This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Frequently Asked Questions

Municipal Wastewater Effluent Publication of Final Instrument

Why is Environment Canada targeting ammonia, inorganic chloramines and chlorinated wastewater in municipal treatment plants?

Ammonia dissolved in water, inorganic chloramines and chlorinated wastewater effluents were found to be toxic under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, (CEPA 1999). Under CEPA, the Minister of the Environment is obligated to propose a preventive or control instrument for substances that have been found to be toxic. Municipal wastewater effluents were identified as a priority for risk management action.

Who is Subject to the Pollution Prevention Planning Notice for Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents?

Persons subject to the Pollution Prevention Planning Notice are owners of wastewater systems where the effluent released to surface water is greater than or equal to 5 000 cubic metres per day, and where the concentration of total residual chlorine in the effluent exceeds 0.02 mg/L.

Why was the proposed instrument for ammonia changed?

Following extensive consultation with the provinces and territories and stakeholders, and the decision of the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) to develop a Canada-wide Strategy for the management of municipal wastewater effluents by December 2006, Environment Canada decided to develop a CEPA Guideline for ammonia instead of a pollution prevention planning instrument.

It remains the intention of Environment Canada to develop a management strategy that would include a regulation under the Fisheries Act based on a harmonized regulatory framework and common standards for specific pollutants, including ammonia and chlorine. The Guideline takes into account the comments received, the future development of a regulation, and the progress made in the development of a comprehensive Canada-wide Strategy. The Guideline also provides guidance for owners of wastewater systems that are consistent with a long-term management strategy for municipal wastewater effluents.

Who is subject to the Guideline for the Release of Ammonia Dissolved in Water Found in Wastewater Effluents?

This Guideline applies to owners of wastewater systems that have an effluent discharge flow to surface water greater than or equal to 5 000 cubic metres per day.

What are the objectives for chlorine and ammonia?

The risk management objective for chlorine is to achieve and maintain a concentration of total residual chlorine that is less than or equal to 0.02 milligrams per litre (mg/L) in the effluent released to surface water by December 15, 2009.

The objectives for ammonia are twofold: 1) to achieve and maintain a concentration of ammonia in the effluent that is not acutely lethal to fish due to ammonia and 2) to achieve and maintain a concentration of ammonia in the effluent that will ensure the protection of freshwater life.

How many wastewater systems are selected by these new instruments?

It is expected that approximately 95 facilities that release 5 000 cubic meters per day or more of wastewater effluent to surface water with a concentration of chlorine in the effluent greater than 0.02 milligrams/litre will have to prepare pollution prevention plans. The Guideline for ammonia will apply to a maximum of approximately 280 facilities discharging 5 000 cubic metres per day or more of wastewater effluent to surface water.

What are the legal obligations related to pollution prevention planning for the owners of the selected wastewater systems?

Owners of wastewater systems subject to the Pollution Prevention Planning Notice must:

  • Prepare a pollution prevention plan and begin implementation no later than June 15, 2007;
  • Consider all factors identified in the Pollution Prevention Planning Notice including the reduction target;
  • Fully implement their pollution prevention plan by June 15, 2010;
  • Keep a copy of their pollution prevention plan at the site for which the plan was prepared;
  • Submit the mandatory reporting forms that are part of the Notice.
  • Provide a copy of their pollution prevention plan to Environment Canada only if requested;

Complying with the legal requirements of the Pollution Prevention Planning Notice is mandatory. Non-compliance with any legal requirement of the Notice is a criminal offence punishable under CEPA 1999.

How much will it cost to prepare a pollution prevention plan for chlorine?

The cost to prepare and implement pollution prevention plans will vary depending on each situation. It is estimated that the cost to prepare a pollution prevention plan should not exceed $20 000.

What is a Pollution Prevention Planning Notice?

It is a legal document that requires certain persons, including municipalities, to prepare and implement a Pollution Prevention Plan. Pollution Prevention Planning Notices are published by the Minister of the Environment to reduce adverse environmental and health risks associated with toxic substances.

What is meant by Pollution Prevention or P2?

Pollution prevention or P2 as it is often referred to, involves finding ways to improve efficiency, reduce waste, and use less toxic chemicals. CEPA 1999 defines pollution prevention as: "The use of processes, practices, materials, products, substances or energy that avoid or minimize the creation of pollutants and waste, and reduce the overall risk to the environment or human health."

What is the role of all three levels of government in reducing the threat from wastewater effluents?

Reducing pollution from municipal wastewater treatment plants is everyone's responsibility. The Government of Canada's role in wastewater effluent is administering and enforcing CEPA 1999 and the Fisheries Act to protect the environment and human health from toxic and/or deleterious substances and to provide leadership in the science related to these areas.

Provinces and territories have in place various Acts and regulations that apply to managing wastewater. The provinces and territories approve the design and construction of wastewater collection and treatment systems, issue permits for operations, specify local operating requirements and provide funding to local authorities.

Typically, municipalities or other local authorities construct, operate and maintain wastewater collection and treatment systems. Municipalities also levy local charges or surcharges to users of the system(s) through bylaws and other mechanisms. They can also regulate the discharges to the sewer system from non-residential sources.

How will a facility know if it needs to prepare and implement a pollution prevention plan for chlorine?

An extensive compliance promotion plan is in place to ensure that systems required to prepare a pollution prevention plan are directly contacted by regional Environment Canada staff. Selected systems will also receive a copy of the Notice, instructions how to fill the schedules and prepare a pollution prevention plan, as well as a Frequently Asked Questions document.

Who is required to sign the declarations?

Each declaration must be signed by an official authorized to act on behalf of the organization affected by the requirements.

Do I need to submit a copy of my pollution prevention plan?

Owners of wastewater systems subject to the Notice are required to prepare and implement a pollution prevention plan and submit two declarations to the Minister. The Minister has the authority to require the submission of part or all of a pollution prevention plan for the purposes of determining and assessing preventive or control actions.

Why was the 5 000 m3 per day effluent release threshold chosen?

The 5 000 m3 per day effluent release threshold was chosen partly in response to feedback received during the consultation sessions held in the Fall of 2002 and in consideration of the other criteria intended to select "higher risk" wastewater systems.

Can I use another pollution prevention plan to meet the requirements proposed under CEPA 1999?

Yes. If you do so, it is your responsibility to ensure that your pollution prevention plan addresses all of the requirements in the Notice and that you submit both declarations within the specified timelines.

Why not develop a Fisheries Act regulation?

Environment Canada intends to develop a regulation addressing wastewater effluents under the Fisheries Act as part of the long-term strategy. To be effective, the regulation under the Fisheries Act will need to be comprehensive and be developed taking into account the need to harmonize the regulatory framework with the provinces and territories. The work to develop a Canada-wide Strategy for municipal wastewater effluent is currently under way at the CCME.

Is the completion of a pollution prevention plan under CEPA 1999 adequate to be in compliance with the Fisheries Act?

CEPA 1999 and the Fisheries Act are two different federal statutes. Preparing and implementing a pollution prevention plan under CEPA 1999 does not ensure compliance with the Fisheries Act.

The Department of Fisheries and Oceans and Environment Canada both enforce the Fisheries Act. Environment Canada enforces subsection 36(3) of the Fisheries Act across the country in accordance with the Compliance and Enforcement Policy for the Habitat Protection and Pollution Prevention Provisions of the Fisheries Act. The Policy lays out general principles and explains the roles of regulatory officials with the intent of the Act being administered and enforced in a fair, predictable and consistent manner. As part of the long-term strategy for wastewater effluents it is Environment Canada's intention to develop a regulation under the Fisheries Act.

With regard to the enforcement of the Fisheries Act for municipal wastewater effluents, Environment Canada will consult provincial and territorial counterparts to determine the most suitable approach for responding to potential violations of subsection 36(3) of the Fisheries Act. This co-operation will assist in achieving shared objectives of protecting fish habitat and preventing pollution.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Foire aux questions

Effluent d'eaux usées municipales publication des instrments finaux

Pourquoi Environnement Canada cible-t-il l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les eaux usées chlorées des usines de traitement des municipalités?

L'ammoniac dissous dans l'eau, les chloramines inorganiques et les eaux usées chlorées ont été déclarés toxiques en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [(LCPE (1999)]. Selon la LCPE, le ministre de l'Environnement doit proposer un instrument de prévention ou de contrôle pour les substances déclarées toxiques. Les effluents d'eaux usées municipales sont considérés comme une priorité de gestion des risques.

Qui est assujetti à l'avis de plan de prévention de la pollution à l'égard des chloramines inorganiques et des eaux usées chlorées?

Les personnes visées par l'avis sont les propriétaires de réseaux d'assainissement qui rejettent dans les eaux de surface un volume d'effluent supérieur ou égal à 5 000 m3 par jour et dont la concentration de chlore résiduel total excède 0,02 mg/L.

Pourquoi l'instrument proposé pour l'ammoniac a-t-il été changé?

