The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials

Download Fact Sheet in PDF Format (26 KB)

Each year, millions of tonnes of waste are generated in Canada as by-products of industrial activity. This waste contains chemicals such as acids, phenols, arsenic, lead, and mercury, and is considered hazardous to human health and/or the environment if improperly handled.

Protecting the environment is everyone's responsibility. We can all help to protect the environment and human health by reducing the amount of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials generated, as well as by controlling and recovering more of it.

What is hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials?

In Canada, hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials are defined as those with properties such as flammability, corrosiveness, or inherent toxicity. These wastes and materials can pose a variety of risks, from skin damage on contact to the contamination of ground water, surface water, and soil as a result of leaching into the environment.

Hazardous wastes and recyclables come from many sources, including material left over from industrial activities such as oil refining, chemical manufacturing and metal processing. Even some everyday household products such as used batteries, computers and other electronic equipment, cleansers, paints, and pesticides may be hazardous when improperly discarded or recycled.

Drivers for change

A number of international and domestic factors are driving changes in the way Canada handles its hazardous waste and recyclables. One factor is that Canada has ratified the United Nations' Basel Convention, which requires the environmentally sound management of hazardous wastes and recyclables and reductions in exports for final disposal. Canada has also implemented the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Council Decision on the control of transboundary movements of waste destined for recycling, and has signed a separate bilateral agreement with the United States to control the transboundary movement of hazardous waste and recyclables, including municipal solid waste.

How the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) affects hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials

CEPA 1999 builds on the federal government's authority to enact regulations that govern the export and import of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials, including transits through Canada and transits through other countries for shipments to and from Canada. By including separate definitions of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable material, it gives regulators the flexibility to manage recyclables differently than waste, if the proposed management method is considered environmentally sound. The Act also includes the authority to:

  • set criteria to assess the environmentally sound management of wastes and hazardous recyclable materials and to refuse to permit import or export if the criteria are not met;
  • require exporters of hazardous wastes destined for final disposal to submit export-reduction plans;
  • regulate the export and import of prescribed non-hazardous wastes for final disposal; and
  • control inter-provincial movements of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials.

CEPA 1999 contains provisions that require the Minister of the Environment to publish notification information (e.g., type of waste, company name, and country of origin or destination) for exports, imports, and transits of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials. The Minister also has the authority to issue permits, on a case-by-case basis, for the equivalent level of environmental safety, thereby allowing for variances with the regulations under specific conditions.

Regulations under CEPA 1999

Several regulations are currently in place to implement the authorities and conditions set out in CEPA 1999.

The Export and Import of Hazardous Wastes Regulations have been revised and replaced by the Export and Import of Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Recyclable Material Regulations, which came into force in November 2005. The revised regulations further contribute to the protection of the environment by improving controls on transboundary movements of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material, strengthening Canada's compliance with evolving international obligations, incorporating authorities under CEPA 1999, and modernizing the control regime.

The Polychlorinated Biphenyl (PCB) Waste Export Regulations prohibit the export of wastes containing PCB in concentrations of 50 milligrams of PCBs per kilogram of waste or more destined for disposal to any country other than the United States.

In addition, Environment Canada is working on the following regulatory initiatives:

  • developing new PCB regulations that will strengthen existing controls and propose deadlines for ending the use and storage of PCBs; and
  • revising the Interprovincial Movement of Hazardous Waste Regulations to align the definitions of hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material and the new movement document with those under the Export and Import of Hazardous Wastes Regulations.

The Government of Canada continues to work towards modernizing the management of hazardous wastes and recyclables by diverting waste toward environmentally sound recycling, minimizing hazardous waste generation, and promoting the use of greener technologies. All regulatory proposals and amendments are subject to the public consultation provisions contained in CEPA 1999.

Further information

Waste Reduction and Management Division

Public and Resources Sectors Directorate
Environment Canada
Place Montcalm
70 Crémazie St., 6th floor
Gatineau QC  K1A 0H3
Tel: (819) 997-3377
E-mail: TMB@ec.gc.ca

Internet:

Additional information on waste-related initiatives.

Inquiry Centre:

Environment Canada
10 Wellington Street
23rd floor, Place Vincent Massey
Gatineau QC  K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1 800 668-6767 [in Canada only] or 819-997-2800
Fax: 819-994-1412
TTY: 819-994-0736
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date modified:

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), les déchets dangereux et les matières recyclables dangereuses

Au Canada, les activités industrielles produisent chaque année des millions de tonnes de déchets, dont des produits chimiques tels que des acides, des phénols, de l'arsenic, du plomb et du mercure. Manipulés sans précaution, ces déchets sont dangereux pour la santé humaine et l'environnement.

La protection de l'environnement est la responsabilité de tous. Nous pouvons tous aider à protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine en réduisant la quantité de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses ainsi qu'en contrôlant et en récupérant davantage ceux-ci.

Qu'est-ce qu'un déchet dangereux? Qu'est-ce qu'une matière recyclable dangereuse?

