This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

P2 Pollution Prevention Planning for Dichloromethane - Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Environment Canada December 2001 - Working Document Only

The following is a working document presenting the main elements that Environment Canada proposes to include in a section 56 notice requiring the preparation and implementation of pollution prevention plans for dichloromethane, under Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). The section 56 notice will target five industry sectors: aircraft paint stripping, flexible polyurethane foam blowing, pharmaceuticals, industrial cleaning, and adhesive formulation. Comments received on this document will be used to develop a proposed notice that will be published under section 56 of the Act in the Canada Gazette, Part I for a 60-day comment period.

You may find more information on pollution prevention planning in the document Guidelines for the Implementation of Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). These Guidelines and other information on pollution prevention may be found at www.ec.gc.ca/nopp.


CEPA-toxic substance to be included in Notice:

Dichloromethane, CAS Registry Number 75-09-2

1. Person or class of persons required to prepare and implement P2 plan:

Any person who

  1. owns and operates a facility that uses dichloromethane and is involved in:
    1. aircraft paint stripping, including the stripping of aircraft components
    2. flexible polyurethane foam blowing;
    3. pharmaceuticals and chemical intermediates manufacturing and tablet coating;
    4. industrial cleaning, or

     
  2. uses dichloromethane in adhesive formulation,

except a person who had used less than one tonne of dichloromethane per year each year since January 1, 1995 must prepare and implement a P2 plan for each such facility.

2. Activities in relation to which the plan is to be prepared :

All activities involving the use of dichloromethane.

3. Factors to consider in preparing plan:

Risk management objectives:

  1. Environment Canada’s risk management objective is to reduce aggregate dichloromethane releases from the persons identified in paragraph 1 by 85% from the 1995 levels, by January 1, 2007.

    In order to achieve this objective, the persons identified in paragraph1 will have to consider the following risk management objectives as factors when preparing their pollution prevention plan:
    1. for persons involved in aircraft paint stripping, to reduce annual releases of dichloromethane from 1995 base year levels by 50% by January 1, 2003, and by 80% by January 1, 2007;
    2. for persons involved in flexible polyurethane foam blowing, to reduce annual releases of dichloromethane from 1995 base year levels by 50% by January 1, 2003, and by 100% by January 1, 2007;
    3. for persons involved in pharmaceutical and chemical intermediates manufacturing and tablet coating, to reduce annual releases of dichloromethane from 1995 base year levels by 90% by January 1, 2003;
    4. for persons using dichloromethane in industrial cleaning applications, except those described in (e), to reduce annual releases of dichloromethane form 1995 base year levels by January 1, 2004, and by 80% by January 1, 2007;
    5. for persons using dichloromethane in industrial cleaning applications to clean the mixing chamber of low-pressure reaction injection molding machines, the elimination of this use by January 1, 2007;
    6. for persons involved in adhesives formulation, to reduce the use of dichloromethane form 1995 base year levels by 70% by January 1, 2003.
  2. Persons identified in paragraph 1 shall consider "the use of processes, practices, materials, products, substances or energy that avoid or minimize the creation of pollutants and waste and reduce the overall risk to the environment or human health", as this is the definition of pollution prevention under CEPA 1999.
  3. Persons identified in paragraph 1 shall consider when preparing their pollution prevention plan that, according to the Domestic Substances List Assessment Report - Dichloromethane, dichloromethane occurs at concentrations that may be harmful to the environment, has been classified as being "probably carcinogenic to humans", and therefore may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health.

4. Period within which the plan is to be prepared:

  1. The plan shall be prepared within 6 months of the entry into force of the notice.
  2. The implementation of the plan shall begin immediately after the plan is prepared, but no later than 6 months after the entry into force of the notice.

5. Period within which the plan is to be implemented:

Table 1 Pollution Prevention Plan Implementation Deadlines

For persons identified in paragraph 1 involved in:Pollution prevention plan implementation deadline
Aircraft paint strippingJune 1, 2008
Flexible polyurethane foam blowingJune 1, 2008
Pharmaceuticals and chemical intermediates manufacturing and tablet coatingJune 1, 2004
Industrial cleaningJune 1, 2008
Adhesives formulationJune 1, 2004

A pollution prevention plan has been implemented when all actions specified in the plan to achieve the risk management objectives have been taken and results of monitoring from one calendar year have been reported.

