This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

New Substances Program - Operational Policies Manual

| TOC | Previous | Next |

3. Processing New Substances Notifications


3.D. Operational Policy for Maintaining Confidentiality of Substance Identities

Purpose

This document describes Environment Canada's operational policy for maintaining confidentiality of new substance identities under the Masked Name Regulations and the New Substances Notification Regulations (NSNR) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999).

Application

This policy applies to all new substances notifications.

Context

Under section 81 and section 106 of CEPA 1999, importers and manufacturers of new substances must provide prescribed information so that Environment Canada and Health Canada can assess the new substances to determine if they are "toxic" (in accordance with the criteria set out in section 64 of CEPA 1999) or capable of becoming "toxic." A substance is considered "new" if it is not listed on the Domestic Substances List (DSL). The information requirements are established in the NSNR.

According to section 313 of CEPA 1999, a notifier who provides information to the Minister of the Environment may also submit a request for the substance to be identified with a masked name to prevent disclosure of the specific identity of the substance when it becomes eligible for listing on the DSL or the Non-Domestic Substances List (NDSL).

When a non-confidential substance is added to the public portion of the DSL or NDSL, the substance's specific identity is revealed through publication of its:

  • Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) Registry Number (chemicals, polymers, biochemicals and biopolymers);
  • Culture Collection Number (living organisms) if applicable; or
  • International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Number (enzymes).

If a substance identity confidentiality request is accepted, the substance is available for publication on the confidential portion of the DSL or NDSL using an appropriate masked name. Masked names must be developed in accordance with the criteria established in the Masked Name Regulations.

Operational Policy

Information Review

Environment Canada will review each request for a masked name to determine whether it is valid. Notifiers will be advised if their request is not accepted and given an opportunity to provide additional justification in support of their request. If the supplementary information is not supplied or is not satisfactory, the request may be rejected, or alternatively, the company may choose to withdraw the notification.

If a request for a masked name is made for a substance that is already in the public domain, it will be rejected and the substance will be added to the public portion of the DSL or NDSL. Public commercial substances inventories include, but are not limited to, the United States Environmental Protection Agency Toxic Substances Control Act Inventory, the European Inventory of Existing Commercial Chemical Substances, and the Australian Inventory of Chemical Substances.

Identification of Masked Names

If a request for a masked name is valid, the masked name proposed by the notifier will be evaluated against the criteria in the Masked Name Regulations. If assessed to be consistent with these regulations, the masked name will be available for use in publications such as the DSL. If not, inconsistencies will be communicated to the notifier and an alternative name requested. Environment Canada will try to reach a consensus with the company on a masked name. If consensus is not reached, Environment Canada will publish a masked name that, in its opinion, will respect the confidentiality claim of the company while retaining the generic molecular structure of the substance. Alternatively, the company may choose to withdraw the notification.

Reversal of Substance Identity Confidentiality Claims

If a substance was listed on the confidential portion of the DSL or NDSL and Environment Canada learns that the identity of the substance was subsequently published on another public inventory, the substance will be transferred from the confidential portion to the public portion of the DSL or NDSL. The original notifier will be informed before this is done.

Use of Masked Names in Published Notices

When a request for a masked name has been accepted following the process stated above, the Department will use this masked name when and if there is publication of a new substance condition, prohibition, or significant new activity (SNAc) notice.

Related Information

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Programme des substances nouvelles - Manuel des politiques opérationnelles

| TdesM | Précédent | Suivant |

3. Traitement des déclarations de substances nouvelles


3.D. Politique opérationnelle concernant le maintien de la confidentialité de l'identité d'une substance

Objet

Le présent document décrit la politique opérationnelle établie par Environnement Canada concernant le maintien de la confidentialité de l'identité d'une substance en vertu du Règlement sur les dénominations maquillées et du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles (RRSN) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 (LCPE 1999).

Application

La présente politique s'applique à toutes les déclarations de substances nouvelles.

Contexte

En vertu des articles 81 et 106 de la LCPE 1999, les importateurs et les fabricants de nouvelles substances sont tenus de fournir les renseignements prescrits afin de permettre à Environnement Canada et à Santé Canada d'évaluer les nouvelles substances et de déterminer si elles sont « toxiques » (en regard des critères énoncées à l'article 64 de la LCPE 1999) ou susceptibles de le devenir. Une substance est considérée comme « nouvelle » lorsqu'elle ne figure pas à la Liste intérieure des substances (LIS). Le Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles (RRSN) énonce les exigences en matière de renseignements.

L'article 313 de la LCPE 1999 précise qu'un déclarant qui fournit des renseignements au ministre de l'Environnement peut en même temps demander que la substance soit désignée sous une dénomination maquillée afin d'éviter que son identité ne soit divulguée lorsque la substance deviendra admissible à la Liste intérieure des substances (LIS) ou à la Liste extérieure des substances (LES).

Lorsqu'une substance non confidentielle est inscrite à la partie de la LIS ou de la LES accessible au public, son identité est révélée par les renseignements suivants :

  • le numéro de registre du Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) (substances chimiques, polymères, substances biochimiques et biopolymères),
  • le numéro de collection de culture (organismes vivants), s'il y a lieu, ou
  • les numéros du International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (enzymes).

Si la demande de confidentialité de l'identité de la substance est acceptée, la substance est alors publiée dans la partie confidentielle de la LIS ou de la LES sous la dénomination maquillée appropriée. Les dénominations maquillées doivent être établies conformément aux critères énoncés dans le Règlement sur les dénominations maquillées.

Politique opérationnelle

Examen des renseignements

Environnement Canada examine chaque demande de dénomination maquillée pour en déterminer la validité. Lorsqu'une demande est refusée, le déclarant en est alors informé et il a la possibilité de fournir d'autres renseignements à l'appui de sa demande. S'il ne fournit pas les renseignements requis ou si les renseignements fournis sont incomplets, sa demande est à nouveau rejetée. L'entreprise peut également décider de retirer sa déclaration.

Lorsqu'un déclarant présente une demande de dénomination maquillée pour une substance qui est déjà dans le domaine public, sa demande est rejetée et la substance est alors inscrite dans la partie publique de la LIS ou de la LES. Les inventaires publics de substances commerciales comprennent, sans toutefois s'y limiter, le Toxic Substances Control Act Inventory de l'Agence américaine de protection de l'environnement (USEPA), l'inventaire européen des substances chimiques commerciales existantes et l'inventaire australien des substances chimiques.

Identification des dénominations maquillées

Lorsqu'une demande de dénomination maquillée est valide, la dénomination proposée par le déclarant est ensuite évaluée en regard des critères énoncés dans le Règlement sur les dénominations maquillées. Si elle est conforme aux dispositions du Règlement, la dénomination maquillée peut être utilisée dans des publications comme la LIS. Sinon, les évaluateurs doivent signaler les incohérences au déclarant et lui demander de choisir une autre dénomination. Environnement Canada tentera de convenir d'une nouvelle dénomination avec l'entreprise. En l'absence de consensus, Environnement Canada publiera une dénomination maquillée qui, à son avis, respecte le besoin de confidentialité de l'entreprise tout en conservant la structure moléculaire générique de la substance. L'entreprise peut par ailleurs décider de retirer la déclaration.

Rejet d'une demande de confidentialité de l'identité d'une substance

Si Environnement Canada apprend que l'identité d'une substance figurant à la partie confidentielle de la LIS ou de la LES a été publiée ultérieurement dans un autre inventaire public, il doit radier la substance de la partie confidentielle pour la transférer à la partie publique de la LIS ou de la LES. Le déclarant original sera informé du transfert avant que celui ci n'ait lieu.

Maquillage de dénominations dans les avis publiés

Lorsqu'une demande de dénomination maquillée est acceptée selon le processus ci-dessus, le ministère utilisera ce nom maquillé lors de la publication d'une condition, d'une interdiction, ou d'un avis de nouvelle activité (NAc).

Renseignements connexes

Date de modification :