This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Part I - Canada's Draft National Implementation Plan for the Stockholm Convention

Chapter 5: Measures to reduce total releases from unintentional production

Under the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs), Parties are to develop and endeavour to implement an action plan taking into account the obligations set out under Article 5 of the Convention, namely, measures to reduce or eliminate releases from unintentional production of POPs.

The Convention has defined certain persistent organic pollutants for reduction and ultimate elimination from anthropogenic sources in which these substances are unintentionally formed and released. These substances are polychlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins (PCDD, also referred to as dioxins); polychlorinated dibenzofurans (PCDF, also referred to as furans); hexachlorobenzene (HCB); and polychlorinated biphenyls (PCB).

5.1 Introduction

This Chapter is a summary of Canada's National Action Plan on Unintentionally Produced Persistent Organic Pollutants (UPOPs). It identifies Canada's plans for meeting the obligations outlined in the Convention. The Plan presents information on current releases, laws and policies, and the strategies that Canada has adopted in its domestic programs to reduce and virtually eliminate these four unintentionally produced POPs (UPOPs).

Under Article 5 of the Stockholm Convention, Parties are required to take measures, as summarized in Figure 5-1 on the following page, to reduce total releases of by-product emissions of Annex C chemicals from anthropogenic sources "with the goal of their continuing minimization and, where feasible, ultimate elimination".

In Canada, protection of the environment is a responsibility shared by all levels of government, as well as by industry, organized labour groups and individuals. Canadian programs in science and technology, and actions on UPOPs have focused mostly on dioxins and furans as the most information is available for these substances regarding formation, releases, prevention, and control.

5.2 Releases of UPOPs in Canada

Canada produced the Inventory of Releases: PCDD/PCDF, which includes multimedia releases from point, area and mobile sources compiled from various information sources. The most recently published version of this inventory (update of 2001) provides release estimates for the year 1999. In addition to the Inventory of Releases: PCDD/PCDF, the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI), a mandatory reporting program of pollutant releases and transfers under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), has provided Canadians with information on annual dioxins/furans and HCB releases from publicly-owned and private sector facilities since 2000.

Figure 5-1: Schematic Summarizing Obligations of Article 5 of the Stockholm Convention on POPs.

Summary* of Measures for Unintentionally produced Presistent Organic Pollutants
(UPOPs: PCDD/F, HCB, PCBs)
*See Convention Legal text for definitive details

  • Develop Action Plan with implementation schedule, 2 years after entry into force for Party
  • Inventory current and projected releases.
  • Evaluate laws and policies.
  • Develop and promote strategies and review every 5 years.
  • Require BAT** for new sources identified in plan and Part II Annex C 4 years after entry into force for Party
  • Promote BAT for existing sources Part II and Part III, Annex C, and for new sources Part III, Annex C.
  • Promote BEP*** for new and existing sources Part II and Part III, Annex C.

** Best Available Techniques (BAT): most effective and advanced activities to limit, prevent or reduce releases (process description, available techniques, and achievable release levels).
*** Best Environmental Practices (BEP): environmental control measures and strategies.

Sources - Part II Annex C Require BAT for new Promote BEP
  • Incinerators (municipal, hazardous, medical, sewage sludge)
  • Cement kilns - Hazardous wastes
  • Pulp production using elemental chlorines
  • Thermal metallurgical process (iron sintering, secondary copper, aluminium and zinc


Sources - Part III Annex C Promote BAT/BEP
  • Open burning of waste, residential burning
  • Wood, other biomass firing
  • Fossil fuelled utility, industrial boilers
  • "other" thermal metallurgical process (secondary lead, secondary steel, primary aluminium, primary base metals (i.e. copper, lead, nickel,zinc), magnesium)
  • Smouldering copper cables
  • Specific chemical processes (chlorophenols, chloranil), textile and leather dyeing and finishing
  • Cremaatoria, destruction animal carcasses
  • Motor vehicules, waste oil refineries, vehicle shredder plants

Annual releases of dioxins and furans to the atmosphere according to the Inventory of Releases: PCDD/PCDF were estimated to be 164 grams in 1999 (international toxic equivalent basis-ITEQ). This represents a 62 percent decline since 1990 when atmospheric releases were estimated to be 427 grams ITEQ per year. Releases to water have been virtually eliminated decreasing about 99 percent from an estimated 454 grams ITEQ in 1990 to three grams ITEQ by 1997. Releases to soil have remained unchanged at about 19 grams ITEQ per year.

