Overview of the Existing Substances Program

2. CEPA 1999 Guiding Principles and other policies

The Government of Canada's environmental protection strategy is driven by a vision of sustainable development. Inherent in the strategy is the key outcome of pollution prevention. This vision depends on a clean, healthy environment, and a strong economy. Controlling substances that can cause harm to human health or the environment is a key component of this vision, ensuring any risks from substances are prevented or reduced. Controlling substances is a single process that occurs in two phases: risk assessment and risk management. The first, risk assessment, is a science-based evaluation which allows weight-of-evidence based decision making on whether a substance poses a risk. The second phase, risk management, represents the Government's response to the risk identified, which takes into consideration socio-economic factors and identifies the most suitable control measures. Assessment and the supporting science provide the necessary information for risk management activities. Acceptability of the risk assessment outcome and the risk management approach are largely dependent on good risk communication, which involves the public and stakeholder engagement at key steps of the process.

2.1 The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) is the principal federal legislative tool for preventing pollution and recognizes that the protection of the environment is essential to the well-being of Canadians.

In implementing their programs, Health Canada and Environment Canada, as administrators of CEPA 1999, are responsible to ensure that:

  • there is public participation, openness and transparency in decision making and that there are mechanisms available for supporting these goals;
  • there is commitment to promotion of human health and implementation of pollution prevention, as national goals;
  • the Government of Canada is able to fulfill its international obligations with respect to the environment;
  • the precautionary principle is implemented;
  • the polluter pays principle is implemented;
  • the importance of an ecosystem approach is recognized;
  • the risk of toxic substances is recognized as a matter of national concern that transcends geographic boundaries;
  • a consistent process for collaboration with other jurisdictions results in effective and integrated approaches, policies and programs to manage the risks to human health and the environment posed by the threats of toxic substances; and
  • action is taken to apply all aspects of the program in a fair, predictable, transparent and consistent manner.

Parts 4 and 5 of CEPA 1999 provide the legislative framework for the assessment and management of substances that can enter into the Canadian environment. The framework ensures the protection of the environment and of the health of Canadians from harmful substances and other pollutants.

Program activities are also guided by a variety of Government guidelines and policies, especially those outlined in:

  • "Toxic Substances Management Policy" (Government of Canada, 1995);
  • "Science Advice for Government Effectiveness (SAGE)" (CSTA, 1999); and
  • "Framework for the Application of Precaution in Science-based Decision Making about Risk" (PCO, 2003).

2.2 Toxic Substances Management Policy

The federal Toxic Substances Management Policy, introduced in 1995, takes a preventive and precautionary approach to dealing with substances that enter the environment and that could harm the environment or human health. It provides decision makers with direction and sets out a science-based management framework to ensure that federal programs are consistent with the objectives of the policy. Some elements of the policy have been integrated into law through CEPA 1999.

The key management objectives of the policy are:

  • the virtual elimination from the environment of toxic substances that result predominantly from human activity and that are persistent and bioaccumulative (referred to as Track 1 substances); and
  • management of other toxic substances and substances of concern throughout their entire life cycles, to prevent or minimize their release into the environment (referred to as Track 2 substances).

Consistent with this policy, risk managers at Health Canada and Environment Canada use the information provided by risk assessments to develop appropriate approaches to manage the risks posed by toxic substances. Through its risk assessment activities, the Existing Substances Program provides a key mechanism for identifying candidate substances for risk management, and is an important contributor to decision making by risk managers.

A toxic substance is defined under section 64 of CEPA 1999 as being a substance that:

"... is entering or may enter the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that

  1. have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity;
  2. constitute or may constitute a danger to the environment on which life depends; or
  3. constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health."

Toxic substances that are both persistent and bioaccumulative have been recognized as requiring special attention, as reflected in both domestic and international regulatory and policy frameworks. Once in the environment, it may be difficult or impossible to manage these substances or remediate past contamination. In addition, remote and cold regions, such as the Canadian Arctic, can act as global sinks for some of these compounds, making it important for Canada to act both domestically and internationally. Although it may not be possible to accurately predict all of the effects of these substances on the environment, the potential exists for these substances to cause long-term impacts. The use of a preventive approach in assessment of these substances is particularly important to ensure that harm to the environment and its biological diversity does not occur.

