This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the Proposed Addition of Hexachlorobutadiene to the Virtual Elimination List

Minister's Response to Concerns Raised by Halogenated Solvents Industry Alliance, Inc.

Mr. Stephen Risotto
Executive Director
Halogenated Solvents Industry Alliance, Inc.
1300 Wilson Boulevard, 12th floor
Arlington VA 22209
U.S.A.

Dear Mr. Risotto:

As the Minister responsible for the administration of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, I am responding to your request for the establishment of a Board of Review, which was contained in your October 14, 2003 letter to Mr. James Riordan of my department, and in which you expressed your opposition to the proposed addition of hexachlorobutadiene (HCBD) to the Virtual Elimination List under the Act.

I have fully and carefully considered your Notice of Objection. The information that you present with respect to declining levels of HCBD does not alter our conclusion that HCBD is persistent and bioaccumulative in accordance with Canadian regulations, that the presence of HCBD in the environment results primarily from human activities, and that HCBD is not a naturally occurring radionuclide or a naturally occurring inorganic substance.

I note that, in your letter, you understood Environment Canada officials to suggest that an updated assessment of HCBD might conclude that the substance no longer meets the criteria for designation as toxic under paragraph 64(a) of CEPA 1999. I assure you that I remain confident that the conclusion of toxicity and the science on which it was based are sound.

As your letter does not provide any additional information with respect to the nature and extent of the danger posed by HCBD, I am not satisfied that the establishment of a Board of Review is warranted, and I therefore deny your request.

With respect to the specific concerns raised in your letter, a document summarizing and responding to all comments received during the 60-day comment period will be posted in early spring on the "CEPA Environmental Registry" Web site. You will be contacted directly when the document is available.

I look forward to continued dialogue between industry and Environment Canada, as we work to address concerns related to HCBD and other toxic substances.

Yours sincerely,

Stéphane Dion

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition à l'ajout proposé de l'hexachlorobutadiène (HCBD) à la Liste de quasi-élimination

Réponse du Ministre aux inquiétudes suscitées par Halogenated Solvents Industry Alliance, Inc.

M. Stephen Risotto
Executive Director
Halogenated Solvents Industry Alliance, Inc.
1300 Wilson Boulevard, 12th floor
Arlington VA 22209
U.S.A.

Cher Monsieur Risotto :

En tant que Ministre responsable de l'administration de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), je réponds à votre demande visant l'établissement d'une commission de révision contenue dans votre lettre du 14 octobre 2003 adressée à M. James Riordan de mon Ministère et dans laquelle vous avez fait part de votre opposition à l'ajout proposé de l'hexachlorobutadiène (HCBD) à la Liste de quasi‑élimination en vertu de la Loi.

J'ai examiné attentivement et soigneusement votre avis d'opposition. Les renseignements que vous présentez en ce qui a trait à une baisse des niveaux d’hexachlorobutadiène (HCBD) ne modifient pas notre conclusion que c’est une substance persistante et bioaccumulable au sens des règlements canadiens, que sa présence dans l’environnement résulte principalement de l'activité humaine et qu'il ne s'agit pas d'un radionucléide d'origine naturelle ou d'une substance inorganique d'origine naturelle.

Je note que, dans votre lettre, vous avez compris que les fonctionnaires d’Environnement Canada laissent entendre qu'une évaluation mise à jour de l'HCBD pourrait conclure que la substance ne répond plus aux critères pour la désigner comme étant toxique en vertu de l'alinéa 64a) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Je vous assure que je demeure convaincu que la conclusion sur la toxicité et la science sur laquelle elle a été fondée sont éprouvées.

Comme votre lettre ne donne aucun renseignement supplémentaire en ce qui a trait à la nature et à l’étendue du danger posé par l'HCBD, je ne suis pas convaincu que l'établissement d'une commission de révision est justifié, c'est pourquoi je refuse votre demande.

En ce qui concerne les préoccupations particulières soulevées dans votre lettre, un document résumant tous les commentaires reçus durant la période de commentaires du public de 60 jours, et y répondant, sera publié au début du printemps sur le site Internet du « Registre environnemental de la LCPE ». Nous communiquerons avec vous directement lorsque le document sera disponible.

Je me réjouis à l'idée du dialogue continu entre l'industrie et Environnement Canada, comme nous travaillons pour répondre aux préoccupations relatives à l'HCBD et à d'autres substances toxiques.

Je vous prie d'agréer mes salutations distinguées.

Stéphane Dion

Date de modification :