The figure below presents the estimated percent contribution of identified source sectors to the total release of dioxins and furans to the atmosphere in 1999.

Figure 5-2: Estimated Percent Contribution of Sector Dioxins and Furans Releases to the Atmosphere (1999)
Figure 5-2: Estimated Percent Contribution of Sector Dioxins and Furans Releases to the Atmosphere (1999)

Comprehensive inventories of dioxins/furans and HCB releases to air are prepared annually by Environment Canada for reporting under the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe's (UNECE) 1998 Protocol on Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs Protocol) pursuant to the 1979 Convention on Long-Range Transboundary Air Pollution. The inventories include emissions to air from point, mobile and area sources, and build upon point source release data reported to the NPRI. The dioxins/furans and HCB inventories will also serve to meet requirements of the Stockholm Convention. The NPRI program is examining possible changes to the reporting requirements for dioxins/furans and HCB, as well as the possible addition of reporting of co-planar PCBs, to meet domestic and international reporting requirements.

Further decreases in releases of dioxins and furans to the atmosphere are anticipated through implementation of the Canada-wide Standards for Dioxins and Furans. This suite of standards was established for five priority sectors, and are anticipated to reduce overall annual dioxins and furans releases to the atmosphere as much as 60 percent by 2010 as compared to 1999 estimated releases. Management strategies outlined for other source sectors will contribute additional but, as yet, not quantified reductions.

5.3 Laws and Policies

Federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal laws provide the basis for management strategies and tools appropriate for a particular source sector.

  • The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) is the key legislation of the Canadian government for the management of toxic substances. This legislation contains provisions for the prevention, control and virtual elimination of persistent bioaccumulative toxic substances.
  • The Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA) provides for comprehensive consideration of new projects, which include potential new sources of UPOPs.
  • The Toxic Substances Management Policy of the Canadian government and the subsequent Policy for the Management of Toxic Substances of the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment have established a unified, national approach for the management of toxic substances that are persistent, bioaccumulative, and result primarily from human activity, namely, virtual elimination.

In various provinces and territories, legislation or regulations require the owners/operators of industrial facilities to obtain operating permits or approvals which can contain emission limits or requirements for any atmospheric pollutant, including hazardous air pollutants such as UPOPs. In most cases, permits or approvals are issued for a set length of time and must then be renewed. For new facilities, most provinces and territories require comprehensive environmental assessments and the equivalent of 'best available techniques'.

5.4 Strategies to Reduce Releases

Management of unintentionally produced POPs in Canada has focussed largely on releases of dioxins and furans. Reductions in HCB are expected to parallel reductions in dioxins/furans emissions. Less is known about the formation and release of unintentionally produced PCB. However, it is anticipated that measures to address releases of dioxins/furans may also contribute to the management of unintentionally produced PCB.

Reduction and elimination strategies are based on a mix of management tools including regulations, guidelines, environmental codes of practice, and other tools, such as education programs. Many of these instruments are based on the application of best available techniques and best environmental practices. Reductions strategies in Canada include:

  • regulations for pulp and paper mills (which have resulted in the virtual elimination of dioxins and furans releases to water from this source);
  • Canada-wide Standards for Dioxins and Furans emissions from five priority source sectors. These include:
    • Incinerators of municipal waste; hazardous waste; medical waste; and sewage sludge;
    • Coastal pulp and paper boilers burning salt-laden wood;
    • Iron sintering plants;
    • Steel manufacturing electric arc furnaces; and
    • Conical waste combustors of municipal waste.
    These standards include emission limits or activity phase-out, implementation timelines, and reporting mechanisms;
  • national guidelines for the use of hazardous and non-hazardous waste in cement kilns;
  • Environmental Code of Practice for Base Metals Smelters and Refineries to be published under CEPA 1999; and
  • education and technology change-out programs for more diffuse sources such as on-site residential combustion of household wastes and residential wood combustion.

5.5 Use of Best Available Techniques (BAT) and Best Environment Practices (BEP)

Through environmental assessment processes, measures are in place, which would in effect require BAT (i.e., BAT achievable performance) for new waste incinerators, cement kilns, pulp mills, and thermal metallurgical processes such as iron sintering plants. Requirements for BAT can also be incorporated through existing provincial and territorial licensing and assessment processes. In addition, through implementation of Canada-wide Standards, BAT is required for sources of priority in Canada such as steel manufacturing electric arc furnaces, and coastal pulp and paper boilers burning salt-laden wood. BAT and BEP are promoted through educational programs and technology change-out programs for other more diffuse sources such as on-site residential combustion of household wastes and residential wood combustion.

5.6 Use of Substitute or Modified Materials, Products and Processes

Pollution prevention as embodied in domestic laws and policies promotes the development and "use of substitute or modified materials, products and processes"16 to prevent the formation and release of UPOPs.

Early actions taken under CEPA to address releases of dioxins and furans to water from pulp and paper mills, encouraged the industry to switch to an elemental chlorine-free bleaching technology, thus minimizing the formation of dioxins and furans and preventing their release into the environment. The Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment Canada-wide Standards for Dioxins and Furans called for the development of Pollution Prevention Strategies. The sector strategies developed provide recommended options or tools aimed at the minimization of air pollutants for jurisdictions to consider and use in whole or in part.

5.7 Education, Training and Awareness Building

Information materials on legislation, policies, management strategies, and the environmental and human health effects of toxic substances are available to members of the public through various media including the internet. Education and training programs are used to inform and influence individual behaviour in specific areas where individual citizens can contribute to the avoidance or minimization of toxic substances releases (e.g., on-site residential waste combustion).

Awareness has been built through the development of management strategies such as Canada-wide Standards for Dioxins and Furans. The Canada-wide Standards process employed multi-stakeholder advisory groups, including representatives of industry, environmental non-government organizations, labour groups, and provincial, territorial and federal governments, to provide input and advice on the targets and substance of each standard.

5.8 Implementation Schedule and Strategy Review

Schedules for implementation have been established where appropriate through the strategies to reduce releases. Canada will review its strategies for reducing and eliminating releases from unintentional production on a five year basis. In addition, Canada plans to update its National Action Plan every 5 years, subject to decisions of the Conference of the Parties (COP) and any other relevant factors.

5.9 Conclusion

Significant strides in the reduction and virtual elimination of dioxins and furans have been achieved to date in Canada. Building on these efforts, and as documented in this Plan, Canada is positioned to further contribute toward the reduction or elimination of POPs releases from unintentional production.


16 See Article 5 (c) of the Stockholm Convention that states that each Party shall : "Promote the development and, where it deems appropriate, require the use of substitute or modified material, products and processes to prevent the formation and release of the chemicals listed in Annex C. . ."

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Partie I : Plan national de mise en oeuvre du Canada en vertu de la Convention de Stockholm

Chapitre 5. Mesures propres à réduire le volume total des rejets résultant d'une production non intentionnelle

En vertu de la Convention de Stockholm, les Parties sont tenues d'élaborer et de s'efforcer d'exécuter un plan d'action qui tient compte des obligations énoncées à l'article 5 de la Convention, à savoir des mesures propres à réduire ou à éliminer les rejets résultant d'une production non intentionnelle de POP.

