This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the Proposed Order Adding Toxic Substances to Schedule 1 to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Minister's Response to Concerns Raised by Hydroquinone Group.

Dr. John L. O'Donoghue
Scientific Advisor and Group Manager
Hydroquinone Group
3915 Clover Street
Honeoye Falls, New York
14472-9319
U.S.A.

Dear Dr. O'Donoghue:

I am responding to the notice of objection you filed on November 18, 2008,  regarding the proposed Order adding hydroquinone (CAS No. 123-31-9) to the List of Toxic substances in Schedule 1 to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, that was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on September 20, 2008.

Please be assured that the Government of Canada is committed to consulting with all stakeholders, such as your organization, and the public on the development of risk management options, including regulations.  Issues raised will continue to be considered in an open and transparent way. 

Further periods for comment as well as opportunities to file notices of objection will be provided, under the Act, following the publication of instruments for the preventive or control action of hydroquinone, such as a proposed regulation.

I appreciate your bringing the Hydroquinone Group's concerns to my attention, and look forward to working with you in the future on matters of environmental or human health interest to your group.

Sincerely,

The Honourable Jim Prentice, P.C., Q.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition au décret proposé d'inscription de substances toxiques à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Réponse du Ministre aux inquiétudes suscitées par Hydroquinone Group.

Dr. John L. O'Donoghue
Scientific Advisor and Group Manager
Hydroquinone Group
3915 Clover Street
Honeoye Falls, New York
14472-9319
U.S.A.

Cher Dr. O'Donoghue :

Je réponds à votre avis d'opposition daté du 18 novembre 2008 concernant le décret proposé d'inscription d'hydroquinone (No. de CAS 123-31-9) à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 20 septembre 2008.

Soyez assuré que le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à consulter tous les intervenants et le public en ce qui concerne l'élaboration des options de gestion des risques, y compris des règlements, et que les problèmes soulevés continueront d'être considérés de façon ouverte et transparente.

D'autres périodes de commentaires et occasions pour présenter des avis d'opposition seront fournies, en vertu de la Loi, à la suite de la publication des instruments pour les mesures de prévention ou de contrôle de l'hydroquinone, tel qu'un projet de règlement.

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait part des préoccupations du Hydroquinone Group et je suis impatient de travailler avec vous à l'avenir sur des questions d'intérêt environnemental ou de santé humaine pour votre groupe.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L'Honorable Jim Prentice, c.p., député

Date de modification :