This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - CEPA National Advisory Committee

Introduction

Section 6 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 provides that the CEPA National Advisory Committee (NAC) be the main intergovernmental forum for the purpose of enabling national action and avoiding duplication in regulatory activity among governments within Canada.

Membership, Chair and Secretariat

In addition to an Environment Canada and a Health Canada representative, the committee provides for a representative of each of the provinces and territories as well as up to six representatives of Aboriginal governments. CEPA 1999 defines Aboriginal government as a government established under an agreement with the Crown and that is empowered to enact environmental protection laws.

Current membership

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉE - Le Comité consultatif national de la LCPE (1999)

Introduction

L'article 6 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) prévoit la création d'un Comité consultatif national (CCN) de la LCPE agissant à titre de principal forum intergouvernemental dans le but de rendre réalisable une action nationale et d'éviter le dédoublement des règlements pris par les gouvernements au Canada.

Composition, présidence et secrétariat

Outre un représentant d'Environnement Canada et de Santé Canada, le Comité comprend un représentant de chacune des provinces et chaque territoire; il comprend également, au plus, six représentants des gouvernements autochtones. Selon la définition qu'en donne la LCPE (1999), un gouvernement autochtone est un gouvernement établi en vertu d'un accord avec la Couronne et qui a le pouvoir d'édicter des lois sur la protection de l'environnement.

Composition actuelle

Date de modification :