6. Content of plan:

Although persons preparing a plan are to determine the appropriate content of their own plan, each plan prepared under the notice must address all the requirements of the notice and contain the information to be filed in the Declarations referred to in paragraphs 8 and 9 and Interim Progress Reports referred to in paragraph 11.

7. Requirement to keep plan:

Persons identified in paragraph 1 shall keep a copy of the plan at the place in Canada in relation to which the plan is prepared.

8. Declaration of preparation:

Under subsection 58(1) of CEPA 1999, persons identified in paragraph 1 shall file with the Minister of the Environment, subject to paragraph 13, a Declaration that a Pollution Prevention Plan has been Prepared and is being Implemented - Dichloromethane using the form given in Schedule 1, within 30 days after the end of the period for the preparation of the plan specified in paragraph 4.

9. Declaration of implementation:

Under subsection 58(2) of CEPA, 1999, persons identified in paragraph 1 shall file with the Minister of the Environment, subject to paragraph 14, a Declaration that a Pollution Prevention Plan has been Implemented - Dichloromethane using the form given in Schedule 2, within 30 days after the completion of the implementation of the plan, and in any event, no later than 30 days after the implementation date specified in paragraph 5.

10. Filing of amended declarations:

Where a person has filed a Declaration under paragraph 8 or 9, and the Declaration contains information that at any time thereafter becomes false or misleading, that person shall file with the Minister an amended Declaration within 30 days after that time using the form referred to in paragraph 8 or 9.

11. Interim progress reports:

Persons identified in paragraph 1 involved in aircraft paint stripping, flexible polyurethane foam blowing, and industrial cleaning shall complete and file with the Minister of the Environment an Interim Progress Report -Dichloromethane, using the form given in Schedule 3, for each of the dates below until the persons submits a Declaration of Implementation as required in paragraph 9.

Table 2 Interim Progress Report Submission Date

Interim Progress Report No.1July 1, 2003
Interim Progress Report No.2July 1, 2004
Interim Progress Report No.3July 1, 2005
Interim Progress Report No.4July 1, 2006
Interim Progress Report No.5July 1, 2007

12. Use of pre-existing plan:

Under subsection 57(1) of CEPA, 1999, a person may use a pre-existing pollution prevention plan to satisfy the requirements of paragraphs 1 to 7. Persons using pre-existing plans must nonetheless file a Declaration of Preparation under paragraph 8, a Declaration of Implementation under paragraph 9, any amended Declarations under paragraph 10, where applicable, and any Interim Progress Reports required under paragraph 11.

13. Extension of preparation date:

Under subsection 56(3) of CEPA, 1999, where the Minister is of the opinion that further time is necessary to prepare the plan, the Minister may extend the period for preparing the plan for a person who submits a written Request for Extension of Time to Prepare a Pollution Prevention Plan - Dichloromethane using the form given in Schedule 4 before the expiry of the date referred to in paragraph 4.

14. Extension of implementation date:

Under subsection 56(3) of CEPA, 1999, where the Minister is of the opinion that further time is necessary to implement the plan, the Minister may extend the period for implementing the plan for a person who submits a written Request for Extension of Time to Implement a Pollution Prevention Plan - Dichloromethane using the form given in Schedule 5 before the expiry of the date referred to in paragraph 5.

15. Application for waiver of factors to consider:

Under subsection 56(5) of CEPA, 1999, where the Minister is of the opinion that it is not reasonable or practicable to consider a factor specified in paragraph 3, the Minister may waive the requirement for a person to consider that factor where that person submits a written request using the attached form Request for Waiver of Factors to Consider - Dichloromethane using the form given in Schedule 6 providing reasons for the request before the expiry of the date referred to in paragraph 4.

