Substances that have been found to meet at least one of the criteria set out in section 64 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, but that have not been added to Schedule 1 of the Act

List of substances that have been assessed and found to meet at least one of the criteria set out in section 64 of CEPA 1999, but that have not been added to Schedule 1 of the Act

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) emphasizes the importance of coordinated action both among federal, provincial, territorial and Aboriginal governments and within the federal government.

Under paragraph 2(1)(m) of CEPA 1999, for example, the Government of Canada shall:

"ensure, to the extent that is reasonably possible, that all areas of federal regulation for the protection of the environment and human health are addressed in a complementary manner in order to avoid duplication and to provide effective and comprehensive protection".

Consistent with this emphasis, the Minister of the Environment and the Minister of Health may propose to take "no further action" under CEPA 1999 for a substance that has been assessed and found to meet at least one of the criteria set out in section 64 of CEPA 1999, if the Ministers are satisfied that effective risk management measures are in place under other provincial and territorial programs or federal acts. If the Government of Canada subsequently finds that those existing preventive and/or control actions are not effective, the Ministers may consider taking further action under CEPA 1999.

Contact:
Risk Management Programs
Environment Canada
Place Vincent Massey (PVM) - 17th Floor
351 St-Joseph Boulevard
Gatineau, Quebec  K1A 0H3

Telephone: 819-934-5097
Fax: 819-994-0007

Email: GR-RM@ec.gc.ca

Environment Canada's Management of Toxic Substances website

Date modified:

Substances qui satisfont à au moins un des critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), mais qui n'ont pas été ajoutées à l'annexe 1 de la Loi

Liste des substances qui ont fait l’objet d’une évaluation des risques et qui satisfont à au moins un des critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], mais qui n'ont pas été ajoutées à l'annexe 1 de la Loi

La LCPE (1999) met l’emphase sur l’importance de prendre des mesures coordonnées, tant au niveau des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones qu’au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

L'alinéa 2(1)m) de la LCPE (1999) précise que le gouvernement du Canada doit, par exemple :

« Veiller, dans la mesure du possible, à ce que les textes fédéraux régissant la protection de l'environnement et de la santé humaine soient complémentaires de façon à éviter le dédoublement et assurer une protection efficace et complète ».

En accord avec cette emphase, le ministre de l'Environnement et le ministre de la Santé peuvent proposer de « ne prendre aucune autre mesure » en vertu de la LCPE (1999) concernant une substance qui satisfait à au moins un des critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999), si les ministres estiment que des mesures efficaces de gestion des risques sont en place en vertu de programmes provinciaux et territoriaux ou d'autres lois fédérales. Si le gouvernement du Canada constate subséquemment que les mesures de prévention ou de contrôle en place sont inefficaces, les ministres conservent la possibilité de prendre ou de recommander la prise de mesures supplémentaires en vertu de la LCPE (1999).

Personne-ressource :
Programmes de gestion des risques
Environnement Canada
Place Vincent-Massey (PVM), 17e étage
351, boulevard St-Joseph
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A OH3
Téléphone : 819-934-5097
Télécopieur : 819-994-0007

Courriel : GR-RM@ec.gc.ca

Site Web d'Environnement Canada sur la gestion des substances toxiques

Date de modification :