À la suite d'une vaste consultation avec les provinces, les territoires et d'autres intervenants et de la décision du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME) d'élaborer une stratégie pancanadienne de gestion des effluents d'eaux usées municipales d'ici décembre 2006, Environnement Canada a choisi de préparer, pour l'ammoniac, des lignes directrices en vertu de la LCPE au lieu d'un plan de prévention de la pollution.

Environnement Canada a toujours l'intention d'élaborer une stratégie de gestion qui inclura un règlement, en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, fondé sur un cadre de réglementation harmonisée et sur des normes communes pour des polluants précis, y compris l'ammoniac et le chlore. Les lignes directrices tiennent compte des commentaires reçus, de l'élaboration future d'un règlement et des progrès réalisés dans la préparation d'une stratégie pancanadienne exhaustive. Elles fournissent également aux propriétaires de réseaux d'assainissement une orientation conforme à une stratégie à long terme pour les effluents d'eaux usées municipales.

Qui est assujetti aux Lignes directrices sur le rejet de l'ammoniac dissous dans l'eau se trouvant dans les effluents d'eaux usées?

Ces lignes directrices s'appliquent à tous les propriétaires de réseaux d'assainissement qui rejettent dans les eaux de surface un volume d'effluent supérieur ou égal à 5 000 mètres cubes par jour.

Quels sont les objectifs pour le chlore et l'ammoniac?

L'objectif de la gestion des risques du chlore consiste à atteindre et à maintenir, d'ici le 15 décembre 2009, une concentration de chlore résiduel total inférieure ou égale à 0,02 milligramme par litre (mg/L) dans les effluents rejetés dans les eaux de surface.

Pour l'ammoniac, l'objectif comporte deux volets, soit atteindre et maintenir, dans les effluents, une concentration 1) qui ne s'avère pas de létalité aiguë pour les poissons et 2) qui assurera la protection des organismes vivant en eau douce.

Combien de réseaux d'assainissement sont visés par les nouveaux instruments?

On s'attend à ce qu'environ 95 installations, qui rejettent dans les eaux de surface un volume d'effluents supérieur ou égal à 5 000 m3 par jour dont la concentration en chlore est supérieure à 0,02 mg/L, préparent des plans de prévention de la pollution. Les lignes directrices sur l'ammoniac s'appliqueront à un maximum d'environ 280 installations responsables de tels volumes de rejets.

Quelles obligations juridiques liées à la planification de la prévention de la pollution sont imposées aux propriétaires réseaux d'assainissement choisis?

Les propriétaires de réseaux d'assainissement visés par l'avis de plan de prévention de la pollution doivent :

  • Préparer un plan de prévention de la pollution et commencer sa mise en oeuvre au plus tard le 15 juin 2007;
  • Considérer tous les facteurs énoncés dans l'avis, y compris les objectifs de réduction;
  • Compléter la mise en oeuvre de leur plan d'ici le 15 juin 2010;
  • Garder une copie de ce plan sur les lieux pour lesquels il a été préparé;
  • Présenter les formulaires de rapport obligatoires de l'avis.
  • Fournir une copie de leur plan de prévention de la pollution à Environnement Canada sur demande seulement.

Les propriétaires doivent obligatoirement se conformer aux exigences juridiques de l'avis de plan de prévention de la pollution. Le non-respect de toute exigence juridique constitue une infraction criminelle punissable en vertu de la LCPE (1999).

Combien coûtera la préparation d'un plan de prévention de la pollution pour le chlore?

Les coûts liés à la préparation et la mise en oeuvre des plans de prévention de la pollution varieront selon chaque situation. On estime qu'ils ne devraient pas dépasser 20 000 $.

Qu'est-ce qu'un avis requérant l'élaboration de plans de prévention de la pollution?

Il s'agit d'un document juridique exigeant que certaines personnes, notamment des municipalités, préparent et mettent en oeuvre des plans de prévention de la pollution. Les avis sont publiés par le ministre de l'Environnement et visent à réduire le danger des substances toxiques pour l'environnement et la santé.

Que signifie prévention de la pollution ou P2?

La prévention de la pollution, souvent appelée P2, comprend la recherche de moyens pour améliorer l'efficacité, réduire les déchets, et utiliser des produits chimiques moins toxiques. En vertu de la LCPE (1999), la prévention de la pollution est définie comme « l'utilisation de procédés, pratiques, matériaux, produits, substances ou formes d'énergie qui, d'une part, empêchent ou réduisent au minimum la production de polluants ou de déchets, et, d'autre part, réduisent les risques d'atteinte à l'environnement ou à la santé humaine ».

Quel est le rôle des trois ordres de gouvernement dans la réduction de la menace que représentent les effluents d'eaux usées?