Au Canada, les déchets dangereux et les matières recyclables dangereuses possèdent des propriétés comme l'inflammabilité, la corrosivité ou la toxicité intrinsèque. Rejetés dans l'environnement, ces déchets et matières peuvent poser divers risques, comme brûler la peau au contact ou contaminer les eaux souterraines, les eaux de surface et le sol.

Les déchets dangereux et les matières recyclables dangereuses proviennent de nombreuses sources, y compris les déchets résultant d'activités industrielles, comme le raffinage du pétrole, la fabrication de produits chimiques et le traitement des métaux. Même certains produits d'usage courant, comme les piles usées, les ordinateurs et d'autre équipement électronique, les détergents, les peintures et les pesticides, peuvent être dangereux s'ils sont éliminés ou recyclés de façon inappropriée.

Facteurs de changement

Un certain nombre de facteurs internationaux et nationaux engendrent des changements dans la façon dont le Canada s'occupe de ses déchets dangereux et de ses matières recyclables dangereuses. Le Canada a notamment ratifié la Convention de Bâle des Nations Unies (site disponible en anglais seulement), qui exige que les déchets dangereux et les matières recyclables dangereuses soient gérés écologiquement et que les exportations destinées à l'élimination finale soient réduites. Le Canada a également mis en œuvre la décision du Conseil de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) concernant le contrôle des mouvements transfrontaliers de déchets destinés aux opérations de récupération, et il a conclu séparément un accord bilatéral avec les États-Unis sur les mouvements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses, y compris les déchets solides des municipalités.

La LCPE (1999), les déchets dangereux et les matières recyclables dangereuses

La LCPE (1999) renforce l'autorité gouvernementale en matière de réglementation régissant l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses, y compris les transits par le Canada et d'autres pays des envois à destination et en provenance du Canada. L'inclusion de définitions distinctes de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses donnera aux autorités de réglementation la souplesse nécessaire pour gérer les produits recyclables différemment des déchets si la méthode de gestion proposée est jugée écologique. La Loi confère également le pouvoir :

  • d'établir des critères pour évaluer la gestion écologiquement rationnelle des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses et d'en interdire l‘importation ou l'exportation si les critères ne sont pas respectés;
  • d'exiger des exportateurs de déchets dangereux destinés à l'élimination finale qu'ils présentent des plans de réduction des exportations;
  • de réglementer l'exportation et l'importation de déchets non dangereux régis qui sont destinés à l'élimination finale;
  • de contrôler les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses.

La LCPE (1999) comporte des dispositions stipulant que le Ministre doit publier les renseignements obtenus (type de déchets, nom de l'entreprise et pays d'origine ou de destination) concernant les exportations, les importations et les transits de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses. Le ministre peut aussi délivrer, au cas par cas, des permis de sécurité environnementale équivalente, ce qui permet des écarts par rapport à la réglementation dans des conditions spécifiques.

Règlements de la LCPE (1999)

Plusieurs règlements sont actuellement en place pour mettre en œuvre les pouvoirs et les conditions énoncés dans la LCPE (1999).

Le Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation des déchets dangereux a été modifié et remplacé par le Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses, qui est entré en vigueur en novembre 2005. Le nouveau règlement renforce la protection de l'environnement en améliorant le contrôle des mouvements transfrontaliers des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses, en faisant en sorte que le Canada respecte davantage ses obligations internationales, en intégrant des pouvoirs aux termes de la LCPE (1999) et en modernisant le régime de contrôle.

Aux termes du Règlement sur l'exportation de déchets contenant des BPC, il est interdit d'exporter des déchets dont la teneur en BPC est supérieure à 50 milligrammes par kilogramme de déchet qui sont destinés à être éliminés dans un pays autre que les États-Unis.

De plus, Environnement Canada travaille aux initiatives réglementaires suivantes :

  • Élaboration d'un nouveau règlement sur les BPC qui renforcera les mécanismes de contrôle existants et proposera des échéances pour mettre fin à l'utilisation et à l'entreposage des BPC;
  • Révision du Règlement sur les mouvements interprovinciaux des déchets dangereux pour harmoniser les définitions de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses et le nouveau document de mouvement avec ceux du Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation des déchets dangereux.

Le gouvernement du Canada poursuit la modernisation de la gestion des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses en recyclant les déchets de façon écologiquement rationnelle, en réduisant le volume des déchets dangereux et en faisant la promotion de technologies plus écologiques. L'ensemble des projets de règlement et des modifications sont assujettis aux dispositions sur les consultations publiques de la LCPE (1999).

Pour plus de renseignements :

Division de la réduction et de la gestion des déchets

Direction des secteurs publics et des ressources
Environnement Canada
Place Montcalm
70, rue Crémazie, 6e étage
Gatineau (QC) K1A 0H3
Tél. : 819-997-3377
Courriel : TMB@ec.gc.ca

Internet :

Information ssupplémentaires sur les initiatives liées aux déchets.

Informathèque

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington, 23e étage
Gatineau (QC) K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767 [au Canada seulement] ou 819-997-2800
Télécopieur : 819-994-1412
ATS : 819-994-0736
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca