This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Working Document regarding pollution prevention planning for dichloromethane

Environment Canada is in the process of developing a notice under Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) requiring the preparation and implementation of pollution prevention plans for dichloromethane. This notice, to be published in the Canada Gazette Part I at a future date, will target five industry sectors: aircraft paint stripping; flexible polyurethane foam blowing; pharmaceuticals; industrial cleaning; and, adhesives formulation.

A Working Document outlining proposed pollution prevention planning requirements for dichloromethane has recently been prepared for stakeholder review and comment. Copies of the related proposed schedules and instructions are available by emailing CEPAP2Plans@ec.gc.ca or using the contact information provided below.

After receiving and considering comments on this document, a proposed notice requiring the preparation and implementation of pollution prevention plans for dichloromethane will be published in Part I of the Canada Gazette for a 60-day comment period. Based on consideration of further comments received during this comment period, Environment Canada will publish the final notice in Part I of the Canada Gazette.

Please provide your written comments on the Working Document and related schedules by February 15, 2002, to:

Jacinthe Girard
Sustainable Consumption Division
National Office of Pollution Prevention
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 20th floor
Hull, Quebec K1A 0H3
Tel.: (819) 953-4168
Fax: (819) 994-5030
e-mail: jacinthe.girard@ec.gc.ca

Objectives and timelines in the Working Document are based on the recommendations presented in the Strategic Options for the Management of Toxic Substances - Dichloromethane - Report of Stakeholders Consultations, published in June 1998 under the Strategic Option Process.

The document entitled P2 Planning Provisions of Part 4 of CEPA 1999: Frequently Asked Questions has been included for your information. More information about the pollution prevention planning provisions of CEPA 1999 Part 4 can be found in the Guidelines for the Implementation of the Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). Information about the pollution prevention planning can be found in Environment Canada’s Pollution Prevention Planning Handbook . All three documents are available at http://www.ec.gc.ca/p2/Default.asp?lang=En&n=88D8B369-1. Copies are also available from Environment Canada’s Inquiry Centre at 1-800-668-6767 or CEPAP2Plans@ec.gc.ca.

Sincerely,
Tim Leah
Chief
Sustainable Consumption Division
National Office of Pollution Prevention

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Document de travail concernant les plans de prévention de la pollution à l’égard du dichlorométhane

Environnement Canada procède actuellement à l’élaboration d’un avis, conformément à la Partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999 (LCPE 1999), exigeant la préparation et l’exécution de plans de prévention de la pollution à l’égard du dichlorométhane. Cet avis, qui sera publié dans la Gazette du Canada à une date ultérieure, visera cinq secteurs industriels : le décapage de la peinture d’aéronefs; le gonflement de mousse souple de polyuréthane; la fabrication de produits pharmaceutiques; le nettoyage industriel et la formulation d’adhésifs.

Un document de travail décrivant les exigences proposées en matière de plans de prévention de la pollution à l’égard du dichlorométhane a récemment été élaboré pour examen et commentaires de la part des parties intéressées. Des copies des annexes et des instructions connexes proposées sont disponibles par courrier électronique à CEPAP2Plans@ec.gc.ca ou l’adresse indiquée ci-dessus.

Après que les commentaires sur ce document auront été reçus et étudiés, un projet d’avis exigeant la préparation et l’exécution de plans de prévention de la pollution à l’égard du dichlorométhane sera publié pour fins de commentaires dans la première partie de la Gazette du Canada pour une période de 60 jours. En se fondant sur l’examen des autres observations reçues au cours de cette période, Environnement Canada publiera l’avis final dans la première partie de la Gazette du Canada.

Veuillez faire parvenir vos commentaires par écrit sur le document de travail et les annexes connexes d’ici le 15 février 2002 à :

Jacinthe Girard
Division de la consommation durable
Bureau national de la prévention de la pollution
351, boul. St-Joseph, 20e étage
Hull (Québec) K1A 0H3
Tél. : (819) 953-4168
Téléc. : (819) 994-5030
Courriel : jacinthe.girard@ec.gc.ca

Les objectifs et les échéances indiqués dans le document de travail sont établis en fonction des recommandations présentées dans le document intitulé Options stratégiques pour la gestion des substances toxiques - Dichlorométhane – Rapport sur la consultation des intervenants, publié en juin 1998 dans le cadre du Processus d’options stratégiques.

Vous trouverez également ci-joint le document intitulé Dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la Partie 4 de la LCPE, 1999 : Questions courantes. D’autres renseignements sur les dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la Partie 4 de la LCPE, 1999, sont fournis dans les Directives pour la mise en œuvre des dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la Partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999 (LCPE 1999). Pour plus d’information sur les plans de prévention de la pollution, veuillez consulter le Guide pour la préparation d’un plan de prévention de la pollution. Ces trois documents sont publiés à l’adresse http://www.ec.gc.ca/p2/Default.asp?lang=Fr&n=88D8B369-1. Vous pouvez également vous adresser à l’Informathèque d’Environnement Canada au 1-800-668-6767 ou à CEPAP2Plans@ec.gc.ca.

Sincères salutations.
Tim Leah
Chef
Division de la consommation durable
Bureau national de la prévention de la pollution

Date de modification :