This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Infosheet: Proposed 'Listing of Other Acts and Regulations' in CEPA, 1999 Schedules
(February 10, 2001)

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act was first proclaimed in 1988 (CEPA, 1988); it included provisions for creating a regulatory program for 'new' substances proposed for first time entry into Canada. Phase 1 of this program was implemented in 1994 (for chemicals and polymers) and phase 2 in 1997 (for animate products of biotechnology). Under this program, all 'new' substances require notice, prior to their importation or manufacture, and assessment for potential adverse effects on human health and the environment. The program is administered by Environment Canada, while the assessments are conducted jointly by Environment Canada and Health Canada. The new substances assessment considers all phases in the life-cycle of the substance from the time it is manufactured through to its use and disposal.

In addition to the above, CEPA, 1988 was written to recognize that notice and assessments of 'new' substances are also conducted under other Acts and Regulations. In cases where those Acts and Regulations provide for notice prior to import, manufacture or sale, and an assessment for potential adverse effects on human health and the environment, (i.e. conduct an assessment of 'toxic' as defined in CEPA, 1988), then 'new' substances regulated under them are exempted from notification under the new substances program in CEPA, 1988. Through this process, CEPA, 1988 effectively sets a 'benchmark' for other Acts and Regulations.

The new CEPA, (CEPA, 1999) maintains the above criteria but has added a new requirement. This new requirement is the subject of this factsheet and will come into effect later this year (September 13, 2001); it requires the Governor in Council to make the decision whether the benchmark for notice and assessment of 'toxic' is met by other Acts and Regulations and, for those that do, 'List' them in either Schedule 2 (chemical and polymer substances) or Schedule 4 (animate products of biotechnology) of CEPA, 1999. The relevant subsections in CEPA, 1999 are 81(7) and 106(7), respectively.

On February 10, 2001, the Governor in Council published a proposal to List five Acts and Regulations on Schedules 2 and 4 of the CEPA, 1999 (see below) in the Canada Gazette Part 1 (available on the internet at http://www.gazette.gc.ca and in most public libraries). Before any final decision is taken by the Governor in Council respecting an Act and Regulation, the public is invited to comment within 60 days from February 10, 2001.

Acts and Regulations proposed for Listing appear below:

  • Schedule 2 (Chemicals and Polymers)
    • Pest Control Products Act & Pest Control Products Regulations (Pest Management Regulatory Agency)
    • Feeds Act & Feeds Regulations (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
    • Fertilizers Act & Fertilizers Regulations (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
  • Schedule 4 (Animate Products of Biotechnology)
    • Pest Control Products Act & Pest Control Products Regulations (Pest Management Regulatory Agency)
    • Feeds Act & Feeds Regulations (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
    • Fertilizers Act & Fertilizers Regulations (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
    • Seeds Act & Seeds Regulations (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
    • Health of Animals Act & Health of Animals Regulations (veterinary biologics) (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)

For more specific information on the Acts and Regulations proposed for Listing, including how CEPA, 1999 requirements are met by the Acts and Regulations above, please consult departmental and agency websites (under 'whats new'):

The proposal to List these Acts and Regulations in CEPA, 1999, if approved, will make it clear that the Listed Acts and Regulations include environmental and health assessments that are being applied consistently and that new substances assessed under them meet CEPA, 1999 new substances requirements for assessment of threats to human health and the environment. Furthermore, the Listing of these Acts and Regulations on Schedules 2 and 4 of CEPA, 1999 will maintain the current (CEPA, 1988) regime whereby substances that are regulated under them are exempted from notification under the New Substance Notification Regulations of CEPA, 1999.

The proposal was made at this time to allow for sufficient time for public comment and for the Government to respond prior to the coming into force, on September 13, 2001, of the CEPA, 1999 requirements as described above.

As part of the decision-making process, the Government invites the public to scrutinize the documentation that accompanies the proposal to List these Acts and Regulations and to provide comments to the contacts listed below. Comments on the proposal can be made to one of the following contacts:

Cynthia Wright
Director General
Strategic Priorities Directorate
Environment Canada
Place Vincent Massey
16th floor, 351 St. Joseph Blvd.
Hull, QC
K1A 0H3

Arthur Sheffield
Team Leader
Regulatory and Economic Analysis Branch
Environment Canada,
Les Terrasses de la Chaudiere,
22nd floor, 10 Wellington St.,
Hull, QC
K1A 0H3

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉ - Fiche d'information : Inscription proposée d'autres lois et règlements dans les annexes de la LCPE de 1999
(10 février 2001)

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement a été promulguée pour la première fois en 1988 (LCPE 1988) et elle contenait à ce moment des dispositions prévoyant la mise sur pied d'un programme réglementaire visant les nouvelles substances dont on propose l'entrée au Canada pour la première fois. La Phase 1 du programme a été accomplie en 1994 (produits chimiques et polymères) et la Phase 2, en 1997 (substances biotechnologiques animées). En vertu de ce programme, ces substances doivent faire l'objet d'un avis avant qu'elles ne soient importées ou fabriquées et leurs effets nocifs éventuels sur la santé humaine et l'environnement doivent être évalués. Le programme est administré par le gouvernement du Canada tandis que les évaluations sont exécutées conjointement par Environnement Canada et Santé Canada. L'évaluation des nouvelles substances comprend toutes les étapes du cycle de vie de celles-ci depuis le moment de la fabrication jusqu'à son utilisation et son élimination.

