This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Fact Sheets

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA 1999) and Government Operations and Federal and Aboriginal Land

What is Part 9 of CEPA 1999, and who is included?

Part 9 of CEPA 1999 is the section of the Act that applies to Government of Canada operations. It includes federal departments, agencies, Crown corporations, and boards. Also included are all federal works and undertakings, aboriginal land, and parties who occupy and/or use federal land - commonly referred to as the "Federal House ".

Do other parts of CEPA 1999 apply to the Federal House?

Members of the Federal House are subject to all of CEPA as it generally applies to every Canadian. This means that regulations for toxic substances, fuels, ocean disposal and other matters apply equally to the Federal House.

Compliance is similarly monitored, and CEPA violations within the Federal House can be prosecuted in the same manner as any other violations.

Why is there a special part for government operations, and federal land and aboriginal land?

Members of the Federal House are subject to CEPA. However, under Canada's Constitution, provincial environmental laws do not generally apply to the federal government. This means that federal operations and land, including aboriginal land, are, for the most part, not subject to provincial regulations or permit systems covering emissions, effluents, environmental emergencies, waste handling, and other environmental matters.

Part 9 of CEPA 1999 fills this gap. It provides that federal facilities and land, and aboriginal land, can be covered by the same type of environmental regulations as entities regulated by the provinces and territories.

Part 9 also provides the authority for making environmental regulations or guidelines that can be applied exclusively to the Federal House. This will move the Federal House towards the goal of "ensuring that its operations and activities on federal and aboriginal land are carried out in a manner that is consistent with the principles of pollution prevention and the protection of the environment and human health". (CEPA 1999: Preamble)

What is included in Part 9?

Part 9 allows the Governor in Council (federal Cabinet) broad powers to issue regulations, specifically for the Federal House, that cover:

  • any environmental matter,
  • environmental management systems,
  • control or prevention of pollution,
  • substances or activities involving any substance. This includes manufacture, processing, release to the environment and disposal.

Part 9 also requires the Minister to issue objectives, codes of practice, and guidelines that will apply specifically to the Federal House.

Who is being consulted?

In the administration of CEPA 1999, the Government offers to consult with affected and interested parties in the making of decisions that affect the environment. The Minister, under Part 9, must offer to consult with any territorial government that may be affected by a proposed regulation, guideline, code of practice, or objective. The Minister is also required to consult with the members of the National Advisory Committee (NAC) that represent aboriginal governments which may be affected by a proposed regulation. As well, the Minister may consult with affected departments, boards, agencies, federal works and undertakings, persons on/using aboriginal or federal land and Crown corporations, or with other interested parties.

Further information:

Internet:

CEPAEnvironmental Registry

Inquiry Centre:

351 St. Joseph Boulevard
Hull, Quebec K1A 0H3
Telephone: 819-997-2800
toll-free: 1-800-668-6767
Fax: 819-994-1412
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉE - Fiches d'information

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 (LCPE 1999) et les opérations gouvernementales, territoire domanial et terres autochtones

En quoi consiste la partie 9 de la LCPE 1999 et qui vise-t-elle ?

La partie 9 de la LCPE 1999 s'applique aux opérations du gouvernement du Canada. Elle régit les ministères, les organismes, les sociétés d'État et les commissions de même que les activités et les entreprises fédérales, les terres autochtones et les parties qui occupent ou utilisent le territoire domanial, appelées communément la « grande maison fédérale ».

D'autres parties de la LCPE 1999 s'appliquent-elles à la grande maison fédérale ?

Les membres de la grande maison fédérale sont visés, comme tous les Canadiens, par l'ensemble de la LCPE. Par conséquent, les règlements concernant les substances toxiques, le carburant, les rejets en mer et autres substances s'appliquent aussi à la grande maison fédérale. Sa conformité à la Loi fait l'objet d'un contrôle et les infractions en vertu de la LCPE commises par ses membres peuvent faire l'objet de poursuites comme toute autre infraction.

Pourquoi y a-t-il une partie réservée aux opérations gouvernementales, au territoire domanial et aux terres autochtones ?

Les membres de la grande maison fédérale sont assujettis à la LCPE. Toutefois, en vertu de la constitution du Canada, les lois environnementales des provinces ne s'appliquent pas en général au gouvernement fédéral. Autrement dit, les opérations fédérales, le territoire domanial et les terres autochtones ne sont pas assujettis aux règlements ou aux systèmes de régimes de permis provinciaux régissant les émissions, les effluents, les urgences environnementales, la gestion des déchets et autres substances présentes dans l'environnement.

La partie 9 de la LCPE 1999 comble cette lacune et assujettit, en matière d'environnement, les installations fédérales, le territoire domanial et les terres autochtones au même genre de règlements que le sont les entités de compétence provinciale ou territoriale.

La partie 9 permet aussi d'adopter des règlements ou des lignes directrices en matière d'environnement s'appliquant exclusivement à la grande maison fédérale, afin de permettre à celle-ci de « faire en sorte que ses opérations et activités sur le territoire domanial et les terres autochtones respectent les principes de la prévention de la pollution et de la protection de l'environnement et de la santé humaine. » (LCPE 1999, préambule)

Que contient la partie 9 ?

La partie 9 confère au gouverneur en conseil (le Cabinet fédéral) le vaste pouvoir d'édicter, spécialement pour la grande maison fédérale, des règlements relatifs :

  • aux questions environnementales,
  • aux systèmes de gestion de l'environnement,
  • à la lutte contre la pollution ou sa prévention,
  • aux substances ou aux activités qui en comportent, dont leur fabrication, leur traitement, leur rejet dans l'environnement et leur élimination.

La partie 9 exige en outre que le ministre fixe des objectifs, établisse des codes de pratiques et émettent des lignes directrices s'appliquant spécialement à la grande maison fédérale.

Qui est consulté ?

Aux fins d'administration de la LCPE 1999, le gouvernement offre de discuter avec les parties touchées qu'intéresse la prise des décisions liées à l'environnement. Le ministre doit, en vertu de la partie 9, offrir de discuter avec les gouvernements territoriaux susceptibles d'être touchés par un règlement proposé, une ligne directrice, un code de pratiques ou un objectif. Il doit aussi consulter les membres du Comité consultatif national (CCN) qui représentent les gouvernements autochtones et peuvent être touchés par un règlement qui est proposé. Enfin, il peut tenir des discussions avec les ministères, les commissions, les organismes, les activités et les entreprises fédérales, quiconque vit sur les terres autochtones ou le territoire domanial ou les utilise, les sociétés d'État et toute partie intéressée.

Pour de plus amples informations :

Internet :

Registre environnemental de la LCPE

Informathèque :

351 boul. St-Joseph
Hull, (Québec)
K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 819-997-2800
sans frais : 1-800-668-6767
Téléc. : 819-994-1412
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :