This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the Proposed order to add the Kyoto greenhouse gases to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999)

Minister's Response to Concerns Raised by Canadian Chemical Producers' Association

Richard Paton
President and CEO
Canadian Chemical Producers' Association
Suite 805, 350 Sparks St.
Ottawa, ON K1R 7S8

Dear Mr Paton:

This is in response to your Notice of Objection, dated October 28, 2005, respecting the proposed Order to add the Kyoto Greenhouse Gases to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 in which you requested that I establish a Board of Review.

I have carefully considered the issues identified in your letter in determining whether to establish Board of Review. In my view, your letter has not provided any new information with respect to the nature and extent of the danger posed by the Kyoto Greenhouse gases which would thus warrant the establishment of a Board of Review in this case. Therefore, I will not establish a Board of Review.

Your letter raised a number of points concerning CEPA terminology and process which are beyond the criteria for considering a Board of Review but that are being considered as we move forward on this very important matter.

I appreciate your comments and look forward to the continued cooperation of the Canadian Chemical Producers' Association.

Yours sincerely,

Stéphane Dion

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition au décret proposé d'inscription des gaz à effet de serre (GES) de Kyoto à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Réponse du Ministre aux inquiétudes suscitées par l'Association canadienne des fabricants de produits chimiques

Richard Paton
President and CEO
Canadian Chemical Producers' Association
Suite 805, 350 Sparks St.
Ottawa, ON K1R 7S8

Cher Monsieur Paton :

La présente fait suite à votre avis d'opposition daté du 28 octobre 2005 à un projet de décret visant à ajouter les gaz à effet de serre visés par le Protocole de Kyoto à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)].

J'ai examiné soigneusement les problèmes soulevés dans votre lettre pour déterminer s’il est nécessaire d'établir une commission de révision. À mon avis, votre lettre n'a fourni aucun nouveau renseignement quant à la nature et à l'étendue du danger posé par les gaz à effet de serre visés par le Protocole de Kyoto pour justifier l'établissement d'une commission de révision dans ce cas. Par conséquent, je n'établirai pas de commission de révision.

Vous soulevez un certain nombre de points dans votre soumission concernant la terminologie et les processus de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] qui dépassent les critères pour envisager l'établissement d'une commission de révision, mais qui seront pris en considération durant le cheminement de cet important sujet.

Je vous remercie de vos commentaires et je me réjouis à l'idée de la coopération continue avec l'Association canadienne des fabricants de produits chimiques.

Je vous prie d'agréer mes salutations distinguées.

Stéphane Dion

Date de modification :