La réduction de la pollution par les réseaux d'assainissement est la responsabilité de tous. Le rôle du gouvernement du Canada à cet égard est d'administrer et d'appliquer la LCPE (1999) et la Loi sur les pêches pour protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine contre les substances toxiques ou nocives et de démontrer un leadership scientifique dans ces domaines.

Les provinces et les territoires disposent d'un éventail de lois et de règlements qui s'appliquent à la gestion des eaux usées. Ils approuvent la conception et la construction des réseaux d'assainissement, délivrent les permis d'exploitation, précisent les exigences opérationnelles locales et fournissent des fonds aux autorités locales.

Généralement, les municipalités ou d'autres autorités locales construisent, exploitent et entretiennent les réseaux d'assainissement. Les municipalités imposent également des droits locaux ou des frais supplémentaires aux utilisateurs des résaux à l'aide de règlements et d'autres mécanismes. Elles peuvent aussi réglementer les rejets de sources non résidentielles connectées au réseau d'égouts.

Comment une installation saura-t-elle si elle doit préparer et mettre en oeuvre un plan de prévention de la pollution pour le chlore?

Un vaste plan de promotion de la conformité est en place pour s'assurer que le personnel régional d'Environnement Canada communique directement avec les responsables des systèmes pour lesquels il faut préparer des plans de prévention de la pollution. Ces personnes recevront aussi une copie de l'avis, des instructions pour remplir les annexes et préparer un plan de prévention de la pollution, ainsi que ce document Foire aux questions.

Qui doit signer les déclarations?

Chaque déclaration doit être signée par un agent autorisé à agir au nom de l'organisation visée par les exigences.

Dois-je soumettre mon plan de prévention de la pollution?

Les propriétaires de réseaux d'assainissement visés par l'avis doivent préparer et exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution et soumettre deux déclarations au ministre. Ce dernier peut les obliger à lui remettre une partie ou la totalité de leur plan de prévention de la pollution afin d'en déterminer et d'en évaluer les mesures de prévention ou de contrôle.

Pourquoi avoir choisi un seuil de 5 000 m3 d'effluent d'eaux usées par jour?

Ce seuil (5 000 m3 d'effluent d'eaux usées par jour) a été partiellement choisi en réponse aux commentaires recueillis pendant la consultation de l'automne 2002 et compte tenu d'un autre critère qui est la sélection des réseaux d'assainissement à « risque élevé ».

Puis-je utiliser un autre plan de prévention de la pollution pour respecter les exigences proposées en vertu de la LCPE (1999)?

Oui. Si vous choisissez cette option, vous serez tenu de vous assurer que votre plan de prévention de la pollution respecte toutes les exigences de l'avis et que les deux déclarations sont soumises dans les délais prescrits.

Pourquoi ne pas élaborer un règlement en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches?

Dans le cadre d'une stratégie à long terme, Environnement Canada a l'intention d'élaborer un règlement sur les effluents d'eaux usées, en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches. Pour être efficace, le règlement devra être exhaustif et tenir compte du besoin d'harmoniser le cadre de réglementation avec ceux des provinces et des territoires. Le CCME élabore actuellement une stratégie pancanadienne sur les effluents d'eaux usées municipales.

Un plan de prévention de la pollution élaboré en vertu de la LCPE (1999) permet-il de respecter la Loi sur les pêches?

La LCPE (1999) et la Loi sur les pêches sont deux lois fédérales différentes. La préparation et la mise en oeuvre d'un plan de prévention de la pollution en vertu de la LCPE (1999) ne garantissent pas le respect de la Loi sur les pêches.

Pêches et Océans Canada et Environnement Canada appliquent tous deux la Loi sur les pêches. Environnement Canada doit faire respecter le paragraphe 36(3) de cette loi, partout au pays, conformément à la Politique de conformité et d'application des dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches pour la protection de l'habitat du poisson et la prévention de la pollution. Celle-ci énonce des principes généraux et explique le rôle des agents d'application afin que la Loi soit administrée et appliquée de façon juste, prévisible et uniforme. Dans le cadre de la stratégie à long terme sur les effluents d'eaux usées, Environnement Canada a l'intention d'élaborer un règlement en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches.

Pour ce qui est d'appliquer la Loi sur les pêches aux effluents d'eaux usées municipales, Environnement Canada consultera ses homologues provinciaux et territoriaux afin de déterminer l'approche la plus appropriée pour répondre aux cas potentiels de contravention du paragraphe 36(3) de la Loi sur les pêches. Cette coopération sera bénéfique à l'atteinte de nos objectifs communs de protection de l'habitat du poisson et de la prévention de la pollution.

Date de modification :