The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and the Protection of the Marine Environment from Land-based Sources of Pollution

What is marine pollution?

The following definitions are included in Part 7, Division 2 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999):

"land-based sources"
point and diffuse sources on land that release substances or energy to the sea by water, through the air, or directly from the coast. They include any sources under the sea bed that come from land by tunnel, pipeline, or other means.
"marine pollution"
substances or energy directly or indirectly introduced into the sea by humans that result or may result in:
  • hazards to human health;
  • harm to living resources or marine ecosystems;
  • damage to amenities; or
  • interference with other legitimate uses of the sea.

The major threats to the health, productivity and biodiversity of the marine environment result from human activities on land, both in coastal areas and further inland. About 80 percent of the pollution load in the oceans originates from land-based activities such as municipal, industrial, and agricultural wastes and run-off, and from atmospheric deposition. These contaminants affect the most productive areas of the marine environment, including estuaries and nearshore coastal waters.

Who protects Canada's marine environment?

All Canadians have a responsibility to protect Canada's marine environment. The legislative responsibility is shared by all levels of government, with numerous activities under way and others being developed. The CEPA 1999 provisions are intended to complement existing regulatory measures by enabling the Minister of the Environment to issue environmental objectives, guidelines, and codes of practice to prevent and reduce marine pollution from land-based sources. Such steps would be taken only after consultation with any other federal ministers affected.

Canada's National Programme of Action

Mindful of the reality of shared responsibility and the cost-effectiveness of building on existing programs, Environment Canada is working with other federal departments (including Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada), coastal Provinces and the Territories to implement Canada's National Programme of Action for the Protection of the Marine Environment from Land-based Activities (NPA).

The objective of Canada's NPA is to prevent pollution from land-based sources and to protect habitat in the nearshore or coastal zone. It responds to an international call to protect the marine environment through coordinated action at local, regional, national and global levels. It also responds to the expectations of Canadians for clean coasts and oceans.

Canada's goals under the NPA are to:

  • protect human health;
  • reduce the degradation of the marine environment;
  • remediate damaged areas;
  • promote the conservation and sustainable use of marine resources; and
  • maintain the productive capacity and biodiversity of the marine environment.

Further information

Internet:

CEPA Environmental Registry

Inquiry Centre:

Environment Canada
10 Wellington Street
23rd floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1 800 668-6767 [in Canada only] or 819-997-2800
Fax: 819-994-1412
TTY: 819-994-0736
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et la protection du milieu marin contre la pollution de source tellurique

Qu'est-ce que la pollution des mers?

Les définitions suivantes figurent dans la Partie 7, Section 2, de la LCPE (1999) :

« sources telluriques » 
les sources ponctuelles et diffuses à partir desquelles des substances ou de l'énergie atteignent la mer par l'intermédiaire des eaux ou de l'air, ou directement depuis la côte. Elles englobent les sources dans le sous-sol marin rendu accessible depuis la terre par un tunnel, une canalisation ou d'autres moyens.
« pollution des mers »
l'introduction par les êtres humains, directement ou indirectement, de substances ou d'énergie dans la mer, créant ou susceptibles de créer :
  • des risques pour la santé des humains;
  • des dommages aux ressources biologiques ou aux écosystèmes marins;
  • des atteintes aux valeurs d'agrément;
  • des entraves aux autres utilisations légitimes de la mer.

Les principaux dangers pour la santé, la productivité et la biodiversité du milieu marin résultent de l'activité humaine terrestre sur les côtes et dans les terres. Environ 80% de la charge polluante des océans provient des activités terrestres, notamment les déchets et les eaux de ruissellement des activités municipales, industrielles et agricoles, de même que les dépôts atmosphériques. Ces contaminants ont une incidence sur la plupart des zones productives du milieu marin, tels les estuaires et les eaux côtières.

Qui protège le milieu marin au Canada?

Il incombe à tous les Canadiens de protéger le milieu marin au Canada. La responsabilité législative est partagée entre tous les ordres de gouvernement et est assurée par de nombreuses activités en cours et en élaboration. Les dispositions de la LCPE (1999) visent à compléter les mesures réglementaires actuelles en conférant au ministre de l'Environnement le pouvoir d'établir des objectifs, des lignes directrices et des codes de pratique afin de prévenir et de réduire la pollution marine de source tellurique. Ces mesures seraient prises après pendant, il faut d'abord consultation auprès des autres ministres fédéraux concernés.

Programme d'action national du Canada

Conscient de la réalité de la responsabilité partagée et du rapport coût-efficacité de la mise à profit des programmes existants, Environnement Canada collabore avec d'autres ministères fédéraux (notamment Pêches et Océans Canada, le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada), les provinces côtières et les territoires à la mise en œuvre du Programme d'action national du Canada pour la protection du milieu marin contre la pollution due aux activités terrestres (PAN).

Le PAN du Canada a pour but de prévenir la pollution due aux sources telluriques et de protéger l'habitat dans les zones littorales ou côtières. Il fait écho à un appel, lancé sur la scène internationale, à la protection du milieu marin par des interventions coordonnées aux niveaux local, régional, national et international. En outre, il répond aux attentes des Canadiens en ce qui a trait à la propreté des côtes et des océans contre la pollution.

Le PAN du Canada vise à :

  • protéger la santé humaine;
  • réduire la détérioration du milieu marin;
  • restaurer les lieux pollués;
  • promouvoir la conservation des ressources marines et leur utilisation durable;
  • assurer la productivité et la biodiversité du milieu marin.

Pour plus de renseignements :

Internet :

Registre environnemental de la LCPE

Informathèque

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington, 23e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767 [au Canada seulement] ou 819-997-2800
Télécopieur : 819-994-1412
ATS : 819-994-0736
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :