This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the Proposed Order to add respirable particulate matter less than or equal to 10 microns (PM10) to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999)

Minister's Second Response to Concerns Raised by Canadian Trucking Alliance

May 09, 2001

Mr. David H. Bradley
Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Trucking Alliance
130 Slater Street, Suite 1025
Ottawa ON K1P 6E2

Dear Mr. Bradley:

I am writing further to my reply of April 9 to your letters of July 12 and August 8, 2000, concerning the federal government' proposed order to add particulate matter less than 10 microns in diameter (PM 10) to the List of Toxic Substances of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999) that was published in the Canada Gazette on June 10, 2000.

The federal government received a total of five submissions during the public consultation period. All comments were fully and carefully considered before the government determined its final position on PM 10. I firmly believe that the weight of the scientific evidence continues to support our decision to declare PM 10 toxic under CEPA, 1999. The Final Order to add PM 10 to the List was published today in the Canada Gazette.

A summary of the federal governments response to the comments can be viewed in the Regulatory impact Assessment Statement. This Statement and the Final Order are published in the Canada Gazette and can be found at the Web site http://canada.gc.ca/gazette/gazette_e.html.

I appreciate the Canadian Trucking Alliance' views in this matter.

Yours sincerely,
David Anderson, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition au décret proposé d'inscription des particules inhalables de 10 microns ou moins (PM10) à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Deuxième réponse du Ministre aux inquiétudes suscitées par l'Alliance canadienne du camionnage

Le 9 mai 2001

Mr. David H. Bradley
Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Trucking Alliance
130 Slater Street, Suite 1025
Ottawa ON K1P 6E2

Cher Monsieur Bradley :

Je vous écris pour faire suite à ma réponse du 9 avril à vos lettres datées du 12 juillet et du 8 août 2000, en ce qui concerne le projet de décret du gouvernement fédéral pour ajouter les matières particulaires de 10 microns ou moins (MP10) à la Liste des substances toxiques de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] qui a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada le 10 juin 2000.

Le gouvernement fédéral a reçu un total de cinq soumissions au cours de la période de commentaires du public. Tous les commentaires ont été examinés attentivement et soigneusement avant que le gouvernement ne décide de sa position finale sur les MP10. Je crois fermement que le poids de la preuve scientifique continue de soutenir notre décision de déclarer les MP10 comme étant toxiques en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Le décret final visant à ajouter les MP10 à la Liste a été publié aujourd'hui dans la Gazette du Canada.

Un résumé de la réponse du gouvernement fédéral aux commentaires se trouve dans le Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation. Ce Résumé et le décret final sont publiés dans la Gazette du Canada et sont disponibles sur le site Internet à l'adresse http://www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html.

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait part des préoccupations de l'Alliance canadienne du camionnage.


Je vous prie d'agréer mes salutations distinguées.

David Anderson, c.p., député

Date de modification :