Enforcement and Compliance

The Environmental Enforcement Act (EEA) is omnibus legislation that creates new enforcement tools, amends the fine regimes and strengthens the sentencing provisions in nine environmental acts. The combined effect of these measures is to help achieve greater compliance with federal environmental legislation. A more detailed description of the EEA can be found on the Enforcement website.

The EEA fine regime applies whenever an offence under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA) is prosecuted. Under the revised fine regime, which came into force on June 22, 2012, designated offences are subject to minimum fines and higher maximum fines. For offences set out in CEPA, designated offences are listed in the Act itself. For offences set out in regulations under CEPA, designated offences are listed in a separate regulation, the Regulations Designating Regulatory Provisions for Purposes of Enforcement (Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999).

A list of the offences designated under CEPA is available on line.

Administrative Monetary Penalties under CEPA Parts 7 and 9

The EEA also introduced the Environmental Violations Administrative Monetary Penalties Act (EVAMPA), which sets out the framework for the establishment of a fair and efficient administrative monetary penalties (AMPs) regime. AMPs are civil penalties designed to create a financial disincentive to non-compliance and to provide an alternative to other enforcement measures, such as written warnings and prosecution, which may not be effective or appropriate in all situations.

On April 9, 2016, the proposed Environmental Violations Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, for a 60-day comment period. The proposed Regulations would designate provisions of Parts 7 and 9 of CEPA, and regulations created under those Parts, that could be enforced by means of an AMP.

More information about the proposed AMPs regime is available on-line.

Fact Sheets

Canadians expect the Government of Canada to provide laws and regulations in order to protect them and their society, and these laws must be effectively enforced. The Parliament of Canada has ensured that CEPA 1999 will be enforced by stipulating the Government of Canada’s duty of enforcement directly in the Act at paragraph 2(1)(o).

The Role of Enforcement Under CEPA 1999

Principles of CEPA 1999 Enforcement

CEPA 1999 Review Officers

Enforcement Measures

Environmental Protection Alternative Measures (EPAMs)

Environmental Damages Fund

Environmental Damages Fund Evaluation

Prosecutions under CEPA 1999 - Statistical and detailed reports on Environmental Protection Enforcement Activities

Historical records on enforcement actions are available in the CEPA Annual Reports Archives. Recent enforcement actions are available via the Enforcement Notifications. To obtain more information and/or provide comments, visit the Enforcement website.

Date modified:

Application de la loi et conformité

La Loi sur le contrôle d'application de lois environnementales (LCALE) est une loi omnibus qui crée de nouveaux outils d'application de la loi, modifie les régimes d'amendes et renforce les dispositions relatives aux peines pour neuf lois environnementales. Ces mesures ont pour effet combiné de contribuer à améliorer la conformité à la législation fédérale en matière d'environnement. On peut trouver une description plus détaillée de la LCALE sur le site Web d'Application de la Loi.

Le régime d’amendes en vertu de la LCALE s'applique lorsque qu'une infraction à la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE) fait l'objet de poursuites. En vertu du régime d'amendes révisé, qui est entré en vigueur le 22 juin 2012, les infractions désignées sont assujetties aux amendes minimales et aux amendes maximales rehaussées. Pour les infractions établies dans la LCPE, les infractions désignées sont énumérées dans la loi proprement dite. Pour les infractions établies dans les règlements en vertu de la LCPE, les infractions désignées sont énumérées dans un règlement séparé, le Règlement sur les dispositions réglementaires désignées aux fins de contrôle d’application -- Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999).

Une liste de toutes les infractions désignées en vertu de la LCPE peut être consulté en ligne.

Sanctions administratives pécuniaires en vertu de la LCPE, parties 7 et 9

La LCALE a également introduit la Loi sur les pénalités administratives en matière d’environnement (LPAE), qui définit un cadre pour l'établissement d'un régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP) juste et efficace. Les SAP sont des sanctions civiles qui visent à créer une mesure de dissuasion financière contre la non-conformité et qui offrent une solution de rechange aux autres mesures d’application de la loi comme les avertissements écrits et les poursuites, qui pourraient ne pas être adaptées ou efficaces dans tous les cas.

Le 9 avril 2016, le projet de règlement concernant le Règlement sur les pénalités administratives en matière d’environnement (Règlement des SAP) a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada pour une période de consultation publique de 60 jours. Le projet de Règlement des SAP désignerait les dispositions réglementaires des parties 7 et 9 de la LCPE et des règlements créés en vertu de ces parties, qui pourraient être appliqués au moyen d'une SAP.

Plus de détails sur le projet de régime de SAP sont disponible en ligne.

Fiches d'information

Les Canadiens s'attendent à ce que le gouvernement adopte des lois et des règlements afin de les protéger, eux et la société, et qu'il les applique de façon efficace. Le Parlement du Canada a veillé à l'application de la LCPE (1999) en imposant cette responsabilité au gouvernement, à l'alinéa 2(1) de cette loi.

Le rôle d'application aux termes de la LCPE (1999)

Principes d'application de la LCPE (1999)

Réviseurs de la LCPE (1999)

Mesures d'application

Mesures de rechange en matière de protection de l'environnement (MRPE)

Le Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement

Évaluation du Fonds pour dommages à l'environnement

Poursuites sous la LCPE (1999) - Rapports détaillés et statistiques sur les activités de l'application de la loi

Des rapports historiques sur des mesures d'application sont disponibles dans les Archives des Rapports annuels de la LCPE. Des mesures récentes d'application sont disponibles via les Notifications d'application de la loi.

Date de modification :