De plus, la LCPE de 1988 reconnaît que d'autres lois règlements prévoient des notifications et des évaluations relatives aux nouvelles substances. Lorsque des lois et des règlements exigent un avis avant l'importation, la fabrication ou la vente et l'exécution d'une évaluation des effets nocifs éventuels sur la santé humaine et l'environnement (évaluation de la toxicité telle que définie par la LCPE de 1988), les nouvelles substances ainsi visées ne doivent pas obligatoirement faire l'objet d'une notification en vertu du programme relatif aux nouvelles substances prévu par la LCPE de 1988. Au moyen de ce processus, la LCPE de 1988 est le critère pour les autres lois et règlements.

La LCPE de 1999 conserve ce critère, mais elle prévoit une nouvelle exigence. Celle-ci est l'objet de la présente fiche et elle entrera en vigueur le 13 septembre 2001. Elle oblige le gouverneur en conseil de décider si d'autres lois et règlements respectent les critères concernant la notification et l'évaluation de toxicité, et le cas échéant, de les inscrire à l'annexe 2 (produits chimiques et polymères) ou à l'annexe 4 (substances biotechnologiques animées) de la LCPE de 1999. Les paragraphes pertinents de la LCPE de 1999 sont 81(7) et 106(7) respectivement.

Le 10 février dernier, le gouverneur en conseil a publié dans la partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada (http://www.gazette.gc.ca et dans la plupart des bibliothèques publiques) une proposition en vue d'inscrire cinq lois et règlements aux annexes 2 et 4 de la LCPE de 1999 (voir la liste ci-après). Avant que la gouverneur en conseil ne prenne une décision définitive concernant une loi ou un règlement, le public a 60 jours à compter du 10 février pour faire ses commentaires.

  • Annexe 2 (produits chimiques et polymères)
    • Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires et Règlement sur les produits antiparasitaires (Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire)
    • Loi relative aux aliments du bétail et Règlement relatif aux aliments du bétail (Agence canadienne de l'inspection des aliments)
    • Loi sur les engrais et Règlement sur les engrais (Agence canadienne de l'inspection des aliments)
  • Annexe 4 (Substances biotechnologiques animées)
    • Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires et Règlement sur les produits antiparasitaires (Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire)
    • Loi relative aux aliments du bétail et Règlement relatif aux aliments du bétail (Agence canadienne de l'inspection des aliments)
    • Loi sur les engrais et Règlement sur les engrais (Agence canadienne de l'inspection des aliments)
    • Loi sur les semences et Règlement sur les semences (Agence canadienne de l'inspection des aliments)
    • Loi sur la santé des animaux et Règlement sur la santé des animaux (produits biologiques à des fins vétérinaires) (Agence canadienne de l'inspection des aliments)

Veuillez consulter les sites Web des ministères et des agences intéressés sous la rubrique Quoi de neuf pour obtenir des renseignements sur les lois et les règlements en question et pour connaître la façon dont ceux-ci respectent les conditions d'application.

Si l'inscription de ces lois et règlements dans la LCPE de 1999 est approuvée, on fera comprendre sans l'ombre d'un doute que ceux-ci comprennent des évaluations de la santé et de l'environnement qui sont menées uniformément et que les nouvelles substances évaluées en vertu de ceux-ci satisfont aux exigences de la LCPE de 1999 relatives à celles-ci concernant l'évaluation des risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement. De plus, l'inscription de ces lois et règlements aux annexes 2 et 4 de la LCPE de 1999 assure le maintien du système actuel (LCPE de 1988) selon lequel les substances visées par celles-ci ne sont pas tenues de faire l'objet d'une notification au titre du règlement sur les nouvelles substances pris en vertu de la LCPE de 1999.

La proposition a été faite à ce moment-ci afin de donner au public le temps nécessaire pour la commenter et au gouvernement, le temps nécessaire pour donner suite aux commentaires avant l'entrée en vigueur, le 13 septembre 2001, des exigences ci-dessus de la LCPE de 1999.

Avant de prendre sa décision, le gouvernement invite le public à prendre connaissance de la documentation qui accompagne la proposition d'inscrire ces lois et règlements et de lui faire part de ses commentaires aux personnes indiquées ci-après.

Envoyez vos commentaires à

C. Wright, directrice générale,
Priorités stratégiques,
Environnement Canada
Place Vincent Massey,
16e étage,
351, boul. Saint-Joseph,
Hull, QC K1A 0H3

A. Sheffield, chef d'équipe
Évaluations réglementaires et économiques
Environnement Canada
Terrasses de la Chaudière
22e étage
10, rue Wellington
Hull, QC K1A 0H3

Date de modification :