Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Notice of Objection

Minister of the EnvironmentCoat of ArmsMinistre de l'Environnement

The Honorable L'honorable

Jim Prentice

Ottawa, Canada KIA OH3

July 27, 2010

Dr. Steven G. Hentges
Executive Director
American Chemistry Council,
Polycarbonate/BPA Global Group
1300 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22209
U.S.A.

 

Dear Dr. Hentges:

I am responding to the Notice of Objection that you filed on July 15, 2009, regarding the proposed Order adding bisphenol A (CAS No. 80-05-7) to the List of Toxic substances in Schedule 1 to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, (CEPA 1999) that was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on May 16, 2009.

I have fully and carefully considered your submission and request to establish a board of review pursuant to section 333 of CEPA 1999. I am of the view that your Notice does not bring forth any new scientific data or information with respect to the nature and extent of the danger posed by bisphenol A that warrants establishing a board of review in this case, and will therefore not establish a board of review.

Please be assured that the Government of Canada is committed to consulting with all stakeholders and the public on the development of risk management options, including regulations, and issues raised will continue to be considered in an open and transparent manner. Further comment periods and opportunities to file notices of objection will be provided, under the Act, following the publication of instruments for the preventive or control action of bisphenol A, such as a proposed regulation.

I appreciate your bringing the American Chemistry Council, Polycarbonate/BPA Global Group's concerns to my attention, and look forward to working with you in the future on matters of environmental or human health interest to your group.

Please accept my best wishes.

Sincerely,

Signature of minister

The Honourable Jim Prentice, P.C., Q.C., M.P.

Canada Wordmark

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition

Minister of the EnvironmentArmoiriesMinistre de l'Environnement

The Honorable L'honorable

Jim Prentice

Ottawa, Canada KIA OH3

Le 27 juillet 2010

Dr. Steven G. Hentges
Executive Director
American Chemistry Council,
Polycarbonate/BPA Global Group
1300 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22209
U.S.A.

Cher Dr. Hentges :

Je réponds à votre avis d'opposition daté du 15 juillet 2009 concernant le décret proposé d'inscription du bisphénol A (No. de CAS 80-05-7) à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 16 mai 2009.

J'ai examiné attentivement et soigneusement votre soumission et demande d'établissement d'une commission de révision en vertu de l'article 333 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Je suis d'avis que votre avis n'apporte aucune nouvelle donnée ou information scientifique en ce qui a trait à la nature et à l’étendue du danger posé par le bisphénol A qui justifie l’établissement d’une commission de révision dans le cas présent et, par conséquent, je n'établirai pas de commission de révision.

Soyez assuré que le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à consulter tous les intervenants et le public en ce qui concerne l'élaboration des options de gestion des risques, y compris des règlements, et que les problèmes soulevés continueront d'être considérés de façon ouverte et transparente. D'autres périodes de commentaires et occasions pour présenter des avis d'opposition seront fournies, en vertu de la Loi, à la suite de la publication des instruments pour les mesures de prévention ou de contrôle du bisphénol A, tel qu'un projet de règlement.

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait part des préoccupations du Polycarbonate/BPA Global Group de l'American Chemistry Council et je suis impatient de travailler avec vous à l'avenir sur des questions d'intérêt environnemental ou de santé humaine pour votre groupe.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Signature du ministre

L'Honorable Jim Prentice,c.p., député

Marque du Canada

Date de modification :