Managing Metal Mining Effluent Quality in Canada

Access PDF (481 KB)

Overall, in 2014, the metal mining sector achieved over 99% compliance with the authorized limits for metals, cyanide and pH, and over 97% for total suspended solids as set out in the Metal Mining Effluent Regulations (the Regulations). These results have been mostly stable since 2003, except for total suspended solids, for which compliance has increased. The percentage of test results that were not acutely lethal has remained above 95% since 2005.

The Regulations authorize the deposit of specific deleterious substances from metal mines, subject to certain conditions. They also impose limits on the pH level of the effluent, and prohibit the release of effluent that is acutely lethal.Footnote [1]

Percentage of regulatory data submitted by metal mines that did not exceed authorized limits, Canada, 2003 to 2014

Line Chart - See long description below

Long description

The line chart shows the percentage of regulatory data that did not exceed authorized limits for deleterious substances (arsenic; copper; cyanide; lead; nickel; radium 226; zinc; and total suspended solids), pH levels (pH low; pH high) and acute lethality, from 2003 to 2014.

Data for this chart
Percentage of regulatory data submitted by metal mines that did not exceed authorized limits, Canada, 2003 to 2014
Type of test2003
(%)
2004
(%)
2005
(%)
2006
(%)
2007
(%)
2008
(%)
2009
(%)
2010
(%)
2011
(%)
2012
(%)
2013
(%)
2014
(%)
Arsenic (As)99.899.799.599.899.899.8100.099.999.899.899.899.9
Copper (Cu)99.899.699.7100.099.999.799.599.999.999.899.799.7
Cyanide (CN)100.0100.0100.0100.0100.099.2100.0100.099.798.699.399.8
Lead (Pb)99.9100.0100.0100.0100.0100.0100.0100.0100.0100.0100.0100.0
Nickel (Ni)99.699.298.698.398.599.299.599.299.699.699.899.3
Radium 226 (Ra-226)99.0100.099.8100.0100.099.1100.099.799.999.999.299.5
Zinc (Zn)99.899.999.199.899.899.799.799.799.799.799.899.6
pH low99.799.799.299.699.699.299.599.899.799.999.899.3
pH high99.599.499.699.799.799.399.799.899.899.999.999.8
Rainbow trout acute lethality (toxicity)95.091.797.897.797.095.596.297.397.598.896.899.0
Total suspended solids (TSS)92.195.391.895.493.793.894.595.696.196.397.997.6

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 1.95 KB)

How this indicator was calculated 

Note: Deleterious substances listed in the Regulations include arsenic (As), copper (Cu), cyanide (CN), lead (Pb), nickel (Ni), zinc (Zn), total suspended solids (TSS), and radium 226 (Ra-226). The Regulations set a minimum (pH low) and maximum (pH high) level for the pH of effluent released. Acute lethality test refers to tests of effluent on rainbow trout in terms of mortality.
Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (2016) Summary Review of Performance of Metal Mines Subject to the Metal Mining Effluent Regulations.

The Regulations apply to all Canadian metal mines (except placer mines)Footnote [2] that exceeded an effluent flow rate of 50 cubic metres per day at any time after June 6, 2002, and that deposit a deleterious substance in any water or place defined in the regulations. Mining operations that are not captured under the Regulations (such as coal mines, diamond mines, quarries, and other non-metallic mineral mining facilities) are still subject to the requirements of the Fisheries Act, including the general prohibition on the deposit of deleterious substances.

Metal mining is an important economic activity for the Canadian economy. In 2014, the metal ore mining industry employed 35 855 Canadians,Footnote [3] and contributed 1.1% of Canada's gross domestic product.Footnote [4] Canada ranks among the top five countries in the mining of a number of major metals.Footnote [5],Footnote [6] However, without adequate regulation, metal mining could have harmful impacts on the environment. For example, the effects of untreated mining effluent could be highly damaging to the receiving aquatic environment, including fish and fish habitat. Proper management regimes can mitigate these impacts.

Related indicators

Other information

Icon: Pristine lakes and rivers Pristine lakes and rivers

This indicator supports the measurement of progress towards the long-term goal of the 2016–2019 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy: Clean and healthy lakes and rivers support economic prosperity and the well-being of Canadians.

Access PDF (481 KB)

Date modified:

Gestion de la qualité des effluents des mines de métaux au Canada

Accéder au PDF (493 Ko)

Globalement, en 2014, le secteur des mines de métaux a atteint un taux de conformité de plus de 99 % aux limites permises pour les métaux, le cyanure et le pH, de plus de 97 % pour le total des solides en suspension énoncés dans le Règlement sur les effluents des mines de métaux (le Règlement). Ces résultats se sont généralement maintenus depuis 2003, à l'exception du total des solides en suspension, dont le taux de conformité a augmenté. Le pourcentage des résultats des essais qui ne présentaient pas une létalité aiguë est aussi demeuré au-dessus de 95 % depuis 2005.

