This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Letter of Invitation to Participate in the Consultations on Revisions to the 1993 Guidelines

Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H3
10 JAN, 2002

Dear Sir / Madam

I am pleased to invite you to participate in the consultations on the revisions to the "Thermal Power Generation Emissions National Guidelines for New Stationary Sources", issued under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. The Guidelines contain emission limits for sulphur dioxide, nitrogen oxides and particulate matter, as well as provisions for opacity and continuous emissions monitoring. The purpose of the revisions is to update the emissions limits with respect to emissions performance achievable with the current best available economically feasible technologies.

A draft of the revised Guidelines, together with a discussion document on the proposed revisions, will be sent to you after you return the attached fax-back sheet  indicating your interest in participating in this process.   Stakeholders will be asked to submit their comments in writing on the draft revised Guidelines by March 2002.  Following the comment period, a multi-stakeholder workshop will be held to discuss comments and possible responses.   Copies of all comments and responses will be distributed to all interested parties, and the revised Guidelines will be published in the Canada Gazette by July 2002.  The key objective of the consultations will be to select discrete emissions limits, taking into consideration the information presented for the revised Guidelines in the discussion document.

I encourage you to use this opportunity to share your knowledge and perspectives on the revisions to the Guidelines,  and look forward to receiving your input.  Please return the fax-back sheet prior to January 18, so that we can send you the draft revised Guidelines and discussion document.

Yours Sincerely,
original signed by

Alan Nymark

Enclosure

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉ - Lettre afin de participer aux consultations sur les revisions des Lignes directrices publié en 1993

Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H3
10 JAN. 2002

Madame, Monsieur,

C'est avec plaisir que je vous invite à participer aux consultations sur les révisions proposées aux Lignes directrices nationales sur les émissions des centrales thermiques nouvelles, conformément à la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999.  Ces dernières limitent les émissions de dioxyde de soufre, d'oxydes d'azote et de particules.  Elles régissent également  l'opacité et la surveillance continue des émissions. Les révisions proposées visent à mettre à jour les limites d'émissions en fonction des résultats d'émissions possibles avec les  meilleures technologies économiquement réalisables existantes.

Une ébauche des nouvelles Lignes directrices et un document de discussion sur les révisions proposées vous seront acheminés dès que vous nous aurez télécopié la feuille de réponse ci-jointe, confirmant votre participation au processus.  Les intéressés devront remettre leurs commentaires à propos des nouvelles Lignes directrices par écrit d'ici à mars 2002.  Un atelier multilatéral aura lieu par la suite afin de discuter des commentaires reçus et des réponses plausibles.  Des copies des commentaires et des réponses seront transmises à tous les intéressés et les nouvelles Lignes directrices seront publiées dans la Gazette du Canada d'ici à juillet 2002.  L'objectif principal des consultations consiste à choisir des limites d'émissions discrètes, en tenant compte de l'information fournie dans le document de discussion, relativement aux Lignes directrices révisées.

Je vous encourage à profiter de cette occasion pour partager vos connaissances et vos réflexions  sur les révisions apportés aux Lignes directrices et espère recevoir vos suggestions.  Veuillez nous télécopier la feuille de réponse avant le 18 janvier, pour que nous puissions vous faire parvenir l'ébauche des Lignes directrices révisées et le document de discussion.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

l'originale signée par

Alan Nymark

Date de modification :