Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Proposed CEPA Export and Import of Hazardous Wastes and Hazardous Recyclable Materials Regulations

- Discussion Paper -

Transboundary Movement Branch
Environment Canada

January 18, 2002

Introduction

Background

Environment Canada intends to revise the Export and Import of Hazardous Wastes Regulations (EIHWR). This paper is intended to support the second round of major public consultations concerning these reforms.

Environment Canada adopted the Export and Import of Hazardous Wastes Regulations (EIHWR) in 1992 under the authority of the former Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1988 (CEPA, 1988). The EIHWR are now under the authority of the new Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999). The EIHWR are intended to protect Canada's environment from the risks posed by unregulated traffic in hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials to implement Canada's international obligations to protect the environment of other countries from uncontrolled exports of these wastes and recyclable materials from Canada.

Since 1992, the volume of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials crossing Canada's border has increased, particularly in 1998 and 1999 where there had been increases in imports of hazardous waste destined for final disposal. As well, during the last decade, various changes to the domestic and international legal regimes have occurred, and the parties involved in managing transboundary movements of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials have identified opportunities to enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of the design and implementation of the EIHWR. Through the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment Hazardous Waste Task Group (CCME HWTG), Environment Canada, the provinces and relevant industries have identified numerous opportunities to harmonize the relevant federal-provincial regimes, particularly in defining hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable material.

The international regimes regulating the import and export of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable material have also evolved. These international obligations stem from three different agreements:

  • the Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal, 1989;
  • the OECD Decision of Council concerning the control of transfrontier movements of wastes destined for recovery operations, C(92)39/Final, March 1992, as amended; and
  • the Canada-United States Agreement Concerning the Transboundary Movement of Hazardous Wastes, 1986 (as amended in 1992).

Similarly, CEPA, 1999, in force since April 2000, includes various important new provisions with respect to hazardous waste and hazardous recyclable materials. One of the most important of these changes is the clear authority for a distinct control regime for exports and imports of hazardous recyclable materials. In addition, the new Act authorizes of the Minister of Environment to:

  • prohibit exports, imports or transits in order to implement international agreements;
  • develop criteria to ensure the environmentally sound management of wastes or recyclable materials, and to refuse permits for import or export if these criteria are not met;
  • issue permits for activities that are different from the requirements set out in the regulations but that are of an "equivalent level of environmental safety"; and
  • require the preparation of plans to reduce wastes destined for final disposal.

As a result of these various developments, Environment Canada is developing new regulations to replace the EIHWR. Given the decoupling of the definitions of waste and recyclable materials under CEPA, 1999, these new regulations will become the Export and Import of Hazardous Wastes and Hazardous Recyclable Materials Regulations (EIHWHRM Regulations).

The EIHWHRM Regulations will retain the primary objective of ensuring that the environment and human health of Canadians and others is protected when transboundary movements of hazardous wastes and hazardous recyclable materials take place. As with the current EIHWR, the new regulations will establish controls on such movements that are consistent with Canada's international obligations. The new regulations will also contain substantial revisions from the current EIHWR in order to:

  • address each of the new CEPA, 1999 authorities;
  • facilitate recycling by providing a distinct control regime for recyclable materials;
  • enhance the efficiency with which the control regime can be administered and complied;
  • improve federal-provincial and US-Canadian harmonization; and
  • strengthen the linkages between the import/export provisions under CEPA and the other elements of CEPA, 1999, including in particular the toxic substances provisions.

In addition to revising the substantive content of the regulations, Environment Canada also intends to improve the clarity of the regulations as a whole. It will strive to enhance the readability of the regulations. Among other things, this may involve in "clear language" drafting and the use of statements of purpose for each of the main parts of the regulations.

The Amendment and Consultation Process

This discussion paper is being released as part of a public consultation process concerning the development of the new EIHWHRM Regulations. It follows a round of initial consultations held in February and March of 2001 to inform stakeholders of the scope of the amendment process and to solicit initial input.

 Following this second major round of consultations, Environment Canada will prepare draft regulations to amend the current EIHWR. It will also undertake a study on the potential socio-economic impacts of the new regulations. Stakeholders will have another opportunity to provide comments following the release of the report of this second round of consultation which will be taken into account in the drafting process.

Following these consultations, the Government will follow the formal regulatory process prescribed by the Statutory Instruments Act (R.S., 1985, C. S-22):

  • The Minister of Environment will publish a copy of the proposed regulations in Part I of the Canada Gazette. It is expected that this will occur in December 2002.
  • Within 60 days after the publication of a proposed regulations, any person may file with the Minister written comments on the proposed regulation.
  • Once the proposed regulation has been finalized, taking into account the comments received during the 60-day public consultation period, the Government will publish the final official regulations in Part II of the Canada Gazette.

The remainder of this paper follows the possible structure of the main parts of the new regulation. The language used describes the proposed content of the section; it does not represent legal text.

Introduction

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Projet de règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses de la LCPE

- Document de travail -

Direction des mouvements transfrontières
Environnement Canada

18 janvier 2002

Introduction

Contexte

Dans le cadre du processus de modification du Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation des déchets dangereux (REIDD), Environnement Canada (EC) a établi une ébauche de document de travail pour la deuxième série de consultations publiques.

