This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Final Report: Proposed CEPA 1999 Interprovincial Movements of Hazardous Waste Regulations

Stakeholders Workshop Report

Prepared for:
Environment Canada
Transboundary Movement Division

Prepared by:
SENES Consultants Limited
121 Granton Drive, Unit 12
Richmond Hill, Ontario
L4B 3N4

December 2000

Executive Summary

Environment Canada is preparing new regulations and adopting aspects transferred from the Transport of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TDGR) to the new Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA 1999) for the interprovincial transport of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials. A series of four (4) two day stakeholders workshops was held in the fall of 2000 for consultation on these proposed CEPA 1999 regulations.

The workshops were held in Toronto, Montreal, Halifax and Calgary in order to get a broad regional stakeholder representation. Representatives from industries, carriers, waste management companies, and environmental non-governmental organizations were invited to attend the workshops.

The series of workshops successfully achieved each of the identified goals, which were to provide an opportunity for stakeholders to:

  • review the proposed regulations;
  • give feedback on the direction of the proposed regulations;
  • generate consensus on major issues; and
  • identify key areas that need clarification in anticipation of drafting the new regulations in early 2001.

The structure of the workshops was conducive to the full participation of the attendees, which was evident by the substantial amount of discussion that took place. Representation at the workshops was well distributed between industry, carriers and waste management companies. A significant number of participants from the rail sector participated in the Calgary workshop.

There were a number of common issues that the majority of participants expressed throughout the four workshops. These issues were identified as:

  • the need to harmonize regulations between the federal government and the provincial governments throughout Canada;
  • the need for the proposed regulations to better facilitate and promote recycling;
  • the need for a system of obtaining Permits for the Equivalent Level of Environmental Safety (PELES) that is fair, consistent, economical and timely; and
  • the need to properly recognize the role of transfer stations and waste brokers in the business of waste management.

The only regional variance that was observed was related to the issue of electronic documentation. At the Calgary workshop, the suggestion to implement an electronic database for tracking hazardous wastes was widely supported. In Toronto and Montreal, the general feeling was that electronic manifesting is a good idea, yet might be difficult to implement. In Halifax however, many participants doubted the electronic capabilities of stakeholders to be able to participate in such a system.

Stakeholders at all of the regional workshops expressed that they would like further consultation prior to the publication of the regulations in Canada Gazette Part I. There was unanimous agreement that the draft version of the regulations should be posted on the Internet to give stakeholders easy access to the document. In addition, the stakeholders generally expressed that they would like the draft Memoranda of Understanding (MOU) between provinces and Environment Canada discussed with them prior to finalization.

To obtain a copy of this document, contact Joe Wittwer.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉ - Rapport final : Règlement d'application de la LCPE 1999 proposé sur le contrôle des mouvements interprovinciaux de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses

Rapport sur les ateliers de consultations des intervenants

Préparé pour :
Environnement Canada
Division des mouvements transfrontières

Par :
SENES Consultants Limited
121 Granton Drive, Unit 12
Richmond Hill (Ontario)
L4B 3N4

Décembre 2000

Sommaire

Environnement Canada élabore un nouveau règlement d'application de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 (LCPE 1999) et y intégrera certains aspects du Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (RTMD) concernant le transport interprovincial des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses. Le ministère a tenu une série de quatre ateliers de deux jours pour consulter les intervenants à ce sujet.

Dans le but d'assurer une vaste représentation à l'échelle régionale, Environnement Canada a tenu les ateliers à Toronto, Montréal, Halifax et Calgary. Il a invité les entreprises productrices de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses, les transporteurs, les sociétés de gestion de déchets et les organismes environnementaux non gouvernementaux à y déléguer des représentants.

Les ateliers ont permis d'atteindre le but fixé, soit fournir l'occasion aux intervenants :

  • d'examiner la réglementation proposée;
  • de s'exprimer sur l'orientation de la réglementation proposée;
  • de dégager un consensus sur les principaux aspects;
  • de déterminer les principales questions à clarifier avant la rédaction du nouveau règlement, au début de 2001.

Les ateliers étaient structurés de manière à optimiser la participation, ce qui s'est effectivement produit. Le nombre de participants était bien réparti entre les divers secteurs d'activité de l'industrie: entreprises productrices, transporteurs et sociétés de gestion. De nombreux représentants du secteur du transport ferroviaire ont participé à l'atelier tenu à Calgary.

La majorité des participants aux quatre ateliers se sont exprimés sur un certain nombre de questions communes:

  • la nécessité d'harmoniser les règlements fédéraux et provinciaux dans l'ensemble du Canada;
  • la nécessité d'instaurer une réglementation facilitant et encourageant le recyclage;
  • la nécessité d'instaurer un régime équitable, uniforme, économique et opportun de permis de sécurité environnementale équivalente;
  • la nécessité de reconnaître à sa juste valeur le rôle des stations de transfert et des courtiers en déchets dans la gestion des déchets.

La seule variation d'une région à l'autre quant aux opinions a trait à la documentation électronique. Lors de l'atelier tenu à Calgary, la suggestion visant à créer une base de données pour le suivi des déchets dangereux a reçu un appui général. À Toronto et à Montréal, la majorité des participants croyaient que c'était une bonne idée d'instaurer un système de manifestes électroniques, mais que celle-ci pourrait être difficile à appliquer. En revanche, de nombreux participants à l'atelier d'Halifax estimaient que les intervenants n'avaient pas les moyens électroniques leur permettant d'utiliser un tel système.

Les participants à tous les ateliers ont indiqué qu'ils aimeraient être consultés encore avant la publication du projet de règlement dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada. Tous s'entendaient pour dire que l'ébauche du règlement proposé devrait être diffusée sur Internet pour que les intervenants y aient accès facilement. De plus, en général, les participants souhaitaient qu'on les consulte sur les projets de protocoles d'entente entre Environnement Canada et les provinces avant leur mise au point définitive.

Pour obtenir une copie, communiquez avec Joe Wittwer.

Date de modification :