This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 Annual Report for April 2013 to March 2014

1 Introduction

This annual report provides an overview of the activities conducted and results achieved under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) from April 1, 2013, to March 31, 2014. Both the Minister of the Environment and the Minister of Health jointly administer the task of assessing and managing the risks associated with toxic substances. This report responds to the statutory requirement in section 342 of the Act to provide annual reports to Parliament on the administration and enforcement of the Act.

CEPA 1999 provides authority for the Government of Canada to take action on a wide range of environmental and health risks--from chemicals to air pollution to wastes. For the most part, it functions as an enabling statute, providing a suite of instruments and measures for identifying, assessing and addressing the risks.

The general steps followed to address each risk can typically be organized into a cycle: information is collected to understand risks and inform decisions; risks are assessed to determine if action is required; risk management instruments are put in place to reduce or eliminate risks to the environment and/or human health; these instruments may require compliance promotion and enforcement; and information is once again collected to monitor progress and determine if additional action is required. At each stage in the cycle, stakeholders are engaged, the public has the opportunity to be involved, the government works closely with provincial, territorial and Aboriginal counterparts, and information is reported to the public.

Figure 1: The CEPA management cycle

Figure 1: The CEPA management cycle

This report provides information on all stages of the CEPA cycle. Section 2, Addressing Key Risks, covers information gathering, research and monitoring, risk assessment, and risk management for toxics, air pollution, greenhouse gases, water quality and waste. Section 3, Administration, Public Participation and Reporting, covers reporting, stakeholder engagement, public rights and inter-jurisdictional relationships. Section 4 describes compliance promotion and enforcement activities.

 
1 Introduction
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport annuel de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) pour la période d'avril 2013 à mars 2014

1 Introduction

Le présent rapport annuel offre un aperçu des activités menées et des résultats obtenus en application de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999] pour la période du 1er avril 2013 au 31 mars 2014. Le ministre de l’Environnement et le ministre de la Santé exécutent conjointement la tâche d’évaluer et de gérer les risques associés aux substances toxiques. La publication du rapport satisfait à l’article 342 de la Loi, qui exige de présenter au Parlement un rapport annuel sur l’application de la Loi.

La LCPE (1999) confère au gouvernement du Canada le pouvoir de prendre des mesures contre un vaste éventail de risques pour l’environnement et la santé humaine, qui vont des produits chimiques à la pollution de l’air et aux déchets. Pour l’essentiel, il s’agit d’une loi habilitante qui fournit un ensemble d’outils permettant de déterminer, d’évaluer et de gérer les risques.

Les étapes générales suivies pour gérer les risques forment un cycle : des renseignements sont recueillis afin de comprendre les risques et d’éclairer les décisions; les risques sont évalués pour déterminer s’il y a des mesures à prendre; des instruments sont établis pour réduire ou éliminer les risques d’atteinte à l’environnement et à la santé humaine; ces instruments peuvent exiger la promotion de la conformité et l’application de la loi; enfin, des renseignements sont recueillis de nouveau afin de suivre les progrès réalisés et de déterminer si d’autres mesures sont requises. À chaque étape du cycle, les intervenants sont mobilisés, le public a l’occasion de participer, le gouvernement travaille étroitement avec ses homologues provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones et les renseignements sont présentés au public.

Figure 1 : Le cycle de gestion de la LCPE (1999)

Figure 1. Le cycle de gestion de la LCPE

Ce rapport fournit des renseignements sur toutes les étapes du cycle de gestion. La section 2 « Gestion des principaux risques » porte sur la collecte de renseignements, la recherche et la surveillance, sur l’évaluation des risques et sur la gestion des risques liés aux substances toxiques, à la pollution de l’air, aux gaz à effet de serre, à la qualité de l’eau et aux déchets. La section 3 « Exécution, participation du public et présentation de rapports » porte sur la présentation de rapports, la mobilisation des intervenants, les droits du public et les relations intergouvernementales. La section 4 porte sur les activités de promotion de la conformité et d’application de la loi.

 
1 Introduction
Date de modification :