En 1992, le gouvernement du Canada a introduit le Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation des déchets dangereux (REIDD) en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement de 1988 (LCPE 1988). Le REIDD est maintenant passé sous le régime de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE 1999). Il a pour but de protéger l'environnement du Canada des risques que présentent les mouvements non contrôlés de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses et de veiller au respect des obligations internationales du Canada en matière de protection de l'environnement d'autres pays contre les exportations non réglementées de ces déchets et matières en provenance du Canada.

Depuis 1992, le volume de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses qui ont traversé la frontière canadienne a augmenté, surtout en 1998 et en 1999 où on a assisté à une augmentation des importations de déchets dangereux destinés à l'élimination finale. De plus, au cours de la dernière décennie, on a modifié les régimes de réglementation interne et internationale, et les intervenants dans la gestion des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses ont saisi l'occasion de rationaliser le REIDD et sa mise en œuvre.

Par l'intermédiaire du Groupe technique sur les déchets dangereux (GTDD) du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME), Environnement Canada et les provinces et les industries ont étudié les nombreuses possibilités d'harmonisation des réglementations fédérale et provinciales, notamment en ce qui touche la définition des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses.

Par ailleurs, les mécanismes de réglementation internationale de l'importation et de l'exportation des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses ont progressé. Trois accords définissent les obligations internationales:

  • la Convention de Bâle sur le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de leur élimination de 1989;
  • la Décision du Conseil de l'OCDE concernant le contrôle des mouvements transfrontières de déchets destinés à des opérations de valorisation, C(92)39/ (final), mars 1992 tel que modifiée;
  • l'Accord entre le Canada et les États?Unis concernant les déplacements transfrontaliers de déchets dangereux de 1986 (modifié en 1992).

La LCPE 1999, en vigueur depuis avril 2000, prévoit diverses nouvelles mesures importantes à l'égard des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses. Le pouvoir de réglementer de façon distincte les exportations et les importations de matières recyclables dangereuses et de déchets dangereux constitue certes une des plus importantes. De plus, la nouvelle loi autorise le ministre de l'Environnement:

  • à interdire des exportations, importations ou transits en conformité avec les accords internationaux;
  • à définir des critères afin de garantir la gestion écologiquement rationnelle des déchets ou des matières recyclables et à refuser d'émettre un permis d'importation ou d'exportation lorsque ces critères ne sont pas respectés
  • à émettre des permis pour des activités qui ne cadrent pas avec les exigences du règlement mais qui sont d'un "niveau équivalent de sécurité environnementale";
  • à exiger la préparation de plans de réduction des déchets destinés à l'élimination finale.

Environnement Canada élabore donc un nouveau règlement qui remplacera le REIDD. Compte tenu des définitions distinctes de déchets et de matières recyclables prévues par la LCPE 1999, le nouveau règlement s'intitulera Règlement sur l'exportation et l'importation des déchets dangereux et des matières recyclables dangereuses (REIDDMRD).

Le REIDDMRD aura comme objectif principal de protéger l'environnement et la santé, au Canada et ailleurs, au cours des mouvements transfrontières de déchets dangereux et de matières recyclables dangereuses. À l'instar du REIDD, le nouveau règlement définira les mesures de contrôle de ces mouvements en tenant compte des obligations internationales du Canada. Il apportera d'importantes modifications en ce qui a trait aux activités suivantes:

  • assurer l'exécution de chacun des pouvoirs prévus par la LCPE 1999;
  • faciliter le recyclage grâce au régime distinct de réglementation pour les matières recyclables;
  • améliorer l'efficience de l'application et du contrôle d'application de la réglementation;
  • accroître l'harmonisation entre les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux ainsi qu'entre les États?Unis et le Canada;
  • renforcer les liens entre les dispositions sur l'importation et l'exportation de la LCPE 1999 et d'autres éléments de cette loi, y compris les dispositions relatives aux substances toxiques.

En plus de réviser en profondeur le Règlement, Environnement Canada compte en clarifier l'ensemble et en améliorer la lisibilité, notamment grâce à l'emploi d'un langage clair et de l'énoncé de l'objectif de chacune des parties principales.

Modification du règlement et processus de consultation

La publication du document de travail fait partie du processus de consultation publique sur le REIDDMRD. Elle fait suite à la première série de consultations qui s'est tenue en février et mars 2001 et qui visait à informer les intervenants de la portée des modifications et à recueillir leurs commentaires à ce sujet.

Après la deuxième série de consultations, Environnement Canada établira une ébauche de règlement qui remplacera le REIDD. Le Ministère entreprendra aussi une étude des impacts socio-économiques du nouveau règlement. Les intervenants auront de nouveau l'occasion d'émettre des commentaires après la publication du rapport sur la deuxième série de consultations, et le Ministère en tiendra compte à l'étape de la rédaction du règlement.

 Après ces consultations, le gouvernement suivra le processus réglementaire officiel prévu dans la Loi sur les textes réglementaires (L.R., 1985, ch. S-22):

  • Le ministre de l'Environnement publie le projet de règlement dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada. La publication est prévue en décembre 2002.
  • Dans les 60 jours suivant la publication du projet de règlement, toute personne peut déposer auprès du ministre des commentaires s'y rapportant.
  • Dès que le projet de règlement a été finalisé, en tenant compte des commentaires reçus au cours de la période de consultation publique de 60 jours, le règlement officiel est publié dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada.

Le texte qui suit respecte la structure possible des principales parties du nouveau règlement. Il ne donne pas le libellé mais décrit plutôt le contenu proposé des parties.

 
Introduction
Date de modification :