontario region.

Data for this chart
Regional peak ozone concentrations, Canada, 2000 to 2014
YearAtlantic Canada annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour concentration (parts per billion)Southern Quebec annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour concentration (parts per billion)Southern Ontario annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour concentration (parts per billion)Prairies and northern Ontario annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour concentration (parts per billion)British Columbia annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour concentration (parts per billion)
200054.858.073.655.847.3
200164.575.185.755.748.9
200260.572.888.058.549.1
200360.971.784.760.450.9
200455.460.969.153.255.6
200554.267.581.454.049.1
200658.461.673.957.052.4
200758.567.480.956.649.4
200853.559.671.957.451.6
200954.555.466.755.950.5
201053.460.871.158.249.4
201150.955.767.358.346.9
201250.361.376.255.749.8
201350.357.564.957.546.7
201448.653.862.753.348.2
2015 standard6363636363
Annual trend-1.0-1.2-1.4No trendNo trend

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.91 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: The annual peak (4th-highest) 8-hour ozone indicator is based on the average of the 4th-highest daily maximum 8-hour average concentrations recorded at 19 monitoring stations in Atlantic Canada, 37 in southern Quebec, 36 in southern Ontario, 24 in the Prairies and northern Ontario and 29 in British Columbia. The horizontal dashed line represents the value of the 8-hour standard of the 2015 Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards. The Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standard is shown for indicative purposes only and not for evaluation of the achievement status of the standard.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) National Air Pollution Surveillance Program and the Canadian Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network.

Ambient levels of ozone at monitoring stations

The National Air Pollution Surveillance and the Canadian Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network programs measure air pollutant concentrations at monitoring stations across Canada. The Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators provide this information through an interactive indicator map. With the interactive map, you can drill down to the average O3 concentrations and peak O3 concentrations at specific monitoring stations.

Related indicators

Other information

Access PDF (1.63 MB)

Date modified:

Concentrations ambiantes d'ozone

Accéder au PDF (1,69 Mo)

L'ozone (O3) dans la haute atmosphère (10 à 50 kilomètres de la surface terrestre) protège la Terre des rayons ultraviolets dangereux du soleil. Dans la partie inférieure de l'atmosphère et au niveau du sol, il est nocif pour la santé humaine et peut causer des problèmes respiratoires, diminuer la fonction pulmonaire et aggraver l'asthme et d'autres maladies pulmonaires.Note de bas de page [1] L'ozone n'est pas directement émis, mais il se forme dans la basse atmosphère (troposphère) lorsque des gaz précurseurs tels que les oxydes d'azote (NOX) et les composés organiques volatils (COV) réagissent à la lumière du soleil. L'O3 troposphérique est l'un des deux principaux composants du smog estival, l'autre regroupant les particules fines. L'O3 troposphérique peut endommager la végétation et les matières comme le caoutchouc.

Il existe deux indicateurs d'O3 à l'échelle nationale :

  1. Un indicateur de concentration annuelle moyenne, fondé sur les concentrations annuelles moyennes des maximums quotidiens des concentrations moyennes sur 8 heures, permet de tenir compte des expositions prolongées ou répétées sur de longues périodes ou encore de l'exposition chronique.
  2. Un indicateur sur la concentration de pointe (4e plus élevée) sur 8 heures, qui est basé sur la quatrième valeur annuelle la plus élevée des maximums quotidiens des concentrations moyennes sur 8 heures, pour tenir compte de l'expositions immédiate ou de l'exposition aiguës à court terme. L'indicateur de pointe d'O3 est calculé à l'aide d'une approche harmonisée avec les Normes canadiennes de qualité de l'air ambiant (les Normes) de 2015.Note de bas de page [2]

Concentrations ambiantes d'ozone à l'échelle nationale

En 2014, la concentration annuelle moyenne d'O3 au Canada était de 32,9 parties par milliard (ppb), ce qui représente une hausse de 0,1 % par rapport à la valeur de 2013. La concentration annuelle de pointe (quatrième plus élevée) d'O3 sur 8 heures en 2014 était de 53,4 ppb, soit 3,5 % moins élevée que la concentration de 2013. Même si, la concentration annuelle de pointe d'O3 était fréquemment supérieure à la Norme de 2015 avant 2008, elle a été constamment inférieure à la Norme au cours des sept dernières années.

Depuis 2000, une tendance à la baisse de 0,82 ppb par année a été détectée dans les concentrations de pointe d'O3. Aucune tendance n'a été détectée en ce qui a trait à la concentration annuelle moyenne d'O3. La réduction des émissions de gaz précurseurs (NOx et COV) de l'O3 au Canada et aux États-Unis constitue un facteur important de cette baisse.