Schedule 1:Declaration that a Pollution Prevention Plan has been Prepared and is being Implemented - Dichloromethane (Section 58(1) of CEPA, 1999)
Schedule 2:Declaration that a Pollution Prevention Plan has been Implemented - Dichloromethane (Section 58(2) of CEPA, 1999)
Schedule 3:Interim Progress Report - Dichloromethane
Schedule 4:Request for Extension of Time to Prepare a Pollution Prevention Plan - Dichloromethane (Section 56(3) of CEPA , 1999)
Schedule 5:Request for Extension of Time to Implement a Pollution Prevention Plan - Dichloromethane (Section 56(3) of CEPA, 1999)
Schedule 6:Request for Waiver of Factors to Consider - Dichloromethane (Section 56(5) of CEPA, 1999)
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

P2 Plans de prévention de la pollution à l’égard du dichlorométhane - Partie 4 de la Loi Canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

Environnement Canada Décembre 2001 - Document de travail seulement

Ce document de travail est destiné à présenter les principaux éléments qu’Environnement Canada a l’intention d’inclure dans un avis exigeant

l’élaboration et l’exécution de plans de prévention de la pollution à l’égard du dichlorométhane, en vertu de la Parti 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999 (LCPE 1999). L’avis visera cinq secteurs industriels: le décapage de peinture d’aéronefs, le gonflement de mousse souples de polyuréthane, la fabrication de produits pharmaceutiques, le nettoyage industriel et la formulation d’adhésifs.

Les commentaires reçus sur ce document serviront à élaborer le projet d’avis qui sera publié dans la première partie de la Gazette du Canada en vertu de l’article 56 de la Loi pour une période de commentaires de soixante jours.

De plus amples renseignements sur les plans de prévention de la pollution sont disponibles dans le document Directives pour la mise en oeuvre des dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la Partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999 (LCPE, 1999). Ces directives ainsi que de l’information au sujet de la prévention de la pollution sont disponibles sur le site www.ec.gc.ca/nopp.


Substance toxique selon la LCPE:

Le dichlorométhane, numéro de registre CAS 75-09-2

1. Personnes ou catégories de personne qui sont tenues d’élaborer et d’exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution :

Toute personne

  1. qui possède ou exploite une installation qui utilise du dichlorométhane et qui oeuvre dans :
    1. le décapage de peinture d’aéronefs, y compris le décapage de pièces d’aéronefs;
    2. le gonflement de mousse souple de polyuréthane;
    3. la fabrication de produits pharmaceutiques et de produits chimiques intermédiaires, ainsi que dans l’enrobage de comprimés;
    4. le nettoyage industriel; ou qui
  2. utilise du dichlorométhane dans une formulation d’adhésifs,

à l’exception d’une personne qui a utilisé moins de 1 tonne de dichlorométhane par année chaque année depuis le 1er janvier 1995 doit élaborer et exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution pour cette installation.

2. Activités visées par le plan à élaborer :

Toute activité qui fait appel au dichlorométhane.

3. Facteurs à prendre en considération pour l’élaboration du plan :

  1. Afin de gérer le risque représenté par le dichlorométhane, l’objectif de gestion du risque d’Environnement Canada est de réduire, d’ici le 1er janvier 2007, de 85 % par rapport à leur niveau de 1995 les rejets totaux de dichlorométhane par les personnes identifiées au paragraphe 1.