La Convention fait état de certains POP dont il faut réduire et éliminer à terme les sources anthropiques qui produisent et rejettent des substances non intentionnellement. Celles-ci sont les polychlorodibenzo-p-dioxines (PCDD, aussi appelées dioxines); les polychlorodibenzofurannes (PCDF, aussi appelés furannes); l'hexachlorobenzène (HCB); les biphényles polychlorés (BPC).

5.1 Introduction

Le présent chapitre est un résumé du Plan d'action national du Canada relatif aux polluants organiques persistants produits non intentionnellement (POPPNI). On y expose les initiatives qu'a prises le Canada pour s'acquitter des obligations énoncées dans la Convention. Le PAN contient des renseignements sur les rejets, lois et politiques actuels et présente les stratégies que le Canada a adoptées dans ses programmes nationaux pour réduire les quatre polluants organiques persistants produits non intentionnellement (POPPNI) susmentionnés et procéder à leur quasi-élimination.

En vertu de l'article 5 de la Convention de Stockholm, les Parties sont tenues de prendre des mesures, comme le résume la figure 5-1 à la page suivante, propres à réduire le volume total des rejets d'origine anthropique d'émissions de sous-produits des substances chimiques inscrites à l'annexe C « dans le but de réduire leur volume au minimum et, si possible, de les éliminer à terme ».

Au Canada, les programmes scientifiques et technologiques ainsi que les mesures visant les POPPNI sont surtout axés sur les dioxines et les furannes, car c'est sur ces substances que l'on a le plus d'informations concernant la formation, les rejets, la prévention et la réduction.

5.2 Rejets de POPPNI au Canada

Le Canada produit l'Inventaire des rejets de dioxines et de furannes dans lequel sont compilés grâce à des données de diverses provenances les rejets de sources ponctuelles, diffuses et mobiles de nombreux secteurs. La version la plus récente (mise à jour de 2001) contient une estimation des rejets pour l'année 1999. À l'Inventaire des rejets de dioxines et de furannes s'ajoute l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP), programme de déclaration obligatoire des rejets et des transferts de polluants établi en vertu de la LCPE 1999 et qui, depuis 2000, fournit aux Canadiens des renseignements sur les rejets annuels de dioxines, de furannes et d'HCB attribuables aux installations des secteurs public et privé.

Figure 5-1 : Résumé schématique des obligations énoncées à l'article 5 de la Convention de Stockholm sur les POP.

RÉSUMÉ* DES MESURES visant les POPPNI
(dioxines, furannes, HCB, BPC)
*Consulter le texte officiel de la Convention pour des informations complètes

  • Élaborer un plan d'action comportant un calendrier de mise en oeuvre deux ans après l'entrée en vigueur de la Convention à l'égard de la Partie.
  • Établir un inventaire des rejets actuels et projetés.
  • Évaluer les lois et les politiques.
  • Élaborer et promouvoir des stratégies et procéder à leur examen tous les cinq ans.
  • Exiger le recours aux MTD** pour les sources nouvelles mentionnées dans le PNMO et à la partie II de l'annexe C de la Convention quatre ans après son entrée en vigueur à l'égard de la Partie.
  • Encourager le recours aux MTD pour les sources existantes énumérées aux parties II et III de I'annexe C et pour les sources nouvelles figurant à la partie III de la même annexe.
  • Encourager le recours aux MPE*** pour les sources nouvelles et existantes énumérées aux parties II et III de l'annexe C.

**Meilleures techniques disponibles : stade de développement le plus avancé et le plus efficace des activités visant à limiter ou à prévenir les rejets (description de procédés, techniques disponibles, niveaux de rejets atteignables).
***Meilleures pratiques environnementales : stratégies et mesures de réglementation environnementales.