Substances that meet the criteria set out under section 64 of CEPA 1999 are considered for risk management measures such as regulations, guidelines or codes of practice, to control any aspect of their life cycle, from the research and development stage through manufacture, use, storage, transport and ultimate disposal.

Furthermore, when a substance meets the criteria set out under section 64 and is persistent, bioaccumulative and results primarily from human activity, it is proposed for virtual elimination under CEPA 1999.

More information on Risk Management can be found on the Management of Toxic Substances web section.

2.3 Role of science in decision making

Science Advice for Government Effectiveness (SAGE) was developed by the Council of Science and Technology Advisors, an external advisory committee, in May 1999 in response to the request by the Cabinet Committee on Economic Union to examine how the government could improve its use of science advice in reaching decisions and its explanations about how those decisions are reached. The SAGE report identified six key principles:

  1. Early Issue Identification
  2. Inclusiveness
  3. Sound Science and Science Advice
  4. Uncertainty and Risk
  5. Transparency and Openness
  6. Review

The SAGE report provided the basis for the development of a government-wide set of principles and guidelines for the effective use of science in making policy and regulatory decisions, which is captured in the Government of Canada paper entitled "A Framework for Science and Technology Advice: Principles and Guidelines for the Effective Use of Science and Technology Advice in Government Decision Making" (Government of Canada, 2000). The principles and guidelines in the report address how science advice should be sought and applied to enhance the ability of government decision makers to make informed decisions. While some of these are suitably applied only at higher levels of the organization or at later stages of the toxics management process, many of them are directly applicable within the Existing Substances Program.

Environment Canada's "Science Advice for Government Effectiveness: Recommendations for Implementing the SAGE Principles" (ECSTAB, 1999) and Health Canada's "Health Canada Decision-Making Framework for Identifying, Assessing, and Managing Health Risks" (Health Canada, 2000) demonstrate the Government of Canada's dedication to implementation of the SAGE principles as a whole and recognizes their importance to the values of a science-based department. These documents note that science assessment is a key discipline for delivering science to policy makers.

2.4 Precaution in science-based decision making

The Federal Government has developed a document entitled "A Framework for the Application of Precaution in Science-based Decision Making about Risk" [Privy Council Office (PCO), 2003]. This paper addresses the application of precaution in its various forms - "precaution", "the Precautionary Principle" or "the precautionary approach" - all of which have three basic components: the need for a decision; a risk of serious or irreversible harm; and a lack of full scientific certainty.

As stated in the document, the application of precaution primarily affects the development of options and the decision phases within science-based risk management, is clearly linked to scientific analysis, and cannot be applied without an appropriate assessment of scientific factors and consequent risks. A key role of developing ecological and human health risk assessments is to provide the necessary evaluation of science and potential risks to support the use of precaution in the ultimate decision making process, at which point factors such as social and ethical values and political and economic considerations will also be taken into account.

The "precautionary principle" is entrenched in CEPA 1999. In the preamble, CEPA 1999 recognizes that the "Government of Canada is committed to implementing the precautionary principle. Where there are threats of serious or irreversible damage, lack of full scientific certainty shall not be used as a reason for postponing cost-effective measures to prevent environmental degradation." In addition, section 76.1 of CEPA 1999 specifically directs the Ministers to apply a weight-of-evidence approach and the precautionary principle when conducting and interpreting the results of assessments of existing substances.

As described in greater detail in PCO (2003), the general principles outlining the distinguishing features of precautionary decision making are that:

  • The application of precaution is a legitimate and distinctive decision-making approach, notably within risk management.
  • It is legitimate that decisions be guided by society's chosen level of protection against risk.
  • In risk management, sound scientific information and its evaluation must be the basis for the decision to apply precaution and the measure selected in applying precaution; the scientific information base and responsibility for producing it may shift as knowledge evolves.
  • Mechanisms should exist for re-evaluating the basis for decision and for providing a transparent process for further consideration, recognizing that in some cases re-evaluation may not be practical or productive.
  • A high degree of transparency, clear accountability and meaningful public involvement are appropriate.

| Table of contents | Previous page | Next page |

Date modified:

Aperçu du Programme des substances existantes

2. Principes directeurs de la LCPE (1999) et autres politiques

La stratégie du gouvernement du Canada en matière de protection de l'environnement repose sur une vision du développement durable et a pour élément clé la prévention de la pollution. Cette vision suppose un environnement propre et sain et une économie forte. Le contrôle des substances pouvant être nocives pour la santé humaine ou l'environnement est un élément clé de cette vision qui assure la prévention ou la réduction de tout risque lié à ces substances. Le contrôle des substances relève d'un même processus qui se déroule en deux étapes : l'évaluation des risques et la gestion des risques. La première, l'évaluation des risques, est une évaluation scientifique qui permet de prendre une décision fondée sur le poids de la preuve quant au risque posé ou non par une substance. La deuxième, la gestion des risques, est la réponse du gouvernement au risque déterminé et elle prend en compte les facteurs socio-économiques et détermine les mesures de contrôle les plus appropriées. L'évaluation et les connaissances scientifiques à l'appui fournissent l'information nécessaire à la gestion des risques. L'acceptabilité du résultat de l'évaluation des risques et de l'approche en matière de gestion des risques dépend largement d'une bonne communication des risques qui comporte l'engagement du public et des parties intéressées à certaines étapes clés du processus.

2.1 La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] est la principale mesure législative fédérale de prévention de la pollution et on y reconnaît que la protection de l'environnement est essentielle au bien-être des Canadiens.

À titre de responsables de la LCPE (1999), Santé Canada et Environnement Canada sont tenus, lorsqu'ils mettent en œuvre leurs programmes :

  • d'assurer la participation du public, l'ouverture et la transparence au moment de la prise de décisions et de prévoir des mécanismes pour l'atteinte de ces objectifs;
  • de veiller à l'existence d'un engagement envers la promotion de la santé humaine et à la mise en œuvre de la prévention de la pollution, cela à titre d'objectifs nationaux;
  • de veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure de satisfaire à ses engagements internationaux en matière d'environnement;
  • d'appliquer le principe de précaution;
  • d'appliquer le principe du pollueur-payeur;
  • de reconnaître l'importance d'une approche écosystémique;
  • de reconnaître que le risque posé par les substances toxiques est une préoccupation d'envergure nationale qui transcende les limites géographiques;
  • de veiller à ce que la cohérence et la collaboration avec les autres compétences donnent lieu à des approches, à des politiques et à des programmes efficaces et intégrés pour la gestion des risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement que posent les substances toxiques;
  • de veiller à ce que tous les éléments du programme soient appliqués de façon équitable,prévisible, transparente et cohérente.

Les parties 4 et 5 de la LCPE (1999) définissent le cadre législatif de l'évaluation et de la gestiondes substances qui peuvent pénétrer dans l'environnement canadien. Ce cadre assure la protection de l'environnement et de la santé des Canadiens contre les substances nocives et d'autres polluants.

Les activités du programme sont aussi orientées par diverses lignes directrices et politiques gouvernementales, plus particulièrement celles présentées dans :

  • « Politique de gestion des substances toxiques » (Gouvernement du Canada, 1995);
  • « Avis scientifiques pour l'efficacité gouvernementale (ASEG) » (CEST, 1999);
  • « Cadre d'application de la précaution dans un processus décisionnel scientifique en gestion du risque » [Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP), 2003].

2.2 Politique de gestion des substances toxiques

La Politique de gestion des substances toxiques du gouvernement fédéral, présentée en 1995, adopte une approche préventive et de précaution pour la prise de mesures à l'égard des substances qui pénètrent dans l'environnement et qui pourraient être nocives pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine. Elle donne une orientation aux décideurs et définit un cadre de gestion fondé sur la science dans le but de s'assurer que les programmes fédéraux sont conformes aux objectifs de la politique. Certains des éléments de la politique ont été intégrés à la législation par le moyen de la LCPE (1999).