    Pour atteindre cet objectif, toute personne identifiée au paragraphe 1 devra prendre en considération les objectifs de gestion du risque suivants comme facteurs lors de la préparation du plan de prévention de la pollution :
    1. dans le cas des personnes oeuvrant au décapage de peinture d’aéronefs, réduire d’ici le 1erjanvier 2003 les rejets annuels de 50 % par rapport au niveau de base de 1995, et de 80 % d’ici le 1erjanvier 2007;
    2. dans le cas des personnes oeuvrant au gonflement de mousse souple de polyuréthane, réduire d’ici le 1er janvier 2003 les rejets annuels de 50 % par rapport au niveau de base de 1995, et de 100 % d’ici le 1erjanvier 2007;
    3. dans le cas des personnes oeuvrant à la fabrication de produits pharmaceutiques et d’intermédiaires chimiques ainsi qu’à l’enrobage de comprimés, réduire d’ici le 1er janvier 2003 les rejets annuels de 90 % par rapport au niveau de base de 1995;
    4. dans le cas des personnes utilisant du dichlorométhane pour les applications en nettoyage industriel, à l’exception de celles décrites en 3(1)e), réduire d’ici le 1er janvier 2003 les rejets annuels de 50 % par rapport au niveau de base de 1995, et de 80 % d’ici le 1erjanvier 2007;
    5. dans le cas des personnes utilisant le dichlorométhane pour les applications en nettoyage industriel qui consistent à nettoyer la chambre de mélange de machines de moulage par réaction-injection sous faible pression, éliminer cette utilisation d’ici le 1er janvier 2007;
  2. Les personnes identifiées au paragraphe 1 devront prendre en considération, lors de l’élaboration du plan de prévention de la pollution « l'utilisation de procédés, pratiques, matériaux, produits, substances ou formes d'énergie qui, d'une part, empêchent ou réduisent au minimum la production de polluants ou de déchets, et, d'autre part, réduisent les risques d'atteinte à l'environnement ou à la santé humaine », car il s’agit là de la définition même de prévention de la pollution selon la LCPE1999.
  3. Les personnes identifiées au paragraphe 1 devront prendre en considération, lors de l’élaboration du plan de prévention de la pollution, le fait que, selon le Rapport d’évaluation de la liste intérieure des substances - dichlorométhane, ce dernier est présent à des concentrations qui peuvent être nocives pour l’environnement, qu’il a été classé comme étant « probablement cancérogène pour l’humain », et qu’il peut donc constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaine au Canada.

4. Délai imparti pour l’élaboration du plan

  1. Le plan devra être élaboré dans les six mois suivant la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’avis.
  2. La mise en oeuvre du plan commencera immédiatement après l’élaboration du plan, mais pas plus tard que 6 mois après la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’avis.

5. Délai imparti pour l’exécution du plan :

Tableau 1 Dates limites pour l’exécution du plan de prévention de la pollution

Dans le case des personnes identifiées au paragraphe 1, oeuvrant dans les domaines suivants :Dates limites pour l’exécution du plan de prévention de la pollution
Décapage de peinture d’aéronefs1er juin 2008
Gonflement de mousses souples de polyuréthane1er juin 2008
Fabrication de produits pharmaceutiques et d’intermédiaires chimiques, enrobage de comprimés1er juin 2004
Nettoyage industriel1er juin 2008
Formulation d’adhésifs1er juin 2004

Un plan de prévention de la pollution a été exécuté lorsque toutes les mesures spécifiées dans le plan pour atteindre les objectifs de gestion du risque ont été prises et que les résultats du contrôle sur une année civile ont été produits.

6. Contenu des plans

Bien que les personnes qui élaborent les plans puissent déterminer le contenu qui convient à leurs propres plans, chaque plan élaboré en vertu de l’avis doit satisfaire à toutes les exigences spécifiées dans cet avis et contenir les informations requises dans les déclarations auxquelles font référence les paragraphes 8 et 9 et le rapport provisoire auquel fait référence le paragraphe 11.

7. Obligation de conserver une copie du plan

Toute personne identifiée au paragraphe 1 doit conserver une copie du plan au lieu, au Canada, en faisant l’objet.

8. Déclaration confirmant l’élaboration

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 58(1) de la LCPE1999, toute personne identifiée au paragraphe 1 doit déposer auprès du ministre de l’Environnement, compte tenu du paragraphe 13, une Déclaration confirmant qu’un plan de prévention de la pollution a été élaboré et qu’il est en cours d’exécution -dichlorométhane, à l’aide du formulaire présenté à l’annexe 1, dans les 30 jours suivant la fin du délai d’élaboration du plan précisé au paragraphe.

9. Déclaration confirmant l’exécution

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 58(1) de la LCPE1999, toute personne identifiée au paragraphe 1 doit déposer auprès du ministre de l’Environnement, compte tenu du paragraphe 14, une Déclaration confirmant qu’un plan de prévention de la pollution a été exécuté - dichlorométhane, à l’aide du formulaire présenté à l’annexe 2, dans les 30 jours après la date d’exécution précisée au paragraphe 5.