Sources - Partie II
Annexe C
Exiger le recours aux MTD
Encourager le recours aux MPE
  • Incinérateurs (déchets municipaux, dangereux et médicaux, boues d'épuration)
  • Fours en ciment brûlant des déchets dangereux
  • Production de pâte utilisant le chlore élémentaire
  • Procédés thermiques de l'industrie métallurgique (frittage de l'industrie métallurgique, production secondaire de cuivre, d'aluminium et de zinc)
Sources - Partie III
Annexe C
Encourager le recours aux MTD et aux MPE
  • Combustion de déchets à ciel ouvert et à domicile
  • Brûlage de bois et de combustibles issus de la biomasse
  • Combustion de combustibles fossiles dans les chaudières de centrales et les chaudières industrielles
  • « Autres » procédés thermiques de l'industrie métallurgique (production secondaire du plomb et de l'acier, production primaire de l'aluminium, des métaux communs (c.-à-d. le cuivre, le plomb, le nickel, le zinc), du magnésium)
  • Chauffage lent de câbles en cuivre
  • Certains procédés chimiques (chlorophénols, chloranile), teinture et finition des textiles et du cuir
  • Fours crématoires, destruction de carcasses d'animaux
  • Véhicules à moteur, raffineries d'huiles usées, installations de broyage des véhicules

D'après l'Inventaire des rejets de dioxines et de furannes, les rejets annuels de dioxines et de furannes dans l'atmosphère ont été évalués à 164 grammes en 1999 (fondés sur les facteurs internationaux d'équivalence toxique ou ET-I). Cela représente une baisse de 62 p. 100 depuis 1990, année où l'on avait évalué à 427 grammes ET-I les rejets annuels dans l'atmosphère. Les rejets dans l'eau ont été pratiquement éliminés puisqu'ils ont diminué d'environ 99 p. 100, étant passé de 454 grammes ET-I en 1990 à trois grammes ET-I en 1997. Les rejets dans le sol sont demeurés inchangés, se chiffrant à quelque 19 grammes ET-I par année.

La figure ci-dessous présente une estimation en pourcentage des rejets de dioxines et de furannes attribuables à des secteurs sources déterminés par rapport au total des rejets de ces substances dans l'atmosphère en 1999.

Figure 5-2 : Estimation en pourcentage des rejets de dioxines et de furannes dans l'atmosphère par secteur (1999)
Figure 5-2 : Estimation en pourcentage des rejets de dioxines et de furannes dans l'atmosphère par secteur (1999)
[Cliquez pour agrandir]

Chaque année, des inventaires complets des rejets dans l'atmosphère de dioxines et de furannes et d'HCB sont produits par Environnement Canada pour être présentés dans le cadre du Protocole sur les POP de 1998 de la CEE-ONU, conformément à la Convention sur la pollution atmosphérique transfrontalière à longue distance de 1979. Les inventaires comprennent les émissions rejetées dans l'atmosphère par des sources ponctuelles, mobiles et diffuses et ont pour base les données sur les rejets de sources ponctuelles déclarés à l'INRP. Ces inventaires aident en outre le Canada à respecter les obligations énoncées dans la Convention de Stockholm. Afin de satisfaire aux obligations de déclaration nationales et internationales, les responsables du programme de l'INRP examinent actuellement la possibilité de modifier les exigences de déclaration relatives aux dioxines, aux furannes et à l'HCB ainsi que d'imposer la déclaration des BPC coplanaires.

On prévoit que les normes pancanadiennes relatives aux dioxines et aux furannes permettront de réduire encore davantage les rejets de ces substances dans l'atmosphère. La série de normes a été établie à l'intention de cinq secteurs prioritaires, et, d'ici 2010, on pense pouvoir effectuer une réduction des rejets annuels de dioxines et de furannes dans l'atmosphère allant jusqu'à 60 p. 100 par rapport aux rejets estimatifs en 1999. Les stratégies de gestion élaborées à l'intention d'autres secteurs sources devraient entraîner des réductions additionnelles, qui n'ont cependant pas encore été évaluées.