Concentrations d'ozone, Canada, 2000 à 2014

Graphique linéaire de la concentration annuelle moyenne et la concentration de pointe d'ozone - description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire montre la concentration annuelle moyenne et la concentration de pointe (quatrième plus élevée) d'ozone dans l'air au Canada sur 8 heures, de 2000 à 2014. Il montre aussi la Norme sur 8 heures de 63 ppb des Normes canadiennes de la qualité de l'air ambiant de 2015 utilisée pour les concentrations de pointe. Même si la concentration annuelle de pointe d'ozone était fréquemment supérieure à la Norme de 2015 avant 2008, elle a été constamment inférieure à la Norme au cours des sept dernières années. Depuis 2000, une tendance à la baisse a été détectée dans les concentrations de pointe d'O3. Une telle tendance n'a toutefois pas été détectée dans les concentrations annuelles moyennes.

Données du graphique
Concentrations d'ozone, Canada, 2000 à 2014
AnnéeConcentration annuelle moyenne (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle de pointe (4e plus élevée) sur 8 heures (parties par milliard)
200030,358,9
200132,867,6
200232,767,9
200333,467,8
200431,459,8
200532,763,3
200632,561,6
200732,964,5
200832,359,9
200931,757,2
201033,059,6
201132,856,7
201233,660,5
201332,856,3
201432,954,3
Norme de 2015Sans objet63
Tendance annuelleAucune tendance-0,82

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,64 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur national sur la concentration annuelle moyenne d'ozone est basé sur la moyenne annuelle des maximums quotidiens des concentrations moyennes sur 8 heures enregistrées dans 142 stations de suivi partout au Canada. L'indicateur national sur la concentration annuelle de pointe (4e plus élevée) d'ozone sur 8 heures est basé sur la moyenne de la quatrième valeur quotidienne la plus élevée des maximums quotidiens des concentrations moyennes sur 8 heures relevées à 146 stations de suivi partout au Canada. La ligne horizontale pointillée représente la valeur de la norme sur 8 heures des Normes canadiennes de qualité de l'air ambiant de 2015. La Norme canadienne de qualité d'air ambiant est indiquée à titre d'information seulement et non à des fins d'évaluation du degré de conformité à la Norme.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique et Réseau canadien d'échantillonnage des précipitations et de l'air.

Concentrations ambiantes d'ozone à l'échelle régionale

Concentration annuelle moyenne

En 2014, la concentration annuelle moyenne d'O3 a varié d'une région à l'autre, passant de 27,7 ppb en Colombie-Britannique à 36,6 ppb dans le sud de l'Ontario. Toutes les régions affichaient des concentrations annuelles moyennes moins élevées en 2014 par rapport à 2013, sauf la Colombie-Britannique où les concentrations annuelles moyennes ont grimpé de 6 %.

Depuis 2000, une tendance à la hausse de 0,21 ppb par année a été détectée dans la concentration annuelle moyenne d'O3 en Colombie-Britannique. Aucune tendance n'a été détectée dans les autres régions.

Concentrations moyennes d'ozone à l'échelle régionale, Canada, 2000 à 2014

Graphique linéaire des concentrations annuelles moyennes d'ozone à l'échelle régionale - description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire montre les concentrations annuelles moyennes d'ozone de 2000 à 2014 dans cinq régions du Canada : Canada atlantique, sud du Québec, sud de l'Ontario, Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, et Colombie-Britannique. Depuis 2000, une tendance à la hausse a été détectée en Colombie-Britannique. Aucune tendance n'a été détectée dans les autres régions.

Données du graphique
Concentrations moyennes d'ozone à l'échelle régionale, Canada, 2000 à 2014
AnnéeConcentration annuelle moyenne du Canada atlantique (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle moyenne du sud du Québec (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle moyenne du sud de l'Ontario (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle moyenne des Prairies et nord de l'Ontario (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle moyenne de la Colombie-Britannique (parties par milliard)
200030,230,934,231,724,0
200133,634,437,432,625,4
200233,633,637,831,925,5
200334,833,937,134,026,8
200432,831,934,831,625,8
200533,033,538,931,324,9
200634,430,936,233,428,4
200734,532,438,832,425,5
200832,231,537,432,926,6
200932,630,435,533,027,6
201032,833,137,832,727,4
201132,332,336,734,827,6
201232,633,638,233,228,7
201333,134,136,733,826,0
201432,533,236,632,727,7
Tendance annuelleAucune tendanceAucune tendanceAucune tendanceAucune tendance0,21

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 1,87 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur de la concentration annuelle moyenne d'ozone est basé sur la moyenne annuelle des maximums quotidiens des concentrations moyennes sur 8 heures relevées à 17 stations de suivi dans le Canada atlantique, 37 stations de suivi dans le sud du Québec, 34 stations de suivi dans le sud de l'Ontario, 24 stations de suivi dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, et 29 stations de suivi en Colombie-Britannique.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique et Réseau canadien d'échantillonnage des précipitations et de l'air.

Concentration annuelle de pointe (4e plus élevée) sur 8 heures

En 2014, la concentration annuelle de pointe (4e plus élevée) d'O3 sur 8 heures la plus élevée était de 62,7 ppb dans le sud de l'Ontario. La plus basse concentration était de 48,2 ppb en Colombie-Britannique, ce qui représente une hausse de 3 % par rapport à 2013. En ce qui concerne les quatre autres régions, les concentrations annuelles de pointe d'O3 en 2014 étaient de 3 % à 7 % inférieures à celles de 2013.

Depuis 2000, les concentrations annuelles de pointe d'O3 étaient inférieures à la Norme de 2015 dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, en Colombie-Britannique et dans le Canada atlantique, sauf en 2001 pour le Canada atlantique. De 2008 à 2014, les concentrations annuelles de pointe d'O3 étaient également inférieures à la Norme de 2015 dans le sud du Québec. Les concentrations annuelles de pointe dans le sud de l'Ontario étaient toujours supérieures à la Norme, à l'exception de celles de 2014. De 2000 à 2014, des tendances à la baisse de 1,0 ppb, 1,2 ppb et 1,4 ppb par année ont été détectées dans le Canada atlantique, dans le sud du Québec et dans le sud de l'Ontario, respectivement. Aucune tendance n'a été détectée en Colombie-Britannique ni dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario.

Concentrations de pointe d'ozone à l'échelle régionale, Canada, 2000 à 2014

Graphique linéaire des concentrations annuelles de pointe d'ozone à l'échelle régionale - description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire montre les concentrations annuelles de pointe (quatrième plus élevée) d'ozone sur 8 heures de 2000 à 2014 dans cinq régions du Canada : Canada atlantique, sud du Québec, sud de l'Ontario, Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, et Colombie-Britannique. Il présente aussi la Norme de 8 heures de 63 parties par milliard des Normes canadiennes de la qualité de l'air ambiant de 2015 utilisée pour les concentrations de pointe. Depuis 2000, toutes les concentrations annuelles de pointe d'ozone étaient inférieures à la Norme de 2015 dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, en Colombie-Britannique et dans le Canada atlantique, sauf en 2001 pour le Canada atlantique. De 2008 à 2014, les concentrations annuelles de pointe d'ozone étaient inférieures à la Norme de 2015 dans le sud du Québec. En revanche, les concentrations annuelles de pointe d'ozone dans le sud de l'Ontario étaient toujours supérieures à la Norme de 2015, sauf celles en 2014. Depuis 2000, des tendances à la baisse ont été détectées dans le Canada atlantique, dans le sud du Québec et dans le sud de l'Ontario. Aucune tendance n'a été détectée en Colombie-Britannique ni dans les Prairies et le Nord de l'Ontario.

Données du graphique
Concentrations de pointe d'ozone à l'échelle régionale, Canada, 2000 à 2014
AnnéeConcentration annuelle de pointe (4e plus élevée) sur 8 heures du Canada atlantique (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle de pointe (4e plus élevée) sur 8 heures du sud du Québec (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle de pointe (4e plus élevée) sur 8 heures du sud de l'Ontario (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle de pointe (4e plus élevée) sur 8 heures des Prairies et nord de l'Ontario (parties par milliard)Concentration annuelle de pointe (4e plus élevée) sur 8 heures de la Colombie-Britannique (parties par milliard)
200054,858,073,655,847,3
200164,575,185,755,748,9
200260,572,888,058,549,1
200360,971,784,760,450,9
200455,460,969,153,255,6
200554,267,581,454,049,1
200658,461,673,957,052,4
200758,567,480,956,649,4
200853,559,671,957,451,6
200954,555,466,755,950,5
201053,460,871,158,249,4
201150,955,767,358,346,9
201250,361,376,255,749,8
201350,357,564,957,546,7
201448,653,862,753,348,2
Norme de 20156363636363
Tendance annuelle-1,0-1,2-1,4Aucune tendanceAucune tendance

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 2,31 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : L'indicateur de la concentration annuelle de pointe (4e plus élevée) d'ozone sur 8 heures est basé sur la moyenne de la quatrième valeur quotidienne la plus élevée des maximums quotidiens des concentrations moyennes sur 8 heures relevées à 19 stations de suivi dans le Canada atlantique, 37 stations de suivi dans le sud du Québec, 36 stations de suivi dans le sud de l'Ontario, 24 stations de suivi dans les Prairies et nord de l'Ontario, et 29 stations de suivi en Colombie-Britannique. La ligne horizontale pointillée représente la valeur de la norme sur 8 heures des Normes canadiennes de qualité de l'air ambiant de 2015. La Norme canadienne de qualité de l'air ambiant est indiquée à titre d'information seulement et non à des fins d'évaluation du degré de conformité à la Norme.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique et Réseau canadien d'échantillonnage des précipitations et de l'air.

Concentrations ambiantes d'ozone aux stations de suivi

Les programmes du Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique et du Réseau canadien d'échantillonnage des précipitations et de l'air permettent de mesurer les concentrations de polluants atmosphériques à des stations de suivi partout au Canada. Les Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement fournissent ces renseignements par l'entremise d'une carte interactive en ligne. Avec la carte interactive, il est possible d'obtenir des détails sur les concentrations moyennes d'O3 et les concentrations de pointe d'O3 propre à chaque station de suivi.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Accéder au PDF (1,69 Mo)

Date de modification :