Notice to anyone engaged in the use of methyl bromide - June 2017

Department of the Environment
Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

The Parties to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer have agreed to phase out the production and consumption of methyl bromide. The Ninth Meeting of the Parties decided to allow for possible exemptions to the production and consumption phase-out dates in order to meet the marketplace demand for critical uses.

The Parties have established criteria and a procedure to assess nominations for critical use exemptions. Canada, as a Party to the Montreal Protocol, is expected to ensure that the requirements of this international treaty are implemented in Canada.

This notice is made pursuant to subparagraphs 68(a)(ix) and 68(a)(xiii) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. The annex of this notice describes the criteria, process and schedule that the Department of the Environment will use to review applications it receives from persons seeking an exemption for a critical use of methyl bromide under the Montreal Protocol.

Under the Montreal Protocol, a Party to the Protocol may submit a nomination to seek an exemption to the production and consumption phase-out dates for methyl bromide.  A Party makes such a nomination based upon applications it receives from persons seeking to use methyl bromide within its borders. If such a nomination is accepted by a decision of the Parties to the Protocol, the Party that is being granted the exemption may authorise domestic applicants to manufacture, import and use the methyl bromide after the phase-out date according to the terms of the decision. The decision is implemented through the domestic legislation of the Party.

Persons seeking to engage in the use of methyl bromide in Canada are hereby invited to submit tothe Minister, before July 29, 2017 and through the process described in the annex to this notice, their application towards Canada making a nomination under the Montreal Protocol for a critical use exemption for the years 2019 and 2020. The use of methyl bromide existing in Canada before the phase-out date or the use of recycled or reclaimed methyl bromide does not require such an application.

Pursuant to section 313 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, any person who provides information in response to this notice may submit, with their information, a written request that it be treated as confidential.

Nathalie Morin
Chemical Production Division

On behalf of the Minister of the Environment


Annex

  1. Introduction
  2. Criteria for “critical” use
  3. Process
  4. Timetable
  5. Information requirements
  6. Canadian assessment of nominations

I. Introduction

The Fourth Meeting of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer agreed to add methyl bromide to the list of ozone-depleting substances subject to control under the Montreal Protocol. The Seventh Meeting of the Parties agreed to phase out the production and consumptionFootnote 1 of methyl bromide by January 1, 2010. The Ninth Meeting of the Parties revised the phase-out date to January 1, 2005 and established interim reduction steps.

The Ninth Meeting of the Parties agreed to allow possible exemptions to this production and consumption phase-out date in order to meet the marketplace demand for uses that are considered critical. The Parties established (Decision IX/6) criteria to assess nominations for critical use exemptions. The Parties also agreed (Decision IX/7) to allow the use of up to 20 tonnes of methyl bromide, in case of emergency.

Canada, as a Party to the Montreal Protocol, is expected to ensure that the requirements of this international treaty are implemented within its borders. Canada has developed a domestic control program to do so. In 1995, Canada’s Ozone Layer Protection Program was revised and it was decided to phase out methyl bromide by January 1, 2001.

In 1998, Canada’s major trading partners changed their position regarding their domestic phase-out dates. Following this, Canada also changed its position and decided to adopt the international phase-out schedule.

II. Criteria for “critical” use

For the implementation in Canada of the requirements under the Montreal Protocol, a use of methyl bromide may qualify as critical only if the following conditions are met:

  1. the specific use is critical because the lack of availability of methyl bromide for that use would result in a significant market disruptionFootnote 2; and
  2. there are no technically and economically feasible alternatives or substitutes availableFootnote 3 to the user that are acceptable from the standpoint of environment and health and are suitable to the crops and circumstances of the nomination.

Furthermore, any consumption, of methyl bromide for critical uses after the phase-out date may be permitted only if all of the following conditions are met:

  1. all technically and economically feasible steps have been taken to minimize the critical use and any associated emission of methyl bromide;
  2. the methyl bromide is not available in sufficient quantity and quality from existing stocks of banked or recycled methyl bromide;
  3. it is demonstrated that an appropriate effort is being made to evaluate, commercialize and secure national regulatory approval of alternatives and substitutes. It must be demonstratedFootnote 4 that research programs are in place to develop and deploy alternatives and substitutes.

III. Process

The process that leads to decisions on critical use exemptions consists of a domestic process and an international process.

The domestic process is as follows:

  1. An applicant (person/organisation) seeking to engage in the production or consumption of methyl bromide in Canada submits an application to the Minister of the Environment for Canada to nominate an exemption for a critical use of methyl bromide under the Montreal Protocol. This application must fulfil the information requirements identified in section V of the present document.

    Contact Information

    Applications must be received at the following address by July 29, 2017:

    Head, Ozone Protection Programs
    Chemical Production Division
    Environment and Climate Change Canada
    351 St-Joseph Blvd, 19th Floor
    Gatineau, Quebec  K1A 0H3
    ec.gestionhalocarbures-halocarbonsmanagement.ec@canada.ca

  2. Environment and Climate Change Canada sends the application to the Methyl Bromide Critical Use Advisory Committee. The Advisory Committee consists of independent experts who are knowledgeable on the alternatives available and pest problems faced by the sector for which the exemption is requested.

    Advisory Committee

    The Advisory Committee will, at a minimum, consist of representatives from:

    • Environment and Climate Change Canada - Chair
    • Agricultural Expert
    • Structural Expert
    • Environmental Non-Governmental Organization
    • Industry Representative
    • Industry Representative
    • Agro-economist

    The purpose of the Advisory Committee is to evaluate applications and forward its recommendations to Environment and Climate Change Canada.

  3. The Advisory Committee submits its recommendation to Environment and Climate Change Canada, including conditions on how the substance should be used.
  4. Environment and Climate Change Canada makes a decision, in consultation with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada when an agricultural sector is implicated, and informs the applicant.
  5. The applicant can appeal to the Minister of the Environment, to the attention of the Director, Chemical Production Division, if the applicant is not satisfied with the decision.

The international process is as follows:

  1. Nomination: Canada submits its critical use nomination to the Ozone Secretariat of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) by January 24 of the year in which a decision is required; earlier submissions are encouragedFootnote5. The nomination would be valid for the period specified in the decision.
  2. Assignment: The Ozone Secretariat forwards the nominations to the Technology and Economic Assessment Panel (TEAP) of the Montreal Protocol.
  3. Review: The TEAP reviews the nomination to determine if it meets the criteria for a critical use established by Decision IX/6 and either recommends the nomination to the Open-Ended Working Group (OEWG) of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol or reports that it is unable to recommend the nomination. The TEAP report to the OEWG is due by mid-May of the year of decision.
  4. Evaluation: The OEWG reviews the TEAP report and recommends a decision for consideration by the Parties.
  5. Decision: The Meeting of the Parties decides whether to allow production or consumption for critical use in accordance with the Montreal Protocol. The Parties may attach conditions to their approval.
  6. National decision: The Party in possession of a critical use exemption authorises the applicant to proceed with the production or consumption of the methyl bromide according to the terms of the decision by the Meeting of the Parties.
  7. Execution of authorization: The applicant exercises its authorization to import and use methyl bromide, according to the terms of the decision.

Note: The Montreal Protocol authorizes but does not require production; each applicant must locate a willing supplier and negotiate supply.

IV. Timetable

The domestic timetable for the submission of applications for Canada to nominate an exemption for a critical use of methyl bromide under the Montreal Protocol is as follows:

ActionDeadline
Applicant submits application towards Canada making a nomination for an exemptionJuly 29
Environment and Climate Change Canada provides information to Advisory CommitteeAugust 31
Advisory Committee submits recommendationSeptember 30
Environment and Climate Change Canada makes decision in consultation with Agriculture and Agri-Food CanadaOctober 29
Possible appeal to the Minister of the Environment, to the attention of the Director, Chemical Production Division *November 30

* The length of time required to obtain a decision can vary.

The international timetable for the submission by a Party to the Montreal Protocol of nominations for critical use exemptions is as follows:

DeadlineAction
January 24Deadline for submissions of nominations to the Ozone Secretariat. Nominations received after January 24 will be considered for the next year.
Mid-MayThe TEAP publishes its evaluation and the Ozone Secretariat mails it to the Parties.
June-JulyThe OEWG meets and recommends whether or not the nomination should be approved. The OEWG drafts the decision, if applicable.
October-November-DecemberThe Parties meet and decide whether or not to grant the exemption for critical use.

V. Information requirements

The forms recommended for applications for Canada to nominate an exemption for a critical use of methyl bromide under the Montreal Protocol can be obtained by contacting:

Head, Ozone Protection Programs
Chemical Production Division
Environment and Climate Change Canada
351 St-Joseph Blvd, 19th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H3
Telephone: 819-938-4228
Email: ec.gestionhalocarbures-halocarbonsmanagement.ec@canada.ca

The forms call for information in the following areas:

  • market significance of use;
  • alternatives/substitutes to use;
  • steps to minimize use;
  • steps to minimize emissions;
  • recycling and stockpiling;
  • research efforts;
  • historical use;
  • requested quantity per year.

Note that:

  • A separate application should be submitted for each commodity and use for which the applicant is seeking that a nomination be made by Canada.
  • The TEAP recommended to the Parties that nominations that were granted multi-year exemptions would be reviewed annually for quantities required and biennially for essentiality.

VI. Canadian assessment of nominations

Only the Government of Canada, as a Party to the Protocol, may nominate critical use exemptions for Canada. Organizations and/or individuals interested to engage in the consumption of methyl bromide after 2004 are hereby invited to submit to the Minister of the Environment applications for Canada to nominate under the Montreal Protocol for a critical use exemption.

The Department of the Environment will evaluate all applications received and will decide whether or not to nominate using the following process.

  1. An application towards a Canadian nomination for a critical use exemption must demonstrate that all elements of the critical use criteria described above have been met. Applications must contain all the information elements.
  2. Applications will be rigorously evaluated in consultation with independently recognized experts, other government departments, and non-government organisations that will have complete access to all submitted information.
  3. The final decision to accept any application or to make a nomination rests with the Government of Canada.
Date modified:

Avis à toute personne qui utilise le bromure de méthyle - Juin 2017

Ministère de l'environnement
Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Les Parties au Protocole de Montréal relatif à des substances qui appauvrissent la couche d’ozone ont convenu d’éliminer progressivement la production et la consommation de bromure de méthyle. La neuvième réunion desdites Parties a décidé de permettre des exemptions aux dates d’élimination progressive de la production et de la consommation dans le but de répondre à la demande du marché pour les utilisations critiques.

Les Parties ont établi des critères et une procédure pour évaluer les nominations à des exemptions pour utilisation critique. Le Canada, en tant que Partie au Protocole de Montréal, entend s’assurer qu’il respecte les exigences de ce traité international.

Le présent avis est donné conformément aux sous-alinéas 68a)(ix) et 68a)(xiii) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999). L’annexe de cet avis décrit les critères, le processus et le calendrier que le ministère de l’Environnement entend utiliser pour réviser les demandes reçues de personnes qui veulent obtenir une exemption pour utilisation critique du bromure de méthyle, conformément au Protocole de Montréal.

Selon le Protocole de Montréal, une Partie au Protocole peut soumettre une nomination pour obtenir une exemption aux dates d’élimination progressive de la production et de la consommation de bromure de méthyle. Une Partie procède à une telle nomination en fonction des demandes reçues de personnes souhaitant utiliser du bromure de méthyle à l’intérieur de son territoire. Si une nomination est acceptée par suite d’une décision des Parties au Protocole, la Partie qui se voit accorder une exemption peut autoriser les demandeurs sur son territoire à fabriquer, à importer et à utiliser du bromure de méthyle après la date d’élimination, selon les termes de la décision. La décision est appliquée par le biais des lois de la Partie en question.

Les personnes qui souhaitent procéder à l’utilisation de bromure de méthyle au Canada sont invitées à soumettre au ministre d’Environnement Canada, avant le 29 juillet 2017 et selon le processus décrit dans l’annexe au présent avis, une demande afin que le Canada procède à une nomination, conformément au Protocole de Montréal, en vue d’une exemption pour utilisation critique pour les années 2019 et 2020.  Il n’est pas nécessaire de demander une exemption pour utiliser le bromure de méthyle présent au Canada avant les dates d’élimination ou pour utiliser le bromure de méthyle recyclé ou régénéré.

En vertu de l’article 313 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999), quiconque fournit des renseignements en réponse au présent avis peut en même temps demander par écrit qu’une partie ou la totalité des renseignements fournis soient considérés comme confidentiels.

Nathalie Morin
Division de la production des produits chimiques

Au nom du ministre d’Environnement


Annexe

  1. Introduction
  2. Les critères d’une utilisation « critique »
  3. Le processus
  4. Le calendrier
  5. Les renseignements requis
  6. L’évaluation canadienne des nominations

I.  Introduction

Lors de leur quatrième réunion, les Parties au Protocole de Montréal relatif à des substances qui appauvrissent la couche d’ozone ont convenu d’ajouter le bromure de méthyle à la liste des substances qui appauvrissent la couche d’ozone et qui sont assujetties à un contrôle en application du Protocole de Montréal. Lors de leur septième réunion, les Parties ont convenu d’éliminer progressivement la production et la consommationNote de bas de page 1 de bromure de méthyle d’ici le 1er janvier 2010. Lors de leur neuvième réunion, les Parties ont reporté la date d’élimination progressive au 1er janvier 2005 et fixé des étapes de réduction intérimaires.

Durant la neuvième réunion, les Parties ont convenu de permettre des exemptions éventuelles à cette date d’élimination de la production et de la consommation, de manière à répondre à la demande du marché concernant des utilisations considérées comme critiques. Les Parties ont fixé (décision IX/6) les critères d’évaluation des nominations en vue d’une exemption pour utilisation critique. Les Parties ont également convenu (décision IX/7) de permettre l’utilisation de quantités ne dépassant pas 20 tonnes de bromure de méthyle, en réponse à une situation d’urgence.

Le Canada, en tant que Partie au Protocole de Montréal, entend s’assurer que les exigences du traité international soient mises en œuvre sur son territoire. Le Canada a conçu un programme de contrôle national pour ce faire. En 1995, le Programme de protection de la couche d’ozone du Canada a été révisé et il avait été décidé d’éliminer progressivement le bromure de méthyle avant le 1er janvier 2001.

En 1998, les principaux partenaires commerciaux du Canada ont modifié leur position concernant leur propre date nationale d’élimination. Par conséquent, le Canada a changé sa propre position et a décidé d’adopter l’échéancier d’élimination international.

II. Les critères d’une utilisation « critique »

Pour les fins de la mise en œuvre au Canada des dispositions du Protocole de Montréal, une utilisation de bromure de méthyle peut se qualifier comme critique seulement si les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  1. L’utilisation en question est critique lorsque la non-disponibilité de bromure de méthyle en quantité et de qualité suffisantes pour cette utilisation se traduirait par une désorganisation importante du marchéNote de bas de page 2; et
  2. Il n’existe aucun produit de substitution ou de remplacement techniquement ou économiquement viableNote de bas de page 3, ou acceptable pour l’environnement et la santé, qui convienne aux récoltes et aux circonstances de la nomination.

De plus, la consommation éventuelle de bromure de méthyle pour des utilisations « critiques »après la date d’élimination ne devra être permise seulement que si toutes les conditions suivantes se rencontrent :

  1. Toutes les mesures économiquement et techniquement viables ont été prises pour minimiser cette utilisation critique et toutes les émissions de bromure de méthyle connexes;
  2. Le bromure de méthyle n’est pas disponible en quantité et en qualité suffisantes à partir des stocks courants de substances contrôlées et recyclées ou en banque;
  3. Il est prouvé que des efforts adéquats sont déployés pour évaluer et commercialiser des produits de substitution ou de remplacement, ainsi que pour obtenir leur autorisation réglementaire à l’échelon national. Il doit être prouvé que des programmes de rechercheNote de bas de page 4 sont en place pour mettre au point et déployer des produits de substitution ou de remplacement.

III. Le processus

Le processus qui mène à une décision sur les exemptions pour utilisation « critique »inclut un volet national et un volet international.

Le processus national est le suivant :

  1. Une personne ou une organisation qui souhaite procéder à la production ou à la consommation de bromure de méthyle (demandeur) au Canada fait une demande au ministre d’Environnement Canada afin que le Canada procède à une nomination en vue d’une exemption pour utilisation critique du bromure de méthyle, conformément au Protocole de Montréal. Cette demande doit satisfaire aux exigences d’information précisées à la section V du présent document.

    Personne-ressource

    Les demandes doivent être reçues à l’adresse suivante d’ici le 29 juillet 2017 :

    Chef, Programmes de la protection de l’ozone
    Division de la production des produits chimiques
    Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
    351 boul. St-Joseph, 19e étage
    Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
    ec.gestionhalocarbures.halocarbonsmanagement.ec@canada.ca

  2. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada fait parvenir la demande au Comité consultatif sur les utilisations critiques du bromure de méthyle. Le comité consultatif est composé de spécialistes indépendants qui maîtrisent les options disponibles ainsi que les problèmes de ravageurs auxquels est confronté le secteur pour lequel l’exemption est demandée.

    Comité consultatif

    Le comité consultatif est composé au minimum des représentants suivants :

    • Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Présidence
    • Expert agricole
    • Expert structurel
    • Organisation non gouvernementale de l’environnement
    • Représentant de l’industrie
    • Représentant de l’industrie
    • Économiste agricole

    Le mandat du comité consultatif consiste à évaluer les demandes et à faire ses recommandations à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada concernant les demandes.

  3. Le comité consultatif transmet ses recommandations à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, y compris les conditions régissant l’utilisation de la substance.
  4. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada rend ses décisions en consultation avec Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada lorsque cela concerne un secteur agricole canadien, et en informe le demandeur.
  5. Le demandeur peut en appeler au ministre de l’Environnement, à l’attention du Directeur, Division de la production des produits chimiques, s’il n’est pas satisfait de la décision.

Le processus international est le suivant :

  1. Mise en nomination : Le Canada met en nomination ses demandes pour utilisation critique auprès du Secrétariat de l’ozone du Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement (PNUE) au plus tard le 24 janvier de l’année pour laquelle la décision est requise; on encourage les soumissions avant la date limiteNote de bas de page 5. La nomination serait valide pour la période précisée dans la décision.
  2. Affectation : Le Secrétariat de l’ozone transmet les nominations au Groupe de l’évaluation technique et économique (GETE) du Protocole de Montréal.
  3. Révision : Le GETE détermine si la nomination satisfait aux critères d’une utilisation critique selon la décision IX/6 et soit il recommande la nomination au Groupe de travail à composition non limitée (GTCNL) des Parties au Protocole de Montréal, soit il indique qu’il ne peut recommander la nomination. Le GETE remet son rapport au GTCNL au plus tard à la mi-mai de l’année où se prend la décision.
  4. Évaluation : Le GTCNL examine le rapport du GETE et transmet les décisions à la considération des Parties.
  5. Décision : L’assemblée des Parties au Protocole décide d’autoriser ou non la production ou la consommation pour utilisation critique conformément au Protocole de Montréal. Les Parties peuvent assortir leur approbation à certaines conditions.
  6. Décision nationale : La partie en possession d’une exemption pour utilisation critique autorise le demandeur à procéder à la production ou à la consommation de bromure de méthyle, selon les termes de la décision prise par la réunion des Parties.
  7. Exécution de l’autorisation : Le demandeur exerce son autorisation d’importer et d’utiliser du bromure de méthyle, selon les termes de la décision.

Note : Le Protocole de Montréal permet mais n’exige pas la production; chaque organisation en possession d’une exemption doit trouver un fournisseur disposé à fournir le bromure de méthyle et négocier son approvisionnement.

IV. Le calendrier

Voici le calendrier national pour la présentation des demandes afin que le Canada procède à une nomination en vue d’une exemption pour utilisation critique du bromure de méthyle, conformément au Protocole de Montréal :

ÉtapeÉchéance
Le demandeur présente une demande afin que le Canada procède à une nomination en vue d’une exemption29 juillet
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada fournit l’information au comité consultatif31 août
Le comité consultatif présente ses recommandations30 septembre
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada rend la décision en consultation avec Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada29 octobre
Appel possible au ministre de l’Environnement, à l’attention du Directeur, Division de la production  des produits chimiques *30 novembre

* Le délai requis pour obtenir une décision peut varier.

Voici le calendrier international pour la présentation, par une Partie au Protocole de Montréal, des nominations en vue d’une exemption pour utilisation critique :

ÉchéanceÉtape
24 janvierDate limite pour soumettre les nominations au Secrétariat de l’ozone. Les nominations reçues après le 24 janvier seront prises en compte pour l’année suivante.
mi-maiLe GETE publie son évaluation et le Secrétariat de l’ozone le fait parvenir par courrier aux Parties.
juin-juilletLe GTCNL se réunit et recommande d’approuver ou non la nomination. Le GTCNL rédige la décision, le cas échéant.
Octobre-novembre-décembreLes Parties se rencontrent et décident d’accorder ou non l’exemption pour utilisation critique.

V. Les renseignements requis

Pour obtenir les formulaires recommandés pour présenter une demande afin que le Canada procède à une nomination en vue d’une exemption pour utilisation critique du bromure de méthyle, conformément au Protocole de Montréal, communiquer avec :

Chef, Programmes de la protection de l’ozone
Division de la production des produits chimiques
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
351 boul. St-Joseph, 19e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 819-938-4228
Courriel : ec.gestionhalocarbures.halocarbonsmanagement.ec@canada.ca

L’information suivante doit y être inscrite :

  • importance commerciale de l’utilisation;
  • les solutions de rechange ou de remplacement pour cette utilisation;
  • les mesures pour minimiser l’utilisation;
  • les mesures pour minimiser les émissions;
  • recyclage et stockage;
  • efforts de recherche;
  • utilisation historique;
  • la quantité annuelle demandée.

Nota :

  • Une demande distincte devra être présentée pour chaque denrée et utilisation pour laquelle le demandeur souhaite qu’une nomination soit faite par le Canada.
  • Le GETE a recommandé aux Parties que les nominations pour lesquelles on accorde des exemptions pluriannuelles soient examinées tous les ans pour les quantités requises et tous les deux ans pour leur caractère essentiel. 

VI. L’évaluation canadienne des nominations

Seul le gouvernement du Canada, en tant que Partie au Protocole, peut soumettre des nominations d’exemption pour utilisation critique au Canada. Toute personne ou organisation désirant procéder à la consommation de bromure de méthyle après l’année 2004 est invitée à présenter à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada une demande afin que le Canada procède à une nomination en vue d’une exemption pour utilisation critique, conformément au Protocole de Montréal.

En fonction des conditions indiquées ci-après, le ministère de l'Environnement évaluera les demandes reçues afin de déterminer s’il procédera à une nomination.

  1. Un demandeur de nomination canadienne en vue d’une exemption pour utilisation critique doit montrer que tous les éléments des critères d’utilisation critiques décrits précédemment ont été respectés. Les demandes doivent renfermer tous les éléments d’information.
  2. Les demandes seront évaluées rigoureusement en consultation avec des spécialistes reconnus indépendants, d’autres ministères gouvernementaux et des organisations non gouvernementales qui auront un accès intégral à toute l’information présentée.
  3. La décision finale d’accepter une demande ou de procéder à une nomination incombe au gouvernement du Canada.
Date de modification :