This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the Proposed Order adding polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) and fluorides to Schedule 1 to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Minister's Response to Concerns Raised by Aluminium Association of Canada

Mr. Christian L. Van Houtte
President
Aluminium Association of Canada
Suite1600
1010 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal QC H3A 2R7

Dear Mr. Van Houtte:

I am responding to the notice of objection that you filed on January 10 in respect of two groups of substances proposed for addition to Schedule I of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999). These groups of substances are polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) and fluorides.

Please note that PAHs and fluorides are already on the List of Toxic Substances under the current CEPA. However, due to legal requirements, they need to be added to Schedule I of CEPA, 1999.

I have given careful consideration to the concerns you raised and noted that they were very similar to those expressed in 1998. I still believe that the science that Environment and Health Canada used in the assessment supports the addition of these substances to the List of Toxic Substances. For more information, please refer to the enclosed report, prepared by officials of both departments, which addresses your concerns.

It is, therefore, my opinion that the establishment of a board of review is not warranted in this case. I hereby inform you of my decision not to grant your request to establish a board of review.

Please rest assured that the federal government is committed to consulting with all stakeholders, such as your organization, and with the public on the development of management options, including regulations. Issues raised by your Association will be considered in an open and transparent way.

If you have any questions about the enclosed response or the proposed Order in Council, please contact John Buccini, Director, Commercial Chemicals Evaluation Branch, Environment Canada, Ottawa ON K1A 0H3; telephone 819-997-1499.

Yours sincerely,

David Anderson, P.C., M.P.

Enclosure

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition au décret d'inscription des hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Réponse du Ministre aux inquiétudes suscitées par l'Association de l'aluminium du Canada

Monsieur Christian L. Van Houtte
President
Aluminium Association of Canada
Suite1600
1010 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal QC H3A 2R7

Cher Monsieur Van Houtte :

Je réponds à votre avis d'opposition, daté du 10 janvier, relatif au projet de décret visant l'inscription de deux groupes de susbtances à l’annexe 1 (Liste des substances toxiques) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Ces deux groupes de substances sont les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques et les fluorures.

Veuillez noter que les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques et les fluorures sont déjà inscrits à la Liste des substances toxiques en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Cependant, en raison d'exigences juridiques, ces substances doivent être ajoutées à l'annexe 1 de la LCPE (1999).

J'ai examiné attentivement les préoccupations que vous avez soulevées et j'ai noté qu'elles étaient très semblables à celles qui ont été exprimées en 1998. Je crois toujours que la science utilisée par Environnement Canada et Santé Canada dans le cadre des évaluations appuie l'ajout de ces substances à la Liste des substances toxiques. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le rapport ci-joint, préparé par des fonctionnaires des deux ministères, qui répond à vos préoccupations.

Je suis d'avis, par conséquent, que l'établissement d'une commission de révision n'est pas justifié dans ce cas. Par la présente, je vous informe de ma décision de refuser votre demande d'établissement d'une commission de révision.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la réponse ci-jointe ou du projet de décret, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec John Buccini, directeur, Direction de l'évaluation des produits chimiques commerciaux, Environnement Canada, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H3; téléphone : 819-997-1499.

Je vous prie d'agréer mes salutations distinguées.

David Anderson, c.p., député

Pièce jointe (disponible en anglais seulement)

Date de modification :