Les objectifs de gestion clés de la politique sont :

  • la quasi-élimination de l'environnement des substances toxiques qui proviennent surtout d'activités humaines et qui sont persistantes et bioaccumulables (désignées substances de la voie 1);
  • la gestion des autres substances toxiques et des substances préoccupantes pendant tout leur cycle de vie afin de prévenir ou de réduire au minimum leur rejet dans l'environnement (désignées substances de la voie 2).

Conformément à cette politique, les gestionnaires des risques de Santé Canada et d'Environnement Canada se servent de l'information fournie par les évaluations de risque afin d'élaborer des méthodes appropriées pour gérer les risques des substances toxiques. Par ses activités d'évaluation des risques, le Programme des substances existantes constitue un mécanisme clé pour l'identification des substances candidates à la gestion des risques et contribue de façon importante à la prise de décision des gestionnaires des risques.

En vertu de l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999), une substance toxique est définie comme toute substance :

« ... qui pénètre ou peut pénétrer dans l'environnement en une quantité ou concentration ou dans des conditions de nature à :

  1. avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou sur la diversité biologique;
  2. mettre en danger l'environnement essentiel pour la vie;
  3. constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaine. »

Il a été reconnu que les substances toxiques qui sont à la fois persistantes et bioaccumulables nécessitaient une attention particulière et cela est démontré par les cadres législatifs et stratégiques nationaux et internationaux. Il peut être difficile, sinon impossible, de gérer ces substances ou de prendre des mesures correctives à l'égard de contaminations antérieures une fois qu'elles ont pénétré dans l'environnement. De plus, des régions éloignées et froides, comme l'Arctique canadien, peuvent servir de puits planétaires pour certains de ces composés, de sorte qu'il est important que le Canada agisse dans ce domaine tant à l'échelle nationale qu'internationale. Bien qu'il puisse être impossible de prévoir avec exactitude tous les effets de ces substances sur l'environnement, il demeure qu'elles peuvent avoir des incidences à long terme. L'application d'une démarche préventive à l'évaluation de ces substances s'avère particulièrement importante pour garantir l'absence d'effets nocifs sur l'environnement ou la diversité biologique.

Les substances qui satisfont aux critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999) sont prise en considération pour implanter des mesures de gestion des risques, comme des règlements, des lignes directrices ou des codes de pratiques, visant à gérer tout aspect de leur cycle de vie, de la recherche et du développement à la fabrication, l'utilisation, l'entreposage, le transport et l'élimination définitive.

En outre, lorsqu'une substance satisfait aux critères énoncés à l'article 64 et qu'elle est persistante et bioaccumulable et qu'elle résulte surtout d'activités humaines, elle fait l'objet d'une proposition de quasi-élimination en vertu de la LCPE (1999).

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur la gestion des risques sont disponibles sur la section Gestion de substances toxiques.

2.3 Rôle de la science en matière de prise de décisions

Les avis scientifiques pour l'efficacité gouvernementale (ASEG) ont été élaborés en mai 1999 par le Conseil d'experts en sciences et en technologie, un comité consultatif externe, en réponse à la demande du comité du Cabinet sur l'union économique d'examiner la façon dont le gouvernement pourrait mieux utiliser les avis scientifiques pour la prise de décisions et les explications sur la façon dont elles sont prises. Le rapport sur les ASEG dégage six principes clés :

  1. Repérage rapide des enjeux
  2. Intégration
  3. Qualité des activités et des avis scientifiques
  4. Incertitude et risque
  5. Transparence et ouverture
  6. Examen

Le rapport sur les ASEG a servi de fondement à l'élaboration d'une série de principes et de lignes directrices de portée gouvernementale sur l'utilisation efficace des connaissances scientifiques pour la prise de décisions en matière de politiques et de réglementation. Ces derniers sont présentés dans le document « Cadre applicable aux avis en matière de sciences et de technologie : Principes et lignes directrices pour une utilisation efficace des avis relatifs aux sciences et à la technologie dans le processus décisionnel du gouvernement » (Gouvernement du Canada, 2000). Ces principes et lignes directrices traitent de la façon dont les avis scientifiques devraient être sollicités et appliqués pour accroître la capacité des décideurs gouvernementaux à prendre des décisions éclairées. Bien que certains de ces principes et lignes directrices s'adressent exclusivement aux niveaux supérieurs de l'organisation ou visent les dernières étapes du processus de gestion des substances toxiques, plusieurs d'entre eux peuvent être directement appliqués au sein du Programme des substances existantes.