5.3 Lois et politiques

Les lois fédérales, provinciales, territoriales et municipales constituent le fondement des stratégies et des outils de gestion adaptés à un secteur source particulier.

  • La LCPE 1999 est la principale loi dont dispose le gouvernement canadien pour assurer la gestion des substances toxiques. Cette loi contient des dispositions relatives à la prévention, à la réduction et à la quasi-élimination des substances toxiques persistantes et bioaccumulables.
  • La Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (LCEE) prévoit un examen complet des nouveaux projets, y compris les sources nouvelles possibles de POPPNI.
  • La PGST du gouvernement canadien et, plus tard, la politique du même nom du CCME ont établi un cadre qui permet une uniformisation nationale de la gestion des substances toxiques persistantes, bioaccumulables et résultant principalement d'une activité humaine, à savoir la quasi-élimination.

Certaines provinces et certains territoires appliquent une loi ou un règlement obligeant le propriétaire ou l'exploitant d'une installation industrielle à obtenir un permis d'exploitation ou une approbation qui peut comporter des limites d'émissions ou des exigences à l'égard de n'importe quel polluant atmosphérique, y compris les polluants atmosphériques dangereux tels que les POPPNI. En général, les permis et les approbations sont accordés pour une période déterminée et doivent ensuite être renouvelés. Dans le cas d'une nouvelle installation, la plupart des provinces et des territoires exigent des évaluations environnementales complètes et le recours aux « meilleures techniques disponibles » ou l'équivalent.

5.4 Stratégies de réduction des rejets

La gestion des POPPNI au Canada s'est surtout concentrée sur les rejets de dioxines et de furannes. Selon les prévisions, les réductions des rejets d'HCB devraient suivre une courbe parallèle à celles des émissions de dioxines et de furannes. On en sait moins sur la formation et le rejet des BPC produits non intentionnellement. Toutefois, on prévoit que les mesures prises pour lutter contre les rejets de dioxines et de furannes faciliteront aussi la gestion des BPC produits non intentionnellement.

Les stratégies de réduction et d'élimination sont fondées sur une combinaison d'outils de gestion, notamment les règlements, les lignes directrices et les codes de pratique environnementaux, et d'autres outils, tels que les programmes d'éducation. Ces outils s'appuient souvent sur l'application des meilleures techniques disponibles et des meilleures pratiques environnementales. Voici quelques-unes des stratégies de réduction du Canada :

  • Les règlements visant les fabriques de pâtes et papiers (qui ont entraîné la quasi-élimination des rejets de dioxines et de furannes dans l'eau attribuables à cette source).
  • Les normes pancanadiennes relatives aux émissions de dioxines et de furannes dans cinq secteurs sources prioritaires, soit :
    • les incinérateurs de déchets municipaux, dangereux ou médicaux et de boues d'épuration,
    • les chaudières de pâtes et papiers du littoral brûlant du bois chargé de sel,
    • les usines de frittage du fer,
    • les fours électriques à arc dédiés à la fabrication d'acier,
    • les chambres coniques de combustion des déchets municipaux.
    Ces normes comprennent des limites d'émission ou l'élimination progressive des activités, des calendriers de mise en oeuvre et des mécanismes de rapport.
  • Les lignes directrices nationales relatives à l'utilisation des déchets dangereux et non dangereux dans les fours à ciment ;
  • Le code de pratique environnemental à l'intention des fonderies de métaux communs et des affineries, qui sera publié en vertu de la LCPE 1999.
  • Les programmes d'éducation et de remplacement progressif des techniques à l'intention des sources plus diffuses, telles que l'incinération à domicile des ordures ménagères et le chauffage au bois résidentiel.

5.5 Recours aux meilleures techniques disponibles (MTD) et aux meilleures pratiques environnementales (MPE)

Les méthodes d'évaluation environnementale ont entraîné la mise en place de mesures qui exigent en fait le recours aux MTD (c.-à-d. rendement réalisable grâce aux MTD) pour les nouveaux incinérateurs de déchets, fours à ciment, usines de pâtes et papiers et procédés thermiques de l'industrie métallurgique (tels qu'en emploient les usines de frittage du fer). L'obligation d'appliquer les MTD peut aussi être intégrée aux mécanismes provinciaux et territoriaux existants d'évaluation et de délivrance des permis. De plus, en instaurant des normes pancanadiennes, on exige le recours aux MTD pour les sources prioritaires au Canada, telles que les fours électriques à arc dédiés à la fabrication d'acier et les chaudières de pâtes et papiers du littoral brûlant du bois chargé de sel. Des programmes d'éducation et de remplacement progressif des techniques encouragent le recours aux MTD et aux MPE pour les sources plus diffuses telles que l'incinération à domicile des ordures ménagères et le chauffage résidentiel au bois.

5.6 Recours à des matériels, produits et procédés modifiés ou de remplacement

Le type de prévention de la pollution inscrit dans les lois et politiques nationales encourage la création et « l'utilisation de matériels, produits et procédés modifiés ou de remplacement »17 pour prévenir la formation et le rejet de POPPNI.

Les mesures rapides prises en vertu de la LCPE pour réduire les dioxines et les furannes rejetés dans l'eau par les fabriques de pâtes et papiers ont encouragé l'industrie à adopter un procédé de blanchiment sans chlore élémentaire, ce qui a fait baisser la formation de dioxines et de furannes et prévenu leur rejet dans l'environnement. Les normes pancanadiennes relatives aux dioxines et aux furannes du CCME exigent l'élaboration de stratégies de prévention de la pollution. Les stratégies sectorielles qui ont été établies fournissent aux autorités des recommandations quant aux moyens ou outils qu'elles peuvent adopter, en tout ou en partie, pour réduire les polluants atmosphériques.

5.7 Éducation, formation et sensibilisation

Du matériel d'information sur les lois, les politiques, les stratégies de gestion et les effets sur la santé humaine et l'environnement des substances toxiques est mis à la disposition du public par divers moyens, dont l'Internet. Des programmes d'éducation et de formation sont employés pour informer la population et influencer les comportements individuels dans les domaines particuliers où chaque citoyen peut contribuer à réduire ou à éliminer les rejets de substances toxiques (p. ex., l'incinération des déchets à domicile).

Des stratégies de gestion telles que les normes pancanadiennes relatives aux dioxines et aux furannes ont concouru à sensibiliser les Canadiens. Les normes pancanadiennes ont été élaborées par des groupes consultatifs multipartites, y compris des représentants de l'industrie, des organisations environnementales non gouvernementales, des groupes de travailleurs et des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, qui ont fourni des indications et des conseils sur les objectifs et la substance de chaque norme.

5.8 Calendriers de mise en oeuvre et examen des stratégies

Des calendriers de mise en oeuvre ont été établis en fonction des stratégies de réduction des rejets, le cas échéant. Tous les cinq ans, le Canada examinera ses stratégies de réduction et d'élimination des rejets résultant d'une production non intentionnelle et, en tenant compte des décisions de la CdP et de tout autre facteur pertinent, actualisera son Plan d'action national.

5.9 Conclusion

Jusqu'à présent, le Canada a fait des progrès importants dans la réduction et la quasi-élimination des dioxines et des furannes. En faisant fond sur ces réalisations et en suivant le plan présenté ici, le Canada est bien placé pour réduire encore davantage ou éliminer les rejets de POP résultant d'une production non intentionnelle.


17 Voir le paragraphe 5c) de la Convention de Stockholm, qui stipule que chaque Partie doit : Encourager la mise au point et, si elle le juge approprié, exiger l'utilisation de matériels, produits et procédés modifiés ou de remplacement pour prévenir la formation et le rejet des substances chimiques inscrites à l'annexe C.

Date de modification :