This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Disposal at sea permit No. 4543-2-03607, amended

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to section 127 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), the conditions of Disposal at Sea Permit No. 4543-2-03607 are amended as follows. The amendments are published on the CEPA Registry on Tuesday, March 24, 2015.

Condition 3.1 is revoked.

12.7 Linear shaped charges that are 1.0 m in length with a core load of 1200 grains per foot will be used to cut through the hull. A total of 4 one metre length linear shaped charges will comprise the load to cut a single 1 square metre hole in the hull. There will be 12 holes cut through the hull, and each will be delayed to detonate at different time periods.

12.8 Prior to the initiation of the explosive charges, seal-bombs will be deployed around the hull to deter fish from remaining near the ship.

12.9 Acoustic soundings and an underwater camera to confirm any acoustic readings, must be done from within 40 minutes up to 10 minutes prior to the initiation of the explosive charges to ensure that no fish schools are within 10.68 metres of the hull of the ship.

Jeffrey Corkum
Acting Regional Director
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Pacific and Yukon Region

On behalf of the Minister of the Environment

Signed on: March 19, 2015

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Permis d'immersion en mer no 4543-2-03607, modifié

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

Avis est par les présentes donné, conformément à l’article 127 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], que les conditions du permis d’immersion en mer no 4543-2-03607 sont modifiées comme suit. Les modifications sont publiées dans le Registre de la LCPE le mardi 24 mars 2015.

La condition 3.1 est révoquée.

12.7 Des charges linéaires qui ont une longueur de 1,0 m et dont la charge de l’âme est de 1 200 grains le pied seront utilisées pour couper la coque. Un total de quatre charges linéaires d’un mètre composera la charge pour percer un trou d’un mètre carré dans la coque. Il y aura 12 trous percés dans la coque et chacun sera retardé pour qu’il y ait détonation à des moments différents.

12.8 Avant le déclenchement des charges explosives, des bombes à phoques seront déployées près de la coque pour empêcher les poissons de demeurer à proximité du navire.

12.9 Des sondages à ultrasons et des lectures acoustiques confirmées par une caméra sous‑marine doivent être effectués dans la période de 40 minutes à 10 minutes avant le déclenchement des charges explosives afin de s’assurer qu’aucun banc de poissons ne se trouve à moins de 10,68 mètre de la coque du navire.

Le directeur régional intérimaire
Direction des activités de protection de l'environnement
Région du Pacifique et du Yukon

Jeffrey Corkum

Au nom de la ministre de l'Environnement

Signé le : 19 mars 2015

Date de modification :