Les documents « Avis scientifiques pour l'efficacité gouvernementale : Recommandations d'application des principes d'ASEG » (CCST-EC, 1999) d'Environnement Canada et « Cadre décisionnel de Santé Canada pour la détermination, l'évaluation et la gestion des risques pour la santé » de Santé Canada (Santé Canada, 2000) démontrent la volonté du gouvernement du Canada de mettre en œuvre les principes des ASEG dans leur ensemble et de reconnaître leur importance pour les valeurs d'un ministère à vocation scientifique. Ces documents soulignent que l'évaluation scientifique est une discipline clé pour communiquer les connaissances scientifiques aux décideurs.

2.4 La précaution dans la prise de décisions scientifiques

Le gouvernement fédéral a préparé un document intitulé « Cadre d'application de la précaution dans un processus décisionnel scientifique en gestion du risque » (BCP, 2003). Ce document traite de l'application du principe de précaution sous ses diverses formes – « précaution », « le principe de précaution » ou « l'approche de précaution » – qui ont toutes trois éléments fondamentaux : la nécessité de prendre une décision, l'existence d'un risque de préjudice grave ou irréversible et l'absence de certitude scientifique absolue.

Comme cela est mentionné dans le document, l'application du principe de précaution influe surtout sur l'élaboration d'options et d'étapes décisionnelles pour la gestion scientifique des risques, est clairement liée à l'analyse scientifique et ne peut donc être faite sans une évaluation adéquate des facteurs scientifiques et des risques connexes. L'une des raisons fondamentales pour réaliser des évaluations des risques écologiques et pour la santé humaine est de fournir des évaluations des éléments scientifiques et des risques nécessaires pour faire valoir l'application du principe de précaution au processus décisionnel final, qui prend aussi en compte des valeurs sociales et éthiques et des considérations politiques et économiques.

Le principe de précaution ou « principe de prudence» est inscrit dans la LCPE (1999). On trouve dans le préambule de la loi « que le gouvernement du Canada ... s'engage à adopter le principe de la prudence, si bien qu'en cas de risques de dommages graves ou irréversibles, l'absence de certitude scientifique absolue ne doit pas servir de prétexte pour remettre à plus tard l'adoption de mesures effectives visant à prévenir la dégradation de l'environnement; ». En outre, le paragraphe 76(1) de la LCPE (1999) impose aux ministres d'appliquer la méthode du poids de la preuve et le principe de la prudence lorsqu'ils procèdent à l'évaluation des substances existantes et qu'ils en interprètent les résultats.

Comme cela est décrit de façon plus détaillée dans le document du BCP (2003), les principes généraux qui caractérisent la prise de décisions fondées sur le principe de précaution sont :

  • Le recours à la précaution est une approche légitime et particulière en matière de prise de décisions, notamment pour la gestion des risques.
  • Il est légitime que les décisions soient guidées par le niveau de protection contre les risques que choisit la société.
  • L'application de la précaution dans la gestion de risque, ainsi que la mesure choisie dans l'applicationde la précaution, doit reposer sur des données scientifiques solides et sur leur évaluation; les fondements scientifiques et les parties chargées de produire ces informations peuvent changer avec l'évolutiondu savoir.
  • Il devrait y avoir des mécanismes pour réévaluer le fondement des décisions et pour tenir éventuellement d'autres consultations dans un processus transparent tout en reconnaissant qu'il peut arriver que la réévaluation ne soit ni pratique ni productive.
  • Il convient d'assurer un degré élevé de transparence, une imputabilité claire et une participation significative du public.

| Table des matières | Page précédente | Page suivante |

Date de modification :