10. Dépôt d’une déclaration corrective

Lorsqu’une personne a déposé une déclaration conformément au paragraphe 8 ou 9 et que la déclaration comporte des renseignements qui, par la suite, sont devenus faux ou trompeurs, la personne en question doit déposer une déclaration corrective auprès du ministre dans les 30 jours suivants en utilisant le formulaire auquel font référence les paragraphes 8 ou 9.

11. Rapports provisoires

Les personnes identifiés au paragraphe 1, oeuvrant dans les secteurs du décapage de peinture d’aéronefs, du gonflement de mousse souple de polyuréthane ou du nettoyage industriel, doivent remplir et déposer auprès du ministre de l’Environnement un Rapport provisoire - dichlorométhane, à l’aide du formulaire présenté à l’annexe 3, pour chacune des dates ci-dessous, et ce jusqu’au moment où ces personnes déposent une Déclaration confirmant l’exécution tel que requis au paragraphe 9.

Rapport provisoire no 1 :1er juillet 2003
Rapport provisoire no 2 :1er juillet 2004
Rapport provisoire no 3 :1er juillet 2005
Rapport provisoire no 4 :1er juillet 2006
Rapport provisoire no 5 :1er juillet 2007

12. Utilisation de plans déjà élaborés ou exécutés

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 57(1) de la LCPE1999, une personne peut utiliser un plan de prévention de la pollution déjà élaboré en vue de satisfaire aux exigences des paragraphes 1 à 7. Cette personne doit alors déposer une déclaration confirmant l’élaboration conformément au paragraphe 8, une déclaration confirmant l’exécution conformément au paragraphe 9, toute déclaration corrective conformément au paragraphe 10, et enfin tout rapport provisoire requis conformément au paragraphe 11.

13. Prorogation du délai d’élaboration

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 56(3) de la LCPE1999, lorsque le ministre estime que l’élaboration du plan exige un délai plus long, il peut proroger ce délai pour une personne qui présente une Demande de prorogation du délai d’élaboration d’un plan de prévention de la pollution - dichlorométhane, à l’aide du formulaire présenté à l’annexe 4, avant la fin du délai mentionné au paragraphe 4.

14. Prorogation du délai d’exécution

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 56(3) de la LCPE1999, lorsque le ministre estime que l’exécution du plan exige un délai plus long, il peut proroger ce délai pour une personne qui présente une Demande de prorogation du délai d’exécution d’un plan de prévention de la pollution - dichlorométhane, à l’aide du formulaire présenté à l’annexe 5, avant la fin du délai mentionné au paragraphe 5.

15. Demande de dérogation à l’obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 56(5) de la LCPE1999, lorsque le ministre estime qu’il est déraisonnable ou impossible de prendre en considération un facteur spécifié au paragraphe 3, il peut exempter une personne de l’obligation de prendre en considération ce facteur à la condition que cette personne présente avant la fin du délai mentionné au paragraphe 4 demande écrite en utilisant le formulaire Demande de dérogation à l’obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs - dichlorométhane, présentée à l’annexe 6, et en donnant les raisons d’une telle demande.

Annexe 1 :Déclaration confirmant l’élaboration et la mise en oeuvre d’un plan de prévention de la pollution - dichlorométhane (paragraphe 58(1) de la LCPE, 1999)
Annexe 2 :Déclaration confirmant l’exécution d’un plan de prévention de la pollution - dichlorométhane (paragraphe 58(2) de la LCPE, 1999)
Annexe 3 :Rapport provisoire - Dichlorométhane
Annexe 4 :Demande de prorogation du délai d’élaboration d’un plan de prévention de la pollution - dichlorométhane(paragraphe 56(3) de la LCPE, 1999)
Annexe 5 :Demande de prorogation du délai d’exécution d’un plan de prévention de la pollution - dichlorométhane (paragraphe 56(3) de la LCPE, 1999)
Annexe 6 :Demande de dérogation à l’obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs - dichlorométhane(paragraphe 56(5) de la LCPE, 1999)
Date de modification :