Toxic Substances List

Toxic Substances List - Updated Schedule 1 as of November 6, 2013

CEPA 1999 provides the Government of Canada instruments including regulations to protect the environment and human health, and establishes strict timelines for managing substances found toxic under the Act. Substances that are determined to be "toxic" under CEPA 1999 are recommended for addition to the List of Toxic Substances (Schedule 1) of the Act. Preventive or control actions such as regulations, guidelines or codes of practice, are then considered for any aspect of the substance's life cycle from the research and development stage through manufacture, use, storage, transport and ultimate disposal or recycling. Furthermore, substances determined to be "toxic", persistent, bioaccumulative, anthropogenic, and which are not naturally occurring radionuclides or naturally occurring inorganic substances shall be proposed for implementation of virtual elimination under Section 65 (3) of CEPA 1999.

Determining what is Toxic

Under CEPA 1999, both the Minister of the Environment and the Minister of Health are responsible for developing a list of substances which must be assessed in a timely manner to determine if they are "toxic" or capable of becoming "toxic". This list is known as the Priority Substances List (PSL). CEPA 1999 requires that substances on the PSL be assessed within 5 years of their addition to the List. Environment Canada and Health Canada have a legal obligation to determine if these PSL substances are "toxic" as defined in Section 64 of the Act. "Toxic" is defined in terms of risks that substances pose to the environment or to human health.

A substance that is found to be "toxic" under section 64 of CEPA 1999 - through a Priority Substances List assessment of the substance, a screening assessment, or the review of a decision by another jurisdiction - is recommended for addition to the List of Toxic Substances (Schedule 1) of CEPA 1999.

Substances may also be added to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999 through section 90(1) of the Act without having gone through a Priority Substances List assessment, a screening assessment, or the review of another jurisdiction's decision if, on the recommendation of the Ministers of Environment and Health, the Governor in Council is satisfied that a substance is toxic. A substance is "CEPA-toxic equivalent" if it satisfies the definition of "CEPA-toxic" as a result of a systematic, risk-based assessment. Such assessments can include determinations made under other federal statutes, or can incorporate appropriate elements of assessments done by or for provinces or territories, international organizations or other appropriate scientific authorities.

The updated Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999 includes substances considered "toxic" as a result of:


Contact:
Risk Management Programs
Environment Canada
Place Vincent Massey (PVM)
351 St Joseph Boulevard
Gatineau, Quebec
Canada
K1A 0H3

Email: GR-RM@ec.gc.ca

Environment Canada's Management of Toxic Substances Web Site

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Liste des substances toxiques

Liste des substances toxiques -- Annexe 1 telle que mise à jour le 6 novembre 2013

La LCPE (1999) fournit au gouvernement du Canada des outils incluant des règlements pour protéger l'environnement ou la santé des humains et établit des échéanciers rigoureux pour la gestion des substances jugées toxiques selon la loi. On recommande d'ajouter à la Liste des substances toxiques (l'Annexe 1) les substances déclarées « toxiques » selon la loi. Des mesures de gestion des risques telles que, des règlements, des lignes directrices ou des codes de pratique sont considérées afin de faire un contrôle à tous les stades du cycle de vie d'une substance, de la recherche et développement à la fabrication, l'utilisation, l'entreposage, le transport et l'élimination finale ou le recyclage. De plus, les substances désignées « toxiques », persistantes, bioaccumulables, d'origine anthropique et qui ne constituent pas des radionucléides naturels non plus que de substances naturelles inorganiques, seront alors proposées pour la réalisation de la quasi-éliminée selon l'article 65 (3)de la LCPE (1999).

Quelles substances sont considérées comme « toxiques »?

En vertu de la LCPE (1999), les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé ont la responsabilité d'élaborer une liste des substances qui doivent faire l'objet d'une évaluation dans les délais prescrits pour déterminer si elles sont « toxiques » ou capables de devenir « toxiques ». Cette liste s'appelle la Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire (LSIP). La LCP Eexige que les substances figurant sur la LSIP soient évaluées moins de 5 ans après leur addition à la liste. Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont l'obligation légale de déterminer si ces substances qui figurent sur la LSIP sont « toxiques » aux termes de l'article 64 de la Loi. Le terme « toxique » est défini en fonction des risques que ces substances présentent pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine.

Les substances jugées « toxiques » selon l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999), par le moyen d'une évaluation d'une substance inscrite sur la liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire, d'une évaluation préalable ou de la révision d'une décision d'une autre instance, sont recommandées pour fins d'ajout à la Liste des substances toxiques (Annexe 1).

L'article 90(1) de la Loi prévoit que des substances peuvent être ajoutées à la liste des substances toxiques de l'annexe I de la Loi sans avoir subi une évaluation d'une substance inscrite sur la liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire, une évaluation préalable ou une révision d'une décision d'une autre instance si, à la suite d'une recommandation des ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé, le gouverneur en conseil est convaincu qu'une substance est toxique. Une substance est «équivalente à toxique selon la LCPE » si elle correspond à la définition de «toxique selon la LCPE » par suite d'une évaluation systématique fondée sur les risques. Les évaluations de ce genre peuvent comprendre les déterminations faites conformément à d'autres lois fédérales ou des éléments pertinents d'évaluations effectués par ou pour des provinces ou territoires, des organisations internationales ou d'autres autorités scientifiques compétentes.

La version à jour de l'annexe 1 de la LCPE 1999 présente les substances considérées comme « toxiques ». Ces substances :


Personne-ressource :
Programmes de gestion des risques
Environnement Canada
Place Vincent Massey (PVM) - 13e étage
351, boulevard St Joseph
Gatineau, Québec
Canada
K1A 0H3

Courriel : GR-RM@ec.gc.ca

Site Web de la gestion des substances toxiques d'Environnement Canada