Le Règlement autorise les mines de métaux à rejeter des substances nocives spécifiques, à certaines conditions. Il impose également des limites quant au pH de l'effluent et interdit le rejet d'un effluent présentant une létalité aiguë.Note de bas de page [1]

Pourcentage des données réglementaires présentées par les mines de métaux ne dépassant pas les limites autorisées, Canada, 2003 à 2014

Graphic linéaire - voir description longue ci-dessous

Description longue

Le graphique linéaire présente le pourcentage des données réglementaires qui ne dépassaient pas les limites autorisées pour les substances nocives (arsenic; cuivre; cyanure; plomb; nickel; radium 226; zinc; et total des solides en suspension), le pH (pH faible; pH élevé) et la létalité aiguë, de 2003 à 2014.

Données du graphique
Pourcentage des données réglementaires présentées par les mines de métaux ne dépassant pas les limites autorisées, Canada, 2003 à 2014
Type d'essai2003
(%)
2004
(%)
2005
(%)
2006
(%)
2007
(%)
2008
(%)
2009
(%)
2010
(%)
2011
(%)
2012
(%)
2013
(%)
2014
(%)
Arsenic (As)99,899,799,599,899,899,8100,099,999,899,899,899,9
Cuivre (Cu)99,899,699,7100,099,999,799,599,999,999,899,799,7
Cyanure (CN)100,0100,0100,0100,0100,099,2100,0100,099,798,699,399,8
Plomb (Pb)99,9100,0100,0100,0100,0100,0100,0100,0100,0100,0100,0100,0
Nickel (Ni)99,699,298,698,398,599,299,599,299,699,699,899,3
Radium 226 (Ra-226)99,0100,099,8100,0100,099,1100,099,799,999,999,299,5
Zinc (Zn)99,899,999,199,899,899,799,799,799,799,799,899,6
pH faible99,799,799,299,699,699,299,599,899,799,999,899,3
pH élevé99,599,499,699,799,799,399,799,899,899,999,999,8
Létalité aiguë pour la truite arc-en-ciel (toxicité)95,091,797,897,797,095,596,297,397,598,896,899,0
Total des solides en suspension (TSS)92,195,391,895,493,793,894,595,696,196,397,997,6

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 2,21 KB)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Les substances nocives figurant sur la liste du Règlement comprennent l'arsenic (As), le cuivre (Cu), le cyanure (CN), le plomb (Pb), le nickel (Ni), le zinc (Zn), le total des solides en suspension (TSS) et le radium 226 (Ra-226). Le Règlement établit un seuil minimal (pH faible) et un seuil maximal (pH élevé) pour le pH des effluents rejetés. Le test de létalité aiguë renvoie aux essais effectués pour déterminer la létalité aiguë des effluents chez la truite arc-en-ciel et s'exprime par le taux de mortalité.
Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (2016) Évaluation sommaire de la performance des mines de métaux assujetties au Règlement sur les effluents des mines de métaux.

Le Règlement s'applique à toutes les mines de métaux canadiennes (sauf aux exploitations des placers)Note de bas de page [2] dont le débit d'effluent est supérieur à 50 mètres cubes par jour à tout moment après le 6 juin 2002, et qui rejettent une substance nocive dans les eaux ou les lieux visés par le Règlement. Les exploitations minières qui ne sont pas mentionnées dans le règlement (comme les mines de charbon, les mines de diamant, les carrières et autres exploitations minières de minerais non métalliques) sont quand même assujetties aux dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches, y compris à l'interdiction générale de rejeter des substances nocives.

L'industrie d'extraction de métaux représente un secteur économique important pour l'économie du Canada. En 2014, l'industrie d'extraction de minerais métalliques a employé 35 855 CanadiensNote de bas de page [3] et a contribué à 1,1 % du produit intérieur brut du pays.Note de bas de page [4] Le Canada se classe parmi les cinq principaux pays dans le secteur de l'exploitation minière de plusieurs métaux importants.Note de bas de page [5],Note de bas de page [6] Toutefois, sans une réglementation adéquate, l'exploitation des mines de métaux pourrait avoir des effets néfastes sur l'environnement. Par exemple, l'effluent non traité d'une mine pourrait causer de graves dégâts au milieu aquatique récepteur, y compris aux poissons et à leur habitat. Des modes de gestion appropriés peuvent atténuer ces impacts.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Îcone : Lacs et cours d'eau vierges Lacs et cours d'eau vierges

Cet indicateur appuie la mesure vers l'atteinte de l'objectif à long terme de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2016–2019 : Des lacs et des cours d'eau propres soutiennent la prospérité économique et le bien-être des Canadiens.

Accéder au PDF (493 Ko)

Date de modification :